Tarot Sport

  • Record Label: ATP
  • Release Date: Oct 20, 2009
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 53
  2. Negative: 6 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. robertj
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    There's no reason i wouldn't recommend this album. it's different than anything I've ever heard. sounds like mogwai just from like 30 years in the future. some of it is similar to M83's first record. there's more risk-taking here though and the music is powerful. John W obviously isn't on board with progressive music so fuck buttons him anyways.
  2. PeterM.
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    The songs on this album have more room to breath compared to the debut album. It is also infinitely more accessible.
  3. JayS
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    Great time. Not for everyone, but if you enjoyed the first release, you'll love this one too. Slightly more accessible than the first album.
  4. MycroftW
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    It's strange how highly acclaimed electronic albums on Metacritic always get dissed by people who obviously never listen to them. Seems like a bit of a waste of time to me, time I'd rather spend listening to for instnace the Flight of the Feathered Serpent, which sounds to me like Godspeed You Black Emperor playing along to Born Slippy. Can't be bad!
  5. PeteJ
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    This is a stunning album, a very addictive fresh sound. I thought it might not have much substance or longevity but I was wrong, I can`t get bored of this beautiful tribal psychedelic noise classic.
  6. MontyC.
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    Electronic Post-Rock. Perfect background noise, yet ballsy enough to take the foreground.
  7. KendoJ
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Raw, unrefined, genius. Absolutely brilliant.
  8. CH
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    Just amazing stuff...really bringing drone back into the discussion when it comes to electronica genres. Great.
  9. omri
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    Just cant resist this wonderful tzunami.
  10. LukeK
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    So John W., why don't you just do it and make a critically acclaimed album? Good music has nothing to do with how well you can play your instrument, surely punk rock has taught us that. It has to do with song structure, creativity, and wordplay. Actually, I haven't heard this yet, but since the band name rules and I like the color green, I'll give it an 8.
  11. JohnW.
    Oct 24, 2009
    1
    WOW really? This is not good at all...it doesn't take much these days to be highly acclaimed does it? Just push a bunch of "buttons" and make noise no one has to have any real musical talent to play this crap..I could make better jams on garageband using apple loops!
  12. pmoney
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Muscular, menacing, monolithic. This album has IT ALL. A spectacular tour de force for this English duo. They've gone more melodic, more anthemic with throbbing, stabbing beats and soaring chords. Completely and totally kick-ass display.
  13. ThomasV
    Nov 14, 2009
    9
    The opening notes of Surf Solar took me back to the 70's Klaus Schulze and then charges forward. The Fuck Buttons combine old school electronic washes, power electronics muscle with crunchy beats and opaque rythms. The Lisbon Maru, with its military march recalls Vangelis' To The Unknown Man. I dig the rhythmic jerkiness of Phantom Limb. They've gone for the big beat and The opening notes of Surf Solar took me back to the 70's Klaus Schulze and then charges forward. The Fuck Buttons combine old school electronic washes, power electronics muscle with crunchy beats and opaque rythms. The Lisbon Maru, with its military march recalls Vangelis' To The Unknown Man. I dig the rhythmic jerkiness of Phantom Limb. They've gone for the big beat and left the wonderful denseness of OK, Let's Talk About Magic behind. Expand
  14. TrevorZ
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    Interestingly entertaining. Also, if you think you need no talent and that you can do better, then do it. Make it, release it on the internet and tell us where on the Meta forums.
  15. NachoC.
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    You know those electronic/ambient albums by a band who you think can't get any better? Well this album is certainly not one of those bands because their sophomore album blew me away. Tarot Sport is one of the best electronic albums this year.
  16. MichelleF.
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    This album is sick in the best possible way. No other band is culling these kinds of sounds to the transcendent payoff that F**k Buttons are. Tarot Sport is both an electronic and post-rock masterpiece, with each track flowing seamlessly into the next to form one glorious record. I was afraid the rest of the record wouldn't hold up to the great opener, "Surf Solar", but it does. Oh, This album is sick in the best possible way. No other band is culling these kinds of sounds to the transcendent payoff that F**k Buttons are. Tarot Sport is both an electronic and post-rock masterpiece, with each track flowing seamlessly into the next to form one glorious record. I was afraid the rest of the record wouldn't hold up to the great opener, "Surf Solar", but it does. Oh, it absolutely does. If you're a fan of both Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Justice, you would be crazy to skip this one. Expand
  17. dt
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    For those uninitiated who are baffled with their critical success, keep in mind that these guys are still a noise band. Noise is not for everybody.
  18. ChrisP
    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    I don't know why "John" put "quotes" around the word "buttons." Is it because the word "buttons" is in the name of the band Fuck "Buttons?" Hmm. Good point. Oh yeah. Great records. Better than their first!
  19. CailyD
    Nov 1, 2009
    1
    Really overrated and lazy music. It's just a bunch of noise with a beat occasionally thrown over top.
  20. aaronT
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    Nice album. Builds up to some great moments, and is making my essay writing easier!
  21. CurtisB
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    Excellently recorded. Carefully crafted. Beautiful symphonies of noise.
  22. AndrewE
    Oct 29, 2009
    1
    Wow this is absolutely horrendous. find a cool sound on your computer, loop it over and over for 5 minutes, and then scream like some 15-year-old emo kid into a microphone distorted to sound like youre in a trashcan for another 5 minutes, and youll get a 9.0 rating from pitchfork and all these other idiotic, lonely hipster dudes who somehow caught a job reviewing music because they have Wow this is absolutely horrendous. find a cool sound on your computer, loop it over and over for 5 minutes, and then scream like some 15-year-old emo kid into a microphone distorted to sound like youre in a trashcan for another 5 minutes, and youll get a 9.0 rating from pitchfork and all these other idiotic, lonely hipster dudes who somehow caught a job reviewing music because they have so much time on their hands due to the fact that all they do is play video games and talk about zombie movies. THIS IS NOT MUSIC. if you want to listen to the background music for a movie, then this is what youll love. horrendous. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Tarot Sport doesn’t pause to bang or whimper. Tarot Sport accelerates.
  2. And such are the music's joyous highs, subtle thrills and rich and deep layers, they can undoubtedly be judged one of the most worthwhile and special bands currently at large.
  3. Whereas Mogwai’s more recent work threatens to make a formula familiar, Fuck Buttons’ fizzling DIY laboratory still has the invention and ingenuity to surprise.