The 2nd Law

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 341 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 341
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2015
    7
    The fact that Muse got to album number 6 (and look to go well beyond that )is a surprise to me. Thinking back to their first two albums, I really didn't think they'd have lasting power but here we are. The thing is, I'm still not sure quite how they've managed to get away with knocking out 4 more albums after "Origin of Symmetry". You can't really accuse Muse of being unambitious orThe fact that Muse got to album number 6 (and look to go well beyond that )is a surprise to me. Thinking back to their first two albums, I really didn't think they'd have lasting power but here we are. The thing is, I'm still not sure quite how they've managed to get away with knocking out 4 more albums after "Origin of Symmetry". You can't really accuse Muse of being unambitious or boring but I think you could be forgiven for using the adjective "uninspiring". "The 2nd Law" is actually better than I was expecting. It's bombast and grandiose, but it wouldn't be a Muse record otherwise. Opener "Supremacy" sounds like they wrote it for Bond film but lost out to Adele instead. Its got drama and operatics everywhere and is quite listenable. This is followed by two quite decent pop songs "Madness" and "Panic Station". "Follow Me" is bizarre and sounds like Matt Bellamy doing a Europop version of The Phantom of the Opera. This kind of sets the tone for the album - a mix of pop rock, opera rock and loads of Muse weirdness thrown in on top. "The 2nd Law" isn't bad at all and fair play to the band for keeping their career's going this far. Muse are a strange bunch but what's even stranger is how this band are as big as they are and the fact that they have sold out Wembley Stadium. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    I'll never understand the deep hatred towards this record. Muse have not only made a great rock opera record, but my 2nd favorite Muse album I've had the pleasure to listen too. Much more rock-orientated than The Resistance, which was a huge disappointment, Muse touch upon their apocalyptic rock roots that made them huge in the first place. Matt Bellamy hasn't just grown as a vocalist andI'll never understand the deep hatred towards this record. Muse have not only made a great rock opera record, but my 2nd favorite Muse album I've had the pleasure to listen too. Much more rock-orientated than The Resistance, which was a huge disappointment, Muse touch upon their apocalyptic rock roots that made them huge in the first place. Matt Bellamy hasn't just grown as a vocalist and songwriter, but also a guitarist. Easily Muse' guitar record.

    All In All, Muse are only getting bigger, and The 2nd Law just proves it. B+
    Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2012
    8
    I didn't listen to this album till now because I had lots of preconception due to the dubstep stuff they've included. But now, Christmas day, I finally got to listen to it. And: all my fears were gratuitious! Matt Bellamy still is a great singer and songwriter - and he got better than he ever was on this CD - and the whole band is harmonating and having fun at making their music. TheyI didn't listen to this album till now because I had lots of preconception due to the dubstep stuff they've included. But now, Christmas day, I finally got to listen to it. And: all my fears were gratuitious! Matt Bellamy still is a great singer and songwriter - and he got better than he ever was on this CD - and the whole band is harmonating and having fun at making their music. They lyrics are a mix between criticism of society, sarcasm and their usual rock poetry. The tunes are catchy, the dubstep totally fits in, and the rock never gets lost. The guys developed their music further and maybe their next release truly is a 10-point-album. The 2nd Law isn't yet, because of two rather flagging songs - the rest is purely awesome, whether it's electronic or rock stuff. Do me a favor and ignore all this nescient "critics" who can't see that songs can also be sophisticated when the writer explains what the "secret message" is while singing the lyrics. You don't need this difficult stuff if you have this straightforward and heavily talented band. Final word: this album is great! Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2015
    10
    Super subestimado por retardados!!!.... Aqui temos 43 imbecis que votaram de 0 a 3 pontos por essa Obra-Prima do Muse... Mesmo 4 a 6 sendo poucos pontos para essa Obra-Prima 26 cidadãos o fizeram... Tenho que concorda com esses 216 gênios...
  5. Jun 16, 2015
    7
    Not comparable to the others quality-wise, but this album is just so much fun. Everything is extremely over the top, but I love it. A great record to just jam out to or whatever.
  6. Jul 20, 2015
    10
    43 imbecis ou fãs do musers posers imbecis...............................................................................................................
  7. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    Excelente Álbum,o melhor até agora do Muse infelizmente The 2nd Law é muito subestimado.
    Top 6 The 2nd Law 2012
    1-Madness
    2-Big Freeze
    3-Panic Station
    4-Follow Me
    5-Explorers
    6-Supremacy
  8. May 11, 2016
    10
    ...................................................................................................................................The Masterpiece of Muse.... Hands Down
  9. Oct 21, 2015
    10
    In Their sixth album,Muse made an complete album in all terms,mainly in melodies great melodies,Sadly this album is underrated for "fans" only because have step pop-electronica... But Madness,Big Freeze,Panic Station,Follow Me,Supremacy,Prelude,Explorers and The 2nd Law: Isolated System & Unsustainalble are classics of Muse.. So shut up "Posers Fans" of Muse
  10. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    "Not a bad album at all. It has very great musical detail, and with [Matt's] soothing vocals. Though the album doesn't include as much great songs on the album and with some of the song's not being exactly 'perfect' and 'accomplishing', the album does give a great direction to a new musical era."
  11. Apr 2, 2016
    10
    43 Stupid Fans or even not-fan

