Thank Me Later

Thank Me Later Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Showcasing his depth as a rapper, singer, and songwriter, Drake's debut album secures his place among hip-hop's elite with emotionally charged lyrics and dynamically produced beats.

Top Track

Over
I know way too many people here right now That I didn't know last year, who the fuck are y'all? I swear it feels like the last few nights we've been... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Toronto MC Drake has said that he wants fans to feel the different layers of his debut, Thank Me Later. From the sounds of it, he's held little back, sharing with listeners his deepest thoughts on family, women, and fame.
  2. Given his limitations, his famous friends are a mixed benefit, because they show him up.
  3. Thanks to the rich and nuanced production and Drake's thoughtful, playful, and intense lyrics, Thank Me Later is a radio-friendly, chart-topping collection of singles but also a serious examination of Drake's life that holds up as an album.
  4. So Drake isn't the hip-hop savior he was hyped to be. Instead, as he drifts through what should have been his boisterous coming-out party, he comes off as muted and rueful, missing the days when he was 19 and it was just about him and his girlfriend in a college dorm room.
  5. The album is good at parts, but never great. It's unlikely he's the next Jay, or Kanye, or even Jeezy. But you'll definitely keep hearing his name.
  6. The rapper's insistent navel-gazing isn't the most original concept, and it won't make for the most stable subject matter in the long run, but it certainly works on Thank Me Later, which nails confused introspection in a genre famous for willful misrepresentation of self.
  7. Mojo
    40
    By the album's close, however, his vulnerability risks tipping over into maudlin self-pity. [Sep 2010, p.103]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 71
  2. Negative: 12 out of 71
  1. JMoney
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    UNDISPUTED Album of the year!!!
  2. VictorH
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Incredible!
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This album is a real testament to how deep of an artist drake is. You can see a real variety of sounds whether it be more upbeat rap songsThis album is a real testament to how deep of an artist drake is. You can see a real variety of sounds whether it be more upbeat rap songs like Over or Miss Me, to a more slowed down, RnB style with songs like Cece's Interlude, Fireworks, and Shut It Down. The album is great, very fun to listen all the way through, and cant wait for more from him Expand
  4. JD
    Jun 16, 2010
    8
    Its pretty good. I could you some more of his mixtape style rapping. Also I dont like the AUTOtune in some of the songs.
  5. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    Continuing to demonstrate the widespread effect hip hop has gained globally, Drake is the first international hip hop artist. He has a muchContinuing to demonstrate the widespread effect hip hop has gained globally, Drake is the first international hip hop artist. He has a much more impressive pedigree once you peel back a layer or two. Not only does he write and co-produce a lot of his own material, he has just as much validity as a singer.....as he has with his flow. Expand
  6. timothya
    Jun 15, 2010
    6
    Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is Didn't live up to the hype. SFG >TML. Needless to say when your mixtape is better than your album, your doing something wrong. Drake is an oddity within the YM group being that he grew up a child star and never had anything of the "street" experiences of his comrades. Needless to say the bravado he channels for the album feels forced and it almost is like he is part of an elaborate hoax to trick people into thinking he is an updated version of the typical hardcore "street" rapper. Drake does not contribute anything new to the rap game, but instead comes off as a failed hybrid of lil wayne and Kanye west. Bragging abouts his exploits (in a less coy way than his contemporaries) and trying bitterly to have people understand that being rich and famous is difficult. We get it Drake, we are supposed to relate to you. However, in the end he is not the middle/upper class savior rap fans were hoping for. I think I will be thanking him much later, like never...That being said I like "Miss me" "Find your love" (I don't know why), "Thank me Now" and "show me a good time". Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    Money;Drugs;Sex. That's all he cares about apparently... He should learn to make some original lyrics instead of the same repetitive crap thatMoney;Drugs;Sex. That's all he cares about apparently... He should learn to make some original lyrics instead of the same repetitive crap that they always have today. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.