The Lemonheads

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Sep 26, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JyotirmayaD
    May 2, 2007
    7
    I love the Lemonheads' great catalogue of good songs, but this album is only half-good. There are some winners and stinkers on it...
  2. RayShame
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    The Lemonheads...are...back...Holy S**t!...lock up your sons and daughters! Not as good as "Ray", fine...nothing Dando and co. ever do will be, that record is a stone masterpiece. But this album is good. Maybe great. What do you want from me? It's just so great to have them back!!!!!
  3. DustinT
    Oct 17, 2006
    6
    Definitly not dando best release. How ever I'll take any thing consistant espacially with the all star cast he lined up to record the disc.
  4. MattD.
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    A couple songs sound a bit out of place, but are good - and they provide needed change of pace in this excellent power pop CD.
  5. AnthonyJ
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    My expectations were high, and they were met--maybe even exceeded. A great album that stands up with the best 'Heads stuff from the 90's. Better, more consistent than Baby I'm Bored, and more upbeat and fun.
  6. JakeV
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    It's no "Lovey" or "Ray" but a lot better than the lame later efforts of "Come on Feel" and especially the snore-fest known as "Car Button Cloth". Reminds me why he/they were one of my fave bands in the high school years. If you're a fan at all, its a must buy.
  7. markh
    Sep 28, 2006
    7
    this album is not a classic, not even up there with Lovey. But what the hell... it's great to have him back.
  8. Raindog1972
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    Excellent return to form from Dando. A little too short given the long wait, but overall everything an excellent pop record should be...
  9. Nov 9, 2012
    6
    The only other record I have by the Lemonheads is their best of. The telling thing about this record is that there is very little (maybe 1 or 2 tracks) that would get anywhere near that best of. As an album, it is as good as anything they've done for a decade. Bubblegum rock at its grungiest. The thing is, its best moments borrow heavily from their classic 90's efforts and at time borderThe only other record I have by the Lemonheads is their best of. The telling thing about this record is that there is very little (maybe 1 or 2 tracks) that would get anywhere near that best of. As an album, it is as good as anything they've done for a decade. Bubblegum rock at its grungiest. The thing is, its best moments borrow heavily from their classic 90's efforts and at time border on rehashing. If you like The Lemonheads, you'll really enjoy this but otherwise it wont tell you anythign new. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. A likable, cogent album of adult punk-pop that matches Dando's easygoing voice to genial fuzz-rock.
  2. Mojo
    70
    The Lemonheads have never sounded so feral yet so tight. [Oct 2006, p.104]
  3. There's a broken feeling about this album, a resignation that reflects the trouble of the intervening years.