    In this sixth album Muse have found his Magnum Opus, All here is perfect!!!!

    In Black Holes & Revelations of 2006 have the bad, "City of Delusion" & "Hoodoo" ,In Absolution of 2003,Origin Of Symmetry of 2001 have some bad songs, and few in The Resistance 2009,

    But not in this one.
  12. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    While i am more of a rap/hip hop lover, The Resistance was one of my favourite albums when it came out and I would even argue it could be considered "classic". I had very high hopes for this album and while I admit the first couple of listens scared me (as I was expecting the 2nd coming of god), in the end this is an excellent album that grows with each listen and I tip my hat off toWhile i am more of a rap/hip hop lover, The Resistance was one of my favourite albums when it came out and I would even argue it could be considered "classic". I had very high hopes for this album and while I admit the first couple of listens scared me (as I was expecting the 2nd coming of god), in the end this is an excellent album that grows with each listen and I tip my hat off to Muse. Well done chaps! Expand
  13. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    Muse's latest album is another effort to stretch the band's repertoire, but still maintaining the accessibility that they have taken in the last two albums or so. The fact is, singles are important in the current marketplace, and a band that doesn't sell out will be in trouble, especially in the current economy. The 2nd Law starts out with several strong tracks before descending intoMuse's latest album is another effort to stretch the band's repertoire, but still maintaining the accessibility that they have taken in the last two albums or so. The fact is, singles are important in the current marketplace, and a band that doesn't sell out will be in trouble, especially in the current economy. The 2nd Law starts out with several strong tracks before descending into experimentation. If you are a fan of Muse in their early years (The Origin of Symmetry a standout effort), you will still be disappointed, especially if you are enamored with their 'concept albums'. Expand
  14. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I am a HUGE Muse fan, but I must say that this album is not as awesome as their previous work. BUT.. still, it's too damn good. I love (almost) all the songs, even the vocal contribution of the bassist Christopher Wolstenholme. I love how they never refrain from experimentation like incorporation of funk, dubstep symphonic rock with their classic space rock in this record which isI am a HUGE Muse fan, but I must say that this album is not as awesome as their previous work. BUT.. still, it's too damn good. I love (almost) all the songs, even the vocal contribution of the bassist Christopher Wolstenholme. I love how they never refrain from experimentation like incorporation of funk, dubstep symphonic rock with their classic space rock in this record which is something rare. VERY RARE. As a band, they are really growing, they are not leaving their roots behind. I don't know why are the fans upset about the utilization of the whole dubstep idea. I just wanna say one thing to them and that is: Dubstep, itself, isn't bad. When you listen to an unsual genre song from a great artist, they make it sound like they are the pioneers of that genre and that's what happened here with Muse (IN MY OPINION). Listen to The 2nd Law: Unsustainable and Madness. You are definitely going to love them. Remaining songs on the album sound like they're Muse's, for sure. You can't ignore the intensity of the variation and experimentation in making this record. I am glad they have made this album, I mean I get to listen to different side of Muse, so I am not gonna hate on them. NEVER. I still love the band, they're still my top favourite band. And they will always be. If you want to listen to the same sound like the one used in previous albums, go ahead and listen to previous