The Last DJ

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CliffS
    Oct 15, 2002
    9
    No matter what some critics say: This album is great! It takes a little bit of getting used to but if you listen more than once to it you´ll just have to love it! Have Love, Will Travel and Can´t Stop the Sun are two of the best songs Petty ever recorded.
  2. nancyroc
    Oct 6, 2002
    10
    This may be considered his masterpiece by some - for me? It simply rocks. If you are a fan of Petty, this album will be a refreshing change from the Echo and Wildflowers years. Much more upbeat and playful in this theme album, and the guitar work is its' usual spectacular!
  3. Andre
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    There is nothing wrong with this album. Classic Petty!!! The DVD that comes with it is great
  4. PaulH
    Jul 3, 2005
    2
    I'm a big Petty fan, but I have to admit that I just hate this album, it's easily his worst. the title song may be one of the worst songs I've ever heard in my entire life. the only song i did like is "dreamville" and i'd recommend getting that one off of itunes or something.
  5. GeorgH
    Oct 21, 2002
    5
    Unfortunately there's no development in his music, but it's still nice to listen to. But I prefer the 70ies and 80ies releases.
  6. JorgeB
    Dec 3, 2002
    10
    Excellent lyrics...Tom still has something to say that matters...the music is solid, the album, one of his best.
  7. BrandonS
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    Fantastic album. I've never been more baffled by many people's distaste for this one. After the awful "Echo," I was worried that Petty had lost it. Instead, he returned in top form.
  8. DSmith
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    Petty is making a strong and true point about the modern music industry. All modern music is either some black guy talking really fast synth beat, or a bunch of the same guitar chords. None of it requires any skill, and I have to give Petty a pat on the back for stepping up and publically recognizing that. However there were some songs that were not quite up with the others, especially in Petty is making a strong and true point about the modern music industry. All modern music is either some black guy talking really fast synth beat, or a bunch of the same guitar chords. None of it requires any skill, and I have to give Petty a pat on the back for stepping up and publically recognizing that. However there were some songs that were not quite up with the others, especially in the second half of the album. Expand
  9. jessicap
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    this is a true work of art. very well put together. staying true to petty style there is no selling out. keep on rocking tom!!!
  10. gregf
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    I saw Tom and bought his album. He still has it. I would recommend this album to any one who still has the balls to be a rebel
  11. tims
    Oct 13, 2002
    10
    this is an awesome cd - tom petty is king and all the heads of major corporations and such, know all his lyrics are the truth off this new album.
  12. DebraS
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    The Tom Petty that we all know and love, still sounds as great as ever, just keeps getting better everytime, he is the best and the best is yet to come.
  13. CMoney
    Mar 15, 2005
    9
    Very Interesting album, simple lyrics yes, to the point yes, petty voice older fading? yes. Despite all this, a very refreshing album with petty playing too more piano sounds than he has before. Songs are very strong and have alot of feeling behind them. Terrific album
  14. Feb 6, 2011
    8
    Took me about 2 or 3 listens...but I thoroughly enjoy the musicianship and connection of the songs. A lyrical and musical journey. No hits stand out, but as a whole is complete.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Petty's thesis is strong, but his argument falters too often.
  2. Mojo
    70
    Taken all together these songs pack a powerful punch and make for a much better record than we might have expected. [Dec 2002, p.108]
  3. When it's good, it's really good.