The Rainbow Children

  • Record Label: Redline
  • Release Date: Nov 20, 2001
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    I have not bought much music in a while as there is not much out there worth buying. I love this disk. I love the music, and the creativity of lyrics. It's not like most disks where all of the songs sound alike. Give credit where credit is due. An just because you are not spiritual that does not diminish his creativity. Funky, jazzy, and worth buying.....
  2. JackT
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    I can see where some people will be putoff by the religious narrative, but I love the cohesiveness of the cd and the music is great throughout. And though it is a concept album, it's one that he obvoiusly poured himself into and just totally went for it. My favorite cd (start to finish) of the past 20 years.
  3. CindyC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    My girlfriend gave me this as a present, knowing i was a big Prince fan, and over the years i have tried to like this, but cant, i hate this thing for so many reasons, mostly because it just sounds like lame rehashes of his previous wok with goofy spiritual overtones. Yes it features la live band sound with great musicianship, i just wish they were playing some other songs.
  4. RP
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    This one is almost imposible to enjoy unless you wear purple toned glasses. It is as cheesy as anything he released in the 90's The compositions are just as predictable tired and uninspired as anything he did in the 90's except played by great musicians. If you like jazzy Prince find Madhouse "6" you will enjoy it a lot more and your eyes wont hurt from rolling them so much.
  5. alexandery
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    A fantastic through-composed narrative. Sure the "story" being told may be weird at time, but as a musical experience and a piece of art, it is fantastic. From one track to the next, emotion builds and the listener gets lost in a sea of -- for lack of a better word -- Prince. Truly fantastic.
  6. orlandoD.smith
    Sep 24, 2006
    7
    On then surface I positively accepted it, was initially disappointed in some tracks, one where he tried to sound like bohemian spiritual rapper in' muse to pharaoh' but grew to like it. Happy that he's made a transition, and not resting on a vain attempt to appeal & appease to the youth, visually on his LIVE AT LAS VEGAS cd featuring some of songs-I'm even more impressed.
  7. mitch
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    Very disappointed and shocked by the low ratings given by prominent magazines....I agree the persistent use of narrative is a bit much, but adds to the conceptual and religious nature of the album. Easily better than Musicology IMHO based strictly on the album's uniqueness. Somebody please back me up here...
  8. WinstonJ
    Dec 5, 2002
    5
    Hmmm....insteresting jazz/funk/r&b fusion but not groundbreaking or anything. Might have given it a 6 or 7 without the warped preaching bullshit. No real songs here, just jams that fans have heard millions of times in his live shows anyway. Hopefully this is the last in a string of pointless albums. Hard to believe this is the same guy who gave us the 1999 and Sign o'the times Hmmm....insteresting jazz/funk/r&b fusion but not groundbreaking or anything. Might have given it a 6 or 7 without the warped preaching bullshit. No real songs here, just jams that fans have heard millions of times in his live shows anyway. Hopefully this is the last in a string of pointless albums. Hard to believe this is the same guy who gave us the 1999 and Sign o'the times albums. I think he was right when he put "1958-1993" on the cover of Come...he's been dead since then. Expand
  9. jugi
    Dec 4, 2002
    8
    somehow the critics missed the incredible groove in this album. one of the most straightforward funkiest albums prince ever made.
  10. NeilL
    Oct 25, 2002
    10
    Wow! this is prince's best music since Sign 'O The Times. the religious messages are a bit much, but easy to ignore after a few listens. the performance is outstanding, and the sound is live and full of energy. i hope he continues with the jazz-infused funk and confuses all the critics on his next album too!
  11. ChaliseG.
    Apr 13, 2002
    10
    Outstanding piece of work..People need to erase the image that they have of Prince from the past and appreciate the man for his musical creativity. He is the most versitile performer I have ever encountered and he is a true artist and musical genius.
  12. HerbM
    Feb 10, 2002
    9
    It will sound even better in 10 years...just listen to the Controversy album and hear how those beats and rythyms popped up in dance music years later. Ok the narrative is worth skipping but hey...da music is great!
