The Ascent - Wiley
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2013
    Been a fan of Wiley's for years now and this album does not disappoint.
    Wiley brings back his grime roots on songs like First Class, Chainsaw and Sillzone, has the club raving with Heatwave, Can You Hear Me?, Reload and Lights On and has his own classic ESKIBEAT sound with Humble Pie, Rubicon Ninja and Broken Thoughts. With only one truly shocking song (So Alive) the rest is no more then
    filler with some current big names (My Heart feat. Emeli Sande & French Montana, Tomorrow feat. Megaman and Hands In The Air feat. Tulisa).
    But the album was well worth the money with well over the majority being a hit with this old Wiley fan and will go down as his album that gave him that icon number one single (Heatwave) and will be a classic in his catalogue of albums.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    This isn't his masterpiece, but it is the unexpected sound of the road of excess leading to the palace of wisdom. [May 2013, p.103]
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    ["Skillzone" is] one the few times the album offers a "punch in the gut." Everything else is more "hands in the air" and from every radio-friendly strain of wonky pop, giving the impression that The Ascent is a mixtape of Wiley features and not a proper album.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    The Ascent doesn’t actually feel like a Wiley record. That’s mainly because it’s a struggle to find him amongst the gaggle of voices that spit their way across vapid efforts like the Chip and Ms D collaboration ‘Reload’ and the pedestrian Far East Movement-mauled ‘So Alive’.