• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 280 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 280

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonR
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    TEOM is one of the best rnb album this year. Go Mariah!
  2. MattR
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    I love every track on this CD. I like the classic/retro feel, and still being current. It's like R&B in the 70s, 80s and 90s, but not Mariah Carey in the 90s, which is good. Lots of smooth jams and some good songs to dance to too. Love "Get Your Number"
  3. nancyn
    May 4, 2005
    10
    This Album really gets to you. It's really good!!
  4. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I am very proud of Mariah's triumphant comeback. "We Belong Together" is one of her best songs. Her voice is superb and her lyrics are heartfelt. She has evolved beautifully.
  5. JohnnyC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    "The Emancipation of Mimi" was really THE BEST album of 2005. Hands down!. Every single track on the album is worth a listen...
  6. AshM
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, i'd neva heard of mariah carey b4 this album, but now im a massive fan! she got such a talent, and her voice is incredible, long may she make music
  7. Angush
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    well done mariah~
  8. michaelk
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Pros: awesome vocals, some really reaxing songs, stay the night has an an awesome beat cons: some "been there, done that" songs overview: though a few songs suffer generic issues, mariah has proved yet again that her comeback was never too far away
  9. JohnB
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    One Word for This Album "Cooool"
  10. markyj
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    Definitely her best since Butterfly. This will be consider a Mariah classic. She is back and better than ever
  11. BrendonB
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Great Record! Modern R&B dipped in pld school soul
  12. JMRodriguez
    May 7, 2005
    10
    Powerful! The album is so far the best for Mariah Carey when it comes to pop/rnb mixes.
  13. KyleM
    May 7, 2005
    10
    "The Emancipation of Mimi" has the same theme throughout the entire album,and that is differant for Mariah. This album is all R n' B, unlike previous albums. Previous albums are mostly Pop, with R n' B songs here and there. The way "Mimi" was produced and organized really works. The flow is amazing, and the songs are high quality. I can listen to every song without skipping a "The Emancipation of Mimi" has the same theme throughout the entire album,and that is differant for Mariah. This album is all R n' B, unlike previous albums. Previous albums are mostly Pop, with R n' B songs here and there. The way "Mimi" was produced and organized really works. The flow is amazing, and the songs are high quality. I can listen to every song without skipping a track. "Stay the Night", "Your Girl", and "Joyride" are great. Every track on this cd is completely differant then the one you heard before it. Mariah delivers big time. This cd has been #1, and the single are at the top of the charts for a reason, it is pure fun, emotion, realness, and quaity! Get it now! Expand
  14. bjorkgud
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    she is back!!! thank you Mariah for pulling out such a great album
  15. michaelwilliams
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Good solid album!
  16. Liliak
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    it's the best. i can't stop listening to it. Whoever hates it needs their ears checked.
  17. JayB
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Mariah Carey's The Emancipation Of Mimi showcases Mariah's ever increasing high octave voice, while effortlessly delivering fine tracks throughout the entire album. With tracks such as 'We Belong Together' and 'Stay The Night' (Produced by Kanye West) to the club happy 'Get Your Number', 'To The Floor' and Shake It Off. Featuring Hip Hops Mariah Carey's The Emancipation Of Mimi showcases Mariah's ever increasing high octave voice, while effortlessly delivering fine tracks throughout the entire album. With tracks such as 'We Belong Together' and 'Stay The Night' (Produced by Kanye West) to the club happy 'Get Your Number', 'To The Floor' and Shake It Off. Featuring Hip Hops biggest stars, The Emancipation Of Mimi is a thorough return to the top for Mariah Carey, which will do any fan justice. Expand
  18. HairamY
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Anyone who suks obviously doesnt know good music. yes, maybe she like flopped her last 2 songs, and she may have already has her pinnacle of her career, but this album proves mariah still has what we all want. her song 'we belong together' shows us she still ahs what it takes to go to #1, 'shake it off' tells us why the only song stopping it from reaching #1 was Anyone who suks obviously doesnt know good music. yes, maybe she like flopped her last 2 songs, and she may have already has her pinnacle of her career, but this album proves mariah still has what we all want. her song 'we belong together' shows us she still ahs what it takes to go to #1, 'shake it off' tells us why the only song stopping it from reaching #1 was 'we belong together', and it has all the range from songs when ur heart is broken to when u want to get up and dance. also on the release dont forget about us, this slow ballad is more proof y mariah has reached #1 two times in 2005, more than any artist that year. also she is assured to win at least 4 of her 8 grammies. Mariah I know you'll get more than 20 #1's and beat every other artist!!!! Expand
  19. raphaelp
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    this album is the best work mariah has ever done!
