The Emancipation Of Mimi

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 321

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2016
    10
    ¡De los mejores álbumes de Mariah! sin duda Carey volvió a sus raíces y trajo de vuelta el R&B/hip-hop puro que solíamos escuchar en sus inicios. Es un disco bastante diferente a "Charmbracelet", creo que es más sincero para nada flojo. Tiene canciones muuuuuuuy buenas como "Mine Again", "Stay The Night", "I Wish You Knew" y "Fly Like a Bird", todo el álbum en general es EXCELENTE y los¡De los mejores álbumes de Mariah! sin duda Carey volvió a sus raíces y trajo de vuelta el R&B/hip-hop puro que solíamos escuchar en sus inicios. Es un disco bastante diferente a "Charmbracelet", creo que es más sincero para nada flojo. Tiene canciones muuuuuuuy buenas como "Mine Again", "Stay The Night", "I Wish You Knew" y "Fly Like a Bird", todo el álbum en general es EXCELENTE y los bonus track como "Sprung" y "Secret Love" debieron estar en la versión standard porque son muy buenos. Mariah nos entregó una joya sin duda vale mucho la pena escucharlo. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2016
    9
    An excellent record that allowed that is consistent throughout its runtime the only song that really can't shine compared to the other songs on the record is "Get Your Number" other than that it was a welcomed return for her
  3. Jul 16, 2016
    6
    Mariah Carey showcases stronger vocals in "The Emancipation of Mimi." Highlights are "We Belong Together," "It's Like That," "Shake It Off," "Mine Again," and "Circle," though I didn't really enjoy the rest of the album.
  4. May 24, 2016
    10
    Álbum incrível a nível de Mariah Carey, cada música percebemos que foram muito bem trabalhadas, os vocais estão a nível luxo, um álbum digno de uma lenda do R&B como MARIAH, o melhor retorno da música sem sombra de dúvidas!!!
  5. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    Um álbum bom. Não sei pq ela é tão massacrada pela crítica. A música "we belong together" é umas das melhores dela, um marco na história do pop. Mariah explora batidas de hip hop mas usa sua voz magistralmente.
  6. Dec 27, 2015
    10
    Esse álbum é um diamante, Ninguém compõe melodias iguais a da Mariah. Por isso ela é a número um. Merecia muito mais prêmios, mas tudo bem, o mundo da música nem sempre premia quem sabe cantar. Muitas vezes premia quem dança mais ou quem engana mais.
  7. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    certainly is the masterpiece of 00s the best album of this epoch as well as innovative sold millions and loved by the general public only Thursday magazines like Rolling Stone and company that always give low marks to her suspect it.
  8. May 15, 2015
    5
    An big musical and vocal improvement over "Charmbracelet" (2003). The album has great bops like "It's Like That", "We Belong Together", "Shake It Off", "Joy Ride", and "Don't Forget About Us". Overall,''Mimi" is not her best album or a bad album.
  9. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    The album's title is taken off the lead single lyrics 'It's a special occasion, Mimi's emancipation, A cause for celebration I am not going to let nobody's drama bother me' I love Mimi's formula and with this album she came back to the throne after such 2 bad albums, the mix of club tunes + R&B classics is - mostly - cool, focused and direct. The return of the singer with strong vocals,The album's title is taken off the lead single lyrics 'It's a special occasion, Mimi's emancipation, A cause for celebration I am not going to let nobody's drama bother me' I love Mimi's formula and with this album she came back to the throne after such 2 bad albums, the mix of club tunes + R&B classics is - mostly - cool, focused and direct. The return of the singer with strong vocals, brilliant gospel shot, 0 fillers, the limelight went back straight to Mariah after releasing such powerful singles with potential. 1 of her best albums and the highlight of the 05's. The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri (the production is the right key to the albums success along with Mimi's voice), with the line 'I came to have a party'. Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The bridge, which victorious claims 'Cuz it's my night No stress, no fights I'm leavin it all behind No tears, no time to cry Just makin the most of life' refers to the previous albums that ruined Mariah's non-stop success. Continues with the 2nd single (the highlight of the album and Mariah's 2nd most successful single) the 3rd song was meant to be Mariah's 17th number #1 but was actually blocked by the previous single and peaked at #2 the chorus claims 'I got to shake it off - because the loving is not the same, And you keep on playing games like you know I'm here to stay' but fortunately the last song of the album and most lowkey no - single potential Expand
  10. GSF
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    Possibly MiMi's most cohesive record; a true return to form for the second highest selling female artist of all time. Each track melts into the next with Mariah's mid-range crooning (her vocals aren't are strong as they once were, esp in 2015, but the production conceals this setback near seamlessly)
  11. May 29, 2014
    10
    Mariah uses the retro sounds of the 70, easily making majority of the ballads instant classics. With her power house vocals, she blows the listeners away.
  12. May 5, 2014
    9
    This album is amazing. Truly Mariah's best. The success of We Belong Together just makes it so much of a sweeter experience knowing that great music was that successful.
