Take A Look In The Mirror

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2003
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 140

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    7
    An unfairly criticised effort from the nu-metal piece: TALITM reaffirms the faded fact that the genre can still sound as heavy as anything and keep enough groove to maintain its fans. 'Counting on Me', 'Break Some Off' and 'Right Now' are fantastic brutal tracks that prevent angry youthfulness from leaving the band.
  2. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Underated Album, KoRn Rules, "Right Now" Is The Best Of The Band, Maybe The Most Brutal Album Ever Made By KoRn m/ Hell Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. NagyS.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    omg, it's amazing....great job !!
  4. AndrewC
    Jun 8, 2004
    7
    Not nearly as masterful as ?Issues?, but Korn fans (and only Korn fans) will like it.
  5. StacyC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    Well, anyway, this a really nice disk. John D. is such a cutey! I really like how they have guitars in this, (I think there are a lot of notes too). So if you want to hear a rockin' cd, plus good lyrics, the world sucks right on!
  6. steffyg
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    this is a bad ass cd. if you are a huge Korn fan like i am, reviews like new music express have do not mean shit
  7. sarahkeuh
    May 7, 2004
    8
    it's a great album, I buyed it today and I already love it!!!!!
  8. hellfire
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    it kicks ass! all other bands shud put their albums away, take a look in the mirror puts them all to shame!
  9. MatthewWestSpears
    Dec 20, 2003
    9
    This album is perfect, because the band created their fully existence of music to the publics.
  10. davisk
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    awesome Cd maybe the best one yet, expressive lyrics
  11. BiggestkornFan
    Jan 13, 2004
    10
    This album is the best if u hvnt heard it then dont r8 it korn r the best evr and they always will b .I highly recomend this 2 any one
  12. ThomasB
    Jan 10, 2004
    8
    When I first listened to it, it seemed their second worst album after "Life is Peachy" for me. But when I listened to it more, I became to like it more too. My favourite songs for this album are Counting on me, One, Did my time, Alive. Though I still think that this is Korn's second worst album, in comparacent to other bands albums I like it a lot and I rate it with 8.
  13. TrentReznor
    Jan 5, 2004
    8
    Great new CD of KoRn. A must have for people who like the new works of this kick ass band. I feel like Jon is holding back sometimes in his vocals so no 10 but the cd rules!!!
  14. MattC
    Jan 7, 2004
    9
    I think this CD is sooo fucking cool... i even bought it for my g/f and she fucking likes it.... to the guy who hasn't heard the CD u should suck ur own cock!!!
  15. GarthB
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    This cd is the shit!! hee haww for korn.Fuck all that rap ,and gay high school rock shit(good charlotte,and that gay ass glory? band,) and papa roach fucken sucks too. amen to KoRn
  16. Pidix_
    Feb 4, 2004
    9
    Why rate it lower?
  17. AnssiSeppälä
    Mar 9, 2004
    9
    Strong, violent and yet beautiful. Great therapy.
  18. KIRKH
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    this album kicks ass. One of my favorites since follow the leader. to bad it is only my friends cd. i want to damn that kid to hell. KORN WILL LIVE FOREVER.
  19. GlenB
    Jul 12, 2004
    9
    Screw the magazine critics - this album is great. Heavy as hell with unreal basslines. Keep it up Korn!
  20. AnthonyW
    Jul 20, 2004
    10
    Fuck all those who oppose KoRn! This has gotta be the best cd yet! KoRn are the Gods of rock......keep it up, HELL YEAH!
  21. somebodysomeone
    Feb 15, 2005
    9
    v good album back to basics for korn but i do agree wat G R said that jon davis tends to be screamin more on this album were the haunitin tone usally in his voice would have been better off. i think anyway
  22. edm
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    if u lyk metal, and i mean hevy metal, dis is da album 4 u. 4 me fanty i luv suf dat. 'Did My Time' roks my world if u dont lyk it i wil eat ur kids!
  23. RageMcTurpentine
    May 21, 2006
    10
    No comment needed, just sick and tired of hearing Korn and genre in the same sentence.
  24. bruno
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    so...by the time you listen to this record, you'll be able to 'rate' korn, dumb ass.
  25. AaronS
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    Why people who vote 0's for something they haven't listened to makes no sense. I actually own the CD, and I like it!
  26. JacobM
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    This Cd is awesome jonathan's voice clearly expresses his emotions as do his lyrics,unique bass if you ever hear a song with the slapping bass sound you automatically know this is Korn This is a serious band with serious lyrics they are awesome with unique beats and guitars.
  27. LuisZ
    Jan 1, 2004
    9
    This cd KICKS ASS. Korn went back to their roots and made a awesome album. I didnt expect this album to be soo good but it blew me away. The whole cd ALL 13tracks are good. Includin da bonus 1
  28. MikeV
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    I think that this is the best Korn album to date. Anyone that says that they have heard all of this before hasn't listened to what Jonathan is saying. Excellent work from the boys from Bakersfield.
  29. BreannaR
    Jan 17, 2004
    10
    This and follow the leader are their best CDS! this CD kicks ass!!!!! i would definetly recommend this! my favorite song on this cd is alive and my other favorites would be right now, did my time, play me, when will this end, counting on me, deep inside! and critics are idiots! giving this cd 51 and untouchables 77? this should be getting much higher than untouchables because this is MUCH This and follow the leader are their best CDS! this CD kicks ass!!!!! i would definetly recommend this! my favorite song on this cd is alive and my other favorites would be right now, did my time, play me, when will this end, counting on me, deep inside! and critics are idiots! giving this cd 51 and untouchables 77? this should be getting much higher than untouchables because this is MUCH better than untouchables!!! Expand
  30. JuliusJ
    Jan 21, 2004
    8
    this is awesome album. korn is one of the greatest bands ever. their music drives people crazy even in the eastern europe. i gave an 8 because i think it's not their best album. but anyway... korn rules!!!
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. ‘Take A Look In The Mirror’ doesn’t just sound like a bad album, it sounds like a broken record.
  2. All fine in principle, except we've heard it all a million times before.
  3. Blender
    40
    Korn are ultra-confident, forgoing the blandishments of heavy-rock virtuoso conceptualist Michael Beinhorn, who produced their last album. [Mar 2004, p.121]