The Emancipation Of Mimi

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 298

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    An amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine Again which she really show case it.
  2. May 19, 2012
    9
    The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri, with the line 'I came to have a party'. Unbeknownst to her, Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The singles are at the beginning (the aforementioned, "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off") and they are definitely great songs.The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri, with the line 'I came to have a party'. Unbeknownst to her, Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The singles are at the beginning (the aforementioned, "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off") and they are definitely great songs. After that, Mariah lets "the voice" loose. On songs "Mine Again" and the Kanye-produced "Stay The Night", Mariah roars, proving detractors wrong; "the voice" is still there and very much present. She keeps her belting in check; she demonstrates exactly why she's placed in the upper echelon of vocalists, but doesn't over-do it (high-range whistles, melismatic thirty second pieces, etc..). After "Stay The Night", we get the light, poppy "Get Your Number". It's very reminiscent of her earlier nineties singles, based on a sample, but the theme is more mature. Mariah isn't singing about a dream lover taking her away or a guy that's making her feel a variety of emotions. Regardless, it's a very fun song. The next few tracks are all great with the exception of the other Neptunes-produced track, "To The Floor (Feat. Nelly)". We go from the beautifully written "Circles" ('but inside I kept repeating/'don't you let him see you cry'/and I casually turned my head/as the tears rolled down my eyes'), to the light, jovial "Your Girl". Tracks "I Wish You Knew" and "Joy Ride" are also pleasant to listen too.
    The gem of this album is the last track, the powerful "Fly Like A Bird". Words cannot describe the climax of the song, so it's best if you check it out yourself. 9. The two tracks by The Neptunes prevent this album from getting the perfect score, but they're not enough to give this album less than a nine.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threwThis album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threw her back into the limelight deservedly. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    The best album I've ever heard. The best comeback by one of the greatest vocalists of all time. You can never count talent out. Everyone thought Mariah was done, & she proved them wrong. That's a living legend.
  5. May 5, 2014
    9
    This album is amazing. Truly Mariah's best. The success of We Belong Together just makes it so much of a sweeter experience knowing that great music was that successful.
  6. May 29, 2014
    10
    Mariah uses the retro sounds of the 70, easily making majority of the ballads instant classics. With her power house vocals, she blows the listeners away.
  7. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    The album's title is taken off the lead single lyrics 'It's a special occasion, Mimi's emancipation, A cause for celebration I am not going to let nobody's drama bother me' I love Mimi's formula and with this album she came back to the throne after such 2 bad albums, the mix of club tunes + R&B classics is - mostly - cool, focused and direct. The return of the singer with strong vocals,The album's title is taken off the lead single lyrics 'It's a special occasion, Mimi's emancipation, A cause for celebration I am not going to let nobody's drama bother me' I love Mimi's formula and with this album she came back to the throne after such 2 bad albums, the mix of club tunes + R&B classics is - mostly - cool, focused and direct. The return of the singer with strong vocals, brilliant gospel shot, 0 fillers, the limelight went back straight to Mariah after releasing such powerful singles with potential. 1 of her best albums and the highlight of the 05's. The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri (the production is the right key to the albums success along with Mimi's voice), with the line 'I came to have a party'. Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The bridge, which victorious claims 'Cuz it's my night No stress, no fights I'm leavin it all behind No tears, no time to cry Just makin the most of life' refers to the previous albums that ruined Mariah's non-stop success. Continues with the 2nd single (the highlight of the album and Mariah's 2nd most successful single) the 3rd song was meant to be Mariah's 17th number #1 but was actually blocked by the previous single and peaked at #2 the chorus claims 'I got to shake it off - because the loving is not the same, And you keep on playing games like you know I'm here to stay' but fortunately the last song of the album and most lowkey no - single potential Expand
  8. GSF
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    Possibly MiMi's most cohesive record; a true return to form for the second highest selling female artist of all time. Each track melts into the next with Mariah's mid-range crooning (her vocals aren't are strong as they once were, esp in 2015, but the production conceals this setback near seamlessly)
  9. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    The return of a great singer the mainstream! Highlight for'' We Belong Together'' and beautiful gospel song ''Fly Like A Bird.''
  10. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Mariah Carey´s best album in the 00s decade. It is full of short, brilliant and to the point R&B and hip hop tracks, with a little bit of pop and also gospel. It was another important change of direction in Carey´s career. Her voice sounds almost inhuman. The woman sings in a way nobody else could replicate. She has the unique style many others have tried to copy. So different from herMariah Carey´s best album in the 00s decade. It is full of short, brilliant and to the point R&B and hip hop tracks, with a little bit of pop and also gospel. It was another important change of direction in Carey´s career. Her voice sounds almost inhuman. The woman sings in a way nobody else could replicate. She has the unique style many others have tried to copy. So different from her 90´s voice, now it is more divalicious and extremely sexy, but equally outstanding. Almost perfect album. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    certainly is the masterpiece of 00s the best album of this epoch as well as innovative sold millions and loved by the general public only Thursday magazines like Rolling Stone and company that always give low marks to her suspect it.
  12. keriw
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    mariah is back
  13. JasonR
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    TEOM is one of the best rnb album this year. Go Mariah!