  20. MerryG
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    The re-release is a perfect 10. Get Your Number & So Lonely are fun songs and We Belong Together & Don't Forget Us add up to one cd you don't want missing in your collection. Her next cd should take up where Shake If Off left off.
  21. BrandonC
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    this is such an awesome album, i mean mariah put her heart and soul into this album and it shows with we belong together and dont forget about us.. i woulnt call this a comeback album because I always knew mariah had staying power, in fact all she did was take time to herself and wanted to write an album for herself that her true fans would be able to relate too.. and she def did that.. this is such an awesome album, i mean mariah put her heart and soul into this album and it shows with we belong together and dont forget about us.. i woulnt call this a comeback album because I always knew mariah had staying power, in fact all she did was take time to herself and wanted to write an album for herself that her true fans would be able to relate too.. and she def did that.. this is an awesome friggen album and Mariah u truly are # 1.. wish u all the best in the future We L:ove U... Expand
  22. jessicaJ
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    this album is incred it's soulful and has club jams she has a soultry voice and all the people who gave it a low score didnt listen to it she been on top for 16 years she has 17#1's and she was the only artist of the 90's to have a #1 in every year 1990- 1999 in her first 4 years of her career she sold 45 million record and had 4 # 1's on her first album and that sold this album is incred it's soulful and has club jams she has a soultry voice and all the people who gave it a low score didnt listen to it she been on top for 16 years she has 17#1's and she was the only artist of the 90's to have a #1 in every year 1990- 1999 in her first 4 years of her career she sold 45 million record and had 4 # 1's on her first album and that sold over 11 Million she's DIVA in respect she sold 150 million record throught her career and she won award BEYONCE and Mary never heard of, The album is a classic it sold 7 million in 1 year top album of 05 it has the rytmnic song one and only she has some flow and the soulful mine again dance floor banger it's like that and the top song of 05 we belong together. the uptempo get your number and the old school flavor of circles she doing the damn thing congrats Expand
  23. maria
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    album rocks!!!!
  24. AlexanderT
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    The album is great. it is one of those albums that you are able to listen to right through a number of times. special tracks include - your girl, we belong together, joyride and i wish you knew
  25. AliA.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    This album should have been called 'The Return Of Mimi'. its a brilliant album that has all the classic Mariah we have come to love. its got ballads with power house vocals ('Mine again', 'fly like a bird'), dance ('It's Like That') and more! this is really a return to form! and for the haters who say that she can't sing? ummm...she IS the This album should have been called 'The Return Of Mimi'. its a brilliant album that has all the classic Mariah we have come to love. its got ballads with power house vocals ('Mine again', 'fly like a bird'), dance ('It's Like That') and more! this is really a return to form! and for the haters who say that she can't sing? ummm...she IS the HIGHEST SELLING FEMALE ARTIST OF ALL TIME!!!!! and the world has recognized her for her voice and other talents (songwriting and producing)! Mariah rocks! Expand
  26. ThomasM
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    This is mariah's best since daydream and butterfly. this album is just filled with amazing dance tracks and beautiful ballads. A+ album and a definite must have!
  27. TyceJ
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing return to form for Mariah, after a few mis-steps. She's singing with the vocal stylings that made her famous to begin with. Best tracks "We Belong Together" (classic Mariah), "I Wish You Knew" and the hot single "It's Like That". This has something for everyone.
  28. KarstenD
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    The beat is HOT!!!. And I think I can really ENJOY with Mariah's lyric (of those 14 tracks in the MIMI album), this sounds like a VERY BIG improvement for the artist.
