The Hunter

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2011
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    60
    Overall, this album is sure to divide opinion on the band and its future; it will more than likely continue to raise Mastodon's star higher in the sky, enough to get the non-metalheads interested, but not enough to pull the group completely out of the sludge where it belongs and where it works best.
  2. Uncut
    Oct 18, 2011
    60
    The Hunter feels purposely immediate. [Nov 2011, p.93]
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    55
    It trades the organ liquidating power of Crack the Skye for a collection of songs that sound as much like a B-sides compilation as a new LP.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    52
    Mastodon's most accessible album to date finds the ATL-iens as unfocused as ever--and out of gas.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    The fact that this band tried something so different so confidently this late in their career, at the apex of their commercial success, provesThe fact that this band tried something so different so confidently this late in their career, at the apex of their commercial success, proves that they are the most creative band of the genre. This is really good stuff. Some of the songs require a second listen to really dig, but you will be rewarded for your patience. There is also some strange stuff on here, Creature Lives for example, but its still very good. We're dealing with our generation's ZepFloydRush people. Enjoy the ride. Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Ignore any inner hipsterism and just enjoy this album even if you think it sounds too radio-friendly for your pretentious ears. The Hunter isIgnore any inner hipsterism and just enjoy this album even if you think it sounds too radio-friendly for your pretentious ears. The Hunter is an excellent album that really deserves more credit than it's gotten so far, which is saying a lot considering it's received largely positive reviews. I love this LP's meshing of elements found in all types of rock music. It's truly a wonderfully experimental yet cohesive effort and I applaud it. One of my favorite releases from this year, without a doubt. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    A very solid album. Some of the songs are a bit more straight forward than previously seen from Mastodon, but nonetheless there isn't really aA very solid album. Some of the songs are a bit more straight forward than previously seen from Mastodon, but nonetheless there isn't really a 'bad' song on the album. I don't think they "lost" any of the aggression they used to have, but rather chose to downplay it for a slightly different approach. I enjoy it thoroughly. Standout songs are "Stargasm" and "The Hunter". Keep an open mind and enjoy the album. Full Review »