The OF Tape, Vol. 2 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest album from the Los Angeles hip-hop collective led by Tyler, The Creator includes all 11 members.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    Feet to the fire, Odd Future delivers.
  2. It sounds like fun; precisely what the Odd Future discography has been lacking lately.
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    The O.F Tape Volume 2 has a fizzy energy that elevates it above its limitations.
  4. Aug 22, 2012
    Overall, Odd Future's shock value rap style comes across less intense on this project. [#252, p.89]
  5. 67
    For better or worse, OF might actually be growing up.
  6. Apr 5, 2012
    The tracks do not really flow into each other or sound good in sequence, but individually some records do shine.
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    Over the course of OF Tape Vol 2, souless-ness has curdled into banality.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    Really good record. There are a lot of songs on this album but some aren't that good. It's pretty diverse and the production is really good. "Oldie" was one of my faves from this album. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    Are you a fan of OFWGKTA? Then prepare to be impressed. Tyler and the gang have become much more musically proficient, as their beats sound a lot more thought out and their lyrics still as slick and clever as ever. Tyler sure seems to have something going on with Jerry Sandusky in this album ;). Highlights of the album are: NY (Ned Flander), 50, Snow White, Rella, P, Oldie. But the whole album/mixtape is badass! Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    A very good overall album, especially considering there are 18 songs and only about 3 to 4 songs you'd want to skip. Odd Future's rapping skills have improved dramatically. Its a very diverse album, from the first song being sort of a rap battle with Hodgy Beats and Domo Genesis with a nice beat, to songs like "White" and "Analog 2" that break up the pace. (In a good way) . Like I said, whats great about the album is that the songs are very diverse, and most of the songs are great. Each members rapping is way beyond anything they've put out before, and the beats on these tracks are crazy good. A definite buy if you are an Odd Future fan, and definitely one you should take a look at if you are a hip hop fan in general. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    I've been a fan since tyler's bastard and I'm thoroughly impressed by this album. I have no clue how people who aren't familiar with the music will receive it but I'm positive that odd future fans will not be disappointed. The last song 'Oldie' is one of my new favorite songs and in my opinion will be one of the best rap songs of 2012. Every single member in odd future has improved as artists and I can't wait for the rest of their long careers. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    This is arguably Odd Future's most accesible album, but that doesn't mean that they've toned down much, if at all. Overall this is a very solid album, and if you're a fan of Odd Future in any way you'll probably enjoy it. One thing that really stands out to me is how much they're improved at rapping. In the past if Tyler or Earl weren't on a song, chances were that song wasn't all that great. Tyler is still the dominant force in this group, and on this album, but the rest of Odd Future is legit. Domo Genesis and Mike G made a big leap on this album in my opinion. Domo has probably improved more than any other member of the group. He is prominent on 3 of the last 4 tracks of the album, and those 3 songs are actually my 3 favorite. "Sam (Is Dead)" is a great track. Tyler produces it and you can immediately tell when the horns hit on the chorus that Odd Future have more to work with production wise now that they've blown up. Dom's brief verse to kick off the track is surprisingly honest and down to earth, and Tyler backs that up with two honest verses after that. The next track, "Dom" puts Domo front and center. To quote Dom on that song... "This beat is fu**ing perfect". Tyler is egging him on for a minute straight before Domo starts rapping and it's hilarious. When he does, he strikes oil again. Frank Ocean is on 4 tracks as well, and all the tracks he is on are good. Syd da Kyd mixes Analog 2 (a remix of Analog from Tyler's Goblin album) and Frank and Tyler are great on it. The song definitely grows on you and is just as good as the original Analog. Frank is also on the track "Snow White" with Hodgy Beats, and Left Brain produces this track, and while the song is very short, it's a strong one. Left Brain and Tyler roughly split the production for the whole album, but I will admit that Tyler has surpassed Left Brain as a producer in my opinion, although Left Brain is still a very good producer. His track with Mike G "Forest Green" is another good song. The best track of all though is the album closer "Oldie". It's a ten minute track with all the members on the song. Tyler kicks the song off, then Hodgy, Left Brain, Mike G, Domo, Frank Ocean, Jasper, and then muthafu**in Earl Sweatshirt!!! followed by Tyler again to close it. It's a perfect track and all of members handle the beat nicely. Sadly, this is the only song Earl is on, but he goes off for 2 minutes straight so the wait is worth it. Tyler's closing verse is the perfect closing statement. "This is for the ones who got called weird, **** bi***, nerd/cause you was into jazz, kitty cats, and Steven Spielberg", which leads into the final bar of the entire album, "So instead of bi***in' and complaining being mad as f***/just admit not only are we talented we're rad as f***. "Oldie" is the kind of song that makes me feel that Odd Future will be around for a LONG time. If you're looking for introspection, or meaningful lyrics, you've definitely come to the wrong place. This album has much more to do with them just letting loose with whatever fun B.S. they can think of. What more could you expect from a group of abnoxious adolescents? There are some god awful songs, "Ya Know", "Real Bi***", and "We Got Bi***es". You can probably just tell from the titles of the latter 2 songs that they'll be bad, especially when Taco is on those two tracks, but you can't expect Odd Future to NOT have a few duds. They're still growing, and it will be fun seeing which direction they go from here. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    At first sight seem crazy, but if you listen to their songs then you will understand that they have talent. The album oozes talent from all sides, although this may be dispersed as they are too exhilarating in their work. There are many good tracks on this album, for example, "Forest Green" by Mike G, "Rella" and "We Got Bitches". Tracks such as "Analog 2" or "Hcapd" are not good and the whole album suffers. The production of Tyler, The Creator is as usual fantastic and creative, while Left Brain could do better. The work is subtle yet seen the talent in the field the result could be 10 times better. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    I was an Odd Future fan before the big blow up, but still anticipated every release after Tyler's "Yonkers" hit. I became happy for them and was very proud to be a fan of something so unique and original. Once I heard this mixtape; they lost a fan. This piece of garbage is embarrassing. I am frankly ashamed to see people saying this was good. I've heard better production in metalcore songs. Tyler and his crew have let the fame get to their head and are releasing pieces of garbage to the public, in exchange for petty money. Tisk tisk. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews