• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2011
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 72
  2. Negative: 2 out of 72

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    The fact that this band tried something so different so confidently this late in their career, at the apex of their commercial success, proves that they are the most creative band of the genre. This is really good stuff. Some of the songs require a second listen to really dig, but you will be rewarded for your patience. There is also some strange stuff on here, Creature Lives for example,The fact that this band tried something so different so confidently this late in their career, at the apex of their commercial success, proves that they are the most creative band of the genre. This is really good stuff. Some of the songs require a second listen to really dig, but you will be rewarded for your patience. There is also some strange stuff on here, Creature Lives for example, but its still very good. We're dealing with our generation's ZepFloydRush people. Enjoy the ride. Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Ignore any inner hipsterism and just enjoy this album even if you think it sounds too radio-friendly for your pretentious ears. The Hunter is an excellent album that really deserves more credit than it's gotten so far, which is saying a lot considering it's received largely positive reviews. I love this LP's meshing of elements found in all types of rock music. It's truly a wonderfullyIgnore any inner hipsterism and just enjoy this album even if you think it sounds too radio-friendly for your pretentious ears. The Hunter is an excellent album that really deserves more credit than it's gotten so far, which is saying a lot considering it's received largely positive reviews. I love this LP's meshing of elements found in all types of rock music. It's truly a wonderfully experimental yet cohesive effort and I applaud it. One of my favorite releases from this year, without a doubt. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    I have been listening to Mastodon for awhile now and when I heard about this new album I was very excited. After reading some opinions around the internet, I was hoping the album didn't suck. Everyone keeps talking about how they have changed too much or it is lacking energy. I could not disagree more. While it is not my favorite Mastodon release, it still hits hard and sounds like theI have been listening to Mastodon for awhile now and when I heard about this new album I was very excited. After reading some opinions around the internet, I was hoping the album didn't suck. Everyone keeps talking about how they have changed too much or it is lacking energy. I could not disagree more. While it is not my favorite Mastodon release, it still hits hard and sounds like the Mastodon I have been listening to in the past. It is true that many artists take a drastic change in musical style, but this is not an example of that. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    A very solid album. Some of the songs are a bit more straight forward than previously seen from Mastodon, but nonetheless there isn't really a 'bad' song on the album. I don't think they "lost" any of the aggression they used to have, but rather chose to downplay it for a slightly different approach. I enjoy it thoroughly. Standout songs are "Stargasm" and "The Hunter". Keep an open mindA very solid album. Some of the songs are a bit more straight forward than previously seen from Mastodon, but nonetheless there isn't really a 'bad' song on the album. I don't think they "lost" any of the aggression they used to have, but rather chose to downplay it for a slightly different approach. I enjoy it thoroughly. Standout songs are "Stargasm" and "The Hunter". Keep an open mind and enjoy the album. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Awesome, awesome album. Mastodon shows more progression, and really shows their talent on this album. It's rare to find a band that sounds so different from album to album, but here one is. **** Nirvana and their crappy Nevermind, this album should have a score of 100.
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    A very disappointing fifth outing from a band I've loved since their second full length ''Leviathan. There is non of the aggression of their early albums here coupled with a lack of experimentation that marked ''Blood Mountain'' and ''Crack The Skye''. There was really nothing memorable for me here, with most tracks slipping by having made little or no impact on me. It just sounds like aA very disappointing fifth outing from a band I've loved since their second full length ''Leviathan. There is non of the aggression of their early albums here coupled with a lack of experimentation that marked ''Blood Mountain'' and ''Crack The Skye''. There was really nothing memorable for me here, with most tracks slipping by having made little or no impact on me. It just sounds like a band on auto-pilot, going through the motions. I can understand them going down a gear after ''Crack The Skye'' but this just seems lazy to me. The songs lack variety and this is clearly their attempt at breaking into the mainstream. Now, there is nothing wrong with that in theory but when the result is this watered down, radio-friendly version of the prog-sludge we're used to, the result is nothing to get excited about.

    Another huge problem on this record is the production. The whole record just sits in one place, hitting you like a big mess of forgettable, indistinguishable riffs. The effects used on the vocals are cheesy to say the least and that coupled with the almost laughable lyrics for the most part mark this as possibly the sloppily mixed record I've heard all year. Now i wouldn't say this album was all bad, there is a definitely a sense of ''fun'' to the thing and of a band doing what they want and enjoying it but it produces a sound that doesn't interest or excite me on any level. These tracks seem like they'd be cool to hear live but as a studio outing, it's lacklustre to say the least. There's nothing totally un-listenable on here but nothing at all memorable either and it's a far cry from records like ''Remission'' and ''Leviathan'' and offers nothing new that's worth caring about for me. I don't know what else to say, Mastodon are one of my favourite bands but after hearing this I fear for the direction they're going in.
