• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2011
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 342

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    Despite criticism from many people who think the whole album as if only there were songs like Birthday Cake, We Found Love and Where Have You Been, the album is not composed only of unnecessary songs and lively, it is more than that, is diversified and has enough of Rihanna. The impression he gives is that the disc is a mix of songs from the lively and tasty Loud with personal Rated R.Despite criticism from many people who think the whole album as if only there were songs like Birthday Cake, We Found Love and Where Have You Been, the album is not composed only of unnecessary songs and lively, it is more than that, is diversified and has enough of Rihanna. The impression he gives is that the disc is a mix of songs from the lively and tasty Loud with personal Rated R. Bold, understaffed, and fun. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    Just a year after LOUD Rihanna delivers yet another album. Luckily this one is slightly better than her last disappointing effort, only successful for the massive singles "Only Girl" and "S&M". "Talk that Talk" represents perfectly what pop music is nowadays, whether it is good or not. Infectious choruses, electronic beats and simple lyrics. Not as good as "Rated R" or "Good Girl GoneJust a year after LOUD Rihanna delivers yet another album. Luckily this one is slightly better than her last disappointing effort, only successful for the massive singles "Only Girl" and "S&M". "Talk that Talk" represents perfectly what pop music is nowadays, whether it is good or not. Infectious choruses, electronic beats and simple lyrics. Not as good as "Rated R" or "Good Girl Gone Bad", but I feel she is going in the right direction if she wants to be a pop princess for a long time. However it is very sad to see that this quite enjoyable music is just manufactured, and that she is not involved in the writing, composing or production at all. I fear we will never see nothing like "Fire Bomb", "Te Amo" or "The Last Song" if she continues to ignore her role as a lyricist. Most current pop stars write their songs (Adele, Lady GaGa, even Katy Perry), and that really gives them some credibility as musicians, even if the quality of their music is sometimes discussable. Rihanna should take some time off and write her own material to make an album that makes sense for her and is more than just a track list full of catchy unorganised songs. Albums like "Talk That Talk" are enjoyable, but throwaway, and she will remain as a trash pop girl, an enjoyable trash pop girl, but trashy after all, if she continues this way.

    Highlights: "We Found Love", "Where Have You Been", "Red Lipstick"
    Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    I Bought Talk That Talk (Deluxe Edition) Here Are All The Songs & Score Out Of 10
    You da One 10/10
    Where Have You Been 10/10
    We Found Love 10/10 (Best Song On The Album)
    Talk That Talk 9/10
    **** (Love It) 9/10
    Birthday Cake 7/10
    We All Want Love 10/10
    Drunk On Love 9/10
    Roc Me Out 10/10
    Watch N Learn 10/10
    Farewell 10/10
    Red Lipstick 6/10
    Do Ya Thing 10/10
    Fool In Love 9/10
  4. May 23, 2012
    7
    i really enjoy listening to Rihanna, but ever since Rated R her songs or poorly done. every song is basically a chorus.... with maybe 4 bars in between. distrubia is one of my favorite songs because it shows what she can do. don't get me wrong the songs are great but, i would like to hear more bars not just the chorus 3 times then the next song.
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Very unique style of music compared to other artists. She's the only one who mixed pop with Caribbean rhythm and sophisticated reggae taste. Talk that Talk is very different from her other albums in terms of its content. Songs has no catchy lyrics that you want to repeat again and again. There's nothing extraordinary in this album however it's good to listen to if you dig into it.
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    If you are someone who takes Rihanna seriously, and expects her to "develop her vocals" or "sound," then maybe you'll be disappointed because the album is pretty one-note. If you're like me, however, and have never taken Rihanna that seriously as an artist, you'll love this album for it's catchy, fun, and raunchy hits. I think it's totally successful for what it actually is, which is not aIf you are someone who takes Rihanna seriously, and expects her to "develop her vocals" or "sound," then maybe you'll be disappointed because the album is pretty one-note. If you're like me, however, and have never taken Rihanna that seriously as an artist, you'll love this album for it's catchy, fun, and raunchy hits. I think it's totally successful for what it actually is, which is not a demonstration of talent, but a compilation of sure-fire hits, great for pregaming, driving, dancing, and working out at the gym.... not for times that you're taking yourself seriously. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2012
    6
    Talk That Talk sounds rushed and has a lack of creativity. The songs sound very basic and Rihanna sounds like she's tired. Talk That Talk lacks the energy that her previous albums have. The best songs are on the deluxe edition.
