The Mirror Conspiracy

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StanescuC.
    Feb 20, 2002
    10
    Album's just great...delightful stuff
  2. anjalig
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    it is a fabulous album....highly elating...especially the song 'indra'.
  3. Mooka
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    Mostly awesome seamless music. Afew bland patches, specific songs, and within songs. However, first time I put in my latop I kept it going for about 5 hours on repeat
  4. PastokL.
    Nov 14, 2001
    10
    Excellent !!!!!!
  5. JanP.
    Dec 26, 2001
    10
    electronical but smooth and changing, with ambiental elements and samba like as well. Some pieces feature tavla drums and sitar like sounds...
  6. ShashiT
    Feb 10, 2005
    9
    Some bland tracks, but quite a few jems especially if you're a hip-hop-instrumenatl-basshead who really loves women and breathy vocals...like me...peace
  7. JuanCS
    Jun 15, 2003
    10
    simply the best, this is the first time i listen to it and i love it. this is what i call music.
  8. FabienJ
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    One of the best, if not the best, lo-fi albums made. Period.
  9. ChiragP.
    Jan 21, 2002
    10
    the most amazing album to chill-out to!
  10. Frank
    Apr 23, 2005
    9
    The first album of theirs I heard, and bought ASAP! Conistent quality of work, their albums prior to "The Outernational Sound" all would get a 9 from me. "Outernational Sound" gets a 9.5 from me. Babylon Rewound gets a low grade from me though, I really didn't care for it, so I give it a 5. Have not yet heard Cosmic Game, but it is on my list to buy soon.
  11. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Awesome album... just press play and enjoy! If you like this type of music then Thievery Corporation is most likely the perfect sound for you! Sweet!!!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. But even with all the billowing moods and lush female vocals, what is paramount to The Mirror Conspiracy's muse is rhythm.
  2. But while The Mirror Conspiracy is lush relaxation music, it can be too relaxed at times. Some of the tracks, such as "So Com Voce," feel bland and lack the rhythmic ideas driving standout cuts like "Lebanese Blonde" and "Le Monde."
  3. Mojo
    80
    Unlike many of dance culture's dedicated dilettantes, theirs is a smooth and millifluous whole, underpinned by the gentle pulsing of liquid bass lines.... Delightful. [Sep 2000, p.94]