albums. Simple. Just stop being a bi**h and get over it. And at least, appreciate that they have made a new record which still sounds nothing like their previous work (sounds different and great) and that's a great thing. They keep evolving after making each record and I am really impressed with that and that's one of the major reasons I love this band so much. I know the expectations were really high and at first, I was kinda disappointed as well but when I finished listening to the whole album, I was like, "WOW!" and as a fan, that's quite enough for me. I don't care if people don't like the songs, what's done is done, you can't undo it so the only option is: TAKE IT. You can't just leave it. The songs have started growing on me and I am glad about it. Just give it a go again and I hope you would start loving it, too. Expand
  15. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Muse are one of the best rock bands in the world. I admit that they had better albums in the past, however this album is good and interesting. Songs like Madness, Animals and especially Supremacy are amazing rock songs, always with a touch of mystery. But, in the other hand, there are some songs in this album that are not very good, and even a little bit boring. Muse are original andMuse are one of the best rock bands in the world. I admit that they had better albums in the past, however this album is good and interesting. Songs like Madness, Animals and especially Supremacy are amazing rock songs, always with a touch of mystery. But, in the other hand, there are some songs in this album that are not very good, and even a little bit boring. Muse are original and powerful and still being one of my favourite bands. Expand
  16. Dec 31, 2016
    7
    With 'The 2nd Law', Muse has laid out a grand landscape, one that is built to tell an epic tale with ups and down, spanning different genres and ideas. Even though the album ends up being lengthy, none of the songs feel distinctly Muse. It's a great story being told by the wrong story teller, and it rarely hits a high point.
  17. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    This is one of those albums that has to grow on you before you like it. At first, The 2nd Law didn't strike a chord with me. It didn't seem as heavy as Muse's past records like Absolution and Black Holes & Revolutions. But after a second listen, I can say that this album has some amazing moments and some very good songs.

    Overall it has a Queen-U2-Depeche Mode kind of vibe.The opening
    This is one of those albums that has to grow on you before you like it. At first, The 2nd Law didn't strike a chord with me. It didn't seem as heavy as Muse's past records like Absolution and Black Holes & Revolutions. But after a second listen, I can say that this album has some amazing moments and some very good songs.

    Overall it has a Queen-U2-Depeche Mode kind of vibe.The opening track, "Supremacy," has a Led Zeppelin-esque style (it reminded me of their song "Kashmir"). "Madness" begins quietly with bass and samples, building up into a Queen-style climax. "Panic Station" (my personal favorite) is a heavy funk-driven track. The bombastic "Survival" (the 2012 Olympics anthem) is probably the only song on the album similar to "old" Muse. "Explorers" sounds very similar to "Invincible" from BH&R. "Save Me" and "Liquid State" are both sung by bassist Chris Wolstenholme. "The 2nd Law: Unsustainable" sees Matt Bellamy emulating dubstep via guitar (similar to what Tom Morello did in RATM by emulating turntables and synths via guitar), although the choppy, distorted vocals ruin the song.

    Most of the lyrics deal with personal subjects. "Madness" details a shaky relationship. "Follow Me" is about Bellamy's newborn son. "Save Me" and "Liquid State," the two songs sung by Wolstenholme, describe his dark experience with alcoholism. The final two songs, "The 2nd Law: Unsustainable" and "The 2nd Law: Isolated System," refer to the second law of thermodynamics (hence the name of the album).

    In conclusion, The 2nd Law is an album that takes a little while before one can appreciate it. It may not be as "in-your-face" as past Muse albums have been, but it is still an interesting record that can be enjoyed.
    Expand
  18. Dec 30, 2015
    10
    .................................................................43 Idiots..................................................... The 2nd Law is underrated for own fans of Muse is a disgrace...
  19. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Well I can say that Muse did a splended job here. They haven't turned mainstream with this album (unlike Coldplay's newest album) and that is what is important. The record has got a lot of avantgarde sounds and lot's of alternative styles in songs. There are some songs that you will skip later when listening but only 1, max 2. All in all a great album that reminds me of Queen and otherWell I can say that Muse did a splended job here. They haven't turned mainstream with this album (unlike Coldplay's newest album) and that is what is important. The record has got a lot of avantgarde sounds and lot's of alternative styles in songs. There are some songs that you will skip later when listening but only 1, max 2. All in all a great album that reminds me of Queen and other alternative rock bands. Expand
  20. May 21, 2015
    9
    The 2nd Law is an experiment, and a successful one: both at being an insanely well-done album and at annoying diehard "Origin of Symmetry" lovers. Loved Chris' singing in "Save Me" and "Liquid State," the dubstep was surprisingly captivating, and of course there was plenty of awesomeness all around.
  21. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    The 2nd Law combines 13 completely different songs to create a surprisingly magnificent whole. Best songs are Follow Me, Animals, Explorers, Save Me and Liquid State.
  22. Jun 9, 2015
    8
    A few unnecessary tracks on here sure but this album is nice and diverse with some brilliant tracks on here that are memorable. Get this album to check out; Supremacy, Madness, Panic Station, Follow Me, Animals, Save Me and Unsustainable! The songs on these albums are definitely a bit of an experiment for Muse but some of them (i'll be honest not all of them) work greatly!
  23. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    I wouldn't call myself a Muse fan. I used to love Origin of Symmetry, but found the albums since then to be quite boring. For some unknown reason I became caught up in the hype around 2nd Law, after watching the preview video a few times, and wondering how Muse were going to fuse dubstep with their guitar-based band.

    The album is very disjointed - no two songs seem to sit quite
    I wouldn't call myself a Muse fan. I used to love Origin of Symmetry, but found the albums since then to be quite boring. For some unknown reason I became caught up in the hype around 2nd Law, after watching the preview video a few times, and wondering how Muse were going to fuse dubstep with their guitar-based band.

    The album is very disjointed - no two songs seem to sit quite comfortably together in the way an album might be expected. But strangely it works, in much the same way as Queen's Night at the Opera, to which this album owes a lot. However, I haven't been able to get the songs out of my head all week - surely a sign of a great album? Having a listen seems to be the only cure, albeit only for a few hours.

    Rather than simply sounding like a Radiohead tribute as they did 11 years ago, Muse now display a wide variety of influences. Queen, David Bowie, ELO, and U2 all crop up here. The song Big Freeze could very easily be made by U2. Survival might as well be an ELO song.

    One stand out song is Panic Station, which should join the ranks of Junior Senior's Move Your Feet as a surprise club hit, with its strong beat and brilliant writing.

    The band here have evolved, with Matt Bellamy's voice matured almost beyond recognition since Origin. No more screeching falsetto all the time (although it's not completely absent). There is a distinct lack of guitar work here too, with a lot of synths providing the background to his moving vocal work. Clearly Muse are not afraid to experiment in order to move their sound forward.

    The only weak point, somewhat ironically, are the final two songs titled The 2nd Law: Unsustainable and The 2nd Law: Isolated System. They lack the power and finesse of the rest of the album.

