• Band Name: Game
  • Record Label: DGC
  • Release Date: Aug 23, 2011
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. Don't see how you can dislike it. Definitely better than the Documentary and very much anticipated and well received, to me at least. It has the best production, amazing lyricism, and the substance to last. Game just made his second classic!
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Great production, great lyrics, great songs, great album.

    Game brings fire on all aspects, he boasts one of the best voices in hip hop and he certainly holds his own on every track. Well worth the purchase, a very interesting and colourful listen.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Give me a 2011 album better than this? This is the greatest album of the year. Critics can hate, but true fans know good music when they see it. Game...is...back!
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    It really feels refreshing to hear Game try different things and RED is definitely a great album. Great beats, killer rhymes... The guest list might seem huge but Game holds his own extremely well against his guests' verses. The only thing that bothers me is that Dre's input isn't too significant aside from four interludes that ruin the pace and a gangsta ass track that is way too short to be put on an ALBUM. Flaws aside, Game has proven himself again as King of the West. It is rare for rappers to make a great album just for the sake of rapping and Game does it like he still needs a record deal. What more can you ask for? 9/10

    Best tracks:
    Born in the Trap
    Ricky
    Heavy Artillery
    Red Nation
    Martians vs Goblins
    Expand
  5. NJR
    Aug 24, 2011
    8
    Very satisfying album, lyrically this is undoubtably Game's strongest performance to date and the production for the most part is outstanding. Tracks like "Born In The Trap", "The City", "Ricky" and "Mamma Knows" showcase how good he can be and each of these tracks wouldn't be out of place on a classic west coast LP. Sadly though there is a chunk of the album that tarnishes the whole experience, "Speakers On Blast", "Hello" & "All The Way Gone" all showcase just how bad he can be, he has no pressence on these tracks and doesn't really talk about much. "All I Know" and "Drug Test" were easily cut-able from the track list as well as Dre's super-cliched interludes. Over all though, I love the album for it's many high points and I personally can't wait for this album he is making with Mars. By the way, how breathtaking was Lamar on "The City"? A legend in the making there. 8/10. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    This album was good in the same way Dr.'s Advocate was. The Game's albums are best when he has an agenda. That's what made his second album great (when he talked about Dre continuously and had a certain way he wanted to go). On RED, he wanted to talk about the Bloods and how the said color affects him. I was impressed with the album. His motives and word play were fun to listen to and the album (unlike other albums these days) had something like 20 songs and you didn't have to pay extra for them either. Buy this album if you never heard Game or if you weren't satisfied with his last album. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    A desent album, but it's not his best. Nice collaboration with Tyler, The Creator. That was genius! Love that track!. I'm glad that it reach number one in the US.
  8. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    With the metacritic score being a 61, it is obvious the critics are out of tune as to what Game is trying to do here. He is branching out, being unique, you find another album with as varied production as this, go ahead, you can't. What Game has done here has truly defined what a unique album is. This is, so far, the best produced album this fall, and possibly of the year. Amazing album. 9.5/10
  9. Sep 7, 2011
    8
    This is the first Game album I have every purchased. I have only heard a song or two off "The Documentary," a handful of mix tape songs, and a bunch of freestyles. I was just going to listen to the premium tracks on Zune once I finished wearing out "Tha Carter IV" and "Watch the Throne," but plans changed when I saw R.E.D Album was #1 on Billboards Top 100. "R.E.D. Nation" w/ Weezy is crazy, but I heard this months ago on YouTube, so I knew it was dope. "Martians vs Goblins" w/Tyler the Creator; "The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly"; "Paramedics" w/Jeezy; "The City" w/Kendrick Lamar; "Good Girls Go Bad" w/Drake are all sick tracks, but the hook I can't get out of my head is from "Speakers on Blast" w/E-40 and Big Boi. "Turn it down, turn it up every time the cops pass..."