  13. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Mariah Carey´s best album in the 00s decade. It is full of short, brilliant and to the point R&B and hip hop tracks, with a little bit of pop and also gospel. It was another important change of direction in Carey´s career. Her voice sounds almost inhuman. The woman sings in a way nobody else could replicate. She has the unique style many others have tried to copy. So different from herMariah Carey´s best album in the 00s decade. It is full of short, brilliant and to the point R&B and hip hop tracks, with a little bit of pop and also gospel. It was another important change of direction in Carey´s career. Her voice sounds almost inhuman. The woman sings in a way nobody else could replicate. She has the unique style many others have tried to copy. So different from her 90´s voice, now it is more divalicious and extremely sexy, but equally outstanding. Almost perfect album. Collapse
  14. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    I have never really been impressed by Carey, but her songs are indeed enjoyable to listen to. I believe her success has more to do with lack of competition rather than pure talent. And this albums proves it. It's good, but not as special as anyone would've expected from the so-called diva. If some random female singer records this whole album instead of her, it wouldn't have achievedI have never really been impressed by Carey, but her songs are indeed enjoyable to listen to. I believe her success has more to do with lack of competition rather than pure talent. And this albums proves it. It's good, but not as special as anyone would've expected from the so-called diva. If some random female singer records this whole album instead of her, it wouldn't have achieved success as she did because people are so easily influenced by what Billboard and other magazines and popular critics are saying. In short, this album is a complete mediocre. Expand
  15. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    The best album I've ever heard. The best comeback by one of the greatest vocalists of all time. You can never count talent out. Everyone thought Mariah was done, & she proved them wrong. That's a living legend.
  16. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    The return of a great singer the mainstream! Highlight for'' We Belong Together'' and beautiful gospel song ''Fly Like A Bird.''
  17. May 19, 2012
    9
    The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri, with the line 'I came to have a party'. Unbeknownst to her, Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The singles are at the beginning (the aforementioned, "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off") and they are definitely great songs.The album starts with the lead single "It's Like That", produced by Jermaine Dupri, with the line 'I came to have a party'. Unbeknownst to her, Mariah would definitely party-it-up with her comeback album, returning to her golden pedestal of the nineties. The singles are at the beginning (the aforementioned, "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off") and they are definitely great songs. After that, Mariah lets "the voice" loose. On songs "Mine Again" and the Kanye-produced "Stay The Night", Mariah roars, proving detractors wrong; "the voice" is still there and very much present. She keeps her belting in check; she demonstrates exactly why she's placed in the upper echelon of vocalists, but doesn't over-do it (high-range whistles, melismatic thirty second pieces, etc..). After "Stay The Night", we get the light, poppy "Get Your Number". It's very reminiscent of her earlier nineties singles, based on a sample, but the theme is more mature. Mariah isn't singing about a dream lover taking her away or a guy that's making her feel a variety of emotions. Regardless, it's a very fun song. The next few tracks are all great with the exception of the other Neptunes-produced track, "To The Floor (Feat. Nelly)". We go from the beautifully written "Circles" ('but inside I kept repeating/'don't you let him see you cry'/and I casually turned my head/as the tears rolled down my eyes'), to the light, jovial "Your Girl". Tracks "I Wish You Knew" and "Joy Ride" are also pleasant to listen too.
    The gem of this album is the last track, the powerful "Fly Like A Bird". Words cannot describe the climax of the song, so it's best if you check it out yourself. 9. The two tracks by The Neptunes prevent this album from getting the perfect score, but they're not enough to give this album less than a nine.
    Expand
  18. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    An amazing R&B retro 70s through back album!!! Every single song is literally perfect. Her vocals are very through especially on Mine Again which she really show case it.
  19. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threwThis album is brilliant! Filled with potential singles, it cemented her comeback and showed that she wasn't just coming back with one song. Of course, We Belong Together is a standout, but It's Like That, Fly Like A Bird, Circles, Your Girl, Say Somethin', One And Only, I Wish You Knew, Joyride, heck I could name all the songs .... these are the standouts. A real strong album that threw her back into the limelight deservedly. Expand
  20. MichaelK.
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    One of carey's most brilliant works ever and definitely one of the best recordings on its genre of the 2000's. A very respectable one by an artist that returns to walk fast to the state of legend. This album is really the comeback and has influenced so many artist already.
  21. GonçaloS.
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    I love Emancipation of Mimi, it has everything that I love in a singer: passion, power, vocals and good lyrics. Mariah's best album.
  22. NavM
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This album is sublime... the tracks are silky smooth, production is great, and her voice sounds heavenly. It's a classic R&B album that will remain a classic for ages.
  23. CoryF.
    Aug 15, 2008
    8
    This album really showcases Mariah as a hip-hop and R&B artist. The first single "It's Like That" is a heavy club drummin' song. "We Belong Together" has a smoother approach, and became her 16th #1 single. "Shake It Off" is sassy and upbeat. "Don't Forget About Us" sounds a bit like "We Belong Together" (musically), but became her 17th #1 single tying her with Elvis. This album really showcases Mariah as a hip-hop and R&B artist. The first single "It's Like That" is a heavy club drummin' song. "We Belong Together" has a smoother approach, and became her 16th #1 single. "Shake It Off" is sassy and upbeat. "Don't Forget About Us" sounds a bit like "We Belong Together" (musically), but became her 17th #1 single tying her with Elvis. Overall, this is a truly exceptional album that you wont go home and say, "I wish I would have spent my money elsewhere." Expand
  24. AliA.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    This album should have been called 'The Return Of Mimi'. its a brilliant album that has all the classic Mariah we have come to love. its got ballads with power house vocals ('Mine again', 'fly like a bird'), dance ('It's Like That') and more! this is really a return to form! and for the haters who say that she can't sing? ummm...she IS the This album should have been called 'The Return Of Mimi'. its a brilliant album that has all the classic Mariah we have come to love. its got ballads with power house vocals ('Mine again', 'fly like a bird'), dance ('It's Like That') and more! this is really a return to form! and for the haters who say that she can't sing? ummm...she IS the HIGHEST SELLING FEMALE ARTIST OF ALL TIME!!!!! and the world has recognized her for her voice and other talents (songwriting and producing)! Mariah rocks! Expand
  25. KaiwenS
    Jul 25, 2007
    0
    Really really bad album!!!
  26. AlexanderT
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    The album is great. it is one of those albums that you are able to listen to right through a number of times. special tracks include - your girl, we belong together, joyride and i wish you knew
  27. Angush
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    well done mariah~
  28. maria
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    album rocks!!!!
  29. RockyM
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    I would make this cd over a million im a huge mariah carey fan all of the songs are amazing im telling you we belong together dont forget about us and fly like a bird say something shake it off its .like that yal its like that yalllllll shes the best hot singer ever nobody has that kinda voice its a mazing amazing best singer ever fuck yall if u u think shes suck shes the fuckin best. she I would make this cd over a million im a huge mariah carey fan all of the songs are amazing im telling you we belong together dont forget about us and fly like a bird say something shake it off its .like that yal its like that yalllllll shes the best hot singer ever nobody has that kinda voice its a mazing amazing best singer ever fuck yall if u u think shes suck shes the fuckin best. she work her ass off maaaaan......!!! Expand
  30. JamesL
    Mar 11, 2007
    5
    Im giving this album a 5 in the hope that Mariah Carey's next album brings something different to the table. I thought this album had some nice, solid songs on it such as We Belong Together, Fly Like A Bird, and Don't Forget About Us... but the album as a whole failed to blow me away. Buy her debut, Emotions, Music Box, Daydream, or Butterfly, No.1's instead, they are her Im giving this album a 5 in the hope that Mariah Carey's next album brings something different to the table. I thought this album had some nice, solid songs on it such as We Belong Together, Fly Like A Bird, and Don't Forget About Us... but the album as a whole failed to blow me away. Buy her debut, Emotions, Music Box, Daydream, or Butterfly, No.1's instead, they are her only artistically creative albums. Expand
  31. martinJ
    Feb 16, 2007
    0
    pathetic music. Mairah can't sing. never release an album again
  32. jessicaJ
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    this album is incred it's soulful and has club jams she has a soultry voice and all the people who gave it a low score didnt listen to it she been on top for 16 years she has 17#1's and she was the only artist of the 90's to have a #1 in every year 1990- 1999 in her first 4 years of her career she sold 45 million record and had 4 # 1's on her first album and that sold this album is incred it's soulful and has club jams she has a soultry voice and all the people who gave it a low score didnt listen to it she been on top for 16 years she has 17#1's and she was the only artist of the 90's to have a #1 in every year 1990- 1999 in her first 4 years of her career she sold 45 million record and had 4 # 1's on her first album and that sold over 11 Million she's DIVA in respect she sold 150 million record throught her career and she won award BEYONCE and Mary never heard of, The album is a classic it sold 7 million in 1 year top album of 05 it has the rytmnic song one and only she has some flow and the soulful mine again dance floor banger it's like that and the top song of 05 we belong together. the uptempo get your number and the old school flavor of circles she doing the damn thing congrats Expand
  33. JayM
    Dec 25, 2006
    8
    Mariah indeed emancipated "Mimi" and we want to see more of her. A blend of soulful ballads such as "Mine Again" and "Stay the Night" into the biggest hit of the 2000's "We Belong Together" staying #1 for 14 weeks in the US, she shows that "The Voice" ain't goin' nowhere and that Mimi stands a great shot at tearing into the Beatles record of 20 #1 singles. "Don't Mariah indeed emancipated "Mimi" and we want to see more of her. A blend of soulful ballads such as "Mine Again" and "Stay the Night" into the biggest hit of the 2000's "We Belong Together" staying #1 for 14 weeks in the US, she shows that "The Voice" ain't goin' nowhere and that Mimi stands a great shot at tearing into the Beatles record of 20 #1 singles. "Don't Forget about Us" tied her with Elvis for 17 #1 singles, and "Emancipation" was the best selling album of 2005, she also hits with hip-hop dancing music such as "Get Your Number" and "Say Somethin'" with other artists among the likes of Jermaine Dupri, and Snoop Dogg. Finiishing with her arguable best song of all time "Fly Like a Bird" and as the song says hopefully "Carry me higher" and this album carried Mariah higher than ever Expand
  34. CheyM
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    It was a really inspiring CD and all of the songs inspired me to do more things with my life
  35. Balb
    Aug 14, 2006
    4
    4 votes for the number of nice songs on it, meaning only 4 songs worth listening
  36. RoofusB
    Jul 23, 2006
    0
    Terrible...this "album" is in a tie with Mary J. Blige's "album" for the absolute worst human creation of all time....Terribly put together....horribly cliche...and is it just me or does every song pretain to the same idea...?...I for one would be happy if Ms. Carey and Ms. Blige would just retire and stop wasting valuable resources and materials on their "life-changing" Terrible...this "album" is in a tie with Mary J. Blige's "album" for the absolute worst human creation of all time....Terribly put together....horribly cliche...and is it just me or does every song pretain to the same idea...?...I for one would be happy if Ms. Carey and Ms. Blige would just retire and stop wasting valuable resources and materials on their "life-changing" cd's...Mariah Carey does not care about you..Mariah Carey doesn't even know you...this production was made for the sole purpose of making money and making money alone...not to for you... Expand
  37. AlbertoF
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    I love this cd
  38. peterp
    Apr 27, 2006
    7