  29. BJJB
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    Mariah's definitive comeback. Extremely strong effort which doesn't attempt to be groundbreaking, but instead successfully creates an RnB sound other female artists in the genrecould only dream of accomplishing. Perfect in every conceivable way.
  30. charlesg
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    While this may not compare to Mariah's all time highlights of "Always Be My Baby" or "Fantasy", Mimi sounds like the singer had a hell of a time working with the Neptunes, West, and everyone involved.
  31. EnriqueH
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    Sublime aproach to a darker side that becomes mariah so well... It's one of he most coherent albums. She is already a Legend
  32. dannyg
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Mariah carey is amazingly talented and no matter what anyone says she keeps going and this album shows the voice is back and its here to stay
  33. MagdaM.
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best albums Mariah has released. It has something for all listeners, songs vary from powerful ballads like Mine Again, We Belong Together, and Circles to name a few favorites, to more hip-hop influenced tracks like the great collaboration with Twista, One and Only, and a fan favorite Shake it Off. I highly recommend this album to everyone.
  34. FelixM
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Off the hook. I love it. It is the album we were waiting for because noone can sing like Mariah Carey. This is a hard working woman that writes, and produces all of her songs. And she has written over 150 songs.
  35. lguerra
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    I'm glad she's back!
  36. MarceloC
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    The albums is very gooooood ! Congratulations Mariah Carey ! Amazing !
  37. GeorgeF
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    Welcome back Mimi! An excellent album and definately a return of the voice!
  38. NickM
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    The production is amazing and the uptempo tracks are very enjoyable. There is quite a bit of variety on this album and it is listenable from start to finish.
  39. lovecareyh
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    it's greatest album this year!!! and I like it!!!
  40. JoeyC
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    this album is great..every song is packed with her amazing voice and great production...stand outs include its like that, we belong together, shake it off, stay the night, fly like a bird, get your number, and one and oly
  41. Emanc1patePaNdeM0niuM
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    Very impressive album! The last 5years have been very turbulent for Mariah. Flop albums from Glitter and Charmbracelet did not help her image or reputation. More importantly, they left a scar on her flawless track-record in the decade of the 90s. What I aboslutely love about this album, is that Mariah has amazingly been able to channel all the negativity and write an album that is amongst Very impressive album! The last 5years have been very turbulent for Mariah. Flop albums from Glitter and Charmbracelet did not help her image or reputation. More importantly, they left a scar on her flawless track-record in the decade of the 90s. What I aboslutely love about this album, is that Mariah has amazingly been able to channel all the negativity and write an album that is amongst her best work of all time. Marketed as the 'return of the voice,' this album definitely proves this statement. Evident in songs like Mine Again, Stay The Night and Circles & Fly Like A Bird, Mariah proves why she earned the title of 'greatest vocalist of all time' in a recent MTV poll. Another feature of this album is the absence of whisper crap and rapper domination that plagued and to an extent caused the flops of Glitter and Charmbracelet. The Highlights of this album include the 1st and 2nd singles: It's Like That and We Belong Together. This is Mariah at her best. Showcasing her diversity as an artist, these 2 songs bring together Mariah's strengths and capabilities of an artist. Great songwriting, catchy melodies, strong production and most importantly breath-taking vocals. Other impressive tracks and potential singles include: Stay The Night, Say Something. For an artist that has been constantly knocked down in the past 5 years. You have to give credit to Mariah for getting 'back up on the horse' to deliver such a strong album that rivals her Masterpieces of Butterfly and Daydream. If Butterfly was a MONA LISA and Daydream was a SISTINE CHAPEL The Emancipation of Mimi is a Picasso !! All masterpieces in their own right. If recent sales in the USA are anything to go by (in which she debuted at #1 with a massive 407,000 sold in the first week), it seems the general public agree! :) Congratulations Mariah on a remarkable comeback. This album will confirm your title as the 'biggest selling female artist of all time.' Expand
  42. MarieEliseP
    May 12, 2005
