User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 58
  2. Negative: 5 out of 58

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffS
    May 3, 2006
    10
    An incredible album which takes diverse influences and emulsifies them into catchy, relexive pop-rock songs. Can't stop saying enough good things about this album. Clear pavement influence is not "ripping off"... not when it all sounds this fresh. Malkmus only wishes his tunes were this good at this point.
  2. wackyman
    Apr 29, 2006
    9
    great effort! although not to original
  3. Gonzo
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    This album is breathstealing!Fantastic riffs,melodies and a lots of energy...
  4. jay
    Dec 3, 2006
    8
    This album reminds me why I stay on metacritic. To find something that stands out that I might not have found. A cross between The Strokes and Arcade Fire with more of an upbeat. Take that suckas!!!
  5. DrunkenMaster
    Aug 31, 2006
    7
    Best Pavement cover band EVER.
  6. MihaiV
    Sep 6, 2006
    9
    It's a grower, but with pacience it's rewarding. Best track:Insistor.
  7. RobertG
    Apr 28, 2006
    9
    Great album, I see this being on my year end top 10 list.
  8. Quin
    May 1, 2006
    10
    For straight up rock and roll, this is about as creative and imaginative as it gets. Considering I bought this along with about 7 other new releases, this is the one I can't stop listening to... it's still growing on me after a dozen listens.
  9. boxkite
    May 1, 2006
    10
    these guys are great. really. people (aka jason) can always say this band sounds like that band and whatever. but if you go back about 10 years people could say that stuff about the pixies and pavement so its a losing battle. just check these guys out and !CRANK IT UP! so you can't hear all the whiners.
  10. DaveB
    May 17, 2006
    9
    Original, energetic album that really sticks with you after a couple listens. The sequencing, style and dynamic changes really make this a great album to listen to straight through, yet each song stands up well on its own. Simply put, as the DOA reviewer stated, "You will not be able to tear yourself away from this album."
  11. dantec
    May 26, 2006
    10
    great album.one of the besti have heard in a long time.i saw them in austin and nobody has impressed me live in a long time since elliot smith in the mid 90s or white stripes pre elephant
  12. BenT
    May 5, 2006
    8
    so far, best indie rock of the year, but hardly comparable to some of the best & runners up of the last few years. however, this was originally a demo & we could see big things from this group.
  13. romanmc
    May 5, 2006
    8
    It's kind of amusing that someone would call these guys out for ripping off certain bands when he's ripping off certain critics who've already made the Pavement and Pixies connections. Just listen to it and forget what you may have read by some critic. TnT's approach is novel and not anymore derivative than 99% of the music out there. "Manitoba," "Just Dreams" and It's kind of amusing that someone would call these guys out for ripping off certain bands when he's ripping off certain critics who've already made the Pavement and Pixies connections. Just listen to it and forget what you may have read by some critic. TnT's approach is novel and not anymore derivative than 99% of the music out there. "Manitoba," "Just Dreams" and "Transistor" are awesome. Some of the rest of it is...eh...but those three tracks make it worth the effort. Expand
  14. AaronS
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    A wonderful album that you may find yourself hopelessly addicted to listening to. I tried to avoid this one due to all of the internet hype, but damn it, it was all deserved. Great little disc. One of the best records to come out last year and since it's only really gained attention and a major push this year, it's one of this year's best too!!
  15. clayw
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    I love this album. Cannot stop listening to it!! I love this band live and the album is a must hear for true music lovers!
