User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FlexFlex
    Oct 1, 2002
    1
    Such a pity. I was really looking forward to this album, but... This is not an FSOL. This isn't A. Androginous either. They have been evoluting in the completely wrong direction.
  2. Brap
    Sep 30, 2002
    10
    Magic.
  3. MilodeMilo
    Aug 21, 2002
    1
    This? After 6 years? Oh dear me no. Ah well, I guess you could tell that they were just gagging to sing, after Cobain wailed "Everyone in this world is doing something without me" in Dead Cities, probably much to his mum's praises. All of their previous works still stand the test of time, especially the latter albums and long CD singles - listened to Cascade again t'other day. This? After 6 years? Oh dear me no. Ah well, I guess you could tell that they were just gagging to sing, after Cobain wailed "Everyone in this world is doing something without me" in Dead Cities, probably much to his mum's praises. All of their previous works still stand the test of time, especially the latter albums and long CD singles - listened to Cascade again t'other day. Still Fantastic. The Isness is Bloody awful. That awful realisation halfway into the 2nd track that...aw jesus..no...checks CD cover...have I bought the wrong thing? Laughable... Expand
  4. SeanT
    Feb 9, 2004
    4
    I already know that FSOL are very good at music, I have Lifeforms. I bought this album because I thought it would amaze me in the same way their ealier stuff did. As far as I can see this album is partyly a joke, partly to keep the money coming in, and partly an exercise in Cobain's ego saying 'look at me I'm so clever I could easily have done what the Beatles and Pink I already know that FSOL are very good at music, I have Lifeforms. I bought this album because I thought it would amaze me in the same way their ealier stuff did. As far as I can see this album is partyly a joke, partly to keep the money coming in, and partly an exercise in Cobain's ego saying 'look at me I'm so clever I could easily have done what the Beatles and Pink Floyd did in the 60's if I had been around then'. Yes this is excellently crafted psychedlic pop, but I'd much rather have spent my money on some of the FSOL back catalouge that I don't already have on CD than this. Expand
  5. MarkussX
    Feb 25, 2005
    8
    FSOL's "The Isness" comes as something rather new and different from the band's earlier work. A mix of 90's-like electronic backbone and hippie and disco effects...The guitar sound is fantastic and the Richard Ashcroft-like psychedelic vocals are "hypnotic". Garry Cobain and Brian Dougans have my utmost respect
  6. IcarasT.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    this album is farking brilliant...along with other worthy realeases from the fsol arsenal...it presents luscious beats and ambience unrivaled by earlier realease...even so lifeforms! the isness is going into uncharted territory and is showcasing fsol experimatalism in fields they have barely touched, with great sucess in my view....watt a wicked mf! buy it now!!
  7. J
    Nov 25, 2002
    1
    this is the last time I buy a CD before downloading half the album on .mp3's. I thought "hey, these guys USED to be good, I can't wait to hear this!" man this sucks. it's the first time I've bought a CD and instantly wanted to return it...Future Sounds Of India is more like it
  8. Elliott
    Sep 29, 2002
    9
    It really is brilliant. One of the best albums of the year.
  9. RobertF
    Jan 11, 2003
    7
    Yes, sure, this is not FSOL in the times of Lifeforms or my Kingdom, but it´s magic too!
  10. MarkP
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    If all music was the same I would get bored. So when a brilliant group changes their direction and it works, well, bravo!!!!! This is bloody great. One of those albums that needs to be listened to more than once, but once it clicks, it's SEX.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Interestingly enough, the group manages to pull most of it off, but not without some stops into new-age and downright silly territory.
  2. It's the songs which seal The Isness's fate. [Sep 2002, p.100]
  3. Through it all they keep it both consistent (without being same-y) and experimental (without being disorienting).