    10
    This is certainly Mariah's best work in years... To me this is the more logical progression from her 1990s CD Butterfly... 1gazillion times better than Rainbow, Glitter and Charmbracelet combined. I honestly don't know why there are still so many people who want to put her down... this album is even better than her earlier works such as the Emotions CD, which simply showcases This is certainly Mariah's best work in years... To me this is the more logical progression from her 1990s CD Butterfly... 1gazillion times better than Rainbow, Glitter and Charmbracelet combined. I honestly don't know why there are still so many people who want to put her down... this album is even better than her earlier works such as the Emotions CD, which simply showcases her voice but has can muster little depth and true emotion. Her voice might have deteriorated a bit... but I think her voice had been at it's worst during the Rainbow days where her voice is gritty and raspy throughout and occassionally would even break when she belts. I honestly was one of the people who initially thought her voice was already gone, but listening to this album and listening to her perform in the VH1 Save the Music tells me clearly that the voice indeed is stil there. Even at its current state, her voice is still superior to that of contemporary Whitney and newbies Christina, Beyonce, and especially Alicia Keys (who as early as her second album is already showing signs of vocal deterioration. Cut her some slack, vocal change is a natural phenomenon of agiag. Vocal quality and timbre do change as you mature. No one made an issue of how Aretha Franklin's voice changed through the years! I think it's just a matter of how a performer uses her voice. She might have struggled with this vocal change in the last few years and might have even misused it in her last three cd efforts Rainbow, Glitter, and Charmbracelet, but she certainly is learning how to harness her still glorious and powerful voice now. With a little less overnight partying, and probably a little less "purple" she could still regain her superbly glorious voice. Expand
  43. beckyk
    May 12, 2005
    10
    this is an amazing album ! keep it up mariah it couldnt have been any better
  44. mattr
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Good Work. Welcome back
  45. hugec
    May 6, 2005
    10
    definitely a 10! "we belong together", no doubt, is the best song in the album, and the best song that mariah has delivered in many years. with this album, mariah has proven her tenacity and, once again, her superior artistry!
  46. BridgetG
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    I love this whole cd. I couldn't believe how good all the songs were. I play it overand over and over...
  47. eddiel
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    way better than the last 2 albums
  48. triciam
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    I really love Mariahs' new album, track 2 is the bomb!
  49. SarahT
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    Is a fantastic album. Wish people wud stop dissing people who can actually sing, many of us can't, couldn't and wudn't!
  50. AlanaO
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    This is a terrific album....a breath of fresh air. Most people who aren't classically trained don't realize that what is being mistaken for vocal weakness, is her ability to control the volume and tone of each note that she sings, with ease.....but hey...we're talking about people who like pop, which translates: Popular Culture...anything that is in style right now. Mariah This is a terrific album....a breath of fresh air. Most people who aren't classically trained don't realize that what is being mistaken for vocal weakness, is her ability to control the volume and tone of each note that she sings, with ease.....but hey...we're talking about people who like pop, which translates: Popular Culture...anything that is in style right now. Mariah has been able to keep up with the trend (somewhat) and grow vocally and showcase her talent year after year. Too bad you can't appreciate it...HATERS. To those real Mariah and quality MUSIC fans, we 've got a good cd to listen to. Expand
  51. rnbmast3r
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    This is a great album with the super hits 'We Belong Together' , 'Shake It Off', 'Say Somethin', and 'One and Only'. And the album features Snoop Dogg, JD, Twista and other great Hip-Hop/R&B stars. must have for about anyone