  8. May 30, 2012
    10
    Rewind Rihanna Loud which launched a year ago. This sixth album starts fairly unoriginal and the first three titles - even the appearance of a single with Calvin Harris - bring the listener ever so slightly turned in reflections on the very slow evolution of dance music / club, despite its large production facilities, tired by its lack of innovation. Then Jay-Z arrives and takes the sauce.Rewind Rihanna Loud which launched a year ago. This sixth album starts fairly unoriginal and the first three titles - even the appearance of a single with Calvin Harris - bring the listener ever so slightly turned in reflections on the very slow evolution of dance music / club, despite its large production facilities, tired by its lack of innovation. Then Jay-Z arrives and takes the sauce. Unlike his colleagues (BEP, Beyonce, Gaga, Katy Perry), Rihanna has the merit of having crafted a cohesive album (it's raw and it's about ass) who listen from beginning to end. Special mention for Drunk on Love, hinged on a sampling of The XX Intro. Strange hybrid that works against all odds. Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2012
    6
    The album is not her best album. It's good but it seems unfinished. Everything about it. Is much more sexual then any of her others. You may not want to buy it for your little daughter, if she's a Rihanna Fan.
  10. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    We have a Rihanna's album every year. Just like the Christmas or thanks-giving. It's a big tradition and it's impossible to not love it. Black queen of pop. Gaga cry
  11. Nov 9, 2012
    6
    Overall, Rihanna's 'Talk That Talk' is a fun, gritty-edged album. It is her nastiest and dirtiest, to date with lyrics like 'Ooh, I wanna f**k You, right now', 'Just because I can't kiss back/Doesn't mean you can't kiss that', 'Suck my **** lick My persuasion.' So, you get the point! It's not the type of album you wanna buy for your little ones. The Low lights of the album consists ofOverall, Rihanna's 'Talk That Talk' is a fun, gritty-edged album. It is her nastiest and dirtiest, to date with lyrics like 'Ooh, I wanna f**k You, right now', 'Just because I can't kiss back/Doesn't mean you can't kiss that', 'Suck my **** lick My persuasion.' So, you get the point! It's not the type of album you wanna buy for your little ones. The Low lights of the album consists of feeling 'rushed' and 'incomplete'... If you spin the album a few times, You'll learn to love it. Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    The Bestest Album of 2012 , in my opinion. Its difersificate, and remenber the eras LOUD and RATED R. In the first time , i doesn't like **** (Track 5) And Watch N Learn (Track 10) , but now i just hate Watch N Learn. Drunk On Love, Farewell and We All Want Love SHOULD be singles. Love this album , and my note to this is 9.
  13. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Album #6 has a nice selection of hits and gave us one of her best tracks in 'We Found Love'. It's not the perfect album and not her best from her catalogue but there is enough here to make it an enjoayble album.
  14. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    I Loved Every Single Song Of This Album (Excluding Birthday Cake)
    She Is Improving So Much Vocally! Deserves A Grammy 100%!
  15. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    I'm starting to doubt if Rihanna has any talent left. She started out so great and sensational, but where has all of that gone? Every song is drowned in autotune and many don't stand out very much, other than "Where Have You Been" and "We Found Love."
  16. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    Clearly Rihanna's second best album after Rated R. Every song fits into the album and there's a continuous flow of dancefloor domination. Highlights include "Where Have You Been" and "Red Lipstick."
  17. Dec 23, 2014
    5
    Uma obra-prima comparado ao desastre musical chamado "Unapologetic",mas mesmo assim é muito,muito fraco um álbum ruim,porém "Unapologetic"é péssimo.
    Top 4
    1-Farewell
    2-You da One
    3-We Found Love
    4-Drunk on Love
    5-Talk That Talk
  18. May 29, 2013
    7
    Not RiRi's best album, but not her worst either. Highlights are her Calvin Harris collab 'We Found Love' and 'Where Have You Been'. It serves as a nice album overall, however, it seems like Rihanna has tried to make an album which will be commercially successful, which I don't have a problem with at all, but I think she has failed to produce enough tracks which have the potential to beNot RiRi's best album, but not her worst either. Highlights are her Calvin Harris collab 'We Found Love' and 'Where Have You Been'. It serves as a nice album overall, however, it seems like Rihanna has tried to make an album which will be commercially successful, which I don't have a problem with at all, but I think she has failed to produce enough tracks which have the potential to be successful singles, due to a lack of catchy hooks. But overall, it is an alright album, which will please her fans. Expand
  19. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    While "Rated R was a dark, emotional "ChrisBrownRecovery" album and "Loud" was a big, red chart-devouring machine, "Talk That Talk" didn't have it's own "personality". It's just a collection of songs that can become another #1 hit. Sorry, I should say COULD be a big hits if ti would be promoted properly. Of course I love "We Found Love" and "Where Have You Been" and I think that releasingWhile "Rated R was a dark, emotional "ChrisBrownRecovery" album and "Loud" was a big, red chart-devouring machine, "Talk That Talk" didn't have it's own "personality". It's just a collection of songs that can become another #1 hit. Sorry, I should say COULD be a big hits if ti would be promoted properly. Of course I love "We Found Love" and "Where Have You Been" and I think that releasing them was a great idea. I don't mind "You Da One". But what about "Talk That Talk", "Birthday Cake" and (Love It)"? Rihanna's bad-ass persona isn't really convincing in those songs. "Roc Me Out" and "Watch N' Learn" were better single options. Besides that, there's still a good R&B album here. Some of the highlights are: amazing Rihanna's vocals on "Drunk On Love", dark and sexy "Red Lipstick", sweet love song "Do Ya Thang", vulnerable rhapsody "Fool In Love" and a great power ballad "Farewell".