    The individual songs are great. Incredible voice control and excellent singing. Mariah has great potential, only... EVERY SINGLE SONG SOUNDS THE SAME WAY! Because basically every song is about chasing a guy, you get the feeling that you're hearing the same song, with a slightly different beat. Also, has anyone else noticed that ever since Mimi hit that high note while singing the The individual songs are great. Incredible voice control and excellent singing. Mariah has great potential, only... EVERY SINGLE SONG SOUNDS THE SAME WAY! Because basically every song is about chasing a guy, you get the feeling that you're hearing the same song, with a slightly different beat. Also, has anyone else noticed that ever since Mimi hit that high note while singing the national anthem, she used it at the end of every song. Expand
  39. drewB
    Mar 8, 2006
    0
    just when i thought music couldn't get any worse, she proves me wrong
  40. BrandonC
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    this is such an awesome album, i mean mariah put her heart and soul into this album and it shows with we belong together and dont forget about us.. i woulnt call this a comeback album because I always knew mariah had staying power, in fact all she did was take time to herself and wanted to write an album for herself that her true fans would be able to relate too.. and she def did that.. this is such an awesome album, i mean mariah put her heart and soul into this album and it shows with we belong together and dont forget about us.. i woulnt call this a comeback album because I always knew mariah had staying power, in fact all she did was take time to herself and wanted to write an album for herself that her true fans would be able to relate too.. and she def did that.. this is an awesome friggen album and Mariah u truly are # 1.. wish u all the best in the future We L:ove U... Expand
  41. MatthewA
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    this cd is the best cd ever. no one can beat this cd it is still in the top 10 after about 45 weeks and that is a very long time. this cd has helped me grow inside because the song we belong together. that song helped me to grow and not to cry anymore because my baby and i broke up and i didnt no what to do but this song helped me and so did many other songs but this song is always going this cd is the best cd ever. no one can beat this cd it is still in the top 10 after about 45 weeks and that is a very long time. this cd has helped me grow inside because the song we belong together. that song helped me to grow and not to cry anymore because my baby and i broke up and i didnt no what to do but this song helped me and so did many other songs but this song is always going to be my number one song and this song helped me not to do anything stupid and just let out everything in tears. Thank you for this cd. Expand
  42. allenw
    Feb 11, 2006
    1
    sucks
  43. mimio
    Jan 24, 2006
    9
    this is a good album. Mariah has a great voice. I think she could do a lot of different styles of music. now she does r&b, she does it very well. I love her. She and whitney are the best. I would love to hear jazz from her or another strong voice song so that i could give her a 10. But she is the best, i love the songs of mine again and circles and may many more... I hope that they stop this is a good album. Mariah has a great voice. I think she could do a lot of different styles of music. now she does r&b, she does it very well. I love her. She and whitney are the best. I would love to hear jazz from her or another strong voice song so that i could give her a 10. But she is the best, i love the songs of mine again and circles and may many more... I hope that they stop some day about the way she is dressed. She is beautiful, and she has a beautiful voice no one can take that away from her, god has given her that beautiful voice. Expand
  44. AshM
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    this is the best album of 2005, although none of the songs can top heartbreaker or vision of love, the songs on this album are fantastic, i'd neva heard of mariah carey b4 this album, but now im a massive fan! she got such a talent, and her voice is incredible, long may she make music
  45. MerryG
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    The re-release is a perfect 10. Get Your Number & So Lonely are fun songs and We Belong Together & Don't Forget Us add up to one cd you don't want missing in your collection. Her next cd should take up where Shake If Off left off.
  46. DavidA
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best albums she released. All of the songs will grow on you on repeated listenings. Standouts are of course We Belong Together, One and Only, Joy Ride, So Lonely and Say Something!
  47. Chambers
    Jan 16, 2006
    9
    The control Mariah has on her now mature voice is breathtaking. I just wish she had fewer "guests" diluting it! I bought the CD to hear Mariah, not a bunch of thug Rappers
  48. cs
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Well, anyone who rated this below a 5 obviously has not heard it. No prejudice towards the Queen of Music, Mariah. This R&B is classic and appeals to every person. The R&B junkie will be drawn to tracks such as "Mine Again" and "Stay the Night" while the rap-inclined will love "So Lonely" and on the Platnium Edition "Makin it Last All Night". There is something for everyone on this Well, anyone who rated this below a 5 obviously has not heard it. No prejudice towards the Queen of Music, Mariah. This R&B is classic and appeals to every person. The R&B junkie will be drawn to tracks such as "Mine Again" and "Stay the Night" while the rap-inclined will love "So Lonely" and on the Platnium Edition "Makin it Last All Night". There is something for everyone on this incredible release which will stand the test of time and rank with MJ's Thriller, ACDC's Back in Black, and any Beatles or Elvis album. Expand
  49. Nene27Leo
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Mariah is often imitated,but never duplicated. Come on haters lets be realistic. Mariah is not only extremely talented, she is also original. Many newcomers inspire to be like Mariah. Just pust her outfits aside and acknowledge true creative talent.