  52. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    I cannot believe how envious some of you are of Mariah's success. This is obviously an incredible album, so deal with it. You wish your favorite singer can sing as good as this, but they cannot, it is humanly impossible. Oh, and by the way, how is Mariah a "poser"? She started the Hip-Hop and Pop collaboration with 'Fantasy (Remix)', tell me an artist previous to her who I cannot believe how envious some of you are of Mariah's success. This is obviously an incredible album, so deal with it. You wish your favorite singer can sing as good as this, but they cannot, it is humanly impossible. Oh, and by the way, how is Mariah a "poser"? She started the Hip-Hop and Pop collaboration with 'Fantasy (Remix)', tell me an artist previous to her who has done this. Haters. Anyway, this album is incredibly good, not as good lyrically than her last album, Chambracelet, but definetly is incredibly better than Charmbracelet musically and vocally. The highlight of this album is obviously 'We Belong Together', I mean, the song has been #1 for 14 weeks, 15 if you count the week Carrie Underwood stole the top spot from her. Obviously she is doing something incredibly right. Other highlight ballad's include 'Joyride', 'Mine Again', 'Circles', 'Stay The Night', 'I Wish You Knew', and 'Fly Like A Bird' 7 of the 14 tracks are R&B Ballads, so stop saying she is a "poser", it's not all Hip-Hop, and apparently you guys didn't even bother giving the 2nd half of the album, the ballad side, a chance. The other 7 are technically hip-hop cuts, but they really work. Anyway, this album is worthy of any music fan's CD collection. If you like Urban AC, listen to 'Fly Like A Bird', if you love pop give 'Shake It Off' a try. If you are an Urban junkie, definetly listen to 'Your Girl'. Even if you are a fan of country, lyrically, 'We Belong Together' will do it for you! The only genre this CD possibly couldn't fit into is Rock. Anyway, this album is incredible, and anybody who doesn't realize this is either deaf, a mariah hater, or doesn't appreciate good music. Give the 'Glitter' thing a rest, Mariah is definetly back, whether you like it or not. Expand
  53. MaxZ
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Mariah Carey has proved herself over her 15 years. Although Glitter was a major flop and Charmbracelet destroyed her vocals, this album is Mariah picking herself back up. With 17 #1's she's tied with Elvis Presley and maybe she'll beat Beatles. This album has songs that are a reminder why she has broken so many records. Although I think this album is her pinnacle in this Mariah Carey has proved herself over her 15 years. Although Glitter was a major flop and Charmbracelet destroyed her vocals, this album is Mariah picking herself back up. With 17 #1's she's tied with Elvis Presley and maybe she'll beat Beatles. This album has songs that are a reminder why she has broken so many records. Although I think this album is her pinnacle in this millennium, Mariah always proves us wrong over and over again. Also I'd like to forgive all those people who are too narrow-minded to realize Mariah's success. Expand
  54. steveb
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    A great album. I love every track, especially Mine Again, Fly Like a Bird and Making It Last All Nite. Mariah's debut album remains one of the favorites in my collection.
  55. LouiseC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Mariah rose out of the grave that her harshest critics and haters had so quickly dug up for her in 2001. They eulogized her too quickly but she never looked down. She looked up and asked for strength -- something she had all along. That strength was her talent and skill to tear the competition apart. 8 Grammy noms, and numerous World Music Awards, Vibe Awards and Radio Music Awards later, Mariah rose out of the grave that her harshest critics and haters had so quickly dug up for her in 2001. They eulogized her too quickly but she never looked down. She looked up and asked for strength -- something she had all along. That strength was her talent and skill to tear the competition apart. 8 Grammy noms, and numerous World Music Awards, Vibe Awards and Radio Music Awards later, she's still rippin' it. Hail the *real* Queen, haters! Expand
  56. RyanC
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    hot tamales
  57. giano
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    It's definitely the best album of 2005!!! No question about it!!! Mariah's the best ever!!!
  58. Nene27Leo
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Mariah is often imitated,but never duplicated. Come on haters lets be realistic. Mariah is not only extremely talented, she is also original. Many newcomers inspire to be like Mariah. Just pust her outfits aside and acknowledge true creative talent.
  59. DannyM
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Mariahs returned to her roots and made her best album since her first emancipation, butterfly, definetely the best album released by a female artist this year, probably the best overall
  60. SiriK
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    I just love her and all her albums!!
  61. KeanL
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Simply Irresistible!
  62. ramp.i
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    great r&b album.. teom redefines the term R&b. great job mariah.
  63. DavidA
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best albums she released. All of the songs will grow on you on repeated listenings. Standouts are of course We Belong Together, One and Only, Joy Ride, So Lonely and Say Something!
