User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 245

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    1
    I really don't understand how this guy gets so much props for this garbage (oh yeah, it's all opinion). In my opinion with all the auto-tune and (stupid) ridiculous rhymes, this album adds up to one stinky turd that'll be forgotten a couple years from now (see 50 Cent).
  2. Oct 4, 2014
    4
    I had high expectations for Tha Carter III as it was universally praised. To be honest, I must have overestimated the album as most of the tracks were boring and the production wasn't the best. I noticed he mentions Kanye West a few times in separate tracks, and speaking of him this album kind of sounds like Lil Wayne's version of College Dropout in a way. Lil Wayne lays down some creativeI had high expectations for Tha Carter III as it was universally praised. To be honest, I must have overestimated the album as most of the tracks were boring and the production wasn't the best. I noticed he mentions Kanye West a few times in separate tracks, and speaking of him this album kind of sounds like Lil Wayne's version of College Dropout in a way. Lil Wayne lays down some creative wordplay like usual and shows some direction but not enough to make it a great album. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    0
    This Album Sucks. Tha Carter III Is Relying Too Much On Autotune And Beats. His Lyrics Needs A Huge Improvement. But Other Than That, The Other Albums Released In 2008 Is WAY Better Than This. I Did Not Enjoy Any Tracks On This Album Whatso Ever. Jay-Z Murdered Him On Mr. Carter.
  4. May 1, 2013
    1
    This album is terrible the white girl that just wrote the review is mad because yall rating this stupidly he isnt the best and this album certaintly isnt either
  5. Aug 23, 2011
    1
    this album sucks lil wayne is inded the worst rapper alive he does not know how to rap he is one seriously one lousy lazy musician he is a waste of life lil wayne claim's he is the best rapper alive when he truly is not the best rapper he is and always will be the worst rapper alive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    To start off, he doesn't actually rap once during this piece of sh*t album. He talks slowly and auto-tunes his voice so he doesn't sound like a retarded monkey, even though he ends up sounding like one. He should kill his dumbass manager who lets him continue making this music and then kill himself, that way nobody has to hear any of his new music.
  7. May 13, 2013
    0
    This album was, is, and forever will be next level garbage. Its basically an album filled with him describing eating women out, and drugs. The 84 this got is pretty much the strongest case for critics reviews meaning nothing. Go listen to RAP Music by killer mike.
  8. Sep 29, 2013
    0
    Music for uneducated youth. Filled with auto-tuned "vocals", over-produced annoying beats, and meaningless lyrical themes. How anyone can call Lil Wayne talented is beyond me. It's disgusting that music publications can take this rubbish seriously, because any serious hip-hop fan wouldn't.
  9. BartSimpson
    Jan 18, 2009
    0
    Ugh. disgustingly overrated. he's sounds brain dead and the beats are all either similar, annoying, or uninspired. plus horrible lyricism. really find it hard to believe that this garbage album appeared in so many top ten lists. what's next?
  10. KrishB
    Jun 18, 2008
    0
    This album is straight garbage and Lil Wayne is overrated trash.
  11. CedricW.
    Jul 16, 2008
    0
    This shit sucks monkey ass
  12. tim
    Sep 13, 2008
    4
    Insanely unoriginal. But what would you expect with a guy who has Lil' in his name? He tries that whole robotic vocal thing that everyone and their dog is doing and he's just a sleezy stereotype.
  13. ZekeM
    Sep 13, 2009
    0
    Lil Wayne is overly overrated and i think its because fans of other genres like him due to his watered down music. The Carter II is a lot better than this; if you ask any core hiphop fan they will tell you that this album is a massive flop. It is a massive dissapointed that people see him as the "best rapper alive". . . I could name 10 albums that are better than this but dont have a Lil Wayne is overly overrated and i think its because fans of other genres like him due to his watered down music. The Carter II is a lot better than this; if you ask any core hiphop fan they will tell you that this album is a massive flop. It is a massive dissapointed that people see him as the "best rapper alive". . . I could name 10 albums that are better than this but dont have a higher rating on metacritic (N). Expand
  14. DavidA
    Jul 7, 2008
    4
    First and foremost the person that said that weezy has proven he is better then biggie is on some mad drugs WEEZY WILL NEVER BE ON THE LEVEL OF BIGGIE, PAC, JAY-Z, NAS, RAKIM, AND ALL THE OTHER GREATS now back on topic this album has some hot songs and some really unnecessary songs the featured artist are amazing in this jay-z rips weezy on his own track good choice of production but the First and foremost the person that said that weezy has proven he is better then biggie is on some mad drugs WEEZY WILL NEVER BE ON THE LEVEL OF BIGGIE, PAC, JAY-Z, NAS, RAKIM, AND ALL THE OTHER GREATS now back on topic this album has some hot songs and some really unnecessary songs the featured artist are amazing in this jay-z rips weezy on his own track good choice of production but the album lacks flare and for the people that say that the cool was can't stick up to this are mentally challenged they do not understand the sophisticated lyrics of lupe so they have to listen to weezy to make themselves feel good. Expand
  15. ANormalPerson
    Jul 8, 2008
    0
    I agree with datsun and all the other low scores. technically rap isn't music, so how can you give it a metascore?
  16. [Anonymous]
    Sep 2, 2008
    3
    If I wanted to hear an auto-tune ridden pop-tastrophe I would've just bought a T-Pain album. I guess I was mistakenly anticipating Weezy's attempt to bring his underground Drought 3 and Dedication 2 prowess to the mainstream. Woe is me.
  17. NickO
    Oct 1, 2009
    0
    Lil Wayne has the lyrical ability of a retard.
  18. Iknow
    Jul 6, 2009
    1
    I wanted to know what the hype was about Lil' wayne and I was disappointed that so many people listen to this garbage. Songs like "lollipop" and "mrs. officer" have great beats, but the lyrics bring the whole song down. What has the world come to to call songs about oral sex great music? I have no clear idea why critics managed to give this album a higher score than Lupe's Cool.
  19. Undergroundmystery
    Aug 25, 2009
    0
    Absolute garbage. Lil wayne is not close to the top 100 rappers living. I would like to see him battle against nas. Has no talent whatsoever as evident by his lyrics. Yeah, the lollipop beat is good but the lyrics are shit and it ruins the song.
  20. maxl
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Obviously the reviewer from Spin is the only smart one.
  21. DavidC
    Jun 11, 2008
    3
    Mediocre... nothing new here, listen to it at least twice, then send it straight to the recycle bin.
  22. CraigS
    Jun 15, 2008
    4
    There are a couple good songs on the album, but most of this is filler. The themes are also weak too often focusing on money and sex as if Wayne is incapable of living a deeper life.
  23. ChadS.
    Jun 22, 2008
    2
    This by far a good album. With mediocre beats and stupid analogies. Whoever thinks Lil Wayne is the best rapper alive needs to listen to the track on this album feat. Jay-Z and listen to Jay-Z murder him.
  24. datsun1978
    Jun 26, 2008
    1
    Now I ain't never been a chicken but my fitty cocked Say I ain't never been a chicken but my semi cocked um yea. lyrically dogpoop rap music is for kids and criminals.
  25. LiamF
    Nov 18, 2009
    4
    This album is alright but used to really like lil wayne during his earlier albums, IE Pre "Tha Carter" and some Carter songs. To someone who hasn't really heard weezy before this album and before he became really mainstream this is a good album but to fans of his it really isn't.
  26. r0ckc1ty
    Feb 12, 2009
    0
    Massive disappointment. If your a genuine fan of "Weezy F Baby" (ie you knew of him before MTV told you to like him) then you should find this album a slap in the face. After the wait from The Carter 2 I expected something with a bit of substance, but what I got was Wayne selling out and trying to win out the 50 Cent crowd with trash like "lollipop". The only track that reminds me of Massive disappointment. If your a genuine fan of "Weezy F Baby" (ie you knew of him before MTV told you to like him) then you should find this album a slap in the face. After the wait from The Carter 2 I expected something with a bit of substance, but what I got was Wayne selling out and trying to win out the 50 Cent crowd with trash like "lollipop". The only track that reminds me of anything that makes Wayne good is "A Millie" but that is decidedly average and not a scratch on "Money on my mind". What disapoints me most is that Waynes mixtapes leading up to this completely transcend the quality contained in this album. "Pray to the Lord" "I feel Like Dying" and the Moby remix "1000 Degrees" are vastly superior to drivel like "Mrs Officer" and "La La". Everything about the album is a departure from the LW of old. No Mannie, no Baby, no production from the runners and no collabos with the collective that he has been spittin bars for these past few years (Rick Ross, Joe Crack etc) Im not surprised there are high critical reviews. Most of these pompous idiots didnt know who Wayne was six months ago so subsequently dont know what they are missing out on. A typical passage to pop territory guarantees Birdman Jr the positive reviews in the 'hip' publications and an entry point into the playlists of many morons' ipods. But for the real fans Wayne has made a mediocre record, and I hope the Drought 4 rectifies this drop in quality. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Filled with bold, entertaining wordplay and plenty of well-executed, left-field ideas, Tha Carter III should be considered as a wild, somewhat difficult child of Weezy's magnum opus in motion, one that allows the listener an exhilarating and unapologetic taste of artistic freedom.
  2. That said, it's not an instant classic, but it is the best rap album since Kanye West dropped "Graduation" last year.
  3. We should have known. If his raspy, cartoonish voice didn't mark him as different, his quick wit, offhanded wordplay and quirky subject matter should have in a genre populated largely by grim-faced imitators.