The Campfire Headphase - Boards of Canada
The Campfire Headphase Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Well, they certainly aren't the most prolific of artists, but the acclaimed Scottish electronica duo of Michael Sandison and Marcus Eoin finally return with a third album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    The Campfire Headphase is enough of a genre bender to finally introduce this music to a well-deserved new audience. [Dec 2005, p.94]
  2. [A] supreme collection of future-perfect broken nostalgia.
  3. While The Campire Headphase sounds slightly defalted compared to [earlier] discs, it stlll has many charms. [Jan 2006, p.144]
  4. It is a testament to Mike Sandison and Marcus Eoin's production acumen that the songs here sound so organic despite their computerized origin. [22 Oct 2005]
  5. The likes of 'Chromakey Dreamcoat' sound like they were made on a potter's wheel rather than an iBook. [15 Oct 2005, p.36]
  6. The Campfire Headphase lacks the transcendent grace that made Music Has the Right to Children and even Geogaddi classics in their field.
  7. “Dayvan Cowboy” is almost worth the price of admission, but it makes the remainder of the album seem derivatively “New Age.”

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    An absolutely stunning masterpiece, The Campfire Headphase proves that Boards of Canada are deserving of their position at the pinnacle of theAn absolutely stunning masterpiece, The Campfire Headphase proves that Boards of Canada are deserving of their position at the pinnacle of the ambient genre. The woozy and calming vibes emanated throughout are nothing short of unparallelled. Expand
  2. JoeS.
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    People are so f***ing stupid.
  3. GustavoR
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    I love this album is excellent but every cd of Boards of Canad is Great !!! I like the combination of their sounds, it's a perfect mix I love this album is excellent but every cd of Boards of Canad is Great !!! I like the combination of their sounds, it's a perfect mix of them. Excellent Job. Collapse
  4. TimD
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    A stunning album! I had high expectations for this album and I can honestly say BoC have exceeded them. Crucially, they manage to evolve and A stunning album! I had high expectations for this album and I can honestly say BoC have exceeded them. Crucially, they manage to evolve and incorporate new sounds without losing what makes them so unique. Thoroughly recommended. Expand
  5. JulesH
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    The most innovative electronic composition out there. Definitely for headphones, over and over. Songs 3-5 are perhaps the best electronica The most innovative electronic composition out there. Definitely for headphones, over and over. Songs 3-5 are perhaps the best electronica ever put to a CD grrove... Expand
  6. SeanT
    Dec 11, 2005
    8
    brings more of a human touch to their music. this one feels like it has more of a soul than the last few. and i like the wide use of guitar brings more of a human touch to their music. this one feels like it has more of a soul than the last few. and i like the wide use of guitar on this one. Expand
  7. EirikS
    Oct 19, 2005
    4
    Had expected so much more.

See all 33 User Reviews