Take Me Home - One Direction
Take Me Home Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British boy band releases its second full-length release featuring production and songs written by such artists as Ed Sheeran, Carl Falk, Rami Yacoub, Savan Kotecha, Max Martin, and Dr. Luke.
  • Record Label: Sony Music Entertainment
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Dance-Pop, Teen Pop, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    One Direction deliver another immediately catchy mix of dancey pop that maximizes the group's shared lead-vocal approach and peppy, upbeat image.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Polished and dependable, despite its safety there are some show-stopping pop anthems present.
  3. The upbeat tracks are as catchy as conjunctivitis.
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    The material is of variable quality.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Fittingly for an album whose most-uttered word is "whoa," they seem perpetually awed by their good fortune and the beauty of whoever happens to be standing nearby.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    60
    Their second album rivals the best of Backstreet and 'N Sync when the material pumps. But when it doesn't (i.e., most of the ballads), a certain amount of douchiness creeps in.
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    The cheesiness, loads of filler, and overly glossy production are still present and hinder much of what the album had the potential to accomplish.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing! Usually when it comes to music I don't love an entire album. But I have to say I absolutely adore every single song on this album. So much so that I had to actually illegally download the bonus tracks that weren't available in my country!! I can honestly listen to every track on repeat for hours. Each song brings something different to the table, and the album is complete with catchy dance tunes, slower ballads, some softer singer-songwriter vibe songs, and even some edgier rocky ones. One plus of this album over Up All Night is that there is definitely a more even split of solos on the tracks. You get to hear a lot more of each member, and each member's voice also perfectly suits the section they sing. They're voices are also much stronger on this album. Another plus is that the boys actually have a lot of writing credits themselves on this album. They were a lot more involved with the process and their input shows a noticeable difference. Ed Sheeran also wrote two songs for this album, rather than just one like on Up All Night. Some stand-out tracks for me are: They Don't Know About Us, Little Things, Kiss You, I Would, Over Again, and Irresistible. I genuinely love this entire album and would recommend it to anyone. Even people I know that don't like One Direction have grudgingly admitted to me that they actually like certain songs on the album, and I've caught them singing along in their rooms. Give it a chance! Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    One Direction second album is a good album, very catchy and with a good writing. I love listen to them on my car, I feel like Vin Diesel in Fast and Furious when its happened. One of the albums of the year! ;) Collapse
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This album has really good songs, for example "Live While We're Young" and "They Don't Know About Us", but other songs like "Change My Mind" or "Last First Kiss" are really bad. Great album, better than Up All Night. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    What we see here is very simple to understand: pretty and talented boys singing incredibly romantic love and seducing songs.
    Take Me Home,
    second studio album from English-Irish boy band One Direction, is a very entertaining album. Clearly, not much artistic due to a few songs being actually written by any of the boys, but that does not influence much in a bad way. It sounds right. You can't really tell which songs were or weren't written by them. Most lyrics are fine enough to get to your heart. There's no way you won't fall in love with these pretty guys after actually listening to this. Specially Change My Mind, Nobody Compares, Last First Kiss, Loved You First and They Don't Know About Us.
    If romantic lyrics aren't your main thing, you can just close your eyes and listen to these very beautiful voices we've got here. Not only do they have pretty singing abilities, but they also have 5 distinct and magical voices that, together, sound just right.
    This is not just pretty boys we're talking about. It's good music, definitely!
    Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    I am not a Directioner, but credit must be give where credit is due. Take Me Home is truly and artistic leap foward from Up All Night. Although it may contain what some call fluff, it is still one of the best pop albums this year. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    4
    This album is an album of two halves - the mediocre first half and the horrendously dull second half. Did they really think it would be a good idea to put most of the uptempo songs in the first half? It comes across as a bit full on. Towards the end of the album I had to resist myself from pressing stop. Every single song sounds samey and average... We've heard it all before. Take Me Home features displays very little - if any - artistic growth, and fails to live up to its predecessor. Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    this album is awful They are a bad boyband and that's for sure sorry for saying this but for example Louis Tomlinson doesn't know how to sing at all. They only have fans because they're pretty boys but look at Jonas Brothers and Tokio Hotel they also had loads of fans and now anyone knows where they are and I think that's what will happen to one direction. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews