The Night the Sun Came Up

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2012
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 1 out of 24
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    Very impressive pop album, especially considering only three people made it. The songs are all different from each other, and have a variety of styles. The best songs are Take Her From You, Lightspeed, Dancing Shoes, Shadows and Killer. The only negative thing I would say about the album is that Dev's rapping isn't so great... she's an awesome singer though.

    Great debut. 9/10
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    EXCELLENT
    this album is a flawless masterpiece and glad it isnt overrated. The vibe is so different. Its one of those albums where youur going through a beautiful city on a nice, beautiful night by yourself just exploring different things you never seen before and enjoying life. letting go of your issues
  3. Feb 10, 2015
    10
    This is the most underrated album of the decade. It spans different musical styles (rap, electro, ballad, alternative) with a surprisingly ease. While hit track 'In The Dark' is the queen of club songs, Dancing Shoes become in my opinion the true pearl of the album, where the stylistic fusion is particularly successful. Instrumentals are groomed to perfection and Dev's voice fit them withThis is the most underrated album of the decade. It spans different musical styles (rap, electro, ballad, alternative) with a surprisingly ease. While hit track 'In The Dark' is the queen of club songs, Dancing Shoes become in my opinion the true pearl of the album, where the stylistic fusion is particularly successful. Instrumentals are groomed to perfection and Dev's voice fit them with a unique charm. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2015
    9
    One of the most - if not the most - underrated pop albums of the new millennium. This album is pop perfection, is actually everything what Ke$ha's 'Animal' wanted to be. Still so fresh after 3 years tho.
    BEST 5 SONGS:
    - DANCING SHOES
    - GETAWAY
    - BREATHE
    - LIGHTSPEED
    - PERFECT MATCH

    I hope Dev could make it big one day...
  5. Jul 1, 2016
    8
    it quite a good album and very listenable
    my score
    1. Getaway 7/10
    2. in my truck 8/10
    3. Me 8/10
    4. Breath 7/10
    5. Take her from you 7/10
    6. Light speed 9/10
    7. Dancing shoes 8/10
    8. Perfect match 7/10
    9. Bass down low 10/10
    10. Kiss my lips 8/10
    11. In the dark 10/10
    12. Shadow 8/10
    Overall 80.3
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Apr 20, 2012
    75
    On her debut full-length Dev goes (slightly) deeper. [30 Mar 2012, p.75]
  2. Apr 20, 2012
    70
    The Night the Sun Came Up is a track-by-track success, offering readily accessible bits of dance-pop sass or dance-pop bliss whenever they're desired.
  3. Apr 20, 2012
    70
    California club pop chirper Dev's debut is as stark as it is sweet.