    Expand
  7. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    An incredibly enjoyable, expansive and impressive record. All the songs are crafted perfectly with complex riffs and soaring choruses, an absolute joy from start to finish. Compared to previous Mastodon records the songs are structured more simply with a intro-verse-chorus-solo-end pattern, this does not detract from the fact that all the songs are absolutely fantastic, the concepts andAn incredibly enjoyable, expansive and impressive record. All the songs are crafted perfectly with complex riffs and soaring choruses, an absolute joy from start to finish. Compared to previous Mastodon records the songs are structured more simply with a intro-verse-chorus-solo-end pattern, this does not detract from the fact that all the songs are absolutely fantastic, the concepts and execution of each track are portrayed perfectly and this album really does deserve a perfect score. Old fans as well as new should be delighted because Mastodon have once again released an utterly incredible album. Collapse
  8. Oct 2, 2011
    5
    This is truly Mastodon's first wholly mediocre effort. Senseless and uninteresting. Like many have already said, it's a far cry from their glory days ("Leviathan" and "Blood Mountain"), and stylistic "shifts" aside - which would be the polite way of calling this streamlined, Mastodon have lowered themselves closer to rote, featureless rock a'la CKY. Whereas "Crack the Skye" had a thoroughThis is truly Mastodon's first wholly mediocre effort. Senseless and uninteresting. Like many have already said, it's a far cry from their glory days ("Leviathan" and "Blood Mountain"), and stylistic "shifts" aside - which would be the polite way of calling this streamlined, Mastodon have lowered themselves closer to rote, featureless rock a'la CKY. Whereas "Crack the Skye" had a thorough if not profound conceptual foundation and technical prowess to compensate for a lack in punch & bite, "The Hunter" is entirely lacking in all positive descriptions that can be applied to music, which is especially shameful considering Mastodon were well on their way in forging a new dawn of creativity and quality for the metal scene. Expand
  9. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Flawless. Mastodon's new side is mysteriously welcoming. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  10. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This album divides the death metal lovers from the music lovers. Many people fall into loving bands like Mastodon because they are simply hard and loud, with no real appreciation for the effort behind them. This album is a fantastically varied one, it seems as though Mastodon simply tried playing other genres through their own lens. Creature Lives is a sublime example of the diversity theyThis album divides the death metal lovers from the music lovers. Many people fall into loving bands like Mastodon because they are simply hard and loud, with no real appreciation for the effort behind them. This album is a fantastically varied one, it seems as though Mastodon simply tried playing other genres through their own lens. Creature Lives is a sublime example of the diversity they can afford. This album is incredible. Expand
  11. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    It's hard to say that Mastodon changed their "sound" on their 2011 release 'The Hunter', because Mastodon has never really had one sound that they have stuck to. This album is great, from the first song until the last; this album will keep you enthralled. It's different from 2009's 'Crack the Skye' and it draws similarities to 2004's 'Leviathan'. 'The Hunter' is technical, relentless,It's hard to say that Mastodon changed their "sound" on their 2011 release 'The Hunter', because Mastodon has never really had one sound that they have stuck to. This album is great, from the first song until the last; this album will keep you enthralled. It's different from 2009's 'Crack the Skye' and it draws similarities to 2004's 'Leviathan'. 'The Hunter' is technical, relentless, and the songs never feel like they drag into each other. Each song feels like a breath of fresh of air, and the hits keep coming from the beginning track "Black Tongue" until the finale "The Sparrow". For me, it's easy to call 'The Hunter' Mastodon's magnum opus; their best album to date. Hardcore Mastodon fans like myself will definitely enjoy this album, and it has enough to encourage heavy metal fans alike to give Mastodon a listen. The best album released in 2011, and one of the best albums I've ever heard. Expand
  12. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    A nice combination of the clean vocals and riff work of the superb Crack The Skye and Blood Mountain with the sludgy goodness of Leviathan and Remission. While there's no big epic track on here like there were on the other albums, the catchiness combined with the heavy makes for a great listening experience. Just more proof that these guys deserve to be on list of the greatest metal groupsA nice combination of the clean vocals and riff work of the superb Crack The Skye and Blood Mountain with the sludgy goodness of Leviathan and Remission. While there's no big epic track on here like there were on the other albums, the catchiness combined with the heavy makes for a great listening experience. Just more proof that these guys deserve to be on list of the greatest metal groups of all time. Expand
  13. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Warning: This is a completely different Mastodon than what you've listened to before. The hunter definitely is isn't as heavy as mastodon's previous albums but the switch is something refreshing in their sound. The have a more "pop" or "mainstream" sound that really suits thus albums sound. It has catchy riffs & lyrics that you just can't help but sing along
  14. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    Where does one start a review for their most anticipated album of the year? To say one is looking forward to the latest magnum opus from serial sludgers-turned-proggers Mastodon is an understatement of the first degree. The fact the band had been teasing us fans for weeks with snippets from album opener Black Tongue and featuring a short video showing the making of the model featured onWhere does one start a review for their most anticipated album of the year? To say one is looking forward to the latest magnum opus from serial sludgers-turned-proggers Mastodon is an understatement of the first degree. The fact the band had been teasing us fans for weeks with snippets from album opener Black Tongue and featuring a short video showing the making of the model featured on the albums cover, hardly helped to ease the anticipation that was reaching a fever pitch one had not felt since the release of their previous record, 2009â Expand
  15. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Mastodon continues to develop their style and change things up, and very successfully I might add. Six months after the release I still find myself going back to this album on a regular basis. It has all the elements I enjoy from progressive rock to metal, with some psychedelic flavor mixed in. I look forward to listening to this album for years to come.
  16. May 17, 2013
    9
    Definitely gotta put this one on the back burner and let it simmer for awhile before you can truly appreciate what one of the greatest hard rock/metal bands has presented us with. Much in the same vain as Houses of the Holy following the masterpiece that was zeppelin IV. The Hunter expands into unknown territory for the band after smashing down the status quo prior to crack the Skye. OneDefinitely gotta put this one on the back burner and let it simmer for awhile before you can truly appreciate what one of the greatest hard rock/metal bands has presented us with. Much in the same vain as Houses of the Holy following the masterpiece that was zeppelin IV. The Hunter expands into unknown territory for the band after smashing down the status quo prior to crack the Skye. One of the best of the last 20 years. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    It's Apocalypse a-go-go for the Georgia gentlemen. Go with them.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    60
    Overall, this album is sure to divide opinion on the band and its future; it will more than likely continue to raise Mastodon's star higher in the sky, enough to get the non-metalheads interested, but not enough to pull the group completely out of the sludge where it belongs and where it works best.
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    100
    The Hunter is an album in which to lose yourself. [24 Sep 2011, p.52]