User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    What I love about Dj Shadow is that he acknowledges what's great in today's music while adding the innovation and experience he brings through his artistry. 'The Less You Know.." may take a few listens to truly appreciate it's brilliance and diversity. It's an emotional, atmospheric, relevant and on many tracks stays true to the Shadow most of his fans know. No, it isn't the 'Endtroducing' in any sense, so those looking for the classic's rebirth need look elsewhere. If you are in fact looking for something fresh and insightful that displays some of his best musicality to date, you owe it to yourself to buy it now. I'm so very happy that music like this still exists in the current tapestry of top 40 monotony. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    For me The Less You Know The Better is one of the best album of 2011. Every song of the album are great specially Back to front..Stay the course...Sad and Lonely (very special a melancholic piano with the vintage female voice) and awesome I Gotta Rock...Scale it back with Little Dragon what a great song and very different ...Circular Logic!! Another great album by the greatest Dj Shadow!!!
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    7
    Agreeing with critics to some point, this is no Entroducing (we all know that). It isn't even The Private Press. What it is better than is The Outsider (his 2006 album). He has gone back to what he is known for, but he hasn't done it the same way as before. This album includes a lot more different styles of music involved which is good for some songs. The only songs, however, that are like his old stuff and are the best are "I Gotta Rokk" and "Circular Logic (Front To Back)". This is worth it if you are a hardcore Shadow fan. If not, try the first two albums. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    The patented blueprint is there, the form... doesn´t. A record that compensates the collection: 2 great initial, 2 unfulfilling last. Plain, generic beats, that maybe ´cause of the expensive cost for clearance sampling, pushed Josh to use nowadays souless tools. Only 1 of the 16 songs made me put extra attention thinkin this was the one for us that listened to him from the beginning, but nothing interesting happened at last. I hope the next will fullfill my need of memorable, epical, provocative songs that made a Dj Shadow album worth of remembering. To try: "I Gotta Rokk" , "Redeemed" Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    This 17-track colossus is eclectic, ambitious ad expertly executed. [Nov 2011, p.103]
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    40
    Given the sprawling length, naturally it's not devoid of a few stray gems and curiosities. [Oct 2011, p.60]
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    60
    The Less you know is a rather ponderous return to form. [Dec 2011, p.81]