• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Great Misdirect Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth studio album for the metal band was produced with Jamie King.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Between the Buried and Me have refined their sound and improved their songwriting ten-fold, and while The Great Misdirect may not match "The Silent Circus'" raw energy and intensity, it might be their most coherent album yet.
  2. While all the riffs and parts are brillantly performed, they rarely if ever repeat one, and none stick in your head after the band is gone. [Dec 2009, p.108]
  3. It's an experience, to say the least. At the same time, The Great Misdirect is the type of overblown record that asks the question, "Is there such thing as being too ambitious?"
  4. As the album stretches on, it's hard not to notice that some of the unbridled enthusiasm that made Alaska and Colors the heavy, heady trips that they were has been sacrificed. That's forgivable. The type of a maturation process that Between the Buried and Me has embarked on is never easy, and the record shows that few bands from rock's progressive edges pull it off.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. RyanJ
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Yea seriously this album is incredible if your a true metal fan. I saw them live in October, they were insane, and the singer had bronchitis. Yea seriously this album is incredible if your a true metal fan. I saw them live in October, they were insane, and the singer had bronchitis. That's besides, all metal fans need to hear Swim to the Moon in its entirety. Totally brilliant!!!! Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. Even their country song has me hooked, and the 20 minute long epic that is swim to the moon never fails toThis album is a masterpiece. Even their country song has me hooked, and the 20 minute long epic that is swim to the moon never fails to enthrall me. This is original music. You can't just put this into a genre since it goes all over the place, and you certainly can't judge the album based around 1 song. Let it play all the way through and take it all in. It's the only way. Expand
  3. BillC
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    Don't ever listen to the critics when it comes to music. Although it's not as good as colors in my opinion, it's still better Don't ever listen to the critics when it comes to music. Although it's not as good as colors in my opinion, it's still better than almost anything else. If you like Progressive/Technical metal, listen to this! Expand
  4. MatthewE
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    The critics are morons! What album did they listen to? This is one of the most unique, well written and skillfully played albums in recent The critics are morons! What album did they listen to? This is one of the most unique, well written and skillfully played albums in recent memory. Are these the same critics that enjoy Adam Lambert? Screw those hippies! Buy this record!!!! Expand
  5. JohnnyJ
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    Memorable riffs, masterful solos, profund lyrics. Psycadelic, brutal, epic, etc. Alternative Press - just call it a day... your journalists Memorable riffs, masterful solos, profund lyrics. Psycadelic, brutal, epic, etc. Alternative Press - just call it a day... your journalists need to go to school. Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    Honestly, it's a great album, but if Colors and Parallax II are perfect 10's, this can't be. The music and composition is up to my loftyHonestly, it's a great album, but if Colors and Parallax II are perfect 10's, this can't be. The music and composition is up to my lofty standards for this band, but outside of Swim to the Moon and Fossil Genera, there's significantly less inspiration and emotion in The Great Misdirect than the very best of Between the Buried and Me. This album is still head and shoulders above much of the rest of music, but it's just not BtBaM's best. Expand
  7. HakanF.
    Dec 24, 2009
    1
    Emo's trying to be metal. We all know that results in failure. Anyway, I gave it one point since the production was actually good this Emo's trying to be metal. We all know that results in failure. Anyway, I gave it one point since the production was actually good this time (unlike their last bad albums). Collapse

See all 14 User Reviews