The Lemonheads

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Sep 26, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JyotirmayaD
    May 2, 2007
    7
    I love the Lemonheads' great catalogue of good songs, but this album is only half-good. There are some winners and stinkers on it...
  2. RayShame
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    The Lemonheads...are...back...Holy S**t!...lock up your sons and daughters! Not as good as "Ray", fine...nothing Dando and co. ever do will be, that record is a stone masterpiece. But this album is good. Maybe great. What do you want from me? It's just so great to have them back!!!!!
  3. MattD.
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    A couple songs sound a bit out of place, but are good - and they provide needed change of pace in this excellent power pop CD.
  4. AnthonyJ
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    My expectations were high, and they were met--maybe even exceeded. A great album that stands up with the best 'Heads stuff from the 90's. Better, more consistent than Baby I'm Bored, and more upbeat and fun.
  5. JakeV
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    It's no "Lovey" or "Ray" but a lot better than the lame later efforts of "Come on Feel" and especially the snore-fest known as "Car Button Cloth". Reminds me why he/they were one of my fave bands in the high school years. If you're a fan at all, its a must buy.
  6. markh
    Sep 28, 2006
    7
    this album is not a classic, not even up there with Lovey. But what the hell... it's great to have him back.
  7. Raindog1972
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    Excellent return to form from Dando. A little too short given the long wait, but overall everything an excellent pop record should be...
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. A likable, cogent album of adult punk-pop that matches Dando's easygoing voice to genial fuzz-rock.
  2. Mojo
    70
    The Lemonheads have never sounded so feral yet so tight. [Oct 2006, p.104]
  3. There's a broken feeling about this album, a resignation that reflects the trouble of the intervening years.