  64. CheyM
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    It was a really inspiring CD and all of the songs inspired me to do more things with my life
  65. MatthewA
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    this cd is the best cd ever. no one can beat this cd it is still in the top 10 after about 45 weeks and that is a very long time. this cd has helped me grow inside because the song we belong together. that song helped me to grow and not to cry anymore because my baby and i broke up and i didnt no what to do but this song helped me and so did many other songs but this song is always going this cd is the best cd ever. no one can beat this cd it is still in the top 10 after about 45 weeks and that is a very long time. this cd has helped me grow inside because the song we belong together. that song helped me to grow and not to cry anymore because my baby and i broke up and i didnt no what to do but this song helped me and so did many other songs but this song is always going to be my number one song and this song helped me not to do anything stupid and just let out everything in tears. Thank you for this cd. Expand
  66. AlbertoF
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    I love this cd
  67. GonçaloS.
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    I love Emancipation of Mimi, it has everything that I love in a singer: passion, power, vocals and good lyrics. Mariah's best album.
  68. LoriU
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    First of all, we are experiencing history as we know it every day. Mariah is a true artist who geniunely knows how to write great ballads but not only that hip hop, r&b, whatever. Mariah said it herself that she's always wanted to do hip hop because she grew up with it and loves it. You know what, this album totally proves that she can raise the bar for so many artists out there. You First of all, we are experiencing history as we know it every day. Mariah is a true artist who geniunely knows how to write great ballads but not only that hip hop, r&b, whatever. Mariah said it herself that she's always wanted to do hip hop because she grew up with it and loves it. You know what, this album totally proves that she can raise the bar for so many artists out there. You people who diss her, why??? Do you realize how many artists want to be her or want to copy her formula? She's already a legend and will continue to rise like a phoneix year after year. Expand
  69. nikkir
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    People are complaining that she suffers from anonimity on this record. Her voice is all over the place. Although it is not in top shape like it has been in the past, her voice has improved since her last effort. I give her props for defying what fans were expecting and giving us something we can be proud off.
  70. moes
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    this album is super cool
  71. SandyS
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    Amazing!.........Vocally she's back so haters can say whatever they want......Even the critics they don't know nothing!.........all they do is hate on Mariah.......well this CD rocks!.......I love all the songs.......She's still the best
  72. AmberN
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    This is definitely the best album by far! I am digging the diversity of the album. She has the power ballads, the dance jams, the hot collaborations. I absolutely love the whole album...the ballads give me goosebumps and the jams get me dancing! Definitely the best from MC yet! The Voice never left! MC is better than ever!
  73. ErickaM
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    This album is simply amazing. My fave Mariah album to date!
  74. JimmyF
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    This is by far the best album of 2005!!! Mariah is in top form on this cd, this is a must have for anyone who likes good music!! If you are tired of the sound of today, I definately reccommend this cd, there is something for everyone whether you like ballads, r&b, hip hop, dance, or whatever, trust me it is on there!!!!!
  75. EjaazS
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    A masterful collection of R&B perfection to redefine the direction of music these days. Mariah survives haters and concentrates on her forte: music and voice. Highlights are: "We Belong Together", "Get your #", "One and Only", "Shake it Off"... puurrfect
  76. hopek
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    I was reading through some of the reviews and I couldn't believe some of the things I read. How can you people say this album is bad? You must not be a fan of any of her music if you think this album is bad. This is the best album I have bought in a long time. I never really buy music anymore I just download them. This album was without a doubt worth buying. Insteead of getting worse I was reading through some of the reviews and I couldn't believe some of the things I read. How can you people say this album is bad? You must not be a fan of any of her music if you think this album is bad. This is the best album I have bought in a long time. I never really buy music anymore I just download them. This album was without a doubt worth buying. Insteead of getting worse and losing her touch, Mariah Carey is getting better and better with each album she makes! Whats great about Mariah is that she writes her own music from personal experiences. When I listen to her songs I can connect with them because more than likely its something that I have gone through as well. This album was a lot better than Charmbracelet, I think. I love all of her albums but this is surely one of hte better ones. Bottom line is, if you are a fan of Mariah go out and buy this albumj.... you WILL NOT be dissapointed! Expand
  77. victorc
    May 31, 2005
    10
    So, there has been a long time we don`t hear anything about Mariah, but now, at long last, she´s back with voice, tasteful, beauty and much less diva than in the 90´. Those altogether makes her place ensured in the charts and even better now she is stronger and confident. Mariah always calls her fans as LAMBS, which is very cute and more we now can call her by MIMI. The world So, there has been a long time we don`t hear anything about Mariah, but now, at long last, she´s back with voice, tasteful, beauty and much less diva than in the 90´. Those altogether makes her place ensured in the charts and even better now she is stronger and confident. Mariah always calls her fans as LAMBS, which is very cute and more we now can call her by MIMI. The world now are ready to receive once again mimi, our old and new friend and, if you´re not leave( be nice or leave) Expand
  78. EmilyL
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Amazing cd!! i cant stop listening to it! Her voice is so awesome...Listen to the background vocals too. I love when she layers the vocals. It's so beautiful!
