• Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2010
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 98
  2. Negative: 15 out of 98

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Rob
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messy, confused, angry, brilliant.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    The clear-cut pick for album of the year; this manages to outdo its absolutely stellar debut album in every way, and kicks your face in for a solid 65 minutes. Patrick Stickles is a songwriter and lyricist on par with the best of them, and there is not a weak track on here. Pure Brilliance.
  3. MikeB
    Mar 13, 2010
    Beautiful, haunting and invigorating.
  4. HarryB.
    Mar 9, 2010
    This album works so well as a cohesive concept, but not in that over bearing "I'm an art dork who makes high brow nonsense" kind of way. More in the "I have serious things to say and the only way i know how is to write a string of incomprehensibly good songs and arrange them in chronological order". This album is special.
  5. AdamR.
    Mar 9, 2010
    Rock music that is completely unhinged and uninhibited. The sound of joy screaming through angst. Beautiful.
  6. AndersC.
    Mar 11, 2010
    This is a magnificent album. Just brilliant.
  7. JoeC.
    Mar 13, 2010
    Hard driving yet the music is tuneful and catchy, and the lyrics
  8. EricN
    Mar 15, 2010
    Absolutely stellar. It's hard to imagine a more raucous, fun, epic album will be released in 2010. A total pleasure from start to finish.
  9. MikeM
    Mar 9, 2010
    Best album of the year so far, hands down. BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!
  10. NickR
    Mar 15, 2010
    Best album of the past few years.
  11. JoshP.
    Mar 24, 2010
    Epic and superb.
  12. JoshL.
    Apr 13, 2010
  13. Jan 2, 2013
    Titus Andronicus come back with something big and ambitious to say with this sophomore album. The Monitor is a sprawling record about youth and angst, and something to do partially with the civil war. From the lyrics to the loud guitar to the production, this is a great record. All In All, The Monitor is an album that needs to be played as loud as you'd like, as long as it's really loud. B+
  14. Jan 30, 2011
    7.6 overall rating is **** **** The people who gave this a negative score are all **** idiots.
  15. Dec 26, 2012
    Pop Matters said this wasn't a home run, clearly they're unfamiliar with baseball because this album is a grand slam. This album knocks it right out of the **** park into the mesosphere, everything you could want is here from solid lyrics to an epic bag pipe solo.

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. It's more like sloshing or spewing, as intermittent love lookbacks evoke a social despair also contextualized by fabulous spoken epigraphs from Walt Whitman, Jefferson Davis, William Lloyd Garrison, and Young Abe Lincoln.
  2. Some of the riffs are quite incredible ('A More Perfect Union'), and the general effect of the whole album is that the listener will want to weep and dance simultaneously. Simply brilliant.
  3. The Monitor, then, is a boisterous, eloquent argument that rock music need not be dumb in order to be enjoyable, moreover, that we should be questioning and analysing our heritage rather than precariously stumbling onwards. But mostly, it's just a stupendous collection of songs; one that demands to be listened to as loudly as you can possibly get away with.