Thank Me Later

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 250

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2015
    6
    This album isn't bad but it really doesn't show Drake's talent as a rapper. This album mostly consists of songs that are just slow R&B with very few songs that show him rapping. Honestly it gets a B- from me. Highlights: "Up All Night", "Miss Me". Worst song: "Find Your Love"
  2. timothya
    Jun 15, 2010
    6
    Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate hoax to trick people into thinking he is an updated version of the typical hardcore "street" rapper. Drake does not contribute anything new to the rap game, but instead comes off as a failed hybrid of lil wayne and Kanye west. Bragging abouts his exploits (in a less coy way than his contemporaries) and trying bitterly to have people understand that being rich and famous is difficult. We get it Drake, we are supposed to relate to you. However, in the end he is not the middle/upper class savior rap fans were hoping for. I think I will be thanking him much later, like never...That being said I like "Miss me" "Find your love" (I don't know why), "Thank me Now" and "show me a good time". Collapse
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    There's some deep stuff here on Drake's debut. There's also a lot of trash, probably because Lil Wayne mentored him.
  4. Aug 14, 2010
    5
    Drake is right. We still have to thank him later.

    Last year, Drake was the most talked-about star. He built up an incredible amount of hype with his mixtapes. HE signed on to the Young Money vessel. He had Lil Wayne's support. He had Jay-Z's support. So Far Gone sounded like an album. Fans were SO DAMN anxious for the release of his debut album. Like a rising basketball star on his way to
    Drake is right. We still have to thank him later.

    Last year, Drake was the most talked-about star. He built up an incredible amount of hype with his mixtapes. HE signed on to the Young Money vessel. He had Lil Wayne's support. He had Jay-Z's support. So Far Gone sounded like an album. Fans were SO DAMN anxious for the release of his debut album. Like a rising basketball star on his way to slam dunk, Drake had fans anticipating that moment of truth.

    That ball hit the board.

    Of course his diehard fans will applaud this album so much they'll campaign for it to be a classic. Trouble is, music lovers like myself know that would be a waste of time. This album is not bad but not great either. It's average.

    Drake isn't a half-bad rapper. He is better than many of the craploaders out there. But he isn't great. While some of his rhymes are good punches, his flow is a weakness. It rarely varies, and Drake sounds monotonous and uninteresting halfway through the album. His content too could be better. He isn't the best at braggadocio. But he could talk a little more. Pretty much the whole album is about his rise to fame, money, cars, and girls. Pretty mainstream.

    Another weakness is the beats. There are rarely any beats that stand out, save for "Over". Otherwise, all the beats are bland and quiet, really slowing the pace of the album. Yet another common weakness is the superior guest spots. Many times MCs are faced with the fact that their guest feature rip them up on their own track. Drake is no different. His blunder? All his rap guests outshine him.

    But the key to Drake's success is his ability to sing. He may not be trained but his voice is smooth, easily recognizable, and catchy. Find Your Love is the best track on the album because his singing really gives the song mood and pop sensibility.

    So the album isn't a complete disaster in no way. It was kind of what was expected, which isn't good because Drake is capable of doing so much more.
    Expand
  5. chada
    Jun 17, 2010
    5
    I shouldn't even be on boards like these No hardcore rap fans rate albums on here This album is gonna be enjoyable for all the pre-teens and listeners under eighteen years-old Pop_listeners will enjoy Rap fans of skillfull lyricism, Story-telling prowess and good rhymeschems are gonna be very disappointed This album is weak not beacuse Drake is fusing R&b and Rap It is weak beacuse I shouldn't even be on boards like these No hardcore rap fans rate albums on here This album is gonna be enjoyable for all the pre-teens and listeners under eighteen years-old Pop_listeners will enjoy Rap fans of skillfull lyricism, Story-telling prowess and good rhymeschems are gonna be very disappointed This album is weak not beacuse Drake is fusing R&b and Rap It is weak beacuse he's just not talented enough to master the "Rap" side of the table he has catchy hooks but weak metaphors like"I can make you speak my language Rosetta stone" and a lack of substance and mediocre cadences make this one of the weakest rap debuts Note-No great rapper in history has had a weak or mediocre debut! Expand
  6. CodyH.
    Jun 15, 2010
    5
    Drake gives the listeners a decent album, but it is far from great. The album is often repetitive and has similar beats throughout the CD. While Drake has recruited numerous stars, many of the features disappoint. On the positive side, Drake has given us a few songs that are definitely worth listening to. 'Fireworks' featuring Alicia Keys is definitely a high point for the Drake gives the listeners a decent album, but it is far from great. The album is often repetitive and has similar beats throughout the CD. While Drake has recruited numerous stars, many of the features disappoint. On the positive side, Drake has given us a few songs that are definitely worth listening to. 'Fireworks' featuring Alicia Keys is definitely a high point for the album. Drake attempts to use emotionally charged lyrics, but comes short. Overall the album is worth listening to but nothing special. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2010
    6
    Drake shares some fresh cultural perspective, though mainly adhering to hip-hop archetypes. The single "Over", is definitely destined to be a classic anthem with sublime string and horn overlays. Musically, there is much room for improvement, mainly in style and cohesion. Replay value: 1/5.
  8. Jan 13, 2016
    6
    Drake was very corny back then ahahahah some of the punchlines on here are hilarious and so are some of the love themed lyrics. Still a good album though , plus it introduced the world to a sound that is now being repeatedly copied.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Given his limitations, his famous friends are a mixed benefit, because they show him up.
  2. Thank Me Later may not have been the game-changing release everyone was hoping for, but we now have every reason to believe that the hype will ring true on his next album.
  3. Because of his relatively privileged upbringing (he's from a wealthy part of Toronto), Thank Me Later is less about chronicling and rising up out of his environment (like basically every rap debut since Illmatic) and more about how Drake is uncomfortable being famous.