  79. ChrisW.
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Mariah really really devlivers on this album. I listen to it at least 3 times every day. Excellent album, great lyrics, great beats, great vocals. Everyone I recommended this album to so far agreed that it is a must have. Excellent job Mariah!!
  80. gr
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    Great album...Grammy is calling her name w/ this one..good work Mariah!!!
  81. tonys
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    One of the most satisfying albums of her career!
  82. KeshC
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    Amazing album. Mariah truley has a voice and it is ion thi able with all its glory. Great ballads, RnB.
  83. ClaytonT
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    BEst album of her Career! The voice is indeed back and the writing though alittle juvinile is fun and still consistent. Many artist would do good to take note from her ability to have fun on her records and not take themselves so seriously. She is a lengend indeed and will always be the greatest and hardest working talent in the music industry.
  84. JaysonJ
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    MARIAH IS No.1!!!!
  85. rays
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    love this album!
  86. DanO
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Awsome! I haven't taken this CD out of my player until I purchased the "Ultra Platnum" edition with addtional songs, including "Don't Forget About Us" which was MC's 17th Billboard #1. Mariah has proven again that she is the at the top of her game. Her vocals are a bit raw but that just undedrpins the emotion the song is projecting. There are quite a few good female Awsome! I haven't taken this CD out of my player until I purchased the "Ultra Platnum" edition with addtional songs, including "Don't Forget About Us" which was MC's 17th Billboard #1. Mariah has proven again that she is the at the top of her game. Her vocals are a bit raw but that just undedrpins the emotion the song is projecting. There are quite a few good female artists, but MC has proven she deserves her place at the top. The album is rich with mid-tempo songs and some bouncy urban club toons. But most of all this album and it's songs leaving you wanting more, true to Mariah's urban and R&B style. She has avoided the bubble gum with this CD and it shows how she has matured, and what she can do when she is in control of her creative expression. I highly recommend this album be in everyone's collection! Expand
  87. cs
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Well, anyone who rated this below a 5 obviously has not heard it. No prejudice towards the Queen of Music, Mariah. This R&B is classic and appeals to every person. The R&B junkie will be drawn to tracks such as "Mine Again" and "Stay the Night" while the rap-inclined will love "So Lonely" and on the Platnium Edition "Makin it Last All Night". There is something for everyone on this Well, anyone who rated this below a 5 obviously has not heard it. No prejudice towards the Queen of Music, Mariah. This R&B is classic and appeals to every person. The R&B junkie will be drawn to tracks such as "Mine Again" and "Stay the Night" while the rap-inclined will love "So Lonely" and on the Platnium Edition "Makin it Last All Night". There is something for everyone on this incredible release which will stand the test of time and rank with MJ's Thriller, ACDC's Back in Black, and any Beatles or Elvis album. Expand
  88. RockyM
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    I would make this cd over a million im a huge mariah carey fan all of the songs are amazing im telling you we belong together dont forget about us and fly like a bird say something shake it off its .like that yal its like that yalllllll shes the best hot singer ever nobody has that kinda voice its a mazing amazing best singer ever fuck yall if u u think shes suck shes the fuckin best. she I would make this cd over a million im a huge mariah carey fan all of the songs are amazing im telling you we belong together dont forget about us and fly like a bird say something shake it off its .like that yal its like that yalllllll shes the best hot singer ever nobody has that kinda voice its a mazing amazing best singer ever fuck yall if u u think shes suck shes the fuckin best. she work her ass off maaaaan......!!! Expand
  89. NavM
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This album is sublime... the tracks are silky smooth, production is great, and her voice sounds heavenly. It's a classic R&B album that will remain a classic for ages.
