The  Chronicles of Marnia Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth release for the New York singer-guitarist features new drummer Kid Millions of Oneida (replacing Zach Hill of Death Grips).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    90
    The Chronicles of Marnia is an album that demands multiple journeys through the wardrobe, only this time it's to fully take in the album's melodic depths rather than to make sense of its technical achievements.
  2. Mar 29, 2013
    80
    Marnia tones down the more extreme histrionics that made earlier albums and acquired taste. [May 2013, p.78]
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    Fortunately, the contents don’t disappoint.
  4. Apr 11, 2013
    80
    She sounds like she’s rediscovering the thrill of making music, and a nervy triumph pervades.
  5. 75
    Fans of Marnie’s music are fully aware of what an album of hers going to bring, and on The Chronicles of Marnia, she brings it.
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    It feels a bit like a back-to-the-well move Stern is outgrowing, or has outgrown, so while it still scratches the guitar theatrics itch, the songs around those finger taps more often than not feel like they’ve outgrown that kind of easy attention.
  7. Mar 22, 2013
    50
    The album musters such little excitement from its arsenal of dynamic guitar solos and yells of self-affirmation.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 19, 2013
    7
    What this album does well is blend the vocals and guitars of Marnie Stern in a way that you are compelled to listen to the album over and overWhat this album does well is blend the vocals and guitars of Marnie Stern in a way that you are compelled to listen to the album over and over again. I actually feel that’s the best way to approach this album. The first track “Year Of The Glad” draws you in, but not as much as “For Ash” of her 2010 eponymous album.

    Throughout the album the guitar work is amazing, the vocals match this. Stand-out track vocally for me personally is on “Nothing Easy”. I really like the layered vocals lines, it give melodic dissonance somehow, it feels, deep down like it shouldn’t work, but it really does. The song is really enjoyable and it’s at this point where the album has already won you over, especially with “Noonan” preceding it. As for “Noonan”, the guitar work, whilst not all about the tapping and the soloing, stylistic it feels different, even though the production on this song, and on the majority of the album remains the same,

    A song I really like, and I think I’d say it’s my favourite is “Proof Of Life” just because dynamically is sounds so different. It’s more somber, it has piano in and a quiet guitar lick playing in conjunction. Being the penultimate track on the album it really eases you into “Hell Yes”, which is a song that just limps away, it left me disappointed, maybe that a good thing.

    Overall The Chronicles of Marnia is a strong album that sadly suffers from repetition that takes multiple listen to wade through, but when you get there, you really are in for something special.
    Collapse