Take Me Home - One Direction
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 147
  2. Negative: 75 out of 147

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    A Massive Improvement! Vocally This Album Is Flawless!
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    I'm really disappointed with the album actually. I'm not a fan of One Direction, and I believe that are really talented and great singers. But the production of this album comes out not amazingly great. It has good tunes including "Live While We're Young", "Kiss Me" and "C'mon C'mon", but it just sounds repetitive to their previous record. As they stated earlier this year they were going to be more "edgier, grungier" and have "more guitars", and I thought it would be a great change. But it didn't manage to do that.
    I do like some songs, but it has the same element and aspect as their previous. Sorry guys, try another album with a more different image. Not completely different, just not the same image you have now.
    Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    One Direction are very less talented than lots of other boy bands in the world, however they think that they are the best. They are always judging The Wanted but they are very much mature, talented and interesting that 1D. The crazy female fans of theirs are immature and hysterical stupid teenagers that don't even know what is music. They only like that obvious and uninteresting songs with vague lyrics that 1D and a lot more bad pop artists today do. If we give them a classic to hear, a rock song, a sound from the 80's or songs with consisting lyrics (real music) they say that is boring and that they hate it. So One Direction base their talent and music skills in trifling and unintelligent girl's opinions. I wouldn't like to do that but they live in the illusion that they are a great band. So let's live the poor boys alone! Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    There is absolutely no excuse for this group's music. They are in it for the publicity and the money. Nothing they make sounds original or appealing other than to idiotic 5-15 year old twits who think Chris Brown is the Messiah of the industry. This isn't even worth buying let alone listen to. Churning out the same **** twice really does get people somewhere because of stupid people. Not recommended for anyone with a vendetta against this satanic organization known as a boy-band. **** please. Now I'm gonna go listen to some real music, if you don't mind. Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    8
    The Album is good , is 1D style with the fun danceble songs and romantic songs that really get to our hearts , but i like Up All Night more than Take Me Home
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Even better then their first album. This band just does not disappoint. Stand out tracks for me are "Kiss You", "I Would", "Summer Love", and "Little Things" but i love ever track on the album. I cant wait to see what they do next.
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    4
    This album is an album of two halves - the mediocre first half and the horrendously dull second half. Did they really think it would be a good idea to put most of the uptempo songs in the first half? It comes across as a bit full on. Towards the end of the album I had to resist myself from pressing stop. Every single song sounds samey and average... We've heard it all before. Take Me Home features displays very little - if any - artistic growth, and fails to live up to its predecessor. Collapse
  8. Apr 21, 2013
    2
    One Directions tries to make something original and better from their other album, but uses the same love and pop sound to be successful. But fails miserably.
  9. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This album is good, but there's a few bad song, especially in the Yearbook Edition. Some people is writing negative reviews just because they hate them, but it doesn't matter, they're making money and you're writing a negative review without making money.
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    In some ways, Take Me Home is better than Up All Night. In other ways, it's simply more of the same, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Overall, it's a satisfying album, that consists mostly of upbeat techno pop songs and slow, emotional romantic ballads.
    *Best Song on the Album: Little Things
    *Standouts: Kiss You, Live While We're Young, Rock Me, Heart Attack, Summer Love
  11. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    It's still OK. It's better than Up All Night. Although now I'm not a Directioner, I recommend this album. (Just album, not the One Direction.) The lyrics are better than their first album.
  12. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    I am not a Directioner, but credit must be give where credit is due. Take Me Home is truly and artistic leap foward from Up All Night. Although it may contain what some call fluff, it is still one of the best pop albums this year.
  13. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    First of all, I'm not a One Direction fan, so I don't think my review should be suspicious. I think the reason most Metacritic users rated this album poorly is because they are biased and it became cool to hate One Direction. My opinion about the album: it's more mature than their previous album (Up All Night), and you'll probably like it (tip: act like it's not One Direction at the first listen) even if you don't really like boybands. Some tracks are ready for the parties while others are calm ballads, so I think it's pretty hard to rate this album overall. It's good because it doesn't matter if you prefer "party songs" or ballads, you'll probably like some tracks in the album. Track-by-track review (hope you don't fall asleep):
    1. Live While We're Young - 10/10 - Best track in the whole album. Their first "party song", it will probably please anyone. Lyrics a bit shocking because of their public, but they can't get stuck in squeaky clean lyrics and love songs.
    2. Kiss You - 8/10 - The beat is good, but the lyrics are really immature and don't fit the beat. Lyrics like "let me kiss you" are not really a good attempt at becoming mature.
    3. Little Things - 2/10 - The beat is terrible and the lyrics are annoying and awfully describe details in a woman's body that no one would ever notice anyway ("You've never loved your stomach or your thighs, the dimples in the back at the bottom of your spine").
    4. C'mon, C'mon - 10/10 - Again, a "party song". The lyrics are mature without getting shocking and the beat is fun and ready for the parties.
    5. Last First Kiss - 9/10 - The beat is good, but the lyrics are confusing. "Last first kiss", after all, is it last or first? More upbeat than most of their songs, but not really a "party song".
    6. Heart Attack - 6/10 - The beat is good, but again the lyrics are stupid. Last time I checked, you couldn't get a heart attack because of love. Also, the "ow!" in the chorus is pretty annoying.
    7. Rock Me -7/10 - Good beat, the lyrics actually make some sense, but I didn't really like it. Sounds kind of boring.
    8. Change My Mind - 1/10 - They sound like they're almost dying and the lyrics are stupid. If you want to stay, stay, if you wanna go, just go. No need to create a song about it.
