• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2007
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 6, 2013
    9
    This album really surprised me thank you Beastie Boys!

    When Hip-Hop is really starting to decay and loose its relevance they drop a funky ass instrumental to show today's 'artists' how its done. I was afraid about the direction the Beastie Boys would take in the current climate of Auto-Tune gangster mixed with R&B trash that dominates the market. Could they stoop as low as Eminem
    This album really surprised me thank you Beastie Boys!

    When Hip-Hop is really starting to decay and loose its relevance they drop a funky ass instrumental to show today's 'artists' how its done.

    I was afraid about the direction the Beastie Boys would take in the current climate of Auto-Tune gangster mixed with R&B trash that dominates the market. Could they stoop as low as Eminem and hook up with Rhianna?!

    I feel stupid for even doubting them, they dropped me on my head so hard i had to check it!

    This album is so non-controversial it is the most controversial album they have ever done!

    (RIP MCA)
    Expand
  2. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    3
    I never thought I'd rate an album this low by the Beastie Boys but here it is. The whole album is forgettable. I'm a die-hard fan and I couldn't get the reasoning behind this album. I have friends who have jam sessions sound just as good as this album. I do like their instrumental work on Ill Communication and Check Your Head, however at this point in their career, they need a moreI never thought I'd rate an album this low by the Beastie Boys but here it is. The whole album is forgettable. I'm a die-hard fan and I couldn't get the reasoning behind this album. I have friends who have jam sessions sound just as good as this album. I do like their instrumental work on Ill Communication and Check Your Head, however at this point in their career, they need a more complete body of work. Expand
  3. EricC.
    Aug 14, 2007
    5
    When I heard that they were going back to their instruments for their next ablum, the first thing that came to mind was their best stuff as a punk-hip-hop band. Instead, we get a bunch of jam sessions, which was probably a blast for the guys, but not for their fans. Not a horrible funk album, but come on. I want some classic Beastie Boys (and their last two rap albums are not that either).
  4. Joshua
    Jul 26, 2007
    8
    A solid & perfectly reasonable outing. As a fan of "In Sound From Way Out" I was happy to hear another instrumental B-Boys album. "Mix-Up" has earned itself a spot on my daily rotation. More often than not I don't want something grating or demanding attention - I don't want elevator music either. "The Mix-Up" fits the bill nicely. Not as experimental or far out as "In Sound" but A solid & perfectly reasonable outing. As a fan of "In Sound From Way Out" I was happy to hear another instrumental B-Boys album. "Mix-Up" has earned itself a spot on my daily rotation. More often than not I don't want something grating or demanding attention - I don't want elevator music either. "The Mix-Up" fits the bill nicely. Not as experimental or far out as "In Sound" but a respectable release. Wish I had it on vinyl. Expand
  5. MikeD
    Jul 23, 2007
    3
    Pretty much a waste of time from start to finish. 35 minutes of self-indulgent nonsense. There's probably 10 bar-bands in every state doing this kind of thing better on a nightly basis.
  6. BitBurn
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Freakin' critics. Seriously, this is exactly what a Beastie instrumental album should be: lightweight, no frills, no BS, just plain ol' jammin and just press "record". What's wrong with that?
  7. MrPetersMrPeters
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Smooth, sweet, and niiiiice!
  8. MatthewA.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Regardless of merit the Boys always produce a 10. However if you loved The In Sound From Way Out you will be beside yourself with a funkiness helmet of pleasure and contentment on your head. I am proud of the Beasties for producing another instrumental album that even dwarfs the previous "In Sound." A+ for the boys and if you don't agree you probably don't understand the Boys in Regardless of merit the Boys always produce a 10. However if you loved The In Sound From Way Out you will be beside yourself with a funkiness helmet of pleasure and contentment on your head. I am proud of the Beasties for producing another instrumental album that even dwarfs the previous "In Sound." A+ for the boys and if you don't agree you probably don't understand the Boys in the first place. Expand
  9. JeffL.
    Jun 28, 2007
    5
    The 5 Boroughs was to old skool, and now we have The Mix-Up. The songs really don't stand out from one song to another, in other words they all sound alike. I like the Mix formula (hip-hop- Live jams) they use for CYH, Ill Com, and H. Nasty. These themed CD's become tiresome; Come-on Beasties, if you're goanna call your album the Mix-Up, then by all means MIX IT UP.
  10. georgebush
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    it's a fantastic bb album, maybe one o f the best since ill communication. you mf metacritics people, change your fu...ing method of vote for the critics. some verry verry bad pseudoartists like john legend should not be included in this list
  11. justinr.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    This album is the shiznit! I love the instrumental songs the Beasties put out. Such a good jam band.
  12. MichaelE.
    Jun 27, 2007
    7
    The "for fans only" label is correct, but this record has perhaps not been getting enough positive attention. It's slight, but it's supposed to be. This is background music, pure and simple - perhaps the first Beasties album that benefits from being played quietly. I'm not sure if there's really enough good material here for a full album (maybe just an EP), and I wish The "for fans only" label is correct, but this record has perhaps not been getting enough positive attention. It's slight, but it's supposed to be. This is background music, pure and simple - perhaps the first Beasties album that benefits from being played quietly. I'm not sure if there's really enough good material here for a full album (maybe just an EP), and I wish there was more variety, but The Mix-Up is still a worthy minor listen. Expand
  13. DianaK
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Excellent album. If you're a true fan and know how their instrumentals are and love those, this won't disappoint. Others may not know what they're purchasing and may be taken aback - once they get used to it, they should love it too.
  14. JasonL.
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    Great. Anything they touch turns to gold.
  15. RawS.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Beasties do what they want and have it made. It's that easy. Their sound is a distinct funk. It's throwback, it's relaxed, it's artistic leisure. What do you mean, "what happened"? If you know the anything about the boys and their philosophy, such flagrants doth shant be uttered.
  16. atom
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Nothing epic, but really, really enjoyable. Chris W pretty much has it right.
  17. ChrisW
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    This could be the best "Groove" recording ever made. With that said, if you're looking for freshly sampled beats and intelligent rhymes... those qualities are not found on this CD. In fact there there are no vocals or samples at all. Just The Beastie's grooving along with drums, keyboards, and guitars. This is a great CD to throw on and just maklc-out in the backyard to. Crack This could be the best "Groove" recording ever made. With that said, if you're looking for freshly sampled beats and intelligent rhymes... those qualities are not found on this CD. In fact there there are no vocals or samples at all. Just The Beastie's grooving along with drums, keyboards, and guitars. This is a great CD to throw on and just maklc-out in the backyard to. Crack open a brew, with a friend or two, and maybe even grill up something new. A Great Summer CD that will not leave you dissapointed. If you're sick of the "experimental" garbage that's out there... try this on for size. Nothing experimental, just straight grooves! Expand
  18. AlexL
    Jun 25, 2007
    9
    funky sh*t!
  19. [Anonymous]
    Jun 25, 2007
    7
    Eh, I'm a big fan, but this isn't that great.
  20. RobertC
    Jun 25, 2007
    6
    What happend
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The Beasties could have knocked out all twelve jams in a lazy weekend in 1992, 2007 or anywhere in between.
  2. 50
    It's the sound of a group treading water. [Jul 2007, p.110]
  3. There's 100 reasons to worship the Beastie Boys. But, plugging in a wah-wah pedal and writing an album of indulgent jazz-funk instrumentals is certainly not one of them.