    All in all this is a fantastic collection of songs, and gets better with each listen. I haven't listened to an album in such depth in about 15 years, so I'm sure you can understand my excitement with it.
    Expand
  24. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Massive grower - both for the listener and in terms of Muse's development. Take out Liquid State and it is pretty much perfect. Really enjoying this.
  25. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    It's a generally very good album, but not a patch on some of their earlier albums. Unfortunately for Muse, they seem to have already set up their own legacy with the classic albums of Origin, Absolution and Black holes. This though seems a wholly unremarkable album, its a bit all over the place and contains no really career defining songs. There are some good ones don't get me wrong. TheIt's a generally very good album, but not a patch on some of their earlier albums. Unfortunately for Muse, they seem to have already set up their own legacy with the classic albums of Origin, Absolution and Black holes. This though seems a wholly unremarkable album, its a bit all over the place and contains no really career defining songs. There are some good ones don't get me wrong. The dub-rock powerfest of - Follow me, is obviously the stand out, but there are others. These include the happy, catchy and beautifully layered - Big freeze, the funky Panic Station, the relentless - supremacy and even the two electric title tracks at the end. Madness is probably the best example of a song that grows on you out there. When I first heard it I was like "What...?" but now I love it. Weaker songs include; Survive and liquid state. I still recommend it to everyone, its an interesting but not perfect album. Expand
  26. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    I liked this album. It is fresh and muse showed that can rock in other ways. I know that it has some characteristics fro dub step however the music is good. i really like supremacy, panic station (which reminds me of red hot chili peppers), follow me and madness. It's a good one. Hope you enjoy it!
  27. Mar 25, 2013
    8
    This album is a great experience to listen too. Only a few songs on there own can be listened to regularly, but if you listen to it all at once, it will sound amazing. The only problem are the last 2 songs are terrible and out of place. Song Suggestions from this album: Big Freeze, Panic Station.
  28. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    What does Muse have left to cover? I find myself asking this question frequently when I think about where singer/songwriter Matt Bellamy will lead his band after The 2nd Law, an album that sees the most over the top band since Queen continue down the road to full on lunacy. "Supremacy," this album's opener, instantly tells us that this album will be no less ridiculous than The ResistanceWhat does Muse have left to cover? I find myself asking this question frequently when I think about where singer/songwriter Matt Bellamy will lead his band after The 2nd Law, an album that sees the most over the top band since Queen continue down the road to full on lunacy. "Supremacy," this album's opener, instantly tells us that this album will be no less ridiculous than The Resistance (fortunately, it's also better.) High points: Supremacy, The 2nd Law: Unsustainable, Panic Station
    Low points: Animals, Explorers, Save Me, Liquid State
    Expand
  29. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    Its not the same as the old albums but would you want it to be? I'm not going to claim 2nd Law is as good as Origin of Symmetry or Absolution but its still a decent album. Songs like supremacy and panic station in particular are brilliant and even unsustainable (which i initially disliked) while not a classic muse song really grows on you. Like all Muse songs once you have seen them liveIts not the same as the old albums but would you want it to be? I'm not going to claim 2nd Law is as good as Origin of Symmetry or Absolution but its still a decent album. Songs like supremacy and panic station in particular are brilliant and even unsustainable (which i initially disliked) while not a classic muse song really grows on you. Like all Muse songs once you have seen them live you'll find they grow on you. Expand
  30. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    Decent Muse album, but there isn't really any memorable songs, kind of boring actually. Panic Station is alright, and reminds me of 'Get Lucky' by Daft Punk, and Survival and Madness are good, but meh overall, if you want a really good Muse album, check out Absolution.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. From its atmospheric nineties leanings to Bellamy's consistently on-the-mark channeling of Bono, it's not too hard to imagine The 2nd Law having a similar legacy ten or twenty years down the road: not a great album, but an adventurous one.
  2. Kerrang!
    Oct 29, 2012
    80
    Does this all meld together into the cohesive whole of a perfect album? Well, no, not really. But does The 2nd Law represent a band whose only limitations seem to be the high ceiling of their collective imagination? The answer here is an emphatic yes. [6 Oct 2012, p.52]
  3. Mojo
    Oct 22, 2012
    80
    Muse and David Campbell's melodramatic arrangements occasionally raise a smile, but if you like your rock symphonic and your vocals histrionic, The 2nd Law delivers. [Nov 2012, p.87]