    Game really is the dope rapper my friends have been telling me for a few years. The Documentary will be one of the next albums I will be purchasing.
    Expand
  10. Sep 2, 2011
    7
    Pretty good album overall. Would have rated it higher if it was not for all the features and lack of creativity. I do not think this is Game's best album but it is in debate for it. This is one of the best rap albums of the year.
  11. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    With amazing tracks like, The City, RED Album has a very solid background and delivery. It has great lyricism despite some terrible features (Rick Ross for ex.). The production was amazing. Game must've worked with EVERYONE. 10/10 from me.
  12. Aug 24, 2011
    3
    well i wasnt expecting great things from this album but man it sucks.there was no way, that after 2 year delay we`ll get a classic.but i was expecting it to be closer to the doctors advocate, then to the l.a.x.let me explain what went wrong.
    we all know how well games albums are produced.first 2 are classics,and even lax manages to piece together a decent portion of beats.thats not the
    case with the r.e.d album. it just doesnt feel right.sounds disjointed, as if somebody collected a bunch of beats and put them on a cd at random. non of the tracks really stands out like it was with hate it or love it,westside story,how we do or one blood.even purp and patron has more to offer than this.dres beat is 2 years old,and other tracks just dont sound right for an mc like game.oh yes and lyrics...
    its well known that games a great story teller and a battle mc but hes not the best when it comes to word play and slick metaphores.and thats what hes constantly doing on his newest album.and its bad. seems like games lost all the fire hes had back in the day and without anything to fight for, we can see him for what he really is-an average rapper with great voice and delivery.
    it saddens me to say it but i feel cheated by his latest work.although it is nearly impossible to do one better then his first 2 albums, i was still hoping that the raps most hated or loved underdogs gonna get on top somehow. it just didnt happen.
    so game im sorry to say but i`ll keep playing purp and patron and do my best to try to forget R.E.D Album.or i might to put in in an envelope,post it to you and ask to get my money back.
    long live the doctors advocate...
    Expand
  13. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    The RED album is the album of the year!!! Every track on this album is great like The City, Drug Test, Red Nation, Ricky, The Good, the Bad,the Ugly, Paramedics, Pot of Gold, Born in Trap...... This is The Game best album yet and it has great instrumentals as well as big name artist like Lil Wayne, Drake, Jeezy, Dr. Dre, Snoop and Chris Brown. This album is a perfect example of patience being a virtue, it took a long time to drop but it was worth the wait!! If u have not cop this album yet then you are missing out on the best album of this Year!!! Expand
  14. Aug 30, 2011
    0
    This album is very tired, and lacks creativity all around!!! This should be the Gameâ
  15. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    Back out of a short retirement, Game spits fire on the tracks and is able to put out an album almost as good as his debut, The Documentary. With a few shady parts here and there, Game still is able to take over and crown his army of R.E.D.
  16. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    The Album is very good considering the current state of Hip-Hop. I would rate this album a good 8.5 cuz Game hits every track hard. The only problem in the whole album was he did not stick to his style and made the album too long. The Dr. Dre skits are ignorable and don't make any sense for the album. Game opens the album with an outstanding classic song "The City", this shows his capability to sustain with the elite members of hip-hop also Kendrick Lamar made an remarkable verse/hook for it. Besides that another classic song on the album would be "Ricky" which is my favourite song off this album, Game went in and put his emotions on an amazing instrumental by DJ Khalil. Mama Knows and Born In The Trap show that Game has a ear for some the best productions. Simply put Game is a west-coast rapper with an east-coast understanding. Only songs which are skippable were All The Way Gone and Hello. But if you are an RnB fan you might wanna stick to it. Shortly put Game has made his point clear with this album "He is one of the best Rappers period". Buy this album and support the man!! Expand
  17. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    Good album.The first time i listened i didn't like it but the more i got into it i seen it was a good album.Compared to albums now days its really really good.It has too many people on it and some songs don't really even have him on the song like paramedic it sounds like its young jezzy song not games.Overall its a cool album
  18. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    After waiting did not think disappoint up to this point. The game tries to be a mediocre commercial tracks like "Pot of Gold" but fails. The real question is: where's the talent made in Compton? The West Coast Hip-Hop is increasingly falling level and The Game does not help. The only traces to be saved are "Born in the Trap" produced by DJ Premier and maybe "Martians vs. Goblins" with Tyler, The Creator in great shape. The rest of the album is produced by the ridiculously mediocre Cool & Dre and Dr. Dre now exhausted. The ideas are now finished? God help us. Expand
  19. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    Finally game has a good album i like the documentary and devil's advocate but the red album really made me like this dude if he keeps up his rhymes then no doubt he'll rise
  20. Rec
    Mar 22, 2012
    8
    This is among some of the best work I have heard from Game. I've been following his work from the Joe Buddens Dis track and when I heard he wrote Wankster. Games talent is still undeniable. Whether it's tracks like The City which while still throws out a salute to Games ego, but manages to be a hard look at the harsh realities of growing up in the gang culture of Compton. Good Girls Go Bad with Drake which in my opinion both Rappers complement not only the track but each over. R.E.D. The Anthem that has been repeated in my car for many a month now or The Good, The Bad, The Ugly (amazing story telling ability) Game shows his talent in making you listen and enjoy his music. My only criticism is that the album has a few to many R'n'B focused tracks but this is no problem. Still is and will be for a long time on of my favourite albums. Expand
  21. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    primarily just good beats, and great features, the game is out shined by pretty much every guest, the first few songs are the best. worth a few listens
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Sep 1, 2011
    40
    The features wouldn't be so bad if Game didn't yield to the wattage and personalities of his co-stars. (Again, he can rap when he tries.) Used as a constant crutch, however, they quell his ferocity.
  2. Aug 30, 2011
    50
    Throughout The R.E.D. Album, he runs himself ragged trying to realize the masterpiece he pictures in his head, but he just doesn't have the coordination to pull it off.
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    40
    It's proof that, just when you least expect it, he can still rage compellingly.