• Record Label: N/A
  • Release Date: Jul 22, 2008
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanS.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Quite simply a superb album. The top album of the year in my opinion.
  2. JonM
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    Took a few spins but I really enjoy all the tracks, except Letting You, which, musically, is just to repetitive.
  3. JohnS.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    The album brings all of the best parts of previous released together.
  4. BroyF.
    Sep 8, 2008
    9
    truely innovative compare to year zero thers a sense of a story from being to end. Each songs protrays various ways a how person could slip away.Its truely unique story telling true music
  5. russellj.
    Jul 30, 2008
    7
    I always look forward to a new release from nin. They're one of my favorite bands however Trent's output has been flawed since The Fragile. For me their best album will always be The Downward Spiral. I listened to this album intently and feel like it encompasses many facets of their sound to date. You start with 999,999 which is the ambient opener reminiscent of Pinion and I always look forward to a new release from nin. They're one of my favorite bands however Trent's output has been flawed since The Fragile. For me their best album will always be The Downward Spiral. I listened to this album intently and feel like it encompasses many facets of their sound to date. You start with 999,999 which is the ambient opener reminiscent of Pinion and straight into 1,000,000 which to me sounds like a song from year Zero. The typical loud abrasive song Letting You will keep the traditional industrial metalheads happy. It's then followed by the single Discipline which is this album's The hand that feeds. Then this iswhen the album gets interesting for me with Echoplex and Head Down which sound slightly different. They still have the murky distorted sound but sound like they couldn't have been on any other album but this one. Then we have Lights in the sky which is the token quiet track which could be lifted from Still and the next two tracks are instrumental which sound like they could have been included on either Ghosts or Fragile. The last track is Demon Seed which is a decent song but a bit anticlimactic. Overall i enjoyed the album but it's not a classic but it's best appreciated if you don't compare it to past works and take it for what it is an extension to With Teeth and Year Zero's sonic landscapes. I actually think that someone who has never heard of nin would probably enjoy this album more then an ardent fan. Expand
  6. BrandonS.
    May 20, 2008
    7
    Probably his best since The Fragile, but doesn't have either the power or the passion of the early releases. The only weakness, as usual, is the lyrics. How many times can Reznor recycle these same lyrics about "not being able to feel"? All flaws are forgiven, though, since the album is available 100% free. It's a great gesture to the fans, and I for one, really appreciate it.
  7. SteamMachine
    May 28, 2008
    7
    Although the album doesn't seem to have a linear structure as such, the songs presented are quite pleasant. A few weaknesses here and there. If I were to rate this as a Nine Inch Nails album, I'd give it a 6 because I know Trent is capable of better, however as an album by itself, I'll give it 7.
  8. OliviaL.
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    Great album! I'm a newer NIN fan, but I've worked my way back from Year Zero and greatly enjoy all major releases save The Downward Spiral (can only handle a few tracks so far). The only track on The Slip I can't handle is Letting You (although I agree with the sentiment). The entire album is masterfully rendered and there are some standout tracks, such as Head Down, Lights Great album! I'm a newer NIN fan, but I've worked my way back from Year Zero and greatly enjoy all major releases save The Downward Spiral (can only handle a few tracks so far). The only track on The Slip I can't handle is Letting You (although I agree with the sentiment). The entire album is masterfully rendered and there are some standout tracks, such as Head Down, Lights in the Sky, and Demon Seed. (Really, I love them all, though.) My husband has a theory that this album's overarching narrative is a struggle of multiple personalities. That certainly seems on track to me, given the lyrics and tone of the work. Bottom Line: Trent Reznor is offering the album as a free download, so why not give it a try-- it's amazing. Expand
  9. DustinJ.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Trent Reznor never fails to deliver music that far out weight the abilities of most people that walk this planet.
  10. JordanK
    Mar 7, 2009
    8
    Lacks a lot of the creativity that Trent once had. However, it is still a good listen. And you can't beat the price either.
