Take It To The Limit

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StevenR.
    Jan 19, 2009
    0
    If ever a band could be singled out as the worst band in history, Hinder fits the bill perfectly. Blatantly unoriginal, cliched, stupid, idiot, party-music, Hinder sounds like a parody of Rock Music. Unfortunately, they see themselves as the next GNR. Which makes me feel like slapping them. You idiots. You are NOT GNR. GNR had good music. You do not!
  2. Matt
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Awesome Album. Better than there Debut Album in my Opinion!
  3. MorganE
    Jan 27, 2009
    7
    This is a typical Hinder album and it's not terrible. If they would drop their "bad boy" image and act, they can get somewhere. They are a great, fun, live band. Their song Without You is a good ballad song. I think some critics need to give these guys a break.
  4. JackF.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Hinder are a tight hard rock outfit with a growing glam metal vibe and there's no denying some really catchy songs on the album. For fans of post grunge bands like Buckcherry and Shinedown.
  5. Steven
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Great album. Fun listen. Moving listen. It is full of great modern rock with a ton of old arena style sound. Production is excellent. I like Brian Howes style. Not a deep indie ambient sound but a well polished produced rock album. Critics can shove it because you know what your getting when it comes to Hinder don't critic it for something its not. Great second round guys!!!
  6. JimmyR
    Dec 15, 2008
    3
    Hinder are recycled radio garbage.
  7. LouiseA
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    i find that this album [and group] are providing the music industry with a much needed hit of classic rock which has been long forgotten. i love their style and Austin has the most unique voice i have ever heard, great stuff!!!
  8. MT
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    With their sophomore effort you can certainly hear the growth and new strength from the guys. There are a couple of really strong songs here that will prob be lost to most people, but they're worth a listen anyway. Sadly, 2 really great tracks were left off of the main cd release but added to the iTunes version. "Heartless," while being another "love gone wrong" song is haunting due With their sophomore effort you can certainly hear the growth and new strength from the guys. There are a couple of really strong songs here that will prob be lost to most people, but they're worth a listen anyway. Sadly, 2 really great tracks were left off of the main cd release but added to the iTunes version. "Heartless," while being another "love gone wrong" song is haunting due in large part to Austin's improved vocals but also thanks to the strong backing of the entire band. The entire album is a great 2nd effort and it's worth a listen. They're even better live, so go out and get your tickets today! ;) Expand
  9. WesM
    Nov 11, 2008
    0
    It always cracks me up when fans of Hinder and the like inform me that "you can't spell crap without rap". Uninspired radio rock can be just as god-awful as uninspired radio hip-hop. Case in point: Take It To the Limit.
  10. GayleG
    Nov 12, 2008
    4
    This album is not what I was expecting to follow up Hinder's first huge success. It's a tad generic for my taste, right down to the naked chicks on the cover (do trophies count when they have been airbrushed in?). Another disappointment was that, on their last tour, they played a new song called "Running in the Rain" that was supposed to appear on the new album, but did not. If This album is not what I was expecting to follow up Hinder's first huge success. It's a tad generic for my taste, right down to the naked chicks on the cover (do trophies count when they have been airbrushed in?). Another disappointment was that, on their last tour, they played a new song called "Running in the Rain" that was supposed to appear on the new album, but did not. If there was to be a big hit on this CD, that probably would have been the one. Expand
  11. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Not sure what's happened to rock music, but I don't like it.
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. The repetition hammers home Hinder's stultifying lack of imagination and even that would be excusable if the group had a scintilla of sleaze but like anybody too beholden to their idols, they tread the familiar ground too carefully, winding up as bland by-the-book bad boys.
  2. Deliciously decadent, Take It to the Limit has even more melodic power than its predecessor, delivering tons of guilty pleasures that sound fresh and familiar and strangely exciting.
  3. If you were ever young and in love, dumb with drink, and had a head swimming with not just Boone's Farm wine but also Def Leppard, Bon Jovi, and AC/ DC (to name these guys' most blatant anthemic influences), you may be willing to forgive Hinder's lack of originality and preponderance of madonna/whore issues.