  50. giano
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    It's definitely the best album of 2005!!! No question about it!!! Mariah's the best ever!!!
  51. RyanC
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    hot tamales
  52. DanO
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Awsome! I haven't taken this CD out of my player until I purchased the "Ultra Platnum" edition with addtional songs, including "Don't Forget About Us" which was MC's 17th Billboard #1. Mariah has proven again that she is the at the top of her game. Her vocals are a bit raw but that just undedrpins the emotion the song is projecting. There are quite a few good female Awsome! I haven't taken this CD out of my player until I purchased the "Ultra Platnum" edition with addtional songs, including "Don't Forget About Us" which was MC's 17th Billboard #1. Mariah has proven again that she is the at the top of her game. Her vocals are a bit raw but that just undedrpins the emotion the song is projecting. There are quite a few good female artists, but MC has proven she deserves her place at the top. The album is rich with mid-tempo songs and some bouncy urban club toons. But most of all this album and it's songs leaving you wanting more, true to Mariah's urban and R&B style. She has avoided the bubble gum with this CD and it shows how she has matured, and what she can do when she is in control of her creative expression. I highly recommend this album be in everyone's collection! Expand
  53. ramp.i
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    great r&b album.. teom redefines the term R&b. great job mariah.
  54. KeanL
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Simply Irresistible!
  55. SiriK
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    I just love her and all her albums!!
  56. DannyM
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Mariahs returned to her roots and made her best album since her first emancipation, butterfly, definetely the best album released by a female artist this year, probably the best overall
  57. raphaelp
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    this album is the best work mariah has ever done!
  58. rays
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    love this album!
  59. LouiseC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Mariah rose out of the grave that her harshest critics and haters had so quickly dug up for her in 2001. They eulogized her too quickly but she never looked down. She looked up and asked for strength -- something she had all along. That strength was her talent and skill to tear the competition apart. 8 Grammy noms, and numerous World Music Awards, Vibe Awards and Radio Music Awards later, Mariah rose out of the grave that her harshest critics and haters had so quickly dug up for her in 2001. They eulogized her too quickly but she never looked down. She looked up and asked for strength -- something she had all along. That strength was her talent and skill to tear the competition apart. 8 Grammy noms, and numerous World Music Awards, Vibe Awards and Radio Music Awards later, she's still rippin' it. Hail the *real* Queen, haters! Expand
  60. JohnnyC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    "The Emancipation of Mimi" was really THE BEST album of 2005. Hands down!. Every single track on the album is worth a listen...
  61. steveb
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    A great album. I love every track, especially Mine Again, Fly Like a Bird and Making It Last All Nite. Mariah's debut album remains one of the favorites in my collection.
  62. JaysonJ
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    MARIAH IS No.1!!!!
  63. ClaytonT
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    BEst album of her Career! The voice is indeed back and the writing though alittle juvinile is fun and still consistent. Many artist would do good to take note from her ability to have fun on her records and not take themselves so seriously. She is a lengend indeed and will always be the greatest and hardest working talent in the music industry.
  64. HairamY
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Anyone who suks obviously doesnt know good music. yes, maybe she like flopped her last 2 songs, and she may have already has her pinnacle of her career, but this album proves mariah still has what we all want. her song 'we belong together' shows us she still ahs what it takes to go to #1, 'shake it off' tells us why the only song stopping it from reaching #1 was Anyone who suks obviously doesnt know good music. yes, maybe she like flopped her last 2 songs, and she may have already has her pinnacle of her career, but this album proves mariah still has what we all want. her song 'we belong together' shows us she still ahs what it takes to go to #1, 'shake it off' tells us why the only song stopping it from reaching #1 was 'we belong together', and it has all the range from songs when ur heart is broken to when u want to get up and dance. also on the release dont forget about us, this slow ballad is more proof y mariah has reached #1 two times in 2005, more than any artist that year. also she is assured to win at least 4 of her 8 grammies. Mariah I know you'll get more than 20 #1's and beat every other artist!!!! Expand
  65. MaxZ
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Mariah Carey has proved herself over her 15 years. Although Glitter was a major flop and Charmbracelet destroyed her vocals, this album is Mariah picking herself back up. With 17 #1's she's tied with Elvis Presley and maybe she'll beat Beatles. This album has songs that are a reminder why she has broken so many records. Although I think this album is her pinnacle in this Mariah Carey has proved herself over her 15 years. Although Glitter was a major flop and Charmbracelet destroyed her vocals, this album is Mariah picking herself back up. With 17 #1's she's tied with Elvis Presley and maybe she'll beat Beatles. This album has songs that are a reminder why she has broken so many records. Although I think this album is her pinnacle in this millennium, Mariah always proves us wrong over and over again. Also I'd like to forgive all those people who are too narrow-minded to realize Mariah's success. Expand
  66. JoeA
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Calling it trash would be an insult to trash.
