Temper Temper - Bullet For My Valentine
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    Breaking Point: 7.5/10
    Truth Hurts: 8/10
    Temper Temper 5/10
    P.O.W: 9.5/10
    Dirty Little Secret 6.5/10
    Leech 7/10
    Dead To The World 7/10
    Riot 6/10
    Saints n Sinners 9.5/10
    TDF part. 2: 8.5
    Livin Life: 9/10
    Not Invincible: 9/10
    Playing with Fire 8.5/10
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    6
    Bullet For My Valentine is finally back and not even great but still disappointed album of a year. The songs were just messed up. Riot still a great song, Tears Don't Fall 2 is a complete overrated song of this album. Temper Temper is a pretty mediocre album as I suggested it needs to make it better album. Unfortunately, Fever is an awesome album, Scream Aim Fire is God Like album and The Poison still rocks harder. BFMV's new album is just a flop and huge disappointment for a fans. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    3
    Bad!! Temper Temper has got to be easily one of the worst albums I've heard in the last three years. There's quite a lot I could say but I'll just sum it up as best as I can. The writing, the writing is horrid. Sounds like a angry thirteen year old who hates his parents because they wont give him the newest iPhone wrote it. Most of the songs are about being pissed off without much of any other variety. The music itself is bland and very boring, not bad just boring. There's nothing new or intuitive to make you want to listen. I ended up listening all the way through simply because I have enjoyed all three previous releases very much and wanted to give it a chance. To put it all simply, the album is way to predictable musically and lyrically. It's very boring and hard to recommend with much enthusiasm. Collapse
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Welsh "metal" band that everyone has come to love returns with their latest effort, "Temper Temper". With tension in the group, and anger being the theme here, the group makes a great effort for a new release, but spirits seems to fade. Everyone is already familiar with the title track and "Riot", and have gotten the most criticism of any other song on this record. "Temper Temper" offers a collection of fancy drum work and classic guitar work, but just seems dull compared to their finest work in recent years. "Riot" has more of a rock feel than anything, and with weak lyrics to back it up, the song will most likely be skipped, but in other eyes, could make the crowd sing another anthem. Songs like "Breaking Point", "Truth Hurts" and "Saints Sinners" serve as energetic fillers that seem to keep this ship upright, but not by much at all. "POW" is probably one of the brighter sides of this album, as it has the potential to become a ballad, but has its chance taken away. "POW" does have a spirit of their older songs, as its slow to mid tempo brings it some enjoyment. "Dirty Little Secret" has some of the most style changes for a song on this album, and keeps in contact in anger, but just has parts that do not belong to that puzzle and loses potential for a fantastic song. "Leech" is a rock song that brings to light that someone keeps crashing the party, but stands with the lower side of the album with songs like "Riot" and "Temper Temper". "Dead To The World" reminds me of Scream Aim Fire's "Say Goodnight", and serves a plate of mood and time to calm down after the mid-tempo assault the listener endured. "Dead To The World" digs deep, and ends with a climatic ending, with lyrics helped by Chris Jericho(Fozzy). "Tears Don't Fall Part II" is probably the most significant track on the album. Serving as a second chapter to an extremely popular BFMV song, this song provides a more different style to the first one, and maintains some of its old elements at the same time. This song isn't exactly a masterpiece, but serves as a damn good listen. This album ends with "Livin Life(On The Edge Of A Knife) which serves as an energetic high note for the ending of this record. With its 4 total bonus tracks(3 on deluxe, 1 Japan), it provides two live favorites(Cover of Whole Lotta Rosie and Scream Aim Fire), and two songs that seem just a hint better written then some of these songs on this record(Playing With Fire and Not Invincible). Bullet will continue to please fans, but also disappoint at moments. The guitars and drums continue to shine, with room for improvement, but the lyrics need a revamp, into something more out of the area of relationships.They are a great listen, and this album was alright. They will most likely never release another "Scream Aim Fire", or "The Poison", but that isn't a bad thing, because they seek to evolve into something better. But, if they seek to become the next "Metallica", they need to do some soul searching and patch up their work, before their place in the metal world gets knocked off. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    6
    Anyone would tell you that BFMV's latest album doesn't live up to the heights of 'The Poison' & 'Scream Aim Fire' but that's not to say it's a terrible album. 'Breaking Point' is an excellent opener to the album with an extremely catchy chorus, I struggle to understand if this song doesn't make it as one of their single's from the album. But there's no doubt that the song leads you into a false sense of Metal Galore. 'Truth Hurts' isn't bad but like most songs on the album lacks real creativity that the band has demonstrated over the years. As you go further into the album you reach Mediocrity at it's very best. How 'Riot' is a single I will never know, I wouldn't be surprised to hear they wrote the song in 5 mintues. A chorus that lacks serious conviction with some very simple 'Whoa's' in it. In all honesty the title track (Temper Temper) isn't much better either. Yes the riff is certainly impressive but does the rest of the song including Matt's vocals give the song a 5 Star Rating, think again. For fans wanting to actually get a 'feel to this album' I strongly suggest 'Dead to the World', reminiscent's of 80's Metallica/Megadeth this track will surely get the Download crowd of 2013 off their feet. Looking through other reviews I have seen that 'Tears Don't Fall Pt 2' hasn't exactly received the greatest of compliments. In all honesty I think it's a good song & along with 'Dead to the World' is the highlight of this album. The rest of the songs are simply not worth mentioning, commercialised rubbish is all I can say. A consistent feature of each album Bullet has released is Padge's great solo's. For most songs on the album, you will contemplate going asleep until you hear the energetic solo's that come in to these radio-friendly songs. Not to say changing the Band's sound is always a bad thing but when pure & utter lazyness & unimaginative creativity comes to mind, this album is certainly not worth buying, unless of course you are a Die-Hard BFMV fan. Rumours have went around that this is the band's last album, if this is the case then there's no doubt they have finished on a very poor level. This is not the Bullet most people know, I suggest if you want to listen to this album, go on Youtube or Spotify. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    I've been a big fan of Bullet for a while now and though their past 3 albums were true works of art to admire. Unfortunately Temper Temper doesn't accomplish anything. It doesn't cover new ground, it doesn't expand their musicality, it keeps them stuck in a rut. Guitars are descent but lyrics are generic. Despite all of this, it's still more enjoyable than most other mainstream rock nowadays.