  90. DarylJ
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Absolutely astounding. I listen to it whenever Im in the car
  91. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threwThis album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threw her back into the limelight deservedly. Expand
  92. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    An amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine Again which she really show case it.
  93. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    The best album I've ever heard. The best comeback by one of the greatest vocalists of all time. You can never count talent out. Everyone thought Mariah was done, & she proved them wrong. That's a living legend.
  94. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    The return of a great singer the mainstream! Highlight for'' We Belong Together'' and beautiful gospel song ''Fly Like A Bird.''
  95. May 29, 2014
    10
    Mariah uses the retro sounds of the 70, easily making majority of the ballads instant classics. With her power house vocals, she blows the listeners away.
  96. GSF
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    Possibly MiMi's most cohesive record; a true return to form for the second highest selling female artist of all time. Each track melts into the next with Mariah's mid-range crooning (her vocals aren't are strong as they once were, esp in 2015, but the production conceals this setback near seamlessly)
  97. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    O "The Emancipation" é o melhor dela desde "Butterfly" pois trás uma Mariah mais moderna. O álbum tem uma vibe retrô, com batidas bem elaboradas como Say Somethin', It´s Like That e Stay the Night, as baladas We Belong Together, Joy Ride e Mine Again são incríveis. O álbum não é 100% mas consegue te manter ouvindo até o final.
  98. SteveR
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    Mimi is on fire. this album is amazing. 8 months and it's still top 10. Grammy nominations are DEFINATELY deserved. Mariah has been a grammy snub for the past 15 years.... she will HOPEFULLY get the recognition she much deserves!!!
  99. AugustH
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    I have been a fan of Mariah since she arrived on the scene. She is by far the best R&B, Pop vocalist ever period. The clarity of her voice is astounding as displayed on "Mimi' and not heard since a young Michael Jackson ie: Got to Be There, any critic who cannot hear that clarity, control and power is simply ignorant to what a true singer is. Mariah possesses God given talent and she I have been a fan of Mariah since she arrived on the scene. She is by far the best R&B, Pop vocalist ever period. The clarity of her voice is astounding as displayed on "Mimi' and not heard since a young Michael Jackson ie: Got to Be There, any critic who cannot hear that clarity, control and power is simply ignorant to what a true singer is. Mariah possesses God given talent and she deserves every praise and accolade heaped upon her, Mariah you're on fire! Keep writing and singing you are music's savior! Expand
  100. OraneCarty
    May 20, 2005
    9
    The Album is Mariah's best in years. Though i agree that she has lost a bit of range and power over the years (and thats natural due to aging,), the album showcases that she still can sing, belt and hit notes secluded in the 6th and 7th octave and protect her title as the #1 female pop vocalist in history. Standout tracks include 'We Belong together', 'Circles', The Album is Mariah's best in years. Though i agree that she has lost a bit of range and power over the years (and thats natural due to aging,), the album showcases that she still can sing, belt and hit notes secluded in the 6th and 7th octave and protect her title as the #1 female pop vocalist in history. Standout tracks include 'We Belong together', 'Circles', 'I wish you know' and 'Fly like a Bird'. Way to got Mariah. Please, people, dont hate, just congratulate. She is the only diva thats still in the spotlight today. Guys lets support her. Lamb 4 life. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  2. There aren't any great songs among Mimi's club tunes and pop-chart-conscious tracks, and Carey is still suffering from a serious crisis of confidence.
  3. Despite its grim title with its visions of messy self-absorption, The Emancipation of Mimi is - mostly - cool, focused and urban.