Taking Back Sunday - Taking Back Sunday
Taking Back Sunday Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Mark O'Connell, Adam Lazzara, Eddie Reyes, John Nolan
  • Summary: The rock band from Long Island returns with a new album produced by Queens of the Stoneage's Eric Valentine and features the original lineup from its 2002 debut.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. 83
    Even when he's maiming his vocal cords over chaotic guitar crunch, he still sounds enraptured. [1 Jul 2011, p.74]
  2. Once you let it sink in that this isn't the same band from the early aughts, then you can start to appreciate Taking Back Sunday as a solid rock record – their best in 7 years.
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    This album is most definitely not Tell All Your Friends II: Electric Boogaloo. That said, it most assuredly doesn't come anywhere close to sucking, either.
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    80
    The whole thing is done and dusted in just under 40 minutes, yet zips by so fluidly that it feels half as long. [2 Jul 2011, p.50]
  5. Jun 30, 2011
    70
    What their return does bring is that unquantifiable "getting the band back together" feeling and all of the excitement that comes with old friends getting back together to do what they do best.
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    70
    While this latest work may not meet the wild expectations of many long-time fans who yearn for a return to band's early glory days, it should be taken for what it is, as this current Taking Back Sunday is once again a new animal.
  7. Jun 24, 2011
    30
    So sigh with me; for all the promise their reunion had, they sound as if they're remembering how to work together, painting their album by numbers rather than taking risks or adding artistic flourishes of their own.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    After a two years of waiting for more Taking Back Sunday, this is what I finally wanted, a powerful record that shows the real band andAfter a two years of waiting for more Taking Back Sunday, this is what I finally wanted, a powerful record that shows the real band and recalls the old emo stylish songs which they started. A giant jump from New Again, and I know that if they get another album with this line up it will be a global hit, and finally get the recognition that they deserve. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    From the beginning, this has been Adam's band. It never made much difference who they had on guitar and backup vocals. I admit, i was hopingFrom the beginning, this has been Adam's band. It never made much difference who they had on guitar and backup vocals. I admit, i was hoping for something more reminiscent of Tell All Your Friends. But this album is as good as any other TBS album. The single, "The Best Places to be a Mom" is their most obvious single since "Make Damn Sure." Songs like "Faith" and "All This Now" will have you singing along to the hooks, and songs like "Money" and "El Paso" are unlike anything we've heard from TBS yet. Their one slow song, "Call Me In The Morning" is one of the more lyrically impressive songs to come from the band which has come of age, and a long way from the emo kid image it started with. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    First things first, this is not tell all your friends 2,so clear that notion out of your head now, this is a good album taken as it is and notFirst things first, this is not tell all your friends 2,so clear that notion out of your head now, this is a good album taken as it is and not compared to their others(excluding New Again cause lets be honest that one kinda sucked). My biggest gripe is that the album feels inconsistent, it has great songs like Faith(when I let you down) and call me in the morning but terrible ones like money and you got me, It also doesnt feel like a cohesive album, just listen to how different the first 3 songs are, from heavy instruments and all out screaming, to a melodic song made to make you think, to a song with fast catchy verses and a breakdown choruses. I'm not saying that any one type is better than others just that it feels to varied to all be in one album, hopefully this is just a way for the band to tell what the fans want from tbs in the future. I'm also not trying to say that I want an album of 11+ songs that sound the exact same, just that going through 7 different sounds in one album is a bit much, try sticking to two or three(just for a little variety and change of pace). I know it seems like i'm only putting down on this album but individually most of the songs are pretty good,and the dual vocals are great when they are there (which isnt enough in my opinion). Overall a good album that falls short of being really memorable, there is something in here for everyone it's just not enough to fully satisfy Collapse
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    Everyone might be back together again in the Taking Back Sunday camp, but this is getting on for 10 years after Tell All Your Friends, andEveryone might be back together again in the Taking Back Sunday camp, but this is getting on for 10 years after Tell All Your Friends, and whilst the band may have improved musically the lyrical content and repetitive song structures look slightly odd at a band no longer youthful. Taking Back Sunday, whilst not dipping into the abyss of Korn lyrically need to redefine not only their sound but their image if they wish to continue- whilst other bands of the genre departed or developed to new sounds- TBS just play it too safe. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Most possibly the biggest disappointment in music history. Taking Back Sunday reunited with their classic line up and promised a comeback of aMost possibly the biggest disappointment in music history. Taking Back Sunday reunited with their classic line up and promised a comeback of a similar sound to their "Tell All Your Friends" album, but instead, provided people with an overrated piece of music that is worse than their previous album, "New Again", which was mediocre at best. Adam's songwriting has become more lazy and due to smoking (obviously), his vocals are collapsing in on themselves throughout the entire album. With the much anticipated return of John Nolan comes a huge amount of neglect from the band. He is barely used in this album, which is a shame, because he may be the only talented person left. I used to love Taking Back Sunday with all my heart, I even sucked up "New Again", but I didn't enjoy this album except for a few songs. Maybe It's because I'm not in high school anymore. Expand