  67. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I am very proud of Mariah's triumphant comeback. "We Belong Together" is one of her best songs. Her voice is superb and her lyrics are heartfelt. She has evolved beautifully.
  68. MrBojangles
    Dec 31, 2005
    1
    This really really sucks. Once again, the music industry(100% corrupt), the retards of the American public(85%) and the grammies (100% old and irrelevant) conspire to give me indigestion and diarhea.
  69. LoriU
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    First of all, we are experiencing history as we know it every day. Mariah is a true artist who geniunely knows how to write great ballads but not only that hip hop, r&b, whatever. Mariah said it herself that she's always wanted to do hip hop because she grew up with it and loves it. You know what, this album totally proves that she can raise the bar for so many artists out there. You First of all, we are experiencing history as we know it every day. Mariah is a true artist who geniunely knows how to write great ballads but not only that hip hop, r&b, whatever. Mariah said it herself that she's always wanted to do hip hop because she grew up with it and loves it. You know what, this album totally proves that she can raise the bar for so many artists out there. You people who diss her, why??? Do you realize how many artists want to be her or want to copy her formula? She's already a legend and will continue to rise like a phoneix year after year. Expand
  70. SteveR
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    Mimi is on fire. this album is amazing. 8 months and it's still top 10. Grammy nominations are DEFINATELY deserved. Mariah has been a grammy snub for the past 15 years.... she will HOPEFULLY get the recognition she much deserves!!!
  71. DarylJ
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Absolutely astounding. I listen to it whenever Im in the car
  72. AK.
    Dec 11, 2005
    4
    Listen to "Illinois" by Sufjan Stevens. He got NO Grammy nominations, yet he has the highest rated CD OF THE YEAR, not only by critics, but listeners as well. The reason Mariah Carey is even being nominated for Grammies for this record is because she's MARIAH CAREY. ooooooo. And even with the benefit she gets from previous success, this cd still only got a 61% on average. This CD Listen to "Illinois" by Sufjan Stevens. He got NO Grammy nominations, yet he has the highest rated CD OF THE YEAR, not only by critics, but listeners as well. The reason Mariah Carey is even being nominated for Grammies for this record is because she's MARIAH CAREY. ooooooo. And even with the benefit she gets from previous success, this cd still only got a 61% on average. This CD showed no evolution musically from her other records. Maybe the lyrics had a little more meaning behind them, but without anything catchy or interesting, what's the point of listening? She doesn't deserve Grammy nominations for something as subpar as this. Expand
  73. VidyaB
    Dec 8, 2005
    5
    Topping the billboard charts again for the forth time this week with her brand new album the Emancipation of Mimi. Mariah Carey is back and now better than ever. It was once believed that she had left the music business because of the lengthy gap between her last albums. However, with her exceptional voice and soothing high pitches brought her back and allowed her to create "We Belong Topping the billboard charts again for the forth time this week with her brand new album the Emancipation of Mimi. Mariah Carey is back and now better than ever. It was once believed that she had left the music business because of the lengthy gap between her last albums. However, with her exceptional voice and soothing high pitches brought her back and allowed her to create "We Belong Together" and "Shake It Off", both of which have hit number one on the charts. I rate it five stars. Expand
  74. irenep
    Dec 8, 2005
    9
    After Mariah Carey's new album release of "The Emancipation of Mimi" in 2005. This album impacted her life by helping her reach the top. Personally I love this album, I love her voice, her words and most importantly I love the lyrics. My reason for loving this album is very simple; it's mainly because I can personally relate to this album. Songs such as "shake it off", "we After Mariah Carey's new album release of "The Emancipation of Mimi" in 2005. This album impacted her life by helping her reach the top. Personally I love this album, I love her voice, her words and most importantly I love the lyrics. My reason for loving this album is very simple; it's mainly because I can personally relate to this album. Songs such as "shake it off", "we belong together", "mine again", "one and only", "I wish you knew" and many others. This already makes 5 songs out of the whole entire album. Therefore, this album did make it to my top of the list for the year of 2005. Expand
  75. MarkM
    Nov 14, 2005
    2
    boring! not the come back she was promising!
  76. AllanSe7ens
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    THE EMANCIPATION OF MIMI out shined her previous efforts (Glitter, Charmbracelet and Rainbow). This album puts her back to the top. Standard tracks We Belong Together, Your Girl, Fly Like A Bird, Say Something and Stay The Night.
  77. DavidB
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Mimi´s album is one of best albums of this year. Her crystal voice with r´n´b style is amazing. Singles It´s Like Taht, We Belong Together and Shake It Off are hits num.1!!!