  16. HeidiS
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    I agree with others that say AFTER A FEW LISTENS this album just won't let you go. I had high hopes when first listening to the album and felt a little let down, and only liked "the singles" (insistor, just drums, etc.) but after a few listens I just love it, all of it. Having not been a music buff a decade or so ago, I think it sounds very original. ;P btw - i get SOOOOOO sick of I agree with others that say AFTER A FEW LISTENS this album just won't let you go. I had high hopes when first listening to the album and felt a little let down, and only liked "the singles" (insistor, just drums, etc.) but after a few listens I just love it, all of it. Having not been a music buff a decade or so ago, I think it sounds very original. ;P btw - i get SOOOOOO sick of reviews that say, "this is a cheap rip-off of ...." or "a weak imitation of....." The Pixies and Coldplay seem to be most often used to complete this sentence. but anyhow - if you like the band they're "ripping off" then who the hell cares? seriously. I do not understand why this matters. review the album for what it is. (and if someone makes good quality music, why wouldn't you want it to be imitated, as long as it's imitated well?) sorry, rant over. Expand
  17. JoshW
    Aug 3, 2006
    9
    fell in love after the first listen. one of the best new bands I have heard in a long time.
  18. FlinchBot
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    OUtstanding.
  19. paulk
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    My favorite album this year. Yes, you hear their influences, and I found that very distracting at first and almost dismissed this out of hand. But, the more you listen to it, the less you hear others and the more this sounds like Tapes 'n Tapes. This isn't the best album this band is going to make by far, and I expect that looking back on it later I'm going to be a lot more My favorite album this year. Yes, you hear their influences, and I found that very distracting at first and almost dismissed this out of hand. But, the more you listen to it, the less you hear others and the more this sounds like Tapes 'n Tapes. This isn't the best album this band is going to make by far, and I expect that looking back on it later I'm going to be a lot more critical of it again in retrospect. I love this bad though, and this is good stuff. FYI, it's not Pavement you twat, it's way more Pixies. If you're intelligent enough to get over the Artic Monkeys sounding like the Libertines, then you'll enjoy this. Expand
  20. NicoleL
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    I love this CD. It's different. It's not a "moody" CD. I can listen to it when Im happy, tired, sad, mad....anything. They know their stuff and they're wicked live!
  21. TomCasual
    May 22, 2006
    9
    This album is a tremendous listen. Ignore the guy who hates this just because Pitchfork liked it. This is a great album, easy to listen to, and yet stretches the imagination. It's not going to blow you away with originality, but it definitely will keep your attention and be a captivating listen.
  22. thebigstanator
    Jul 26, 2006
    7
    good album, fun, not too great but not bad by any stretch. paul h's comment about pitchfork is so fucking stupid. firstly pitchfork gave it 8.3. wow, 8.3! not huge praise and far away from the highest it has recieved. people seem to think insulting pitchfork is clever and cool for some reason. admittedly they have some fairly dubious reviews at times, but the fact that their scores good album, fun, not too great but not bad by any stretch. paul h's comment about pitchfork is so fucking stupid. firstly pitchfork gave it 8.3. wow, 8.3! not huge praise and far away from the highest it has recieved. people seem to think insulting pitchfork is clever and cool for some reason. admittedly they have some fairly dubious reviews at times, but the fact that their scores are more often than not very similar to the average that metacritic gives them is proof that they are not super hype builders or givers of crazy reviews, they are pretty middle of the line and reasonable with their scores. just because many of their writers write fairly pretentious reviews, the scores are often accurate in my opinion. Collapse
  23. EricL.
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    It's awesome dude. As indie groups seem to be moving away from the fury, Tapes N Tapes keeps it alive with their Sonic Youth or Smashing Pumpkin screeches of distortion. The Loon kicks ass.
  24. Marc
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    This is just really, really good. Pure and simple.
  25. KarlC.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Totally amazing! This album rocks throughout. Tapes is so refreshing to hear, a blend of Pixes-Violent Femmes- and their own sound. Totally recommend.
  26. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Sweet collection of slick, well crafted songs. Every one sounds different from any other; some are explosive, some are laid back and chill. And it has its own unique energy running through. I've never heard anything quite like it.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. The Loon is nothing short of an incredibly focused song suite, minus all the extraneous frivolities that you’ve gotten too used to hearing from an "incredibly focused song suite."
  2. You will not be able to tear yourself away from this album. This is no daringly outrageous, Kid A-esque “progressive” music that nobody really enjoys listening to. This is rock 'n roll.
  3. The first must-listen record of the year.