  13. MMo
    Feb 8, 2002
    2
    Sad but True......this is a disappointment....Prince is truly gone over to the dark side on this one folks.....for those of you who dont care about the message, the music is ok but not good enough to make me ignore the bigotry, ignorance and loneyness of the lyrics
  14. EwanB.
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    This is a daring, controversial album. It would be wasted at a party but listen to it in your own: it's deep and satisfying and gets better with each listen. The lyrics are madly inventive; "stroke you're hair a thousand times, let me see what I can find". Best Prince album in a long time. Check out 1+1+1 is 3 and "Family Name". There is no one like him
  15. AaronB.
    Jan 27, 2002
    10
    one of the coolest albums since peppers and dark side of the moon. so it is religous but you don't rate music by your beliefs, but by how cohesive the songs are. to those interested in guitar tone this album is a mecca of sorts, half cocked wahs, weird filter effects that are somehow made useful, this man is simply a genius. an artist i have always admired but never understood, one of the coolest albums since peppers and dark side of the moon. so it is religous but you don't rate music by your beliefs, but by how cohesive the songs are. to those interested in guitar tone this album is a mecca of sorts, half cocked wahs, weird filter effects that are somehow made useful, this man is simply a genius. an artist i have always admired but never understood, prince finally pulled me into not only being a believer but into a fan with this one!!! Expand
  16. Simon
    Jan 17, 2002
    10
    As with all Princes music - the more u listen the more amazing it gets.
  17. MikeB.
    Jan 17, 2002
    9
    Hmmn. I think I really liked what I just listed to. Yes, I have been a hardcore prince fan for years. I remain that today, even though I have been disillusioned at times by some of his recent work. Love the groves on the TRC, but yes the lyrics don't take the great music higher. I know he has more Grammy caliber work in him, if he wants to put it out!! This might not be it but stay tuned.
  18. MagischesS.
    Jan 17, 2002
    1
    It's poop
  19. MarkS.
    Jan 16, 2002
    7
    One of Prince's periodical returns to form. Good to see him shake off the attempts at commercial success that bogged down the last album and make some music he actually likes.
  20. RogerP.
    Jan 3, 2002
    10
    Some people will never get it
  21. [Anonymous]
    Dec 31, 2001
    10
    Awesome miles would be proud
  22. KimmieD
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    Prince rocks, Always
  23. justinf.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    awesome i need to study my music theory to keeep up.
  24. buckeyetodd
    Dec 10, 2001
    8
    Get beyond the annoying bassed up narrator and get into the music. This is heady stuff easily flowing from sticky funk to gospelized exuberance. The ballad "She Loves Me 4 Me" is a stand out as is "The Last December" and "1+1+1 is 3". A 9.5 if not for the cloying narration which adds nothing but confusion to an otherwise cohesive effort.
  25. MarcusA.
    Dec 7, 2001
    9
    This album is fantastic.
  26. SethB.
    Dec 3, 2001
    9
    This record is really, really good. In fairness it is a bit spritualized in it's message but even leaving that aside it's music and overall production is second to none. Not a Prince fan? Well at some point you will be if you love music, and this will be the record that takes you there.
  27. JeroenG.
    Nov 25, 2001
    8
    OK, the lyrics are disturbing, but the music is so extremely good: it places Prince back in front of all music. Buy this shit and don't think to much about those lyrics.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    His most consistent work since 1991's Diamonds And Pearls, although you'll need to ignore the peculiar narrative episodes in order to fully enjoy it. [Jan 2002, p.106]
  2. The Rainbow Children contains one good song, a ballad called "She Loves Me 4 Me," buried beneath layers of spiritual horseshittery.
  3. Uncut
    40
    The music, though lithe and limber in a jazz-fusion-funk bag, lacks melodic distinction, while the vocals are delivered in a variety of electronically treated styles that are irritating at first and increasingly so on repeated exposures. [Feb 2002, p.125]