  78. stevel
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    Mariah Carey lets her fans get closer to her by debuting her childhood nickname in the title of her 2nd Island Dej Jam release. The "Emancipation Of Mimi" is a return to form from her 80's "Glitter" soundtrack and the whispery "Charmbracelet. Carey sound better than she has in years on this finely tuned R&B offering. The album opens with the Jermaine Dupri produced "It's Like Mariah Carey lets her fans get closer to her by debuting her childhood nickname in the title of her 2nd Island Dej Jam release. The "Emancipation Of Mimi" is a return to form from her 80's "Glitter" soundtrack and the whispery "Charmbracelet. Carey sound better than she has in years on this finely tuned R&B offering. The album opens with the Jermaine Dupri produced "It's Like That." While the lyrics are a bit elementary the track moves enchantingly past while easily getting it's up-beat point across. This is a stellar opening and a new beginning for Carey. She takes a 180 with the Dupri produced "We Belong Together," the album's best cut. The track smoothly flows by beginning with a piano medly and some warblings. Then Carey lets loose spilling lyrics like Beyonce or R.Kelly. This is definitely the song of the year. The album continues to shine with the catchy "Shake It Off." Other tracks worth a mention are "Circles." The James Wright produced cut is the best ballad Carey has done in years, and it is no contender for karaoke or American Idol. The Kanye West produced "Stay The Night," shines with it's upbeat jazzy flow as Carey debates whether or not to "stay" with an ex-lover. On "One And Only," one of the better upbeat tracks Carey mixes it up with Twista spilling lyrics out as fast as Twista himself. A delightful treat for any hip-hop fan. The album does have it's mushy moments. On "Joy Ride", and "I Wish You Knew" Carey slows things down a bit too much. While her mature and undeniable vocal talent make them a worthwhile listen you really want more of the "We Belong Together" formula that truly makes this records worth the buy. Coming up on November 15th Carey re-releases "Emancipation" with a bonus tracks and a DVD. Among the new tracks is the infectious "Don't Forget About Us." Another groove ballad with Dupri that the first version of "Mimi" was missing. So go check it out! Expand
  79. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    I cannot believe how envious some of you are of Mariah's success. This is obviously an incredible album, so deal with it. You wish your favorite singer can sing as good as this, but they cannot, it is humanly impossible. Oh, and by the way, how is Mariah a "poser"? She started the Hip-Hop and Pop collaboration with 'Fantasy (Remix)', tell me an artist previous to her who I cannot believe how envious some of you are of Mariah's success. This is obviously an incredible album, so deal with it. You wish your favorite singer can sing as good as this, but they cannot, it is humanly impossible. Oh, and by the way, how is Mariah a "poser"? She started the Hip-Hop and Pop collaboration with 'Fantasy (Remix)', tell me an artist previous to her who has done this. Haters. Anyway, this album is incredibly good, not as good lyrically than her last album, Chambracelet, but definetly is incredibly better than Charmbracelet musically and vocally. The highlight of this album is obviously 'We Belong Together', I mean, the song has been #1 for 14 weeks, 15 if you count the week Carrie Underwood stole the top spot from her. Obviously she is doing something incredibly right. Other highlight ballad's include 'Joyride', 'Mine Again', 'Circles', 'Stay The Night', 'I Wish You Knew', and 'Fly Like A Bird' 7 of the 14 tracks are R&B Ballads, so stop saying she is a "poser", it's not all Hip-Hop, and apparently you guys didn't even bother giving the 2nd half of the album, the ballad side, a chance. The other 7 are technically hip-hop cuts, but they really work. Anyway, this album is worthy of any music fan's CD collection. If you like Urban AC, listen to 'Fly Like A Bird', if you love pop give 'Shake It Off' a try. If you are an Urban junkie, definetly listen to 'Your Girl'. Even if you are a fan of country, lyrically, 'We Belong Together' will do it for you! The only genre this CD possibly couldn't fit into is Rock. Anyway, this album is incredible, and anybody who doesn't realize this is either deaf, a mariah hater, or doesn't appreciate good music. Give the 'Glitter' thing a rest, Mariah is definetly back, whether you like it or not. Expand
  80. SaadH
    Sep 1, 2005
    0
    This album sucks
  81. rnbmast3r
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    This is a great album with the super hits 'We Belong Together' , 'Shake It Off', 'Say Somethin', and 'One and Only'. And the album features Snoop Dogg, JD, Twista and other great Hip-Hop/R&B stars. must have for about anyone
  82. JayB
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Mariah Carey's The Emancipation Of Mimi showcases Mariah's ever increasing high octave voice, while effortlessly delivering fine tracks throughout the entire album. With tracks such as 'We Belong Together' and 'Stay The Night' (Produced by Kanye West) to the club happy 'Get Your Number', 'To The Floor' and Shake It Off. Featuring Hip Hops Mariah Carey's The Emancipation Of Mimi showcases Mariah's ever increasing high octave voice, while effortlessly delivering fine tracks throughout the entire album. With tracks such as 'We Belong Together' and 'Stay The Night' (Produced by Kanye West) to the club happy 'Get Your Number', 'To The Floor' and Shake It Off. Featuring Hip Hops biggest stars, The Emancipation Of Mimi is a thorough return to the top for Mariah Carey, which will do any fan justice. Expand
  83. KeshC
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    Amazing album. Mariah truley has a voice and it is ion thi able with all its glory. Great ballads, RnB.
  84. danc
    Aug 27, 2005
    4
    first two tracks great rest boring boring boring all sounds the same some really weak tracks
  85. RaVANY
    Aug 8, 2005
    9
    This is by far one of Mariah's best efforts. Her voice has gotten a lot weaker, but she can still blow the likes of Lindsey, Britney, Jessica, Ashley, and Hilary out of the water. However Beyonce and Christna are another matter. Both Beyonce and Christina love Mariah's music and grew up emulating her and with good reason. For the better part of the 90s she was infact the queen This is by far one of Mariah's best efforts. Her voice has gotten a lot weaker, but she can still blow the likes of Lindsey, Britney, Jessica, Ashley, and Hilary out of the water. However Beyonce and Christna are another matter. Both Beyonce and Christina love Mariah's music and grew up emulating her and with good reason. For the better part of the 90s she was infact the queen bee. Alas all good things must come to an end. Keep in mind that Mariah's vocal pinnacle has come and gone, but she's still amazing. Anyone who has a concert on DVD or downloaded for the mid 90s knows what Ms. Carey was really capable of and few savor Patti, Celine, or Whitney can touch that. Mariah is an icon and I'm overjoyed to see her kicking ass on the charts again. All the best MARIAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  86. AlanaO
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    This is a terrific album....a breath of fresh air. Most people who aren't classically trained don't realize that what is being mistaken for vocal weakness, is her ability to control the volume and tone of each note that she sings, with ease.....but hey...we're talking about people who like pop, which translates: Popular Culture...anything that is in style right now. Mariah This is a terrific album....a breath of fresh air. Most people who aren't classically trained don't realize that what is being mistaken for vocal weakness, is her ability to control the volume and tone of each note that she sings, with ease.....but hey...we're talking about people who like pop, which translates: Popular Culture...anything that is in style right now. Mariah has been able to keep up with the trend (somewhat) and grow vocally and showcase her talent year after year. Too bad you can't appreciate it...HATERS. To those real Mariah and quality MUSIC fans, we 've got a good cd to listen to. Expand
  87. tonys
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    One of the most satisfying albums of her career!
  88. margo
    Jul 19, 2005
    8
    i think this album is sooooooooo much better than "charmbracelet"! shes grown in her music ability ans has alot more confidence now, it shows in her records! ii think this is the best album since butterfly!!!!!!!!!!!!
  89. StephenFunk
    Jul 18, 2005
    0
    Awful. Mariah Carey is a self-obsessed diva, and proof that Americans are getting stupider.
  90. SarahT
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    Is a fantastic album. Wish people wud stop dissing people who can actually sing, many of us can't, couldn't and wudn't!
  91. Liliak
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    it's the best. i can't stop listening to it. Whoever hates it needs their ears checked.
  92. AnnieB
    Jul 12, 2005
    9
    Wherever her voice now vs. during her debut, Mariah is now very comfortable with her voice, for all its strengths and weaknesses- a mark of a legendary singer. This album is meant to be feel-good, so don't expect any deep introspections about "being emancipated." As a feel-good album, Mimi definitely delivers, particularly when she puts in her old-school soul influences (samples, Wherever her voice now vs. during her debut, Mariah is now very comfortable with her voice, for all its strengths and weaknesses- a mark of a legendary singer. This album is meant to be feel-good, so don't expect any deep introspections about "being emancipated." As a feel-good album, Mimi definitely delivers, particularly when she puts in her old-school soul influences (samples, production, background vocals, instruments) in It's Like That, Mine Again, Stay The Night, Get YOur Number, Circles, Your Girl, I Wish You Knew. Look for these old-soul elements, they're very smartly done. Weakest part of the album is Nelly's participation, one review was right, he sounded like he just phoned in his parts. Good thing the Neptunes' idea of good drums saves the day for halfbaked uptempo numbers Say Somethin' and To The Floor. Expand
  93. ChristopherB
    Jul 9, 2005
    8
    This is a great, fun record. It's danceable, funky and just good pop. I still think Mariah will always be a tacky chick from Jersey but it's about the music. Stop slamming her for being 35, over and saying that her voice is pooched. The CD is great and actually got me to purchase a Mariah record for the first time in over 8 years - all from only hearing "it's Like That"
  94. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    0
    I hate Mariah Carrey. I will always hate Mariah Carey. I will continue to hate Mariah Carey. I'm sure she'll be up for a grammy cause of those old asshats are friggin idjuts. Mariah should hook up with Rob Thomas. Their children would be the musical equivalent of a roach infestation.
  95. gr
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    Great album...Grammy is calling her name w/ this one..good work Mariah!!!
  96. ChrisW.
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Mariah really really devlivers on this album. I listen to it at least 3 times every day. Excellent album, great lyrics, great beats, great vocals. Everyone I recommended this album to so far agreed that it is a must have. Excellent job Mariah!!
  97. AlexJ
    Jun 18, 2005
    0
    And the skank is back! How did she manage to get Snoop Dogg on her record? No, wait, I know *cough*. Having to stomach this crap is punishment enough but then i had to sit in a car full of people who thought it was the best thing since Led Zeppelin. Ech. I would only have to see Carey to ask, "Why are you still living? Shouldn't you be on Sunset Blvd by now?"
  98. bjorkgud
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    she is back!!! thank you Mariah for pulling out such a great album
  99. eddiel
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    way better than the last 2 albums
  100. BridgetG
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    I love this whole cd. I couldn't believe how good all the songs were. I play it overand over and over...
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Heavy on ballads and midtempo love songs, it always keeps at least one foot (more often both feet) planted firmly in comforting old-school diva soul. [15 Apr 2005, p.76]
  2. There aren't any great songs among Mimi's club tunes and pop-chart-conscious tracks, and Carey is still suffering from a serious crisis of confidence.
  3. Despite its grim title with its visions of messy self-absorption, The Emancipation of Mimi is - mostly - cool, focused and urban.