  14. MattR
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    I love every track on this CD. I like the classic/retro feel, and still being current. It's like R&B in the 70s, 80s and 90s, but not Mariah Carey in the 90s, which is good. Lots of smooth jams and some good songs to dance to too. Love "Get Your Number"
  15. nancyn
    May 4, 2005
    10
    This Album really gets to you. It's really good!!
  16. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I am very proud of Mariah's triumphant comeback. "We Belong Together" is one of her best songs. Her voice is superb and her lyrics are heartfelt. She has evolved beautifully.
  17. JohnnyC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    "The Emancipation of Mimi" was really THE BEST album of 2005. Hands down!. Every single track on the album is worth a listen...
  18. AshM
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, i'd neva heard of mariah carey b4 this album, but now im a massive fan! she got such a talent, and her voice is incredible, long may she make music
  19. Angush
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    well done mariah~
  20. SteveR
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    Mimi is on fire. this album is amazing. 8 months and it's still top 10. Grammy nominations are DEFINATELY deserved. Mariah has been a grammy snub for the past 15 years.... she will HOPEFULLY get the recognition she much deserves!!!
  21. michaelk
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Pros: awesome vocals, some really reaxing songs, stay the night has an an awesome beat cons: some "been there, done that" songs overview: though a few songs suffer generic issues, mariah has proved yet again that her comeback was never too far away
  22. MarkA
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    Very good comeback for Mariah. The only bad things are that she yells and screams too much.
  23. RemiA
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    More soulful than she's sounded since "Vision of Love," Carey kills on most of the tracks, but especially "We Belong Together" "Circles" "Fly Like A Bird" "Stay The Night" "I Wish You Knew"
  24. [Anonymous]
    Apr 14, 2005
    8
    Songs 1-4 and 6 are the best!
  25. Cha7
    Apr 14, 2005
    8
    Her best album since Butterfly, basically. And in some weird way, I even enjoy it a little bit more. The album oozes with the sound of great production, no thanks to the Neptunes and Kanye West. There is no denying that Mariah has lost her megawatt voice that she once had during her early career (i.e. Emotions, Daydream, Merry Christmas, Music Box, and her self title album). However, she Her best album since Butterfly, basically. And in some weird way, I even enjoy it a little bit more. The album oozes with the sound of great production, no thanks to the Neptunes and Kanye West. There is no denying that Mariah has lost her megawatt voice that she once had during her early career (i.e. Emotions, Daydream, Merry Christmas, Music Box, and her self title album). However, she still shows that she has a certain craft for the lyric and the ability to still have fun with her music, whch is why she still continues to be one of my all-time favorite artist. On this album, if "Say Somethin'" doesn't become the #1 radio hit this summer (or never makes the airwaves), then I don't know what will. Already leaked on the net for the longest, this Neptunes production is definately hot (almost Drop it like its Hot catchy). I am also enoying "Your Girl" and "Joy Ride" as B-side hits along with "Fly Like a Bird". I love "Stay the Night" mostly for it Kanye West beat, but I wish that Mariah Carey could have toned herself down a little on that track. Overall an 8 and a must buy for any Mariah Carey fan. Expand
  26. JohnB
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    One Word for This Album "Cooool"
  27. markyj
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    Definitely her best since Butterfly. This will be consider a Mariah classic. She is back and better than ever
  28. BrendonB
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Great Record! Modern R&B dipped in pld school soul
  29. AugustH
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    I have been a fan of Mariah since she arrived on the scene. She is by far the best R&B, Pop vocalist ever period. The clarity of her voice is astounding as displayed on "Mimi' and not heard since a young Michael Jackson ie: Got to Be There, any critic who cannot hear that clarity, control and power is simply ignorant to what a true singer is. Mariah possesses God given talent and she I have been a fan of Mariah since she arrived on the scene. She is by far the best R&B, Pop vocalist ever period. The clarity of her voice is astounding as displayed on "Mimi' and not heard since a young Michael Jackson ie: Got to Be There, any critic who cannot hear that clarity, control and power is simply ignorant to what a true singer is. Mariah possesses God given talent and she deserves every praise and accolade heaped upon her, Mariah you're on fire! Keep writing and singing you are music's savior! Expand
  30. OraneCarty
    May 20, 2005
    9
    The Album is Mariah's best in years. Though i agree that she has lost a bit of range and power over the years (and thats natural due to aging,), the album showcases that she still can sing, belt and hit notes secluded in the 6th and 7th octave and protect her title as the #1 female pop vocalist in history. Standout tracks include 'We Belong together', 'Circles', The Album is Mariah's best in years. Though i agree that she has lost a bit of range and power over the years (and thats natural due to aging,), the album showcases that she still can sing, belt and hit notes secluded in the 6th and 7th octave and protect her title as the #1 female pop vocalist in history. Standout tracks include 'We Belong together', 'Circles', 'I wish you know' and 'Fly like a Bird'. Way to got Mariah. Please, people, dont hate, just congratulate. She is the only diva thats still in the spotlight today. Guys lets support her. Lamb 4 life. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  2. There aren't any great songs among Mimi's club tunes and pop-chart-conscious tracks, and Carey is still suffering from a serious crisis of confidence.
  3. Despite its grim title with its visions of messy self-absorption, The Emancipation of Mimi is - mostly - cool, focused and urban.