The Amalgamut

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeFlaseedAnderlimpsticks
    Sep 18, 2002
    10
    Outstanding. Best Album to date. "My long walk to Jail" simply rocks.
  2. ChrisT.
    Aug 21, 2002
    9
    And incredible album and their best to date. Standout tracks include 'Columind', 'The Only Way', 'The Missing', and 'American Cliche'. Arguably the best hard rock album of the year!
  3. JoshW.
    Aug 7, 2002
    10
    A very raw, and emotional album. Their best yet!!
  4. JonQ.Poeblic
    Sep 18, 2002
    10
    Wow
  5. BobJ
    Oct 2, 2003
    0
    Filter has given us a real piece of crap here.
  6. jeff
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    excellent ... this cd just plain rules.
  7. BukissS.
    Aug 20, 2002
    1
    too much techno for the rock lovers and too much rock for the ballad lovers
  8. DavidL.
    Aug 8, 2002
    10
    THIS IS THE ALBUM THAT I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR!!! Their new sound is just MARVELOUS! A little bit different from the previous album 'Title Of Record' This time, they are just GOD DAMN HEAVY!!! (the sound is enough to touch my heart!) DO NOT HESITATE! YOU GOTTA LISTEN IT ASAP!!!
  9. DennisB.
    Sep 5, 2002
    8
    The best work put forward by Filter - I can't believe people can diss this album, it totally rocks.
  10. DanielH
    Jan 7, 2003
    0
    you people are all damn losers. Anybody over the age of 21 who seriously thinks this tripe "rocks" needs their head read, and then slapped....HARD!!
  11. DeclanM
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    Very good album near perfect its a shame he hasn't released anything since.
  12. GilliganRIP
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    This album still holds up as the band's best work. God Damn Me should affect you. If it doesn't, you're dead.
  13. AndrewM
    May 15, 2005
    8
    Sir Spite Ful doesn't know what he is talking about. Filter is not one of the bands that kids today rally behind and protest corporate America with. I can't even imagine what gave you that impression: maybe "Where Do Weo Go From Here?"'s video with all the kids? I don't know, but if you're gonna harsh know you're talking about first you idiot. Filter is a Sir Spite Ful doesn't know what he is talking about. Filter is not one of the bands that kids today rally behind and protest corporate America with. I can't even imagine what gave you that impression: maybe "Where Do Weo Go From Here?"'s video with all the kids? I don't know, but if you're gonna harsh know you're talking about first you idiot. Filter is a band that's maturing with age. There are still bizarre electronic pieces on the cd but songs like "Where Do We Go From Here", "The Missing", "God Damn Me", and "The Only Way (Is the Wrong Way) are worth is the price of the cd alone. "My Lonely Walk to Jail" along with the first half the cd will please older fans of Filter who enjoyed "Nice Shot Man" and "Welcome to the Fold". A great cd for long time fans and a great cd for newcomers, just look for new Filter, as they get better with every cd. Expand
  14. SirSpiteFull
    Nov 14, 2002
    2
    The band is so hardcore their music is used to sell...HUMMER! Yes, that's right you rebel high school kids! That's Filter being used to sell $50-100,000 only-rich-need-apply SUVs! Good example for the kids, don't you think? Hey come work for rock and roll! We sell all the best products our fans could never afford! Selling out to Corporate America rocks & rules! Losers...
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Alternative Press
    70
    This time, the heartfelt stuff sounds more sugary than before, while the hate vibes sound even more caustic. [Sep 2002, p.73]
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    A robust blend of anthemic choruses and electro-tinged riffing, it will appeal to fans of Depeche Mode and Metallica alike. [July 2002, p.112]
  3. Patrick and cohorts haven't left behind big, dumb obviousness. Thrashy, trashy tracks such as "Columind" still weigh the album down with anonymous groans and heard-'em-before riffs.