User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 4 out of 86

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EmD
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Simply an amazing album. T+S create a nostalgically beautiful landscape with their sweet harmonies and heavenly riffs. ps. anyone notice that the majority of people who don;t like this album happen to be straight boys. (well i'm guessing that their straight) go listen to something lame like that new smashing pumpkins album. AND yes this album got higher ratings than White Stripes and Simply an amazing album. T+S create a nostalgically beautiful landscape with their sweet harmonies and heavenly riffs. ps. anyone notice that the majority of people who don;t like this album happen to be straight boys. (well i'm guessing that their straight) go listen to something lame like that new smashing pumpkins album. AND yes this album got higher ratings than White Stripes and Prince, because it is a better album!! Alhtough I do like the White Stripes, their latest effort was recorded in 3 weeks and the album sounds like it - very messy and ear splitting. and Prince is just some creepy jesus freak now... Expand
  2. Alfred
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Their best album to date IMO. Enjoyable from beginning to end with no weak major weak spots (and even if you think it's weak just wait a bit because most of the songs don't surpass three minutes). You want pop, check out "Back in Your Head", you want new wave catchiness, listen to "The Con", you want a song that starts off slow until it finally explodes at the end, then by all Their best album to date IMO. Enjoyable from beginning to end with no weak major weak spots (and even if you think it's weak just wait a bit because most of the songs don't surpass three minutes). You want pop, check out "Back in Your Head", you want new wave catchiness, listen to "The Con", you want a song that starts off slow until it finally explodes at the end, then by all means check out "Burn Your Life Down". The Con's got it all. Can't wait until their concert. Expand
  3. JimM
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Terrific. I find it hard to swallow some of the criticisms of this album when - so clearly - this is a work of honesty and strength. The lyrics are plainly honest at worst - at best, they're revelatory. I've also had a more incessant urge to start the album from the first track after listening to it through than I did with So Jealous or If It Was You. 'The Con,' if Terrific. I find it hard to swallow some of the criticisms of this album when - so clearly - this is a work of honesty and strength. The lyrics are plainly honest at worst - at best, they're revelatory. I've also had a more incessant urge to start the album from the first track after listening to it through than I did with So Jealous or If It Was You. 'The Con,' if strangely used as the album's title track, might be the best pop-rock song of the year and 'Dark Come Soon' is transcendent in its simplicity and directness. More than ever, The Con is the sisters finding their matching pieces - they've never sounded so good together. Expand
  4. StacyD.
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    This album is great from the first song to the last.
  5. katet
    Jul 26, 2007
    9
    Absolutely lovely. It was well worth the wait.
  6. oldm
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    Soul-ripping. Lyrically, emotional. Fantastic chords and use of a variety of instruments. Very different than previous work, but more sophisticated and still T&S. Great stuff.
  7. LauraS
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    Their best, most experimental yet.
  8. RiccardoP
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    best cd i;ve heard all year hands down. the production value is incredible and the songs are even better. i don;t know what user Lawrence H. is talking about - they;re voices are not annoying but rather beautifully tuned, the songs always go somewhere (specifically Sara's songs) and the lyrics are raw, elegantly written and enticing. All the songs just sound so freshly layered and best cd i;ve heard all year hands down. the production value is incredible and the songs are even better. i don;t know what user Lawrence H. is talking about - they;re voices are not annoying but rather beautifully tuned, the songs always go somewhere (specifically Sara's songs) and the lyrics are raw, elegantly written and enticing. All the songs just sound so freshly layered and intricate. It seems as though the Quin sisters just keep getting better and better at song writing. This album is the best album to hit record shelves all year long and will definitely go down as one of the best albums of the year. Expand
  9. JaneL.
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    This album is ridiculously perfect. Possibly my favorite album, ever. It's almost eerie how an album can be so diverse but cohesive at the same time. I think they've tried almost everything on this album, from electro-rap ("Are You Ten Years Ago") to folky ballads ("Call It Off") to good ol' pop punk ("Hop A Plane"), and it works. It just flows from track to track. Wow.
  10. rebecca
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    heartache and passion. cleverness and insight. this album is a musical layering of intense sound and melody.
