The Midnight Organ Fight

  • Record Label: Fat Cat
  • Release Date: Apr 29, 2008
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Five years on, and isn't this contender for one of the greatest breakup albums of all time?
    Every single song is beautiful here. And the lyrics, ranging from the most humbling and uplifting outlooks on existence itself (Head Rolls Off) to gorgeous, bitter sweet poetry (Poke, My Backwards Walk) need to be discovered and appreciated and loved. This an album that just keeps giving and
    Five years on, and isn't this contender for one of the greatest breakup albums of all time?
    Every single song is beautiful here. And the lyrics, ranging from the most humbling and uplifting outlooks on existence itself (Head Rolls Off) to gorgeous, bitter sweet poetry (Poke, My Backwards Walk) need to be discovered and appreciated and loved. This an album that just keeps giving and giving and giving. If nothing else (and at the essence of it all) this is an album decorated with strong melodies. Infectious melodic pop gems, epic musical anthems and melancholic rock, this has got to go down in history as one of the finest records ever made.
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums ever made. Period. FR ability to share a story and a feeling without appearing pretentious is a rare thing only a handful of artists posses. No description can accurately capture what this album is.
  3. TimM.
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    Hands down, album of the year. Every full-length song would be a standout on any other record. Just a remarkable collection of songs.
  4. WillS
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    Such a complete album from back to front, has neigh a boring track or moment... one of my favorites from 2008 and has staying power.
  5. EthelB.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    Not since the Smiths has listening to someone be miserable been so rewarding. Modern Leper is the pop gem from the album, but track after track pull you in with their tender folky heart and leave you reeling with a electric crashing finish. Bound to be on Best of '08 lists.
  6. NickD
    May 2, 2008
    10
    One of those rare album that manages the 'sappy indie boy' trick with not only a degree of grounded, visceral realism which doesn't lose itself in floweriness, but also with honest songwriting, straying from the obvious but never sounding forced. There's a whole bunch of fantastic tunes, great arrangements, and lyrics which never stray to cliche despite their subject One of those rare album that manages the 'sappy indie boy' trick with not only a degree of grounded, visceral realism which doesn't lose itself in floweriness, but also with honest songwriting, straying from the obvious but never sounding forced. There's a whole bunch of fantastic tunes, great arrangements, and lyrics which never stray to cliche despite their subject matter. If you draw a line between The Twilight Sad's "Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters" and Snow Patrol's "When It's All Over We Still Have To Clear Up", and you're about there. Fantastico. Expand
  7. GeorgeB.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Didn't think it was possible for them to improve on their first album. oh boy was I wrong!
  8. MikeM.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    Absolutely breath taking. It's nearly 4 in the morning and i can't (check it, I don't want to) go to bed. I'd much rather listen to this Scottish band until the sun rises.
  9. CraigC.
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    Such an honest, emotional album of thought provoking and inspiring music. It is rare to find a gem like this. Some songs are better than others but all are great. I highly recommend this album.
  10. StevenL
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    This is a superb album. Much stronger than their first album and containing some fantastic tracks. Modern Leper, Good Arms vs Bad Arms and Floating in the Forth particularly sparkle. The real quality is in the songwriting. The album concentrates heavily on a relationship breakdown but the artist transcends the pain and misery to inject the listener with a hope. There are so many great This is a superb album. Much stronger than their first album and containing some fantastic tracks. Modern Leper, Good Arms vs Bad Arms and Floating in the Forth particularly sparkle. The real quality is in the songwriting. The album concentrates heavily on a relationship breakdown but the artist transcends the pain and misery to inject the listener with a hope. There are so many great lines in these songs. If you love great music and meaningful lyrics buy this album! Expand
  11. GuyG
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Best Album of the year, by far! Very poetic.
  12. GCB
    Dec 22, 2008
    9
    Was seen in abouth ninth place when I did my best of year list in July. Its now December and its worked its way to Number One. No filler and one of the best albums of the past 10 years for my money.
  13. roachcoach
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Listened to it almost exclusively for three weeks. Whatever complaints the psuedo-intellectual indie snob critics want to lob at this record are probably directly correlated to their inability and refusal to allow themselves to feel real gutteral human emotion. This record conveys it in droves on every track. If you ever lived in a city while you were young and navigated relationships Listened to it almost exclusively for three weeks. Whatever complaints the psuedo-intellectual indie snob critics want to lob at this record are probably directly correlated to their inability and refusal to allow themselves to feel real gutteral human emotion. This record conveys it in droves on every track. If you ever lived in a city while you were young and navigated relationships good, bad, or just one night long, then this album has something for you. Triumph, hope, despair, self-hate, and jaded optimism. Collapse
  14. JamesK.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Amazing.
  15. KyleN.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    Emotion conveyed through music at is best!
  16. LarryH.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Yeah, The Midnight Organ Fight,an album of hope and faith.Put this on after a bad day and you`ll feel better than any drug you can take...."I`ll think I`ll save suicide for another day" Rock on Frightened Rabbit!!!
  17. MarcusO
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Very, very good album. The Twist is an amazing song!
  18. kenr
    Feb 16, 2009
    8
    Stupendous 2nd album. The about to be released Live rendition of this album, titled "Quietly Now", is even so much better. Stripped down and bare; Modern Leper is astounding.Where some of the songs on Midnight Organ Fight didn't quite shine or show their true colours, on Quiet Now they sparkle with soul, heartfelt passion and radiant warmth!.
  19. AlessanseoP
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year. Passionate scottish indie rock. Incredibly grows at every listening, even after tens of hearings.
  20. DavidS.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    Excellent album from start to finish... Brilliant musically and lyrically.
  21. PaulB
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    Top Bombers. Ready your ears.
  22. Oct 7, 2010
    8
    One of my favorite Indie albums of all time. Such a passionate album. Full of story telling and great lyrics. Perfect for a person who enjoys light/slow indie music. he lead singers voice is just beautiful and soothing. This album has gotten my through everything over the past years. It doesn't get old. It's nice Scottish indie music. Very beautiful in my opinion.
  23. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this whole album. Each track is sung with such a confidence that it's hard not to delve yourself into the emotions Scott Hutchison is singing to you. "The Modern Leper" opens it up so incredibly well that I can't even describe how great of an opener it is to an album. Each track is great. I always end up coming back to this album when I feel sad, or happy, or just inI thoroughly enjoyed this whole album. Each track is sung with such a confidence that it's hard not to delve yourself into the emotions Scott Hutchison is singing to you. "The Modern Leper" opens it up so incredibly well that I can't even describe how great of an opener it is to an album. Each track is great. I always end up coming back to this album when I feel sad, or happy, or just in need of good music. All In All, The Midnight Organ Fight is a great, ambitious album. A- Expand
  24. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the, if not the, best album of the year. Modern Leper is up there with the best songs of the decade. The Scottish accent provides a wonderful change and if you're looking for a twist on indie/folk/alt. get this album, you won't regret it.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Here there can be no snobbish derision and calls of 'selling out' or playing to the average man; in creating an album showcasing the very best of the band’s talents they have created one so perfectly fit for, as Scott so vividly puts, “the soft, soft static” of popular radio.
  2. The Midnight Organ Fight is sharper, more polished, and better in parts than "Sing the Greys." There’s only one unfortunate downside. This sharper, more polished effort displays fewer of the things that made the first album so enjoyable.
  3. Whether or not you choose to accept it, the FACT is that Scotland's own Hutchinson brothers have created a sweet and powerful collection of tunes with The Midnight Organ Fight.