Take Me Home - One Direction
Take Me Home Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British boy band releases its second full-length release featuring production and songs written by such artists as Ed Sheeran, Carl Falk, Rami Yacoub, Savan Kotecha, Max Martin, and Dr. Luke.
  • Record Label: Sony Music Entertainment
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Dance-Pop, Teen Pop, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    One Direction deliver another immediately catchy mix of dancey pop that maximizes the group's shared lead-vocal approach and peppy, upbeat image.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Polished and dependable, despite its safety there are some show-stopping pop anthems present.
  3. The upbeat tracks are as catchy as conjunctivitis.
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    The material is of variable quality.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    60
    Fittingly for an album whose most-uttered word is "whoa," they seem perpetually awed by their good fortune and the beauty of whoever happens to be standing nearby.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    60
    Their second album rivals the best of Backstreet and 'N Sync when the material pumps. But when it doesn't (i.e., most of the ballads), a certain amount of douchiness creeps in.
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    The cheesiness, loads of filler, and overly glossy production are still present and hinder much of what the album had the potential to accomplish.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I think this album is better than Up All Night, no many changes in music, like the boys said, the lyric has changed a little bit but so funnyI think this album is better than Up All Night, no many changes in music, like the boys said, the lyric has changed a little bit but so funny and enjoyable I really found this album worth buying. In general is a great album and dont hesitate to recommend it. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    One Direction second album is a good album, very catchy and with a good writing. I love listen to them on my car, I feel like Vin Diesel inOne Direction second album is a good album, very catchy and with a good writing. I love listen to them on my car, I feel like Vin Diesel in Fast and Furious when its happened. One of the albums of the year! ;) Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This album has really good songs, for example "Live While We're Young" and "They Don't Know About Us", but other songs like "Change My Mind"This album has really good songs, for example "Live While We're Young" and "They Don't Know About Us", but other songs like "Change My Mind" or "Last First Kiss" are really bad. Great album, better than Up All Night. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    One Direction have done it again! Live while were young and Little Things are 2 of the best songs by 1D and the great. While Justin Bieber isOne Direction have done it again! Live while were young and Little Things are 2 of the best songs by 1D and the great. While Justin Bieber is the worst the One Directioners storm tot the lead with a excellent debut album and usually One Direction are a leader! Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    It's still OK. It's better than Up All Night. Although now I'm not a Directioner, I recommend this album. (Just album, not the One Direction.)It's still OK. It's better than Up All Night. Although now I'm not a Directioner, I recommend this album. (Just album, not the One Direction.) The lyrics are better than their first album. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    4
    This album is an album of two halves - the mediocre first half and the horrendously dull second half. Did they really think it would be a goodThis album is an album of two halves - the mediocre first half and the horrendously dull second half. Did they really think it would be a good idea to put most of the uptempo songs in the first half? It comes across as a bit full on. Towards the end of the album I had to resist myself from pressing stop. Every single song sounds samey and average... We've heard it all before. Take Me Home features displays very little - if any - artistic growth, and fails to live up to its predecessor. Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    this album is awful They are a bad boyband and that's for sure sorry for saying this but for example Louis Tomlinson doesn't know how tothis album is awful They are a bad boyband and that's for sure sorry for saying this but for example Louis Tomlinson doesn't know how to sing at all. They only have fans because they're pretty boys but look at Jonas Brothers and Tokio Hotel they also had loads of fans and now anyone knows where they are and I think that's what will happen to one direction. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews