User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Maybe a little too ambitious and all over the place. I respect what they're trying to do, but as a first time listener it's really hard to get into. I look forward to what they release next.
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums ever made; The air index feels just like it should, easy to the ears, light, smooth. But the album glows in the earth index; It feels downright gritty and dirty but manages to sound plain beautiful, just like a diamond in the rough. This album captures the sound of the elements and my heart as a music lover.
  3. MattM
    May 2, 2008
    9
    A near-masterpiece for Thrice. Though it fails to reach the beauty and balance of Vheissu, Dustin Kensrue and his bandmates have definitely made an impressive accomplishment in the final two discs to their Alchemy Index anthology. The Air disc is quite haunting with the tragic tale of "Daedalus", or the more upbeat "Sky Is Falling". Earth, is more raw and has a homegrown log cabin sound A near-masterpiece for Thrice. Though it fails to reach the beauty and balance of Vheissu, Dustin Kensrue and his bandmates have definitely made an impressive accomplishment in the final two discs to their Alchemy Index anthology. The Air disc is quite haunting with the tragic tale of "Daedalus", or the more upbeat "Sky Is Falling". Earth, is more raw and has a homegrown log cabin sound to it. "Moving Mountains" and "Come All You Weary", for example, are truly unforgettable. A must-own for anyone with a diverse taste in music. Expand
  4. PrestonJ.
    May 2, 2008
    6
    Its not a bad album its just that it doesn't have the same energy or innovation that the last one did. Air doesn't convey the feeling of a free flowing gas nor do the lyrics fit with the motif (as with the previous), and earth is just an okay acoustic album. It wasn't a terrible album just a terrible let down.
  5. TobiasM.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    There is something subtle in here... There is, in fact, a feel to the entire collection. Thrice is having fun and we are lucky enough to enjoy the result.
  6. IsaacA.e
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Absolute genius - best rock album of the year to date.
  7. MattK.
    May 20, 2008
    5
    After one listen through each disc, I couldn't take much more. The first disc was painfully boring. The second was much better, but still nothing that I would consider great. Maybe this kind of thing isn't my cup of tea. Maybe I'm being way too harsh. Maybe I just need to give the album a few more spins. All I know is that I can't possibly conceive how this is a After one listen through each disc, I couldn't take much more. The first disc was painfully boring. The second was much better, but still nothing that I would consider great. Maybe this kind of thing isn't my cup of tea. Maybe I'm being way too harsh. Maybe I just need to give the album a few more spins. All I know is that I can't possibly conceive how this is a crowning achievement or a masterpiece. Just because there's an interesting idea behind something doesn't mean it automatically pans out, and I feel that a lot of people are just handing it to Thrice. Expand
  8. AndyB
    May 2, 2008
    10
    This is a perfect conclusion to an incredibly ambitious concept album. Thrice always manages to pour their hearts into every song in a way that is simply lost in this age of dumbed-down corporate "rock" or "punk" albums. Thrice has traded in the hard hitting bass notes of Artist in the Ambulance and Vheissu for a softer, yet no less complex, cohesive collection laced with subtleties and This is a perfect conclusion to an incredibly ambitious concept album. Thrice always manages to pour their hearts into every song in a way that is simply lost in this age of dumbed-down corporate "rock" or "punk" albums. Thrice has traded in the hard hitting bass notes of Artist in the Ambulance and Vheissu for a softer, yet no less complex, cohesive collection laced with subtleties and supported by a mature understanding of songwriting, music theory and literature. I have to highlight two aspects for their outstanding quality. First, the drums really do a great job of fitting their space perfectly. Riley manages to accent the vocals and guitar, keep an intricate and complex beat and push the songs forward, all the while not stealing the spotlight from Dustin's incredible vocals (you can see this really well in Broken Lungs). This leads me to the other outstanding instrument, the vocals. Dustin has a unique and powerful voice that can intimate the most complex and varied emotions while maintaining his signature raw and strained sound that helped make Thrice famous in the first place. The lyrics are beautiful, musical poetry that have countless layers of significance. The subjects are relatable and uplifting while challenging the listener and his most personal beliefs (consider, for example, Moving Mountains which takes I Corinthians 13, one of the most unique and revolutionary passages in the New Testament and forms it into a heart-wrenching reflection on the state of the soul). If this seems over the top in length or enthusiasm it is only because of how thankful I am to Thrice as a band for giving me yet another reason to believe that music can change lives. This review may not be worth much but it is my way of thanking a band that has affected me in so many great ways. Expand
  9. CanaanB
    Aug 8, 2008
    9
    I was a bit unsure they could pull off an album that could convey the elemental Air & Earth, but I believe they nailed it (for the most part). Hey, even if you disagree, it's hard to deny the incredible depth of this album especially when considering the first two elements of Water & Fire as well. It's an astoundingly cohesive album musically and lyrically and will be one of my I was a bit unsure they could pull off an album that could convey the elemental Air & Earth, but I believe they nailed it (for the most part). Hey, even if you disagree, it's hard to deny the incredible depth of this album especially when considering the first two elements of Water & Fire as well. It's an astoundingly cohesive album musically and lyrically and will be one of my favorites for years to come. Expand
  10. zachc
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    Thrice's divergence into this more progressive direction has worked from day one. Credit not only their amazing musicianship but also their refusal to compromise. Air & Earth don't necessarily better the first two volumes but are equally successful in that they masterfully capture the essence of the featured elements. Earth is a rootsy discourse in blues and some pretty unique Thrice's divergence into this more progressive direction has worked from day one. Credit not only their amazing musicianship but also their refusal to compromise. Air & Earth don't necessarily better the first two volumes but are equally successful in that they masterfully capture the essence of the featured elements. Earth is a rootsy discourse in blues and some pretty unique string arrangements. Between the two volumes, Dustin truly shines on songs like 'moving mountains' and the beautiful 'come all you weary'. This is bare-bones Thrice. Air, by comparison, is truly ethereal in its delivery. The weightlessness of some of the songs is truly a marvel. 'Daedalus' for instance (in my opinion) could be the most triumphant song they've yet written - the whole band not only soars, they go straight for your heart strings. Beautiful album, through and through and yet another benchmark in Thrice's trek toward the kingdom of modern music's most talented. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Alternative Press
    70
    Alone, Air and Earth are the weakest of the EPs, but taken as a whole, Thrice have managed to convert an ultra-abstract concept into a cohesive and innovative collection. [May 2008, p.143]
  2. For The Alchemy Index Vols. III & IV: Air & Earth, the material is appropriately lofty to represent the former element but surprisingly sparse for the latter.
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    This second installment is immaculate, an artful, emotional tour de force that underlines their "American rock's Radiohead" status. [May 2008, p.130]