    8 out of 10
    Expand
  20. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    It's good. It's nothing out of the ordinary, but it's still one of Rihanna's best albums. I think the best tracks are "Talk That Talk", "Red Lipstick", and "Roc Me Out."
  21. Aug 30, 2013
    3
    Fumbling through the numbers, Talk That Talk is an identity crisis. Attempting to marry the dance-pop, urban, and ballad-leaning sides of Rihanna, it is a melting pot of goop. With production above par, the lyrics are at their worst. However, Rihanna makes the best of even goop, and delivers on each track in a way that each track feels as more than an album filler. But on an album whereFumbling through the numbers, Talk That Talk is an identity crisis. Attempting to marry the dance-pop, urban, and ballad-leaning sides of Rihanna, it is a melting pot of goop. With production above par, the lyrics are at their worst. However, Rihanna makes the best of even goop, and delivers on each track in a way that each track feels as more than an album filler. But on an album where pacing is non-existent, it caters to the cherry-picking iTunes masses. Talk That Talk simply does not work as an album. Expand
  22. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    She is a brand. Brand of good quality. I love "Farewell" and "We Found Love", there is no fillers at this album. However, there was a surprise for me, choosing "You da One" for single. It's catchy and solid but there are better productions like "Drunk on Love" or above-mentioned "Farewell" for instance.
    If I would have any objections, I think "Rock Me Out" is hoary old chestnut. The
    She is a brand. Brand of good quality. I love "Farewell" and "We Found Love", there is no fillers at this album. However, there was a surprise for me, choosing "You da One" for single. It's catchy and solid but there are better productions like "Drunk on Love" or above-mentioned "Farewell" for instance.
    If I would have any objections, I think "Rock Me Out" is hoary old chestnut. The second "Rude Boy";)
    Expand
  23. Jan 1, 2014
    7
    The album that went downhill. The standout tracks have to be 'Where Have You Been' and 'We Found Love' with the letdowns being (Love It)', 'Birthday Cake' and 'Watch n' Learn'. But considering that by averaging out the 14 songs scores on the deluxe edition I got 6.71 it shows that this album is average.
  24. Dec 18, 2014
    8
    You da One 100/100
    Where Have You Been 100/100
    We Found Love 100/100
    Talk That Talk 100/100
    Cockiness (Love It) 60/100
    Birthday Cake 100/100
    We All Want Love 95/100
    Drunk on Love 65/100
    Roc Me Out 100/100
    Watch n' Learn 95/100
    Farewell 55/100
  25. Apr 27, 2015
    7
    Aside from a few hit singles, Talk That Talk is probably one of Rihanna's least memorable albums. It doesn't have as many infectious hooks as Loud or Rated R, but it's still a pretty enjoyable album nevertheless. I can listen to the whole thing (bonus tracks included) without wanting to skip any songs, so I have to give her credit for that. Also, her vocals are pretty fantastic here, as always.
  26. Apr 15, 2015
    7
    A few years ago I would listen to this album almost everyday and eventually get sick of it. However, the album is a generally great effort from Rihanna. In my opinion, this was better than Loud. I like Rihanna's experimentation with different genres ("Cockiness"), while also paying homage to her original reggae style ("Watch n Learn"). There are a few slow Chris Brown Fortune-esqueA few years ago I would listen to this album almost everyday and eventually get sick of it. However, the album is a generally great effort from Rihanna. In my opinion, this was better than Loud. I like Rihanna's experimentation with different genres ("Cockiness"), while also paying homage to her original reggae style ("Watch n Learn"). There are a few slow Chris Brown Fortune-esque ballads, specifically "Farewell" (even though that album came after this one) but not enough to make this the disappointing album that Fortune was. Plus her ballads are better. There are also some repetitive dance songs, but overall, I'd have to say this is one of Rihanna's best. Grade: B. Highlights: "We All Want Love", "Drunk on Love", "Red Lipstick". Worst song: "We Found Love" Expand
  27. Apr 5, 2015
    5
    É um álbum bom sabe mas deixou a desejar em varios aspectos, é muito comercial não que sou contra musicas comerciais mas é praticamente o álbum INTEIRO comercial... Assim não da mas as baladas do Talk That Talk sao perfeitas.
  28. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Musically, this is pop without shame‑-her hookiest and most dance-targeted album.
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    30
    It's sure to sell on brand recognition alone, but I doubt a series of mannered and soulless hooks are going to find much life outside of the European remix circuit.
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    It's easy to criticise Talk That Talk but it's actually a fun and enjoyable record.