That's Why God Made the Radio

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2012
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    Despite a serious mid-album cheese-lull, the album begins and ends very strongly. From There To Back Again is the best track on here, harking back to a Sunflower-like production and reminding me of that album's At My Window. Al Jardine is in especially fine voice throughout. Certainly well worth checking out.
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Reviews I have read certainly haven't listened to the album properly. Yes I'm a Wilson obsessive but I also think that the Beach Boys last good album was Love You and this is far better than that- in fact it's their best effort since Holland.
    Apart from Beaches in Mind, which is pants- everything else is wonderful. No-it's no Pet Sounds, Sunflower, Surfs Up or Smile or even Brian Wilson or
    Reviews I have read certainly haven't listened to the album properly. Yes I'm a Wilson obsessive but I also think that the Beach Boys last good album was Love You and this is far better than that- in fact it's their best effort since Holland.
    Apart from Beaches in Mind, which is pants- everything else is wonderful. No-it's no Pet Sounds, Sunflower, Surfs Up or Smile or even Brian Wilson or That Lucky Old Sun but it's still bloody brilliant. The final three tracks can hold their head to a great deal of Wilson's past triumphs and other tracks really stay with you.
    It sounds wonderful and it is- my album of the year so far and that's high praise as The Beach Boys haven't recorded anything worth listening to in decades.
    Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    This legendary group proves that their harmonies are still the best and their music as catchy as ever. Sure, no one expects them to out-do "Pet Sounds", but this is truly a beautiful record.
  4. Jun 7, 2012
    7
    For the full review of the Beach Boys' latest, check out the Manik Music site! http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/beach-boys-thats-why-god-made-the-radio/#

    No matter how much I try to make my mind bend around it, thereâ
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    7
    If you would have told me a year ago that The Beach Boys would be releasing a NEW album in 2012 with Brian Wilson writing and producing (and David Marks rejoining), I wouldn't have believed you. I am very impressed with what the Boys have given us. With 8 out of the 12 songs ranging from good to great, thats a solid percentage if you ask me. The other 4 (Private Life of Bill and Sue,If you would have told me a year ago that The Beach Boys would be releasing a NEW album in 2012 with Brian Wilson writing and producing (and David Marks rejoining), I wouldn't have believed you. I am very impressed with what the Boys have given us. With 8 out of the 12 songs ranging from good to great, thats a solid percentage if you ask me. The other 4 (Private Life of Bill and Sue, Shelter, Daybreak Over The Ocean and Beaches in Mind) are not even that bad, they are just kind of bland and forgettable. The great ones? "Isn't It Time" is excellent...it's one of those songs that is memorable the FIRST TIME YOU HEAR IT. Aside from some cheeseball lyrics, "Spring Vacation" has excellent twists and turns to it. The single "That's Why God Made the Radio" feels like an old hit at this point since its been out for a couple months and it's just fine. The final 4 songs of the album (Strange World, From There To Back Again, Pacific Coast Highway and Summer's Gone) are a splendid way to close out the album. All of the songs dip deep into that great Brian Wilson world of melancholy and loneliness that he is so fond of. If you are a Beach Boys fan, I highly recommend you pick this up. It's not perfect but seriously...aside from Pet Sounds, EVERY Beach Boys album had some stinkers you had to skip past to get to the great stuff. Go pick it up ASAP! Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Ever Since 1978's M.I.U. Album I've become resigned to the fact that The Beach Boys would amount to nothing more than a nostalgic act. This belief was confirmed with the follow-ups L.A. Light Album and saccharine-enriched Keeping The Summer Alive. The sporadic recordings released afterward were mere exercises and reaffirmations of a legacy that was cemented decades before.
    Now out of
    Ever Since 1978's M.I.U. Album I've become resigned to the fact that The Beach Boys would amount to nothing more than a nostalgic act. This belief was confirmed with the follow-ups L.A. Light Album and saccharine-enriched Keeping The Summer Alive. The sporadic recordings released afterward were mere exercises and reaffirmations of a legacy that was cemented decades before.
    Now out of the clear blue California sky the reconstituted, reformed band that includes resident genius Brian Wilson releases an album to coincide with their current world tour.
    Their recent history suggested that an album, let alone a world tour would have never been considered, but it did.
    My expectations were low. Suffering through the debacle that was Summer In Paradise, a horrible shlock-filled effort that even makes the band's most hardcore fans shudder, more of the same would evolve and envelope this album as well. Turns out I'm only partially right. â
    Expand
  7. Ale
    Jun 12, 2012
    10
    After all this years no one expects them to release a beautiful record like this. Brian Wilson write another chapter of his incredible story with the help of some friends like Joe Thomas and Jeff Foskett. Of course the group proves that their harmonies are still the best and their music as catchy as ever. And some incursion of Bon Jovi and Jim Peterick in writing session complete the opera. Great!
  8. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    After hearing the title track on youtube, I found myself humming the song for the next few days. I was impressed how great the harmonies were from the band. My wife surprised me on Father's Day and bought the CD or me. I didn't expect much. After all, the group are in their late sixties and early 70's. But I was surprised how much I enjoyed the CD. The harmonies are excellent. HighlightsAfter hearing the title track on youtube, I found myself humming the song for the next few days. I was impressed how great the harmonies were from the band. My wife surprised me on Father's Day and bought the CD or me. I didn't expect much. After all, the group are in their late sixties and early 70's. But I was surprised how much I enjoyed the CD. The harmonies are excellent. Highlights on the CD for me are the title track, the catchy "Isn't It Time" "The Private Life Of Bill And Sue" echoes how I feel about all the crummy reality TV there is on today, "Beaches In Mind" "From There And Back Again" Yes I also like "Daybreak Over The Ocean" and the haunting "Summer's Gone" All in all, an enjoyable CD to listen to on a summer's day. Yes, it may not be their best ever, but it makes me want them to record more music Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    50
    That's Why God Made the Radio isn't a bad album. It's just not the album everyone wanted.
  2. The Wire
    Aug 2, 2012
    70
    They most definitely lack a soloist. Yet the way in which these sunkissed survivors pull together is touching. [Jun 2012, p.42]
  3. Mojo
    Jul 19, 2012
    80
    Though no Pet Sound, this album, at its best so wistfully reliving out golden yesterdays, ranks up there with Today! [Aug 2012, p.92]