  11. Sep 30, 2010
    9
    Definitely their best work, by far. The songs Relief Next to Me, The Con, Call It Off, Back in Your Head, Floorplan, Knife Going In, etc., are all refreshing, original creations coming from within a genre ("indie rock") that is virtually all just hot air. This album completely defies the typically-pedestrian conventions of the indie rock world, and makes you wonder why more artists in theDefinitely their best work, by far. The songs Relief Next to Me, The Con, Call It Off, Back in Your Head, Floorplan, Knife Going In, etc., are all refreshing, original creations coming from within a genre ("indie rock") that is virtually all just hot air. This album completely defies the typically-pedestrian conventions of the indie rock world, and makes you wonder why more artists in the modern era are not this creative. Expand
  12. VenturaV.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing!!!
  13. JackieM
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Amazing! so raw and heartbreaking and intricate and beautiful and so many more words that i can't describe.
  14. JeremyF
    Jul 27, 2007
    9
    At first this album seems really iffy. Very short, over before you know it. It's unfinished at best. But the short time span creates a strong replayability. And if you replay it a lot, you grow to really like it. It's fun, catchy, and sometimes ridiculously melancholy ("Nobody likes me / Maybe if I cry," from the fantastic title track.) There are three songs under 2 minutes. At first this album seems really iffy. Very short, over before you know it. It's unfinished at best. But the short time span creates a strong replayability. And if you replay it a lot, you grow to really like it. It's fun, catchy, and sometimes ridiculously melancholy ("Nobody likes me / Maybe if I cry," from the fantastic title track.) There are three songs under 2 minutes. They seem like they're missing something, but they're still very pretty in their own right. This is a great collection of songs that work well together, and leaves us wanting more and more of this pop perfection. Expand
  15. KhalidB
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Beautiful Album, Although the songs are addressed to there partners, they are universal, any man or woman in any sexuality can relate to these songs, A major high light of this album is Relief next to me, amazing chorus,intro, just a beautiful song, it is ALMOST as good as so jealous, production quality is soo great. Im proud of these girls, they are amazing, and deserve to make it big. Beautiful Album, Although the songs are addressed to there partners, they are universal, any man or woman in any sexuality can relate to these songs, A major high light of this album is Relief next to me, amazing chorus,intro, just a beautiful song, it is ALMOST as good as so jealous, production quality is soo great. Im proud of these girls, they are amazing, and deserve to make it big. Bravo Girls,bravo. Expand
  16. ElleM.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    This album show amazing progression from their previous, is insightful, heart wrenching, and fun.
  17. BR
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    Tegan and Sara find 14 ways to reveal and engage in these short, emotionally intelligent, catchy pop songs. A consistently strong album. What's not to like?
  18. AlekT
    Aug 4, 2007
    9
    It's a catchy, poppy little thing, and over before you know it, but it's also endearing and totally sincere. It belies its own complexity, but you can hear it; The Con just doesn't wear thin. Its kind of silly to say that they're coasting on buzz, and outright offensive to relate the critical praise to their sexuality. This album succeeds for one reason, and one reason It's a catchy, poppy little thing, and over before you know it, but it's also endearing and totally sincere. It belies its own complexity, but you can hear it; The Con just doesn't wear thin. Its kind of silly to say that they're coasting on buzz, and outright offensive to relate the critical praise to their sexuality. This album succeeds for one reason, and one reason only: it's just great music. Expand
  19. JanieS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Exquisite. Perfect peaks and valleys, a joy to listen to, blah blah blah glowing review blah.
  20. othos
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    It's really ironic that Death Cab's major label debut was such a disappointment but that the Decemberists' and Tegan and Sara's moves to the big stage are so excellent with Chris Walla behind the board. Maybe the other guys in DCFC should defer a bit more.
  21. CarissaM.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    Amazing composition, amazing sound, amazing lyrics. Possibly the best album from them and the best album of 2007.
  22. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Tegan and Sara are amazing. Each song is so well done and unique. Tegan writes and sings the more popular catchy tracks and Sara writes more abstract and different. Together they balance each other perfectly and not to mention their voices meld brilliantly. A fantastic album.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The songs on the album complement each other, play off the other's strengths, and make the record very much an entity, instead of simply a collection of tracks, setting it off as an impressive step forward in their already commendable discography.
  2. The Con a welcome addition to summer playlists and to Tegan & Sara's promising catalog.
  3. 80
    They might sound like Girl Scouts, but these are tough cookies. [Aug 2007, p.117]