The Black Album

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2003
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 199

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. This is still my favorite rap album to date and is one of the best I've ever heard. Jay Z was trying to retire with a bang and he did just that. This is Jay Z's best album. The production was amazing, the lyrics were on point and we heard every jay Z. Classic and new.
  2. FuckJay-Z
    Jan 19, 2004
    0
    Worst fuckin cd i have ever heard.Bad way to go out.What ever happened to the old Jay-Z. His voice just bothers me now.
  3. jayzero
    Mar 19, 2004
    7
    if 2pac was alive, jay-z wouldn't be shit right now...
  4. RodrigoR.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Jay-Z's best album, one of the best albums ever made, it's real hip-hop, it's black music! 99 problems, dirt off your shoulder best songs from album!
  5. TonyG
    Nov 24, 2003
    0
    The "whack" Album.
  6. MikeyM
    Dec 14, 2003
    5
    Half the songs are good half are bad it basically a half ass way to go out.
  7. mikep
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    another masterpiece by Jay.
  8. delshaine
    Jan 5, 2004
    8
    it's a great album though i felt he went on too long about him leaving ......like we aint missin him enuff already.
  9. Miguel
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    Yo this CD is hot yall cant blame da dude 4 spitten his whole life in one album da boy doin big thangs and it f* up dat he retiring but its cool he left his mark
  10. CeCeT
    Mar 2, 2004
    9
    I got 99 problems but a Bi### ain't one. That song was on point. I was feeling that and the cd is hott...
  11. Kenneth(Tupac)Durrant
    May 27, 2004
    10
    Jay-Z worked so hard every year. People tried to compare him with B.I.G, you cannot compare the two no matter what people say Jay-Z is One of the best and Compare 2 none. Kenneth Durrant AKA Tupac
  12. PHATPCHIPI
    May 18, 2005
    8
    yo the beats destroyed the album and i expected a lot more than 14 tracks but the lyrics were off the hook i just hope he'll cme out of retirement and hit us with one more.
  13. datnigga20geezy
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    Dude the best rapper ever, fuck the hatters they just mad a hustler made it, SLIM did it with this album, I love you big hommie. U definitley put yourself high on that pedestal n u got the right.U made it to the top hommie and the spot that u earned. THANKS.
  14. youngone
    Oct 3, 2004
    8
    jigga got soft take him back to resonable doubt time he rhymes changed around vol 3 more resonable doubt
  15. floydW
    Feb 17, 2004
    9
    Jay-z done good with his final album the black album,but i thought this being his last album he would make this the best one out of all of them.The black album isnt bad it just inst as good as Blueprint not bluprint 2 blueprint that is the best rap album released this century.The black album comes third behined beyoned resonable doubt.The black album is a classic like jay said it wold be Jay-z done good with his final album the black album,but i thought this being his last album he would make this the best one out of all of them.The black album isnt bad it just inst as good as Blueprint not bluprint 2 blueprint that is the best rap album released this century.The black album comes third behined beyoned resonable doubt.The black album is a classic like jay said it wold be and the out standing song for me is my first song.Jay is going out on a high and is the best of all time in my eyes Expand
  16. BabyTae
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    This is the tightest album that has eva came out and whoeva think different fuck ya'll.
  17. deandreh
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    jay-z is the best rapper alive, and the black album is one of his best. cant nobody touch him, even in his retirement
  18. evansk
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    too damn hott I can't wait for the nex one. yeah, I said it.
  19. zack
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    i like the cd the best
  20. BrannonM
    Apr 6, 2007
    8
    High Quality shit
  21. DanA
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    A wonderful coup de grace for Jay'z "retirement." It really is a shame he went and made Kingdom Come. This would've finished the legacy off fine.
  22. CarlosP
    Nov 24, 2003
    8
    Not as good as Reasonable Doubt or the Blueprint but good enough to warrant a purchase. Probably Jay's third best album. With Volume 3 being the next.
  23. chrisc
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    This album is so hot, people need to stop frontin on Jay. He is the best rapper in the game, period.
  24. **JayDee**
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    This album really reveals Jay's life a little bit more to us. He got alot of things off his chest in this album and every track was above average in quality. I really enjoyed listening to the Black album and there is no doubt in my mind that Jay-Z is one of the best MC's to ever grace the hip-hop industry.
  25. Marvelous.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    hands down the best CD of 2003.The perfect album 2 go out on.
  26. timd
    Dec 8, 2003
    9
    It's a classic in context as well as in practice. Even the ho-hum "Change Clothes" and "Justify my Thug" are better than everything in mainstream hip hop (except Eminem, Outkast, Missy, and half of 50's album). It is excellent to think this may be the way he goes out. With this burst of creativity and focus we recognize one of the giants of popular music.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Dec 9, 2003
    10
    This truly is one of his greatest CDs to date. And just as usual, he didn't hold back any emotion or try to hide anything; it's laid all out in the open. This makes him one of the greatest artists of all time because he doesn't sugar coat anything, it's just him being real.
  28. makaveli
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Jay's pinpoint lyricism and crafty wordplay surpass that of any of his previous cd's. "Justify My Thug" and "Change Clothes..." keep it from ranking ahead of Blueprint and Reasonable Doubt, but even those are above average tracks.
  29. MichaelL
    Jan 9, 2004
    9
    Near-perfect...this is easily one the best albums of his career.
  30. JasonC
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    Hands down best ever! Those who think its wack don't even listen carefully to the track. Hov is the realest shit there is. Thats why most people give it a good rating.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Vibe
    90
    It's monumental because it's a culmination of Jigga's natural thoughtfulness delivered with transcendent skill. [Jan 2004, p.120]
  2. There are better storytellers, there are better battle rappers, there are undoubtedly rhymers with more on their minds. But there isn't a better MC around, if you're talking about the art of sheer mic domination.
  3. Even in falling short of Jay's classics, Reasonable Doubt and 2001's The Blueprint, it manages to eclipse 1999's brilliant Vol. 3: Life and Times of S. Carter as his third-best album-- which in itself still makes it one of the year's best.