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    Yes, this is their worst album to date. But that doesn't mean its terrible. All the criticisms of it are fair, but they don't competley ruin the album. Yes, the lyrics sound like they were written by an angry thirteen year old. Yes, it sounds unpolished and uninspired. But tracks like Not Invincible and P.O.W. have some of that polish and grit the rest of the album lacks. Playing With Fire isn't half bad either. You just need to be able to look past all the problems and see the potential this album does actually have. Expand
  8. Sep 17, 2014
    7
    This album isn't THAT bad. It's not as strong as albums like Scream Aim Fire and Fever, but it's not a terrible album. The title track is the only real "bad" song. TDF Part 2, Breaking Point, Truth Hurts and Riot are def the highlights for me.
  9. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    The fourth album by the Welsh metal quartet was born out of inter band troubles and alcohol and personal problems. It is a strange album with both positive and negative points. Opener "Breaking Point" is classic BFMV with a catchy riff and aggressive lyrics. It is the title track where the album first falls down. A 3 minute song that sounds more nu-metal than BFMV and has a pretty dreary chorus. However "P.O.W" and "Dirty Little Secret" picks things up a bit only to fall down again on "Leech". Although said song has a catchy guitar riff, it has pretty juvenile lyrics (like many songs on the album). A contribuition from Fozzy singer Chris Jericho helps to improve things on "Dead To The World" but this is followed by possibly the worst song Bullet For My Valentine have ever recorded, "Riot". WIth cheesy lyrics, a dreary riff and an out- of-place guitar solo. This song is followed by the easily forgettable "Saints & Sinners" once again ruined by the poor lyrics. However, the album is finished by the solid (yet unnecessary) "Tears Don't Fall (Part 2)" and "Not Invincible" to conclude the mediocre record. It's not quite the return we had wanted but it makes for some interesting listening. Expand
  10. Sep 29, 2014
    5
    The issue with Temper Temper is that while it does plenty of things exceptionally well, it fails to attain a number of the core elements that have made their past albums so widely enjoyed. While Bullet For My Valentines previous efforts have proudly flown the flag of their individual brand of music offering a creative and daring array of great tracks, Temper Temper comes across as formulaic and passionless, an album created to please shareholders and/or record companies, where the only lines were lined pockets and not lines in the record stores. If you told me that RCA Records approached the band immediately after the tours in support of Fever demanding another album to keep the money rolling, I wouldn't at all be surprised. It doesn't sound like an album the band wanted to make or one that spawned from passion, rather a safe effort abiding by the refined recipe of their musical style. There's no experimentation here, no creative stroke of brilliance - it plays by the books from beginning to end, making it sound horribly predictable and causing the songs to blend together into one mess of complex riffs and dull songwriting. Perhaps more insulting is the fact that the album does a lot of things right. The musicianship on the record is top notch, the band sounds tight and co-ordinated. The production is very solid and all around 'just right'. The singing pitch perfect beginning to end, Matts voice is used impeccably to line the verses and soar above the choruses. Alas, no amount of technical proficiency will save an album full of dull, safe, uninteresting songs. Here's hoping for a stronger more daring effort on album number five. Expand
  11. Sep 2, 2014
    5
    "Temper Temper" is Bullet For My Valentine's 4th studio album and without a doubt their worst one as well.
    Musically, this whole album is a BIG letdown. The riffs are so repetitive and uninteresting, boring bass lines and disappointing drumming considering Moose's abilities. Now, the lyrics on this album are awful, period. This is present in almost every single song on this record with
    "Riot" and "Temper Temper" being the most obvious examples.This album is lacking character, feel, emotion...and all of this comes from a guy that used to love this band but that's what separates fans from fanboys/girls. Being a fan means honesty. Liking whatever thy give you is not. They wanted to go in a different direction with this one and this is definitely not the right one!
    Overall, this album is just a huge disappointment. It's sad because this band has potential but they are not using that potential. I just really hope the new album will be good because this one was not a good nor a pleasant album to listen to at all
    Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    It's not that this album is terrible, but the change of sound is drastic, and a lot of old fans won't enjoy.
    My own personal thoughts, are the album is brought down by the change of guitar style. The screaming of course is good, and it's a little unfortunate that this album lacked it, but instrumentally is where it hit me the hardest.
    I loved Bullet for my Valentine for their very
    specific guitar style. But they left that behind completely. Specifically, the harmonized 3rds during every riff.
    Asides from that, it did manage to come with "Dead to the World", which is an amazing ballad, bringing back the same feeling of "Say Goodnight"'s release.
    All in all, I was a little disappointed, but still a fan regardless. Bands change, and they change as people. So it's nice to hear them take control of what they want to make for music.
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 80
    There's a familiarity to much of the material which, while not quite formulaic, does sometimes hint at self-reference, brazenly so on Tears Don't Fall (Part 2). [Mar 2013, p.97]
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    Temper Temper, their fourth, adds an aggressive edge to their sound. [Apr 2013, p.96]
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    While it isn't Bullet's best album, it's certainly their most mature and interesting effort to date. [2 Feb 2013, p.52]