    9. I Would - 10/10 - Even though the lyrics about stealing someone's boyfriend might be quite shocking to parents, what's a love song without jealousy? More upbeat than most of their songs, while not being exactly a "party song".
    10. Over Again - 7/10 - The lyrics are pretty smart, but the beat is boring even if you like slow songs.
    11. Back For You - 8/10 - The beat is good, but the lyrics are not so smart ("Baby, you don't have to worry, I'll be coming back for you"). Upbeat without being a party song.
    12. They Don't Know About Us - 9/10 - Great track, one of those us-against-the-world songs. Pretty much anyone would relate to it.
    13. Summer Love - 5/10 - Great beat, but the lyrics are somehow stupid. "You always will be my summer love" doesn't make any sense at all. What does summer have to do with this?
    Expand
  14. May 2, 2013
    0
    this album is awful They are a bad boyband and that's for sure sorry for saying this but for example Louis Tomlinson doesn't know how to sing at all. They only have fans because they're pretty boys but look at Jonas Brothers and Tokio Hotel they also had loads of fans and now anyone knows where they are and I think that's what will happen to one direction.
  15. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    This Album is better than Up All Night in many ways... I'm not a Directioner, i'm a simple listener, i listen to every kind of music, i found this album worth buying
  16. Dec 31, 2012
    0
    What could have been a great album turns into crap when 1D sends a barrel of pure sh*t at our ears. This isn't music, it's sound. The vocals are fairly decent, but the lyrics suck, and the 5 idiots of 1D have no personality at all. This album Direction-sucks.
  17. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    Commercially crafted catchiness does little to alleviate the effect of the inane lyrics, and musical backing that makes to effort to be original. This is 'music of the moment' in the truest sense; it's purpose being to sell easily digestable sound, rather than pushing the genre forward. It is disapointing that a group with so much power in the industry are not using it to create music with more depth, and creativity. Expand
  18. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Fun, Exciting, & Catchy! This album is thousand times better then their first album. The group has grown up from their first album and I'm sure their next album Midnight Memories will break records!
  19. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This album has really good songs, for example "Live While We're Young" and "They Don't Know About Us", but other songs like "Change My Mind" or "Last First Kiss" are really bad. Great album, better than Up All Night.
  20. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    One Direction second album is a good album, very catchy and with a good writing. I love listen to them on my car, I feel like Vin Diesel in Fast and Furious when its happened. One of the albums of the year! ;)
  21. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I think this album is better than Up All Night, no many changes in music, like the boys said, the lyric has changed a little bit but so funny and enjoyable I really found this album worth buying. In general is a great album and dont hesitate to recommend it.
  22. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Take Me Home was extraordinary! it had the best songs and moods. I would highly recommend it! i looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove it!!!!
  23. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Track-by-track review for Take Me Home

    1. Live While We
  24. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    One Direction have done it again! Live while were young and Little Things are 2 of the best songs by 1D and the great. While Justin Bieber is the worst the One Directioners storm tot the lead with a excellent debut album and usually One Direction are a leader!
  25. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing! Usually when it comes to music I don't love an entire album. But I have to say I absolutely adore every single song on this album. So much so that I had to actually illegally download the bonus tracks that weren't available in my country!! I can honestly listen to every track on repeat for hours. Each song brings something different to the table, and the album is complete with catchy dance tunes, slower ballads, some softer singer-songwriter vibe songs, and even some edgier rocky ones. One plus of this album over Up All Night is that there is definitely a more even split of solos on the tracks. You get to hear a lot more of each member, and each member's voice also perfectly suits the section they sing. They're voices are also much stronger on this album. Another plus is that the boys actually have a lot of writing credits themselves on this album. They were a lot more involved with the process and their input shows a noticeable difference. Ed Sheeran also wrote two songs for this album, rather than just one like on Up All Night. Some stand-out tracks for me are: They Don't Know About Us, Little Things, Kiss You, I Would, Over Again, and Irresistible. I genuinely love this entire album and would recommend it to anyone. Even people I know that don't like One Direction have grudgingly admitted to me that they actually like certain songs on the album, and I've caught them singing along in their rooms. Give it a chance! Expand
  26. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    What we see here is very simple to understand: pretty and talented boys singing incredibly romantic love and seducing songs.
    Take Me Home, second studio album from English-Irish boy band One Direction, is a very entertaining album. Clearly, not much artistic due to a few songs being actually written by any of the boys, but that does not influence much in a bad way. It sounds right. You
    can't really tell which songs were or weren't written by them. Most lyrics are fine enough to get to your heart. There's no way you won't fall in love with these pretty guys after actually listening to this. Specially Change My Mind, Nobody Compares, Last First Kiss, Loved You First and They Don't Know About Us.
    If romantic lyrics aren't your main thing, you can just close your eyes and listen to these very beautiful voices we've got here. Not only do they have pretty singing abilities, but they also have 5 distinct and magical voices that, together, sound just right.
    This is not just pretty boys we're talking about. It's good music, definitely!
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    The cheesiness, loads of filler, and overly glossy production are still present and hinder much of what the album had the potential to accomplish.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    While the album is uniformly sleek and upbeat, a few tunes hew too closely to the generic template; but as boy bands go, fans--and their wary parents--could do much worse.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Fittingly for an album whose most-uttered word is "whoa," they seem perpetually awed by their good fortune and the beauty of whoever happens to be standing nearby.