  11. MichaelP.
    May 14, 2008
    8
    'The Slip' as a whole isn't comparable to some of Trent's previous releases which most fans would deem flawless masterpieces. What The Slip does demonstrate however is that Reznor has an adept ability to create that distinctive and new sound, certainly the one i am always looking for. The track that stood out to me was 'Corona Radiata'. This will enable you 'The Slip' as a whole isn't comparable to some of Trent's previous releases which most fans would deem flawless masterpieces. What The Slip does demonstrate however is that Reznor has an adept ability to create that distinctive and new sound, certainly the one i am always looking for. The track that stood out to me was 'Corona Radiata'. This will enable you to discover that transient state of mind you've been longing for. 8 out of 10, because Reznor is kind enough to share this album with us and of course because Trent is awesome and makes me feel relieved I am not mainstream. Expand
  12. ColbyS
    May 15, 2008
    8
    Sure, not particularly barrier-breaking, but who cares? This is classic NIN, way better executed than recent (and more costly) releases by Reznor and actually enjoyable to listen to. I don't think I skipped a single track. Great work. Even, dare I say it, danceable.
  13. Mislav
    May 16, 2008
    8
    It's not amazing, but it's a pretty solid release. It has a good balance of loud and soft songs.
  14. [Anonymous]
    May 17, 2008
    7
    Nine Inch Nails' best album since Fragile, nevertheless still pretty crappy in compare to trio PHM-DS-Fragile.
  15. HowardP.
    May 19, 2008
    9
    somewhat of a return to form for trent rezner. after what i found to be an incredibly disappointing recent few albums (Ghosts, Year Zero, With Teeth), NIN is once again crafting the great songs that they once made into their staple with the downward spiral and pretty hate machine. i look forward to hearing where they go from here.
  16. MattK.
    May 20, 2008
    8
    Another great addition to the NIN collection. Doesn't have the best flow to it, but it has plenty of great individual tracks. The Slip is a great follow-up to Year Zero (a very underrated effort in my opinion) and the best gift an artist could give to their fans.
  17. AntonisL.
    May 21, 2008
    6
    Not bad but definitely not of the quality found in Year Zero and Ghosts. My main issue was that compared to all the other works by NIN it didn't say anything innovative. Every previous album had something new to say and explore musically, The Slip did not give me that feeling. Sometimes I got the "hmm, I've heard that before, haven't I?" feeling which has not happen with Not bad but definitely not of the quality found in Year Zero and Ghosts. My main issue was that compared to all the other works by NIN it didn't say anything innovative. Every previous album had something new to say and explore musically, The Slip did not give me that feeling. Sometimes I got the "hmm, I've heard that before, haven't I?" feeling which has not happen with previous releases. I was also let down by the album's production. IMO the musical elements were not balanced and that often led to not being able to enjoy what was happening since everything was thrown on top of each other. I dare say that in a couple of cases it even sounded a bit rushed. Expand
  18. SteveO
    Jul 22, 2008
    4
    What is it about this guy? His music never did anything for me. It's a bunch of programmed crap! Utter garbage in my opinion, maybe a slight bit better than rap or hip-hop, which is programmed as well.
  19. JP
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    Easily on par with the Fragile, even the instrumental tracks are excellent. A must buy for any NIN fan. The only problem, it needs more songs.
  20. TiernanS.
    May 19, 2008
    5
    It's great that Trent Reznor decided to release this album as a free download. The music isn't particularly distinguished. I listened to it while wandering about my house and found my ears waxed over a bit. It's not nearly as bland as Ghosts which, to me, seemed a bit like edgy elevator music. The only song that stood out was 'Head Down.' It's the only one It's great that Trent Reznor decided to release this album as a free download. The music isn't particularly distinguished. I listened to it while wandering about my house and found my ears waxed over a bit. It's not nearly as bland as Ghosts which, to me, seemed a bit like edgy elevator music. The only song that stood out was 'Head Down.' It's the only one that made me listen in closer. Not bad, but not all that great either. Expand
  21. ConnorD.
    May 24, 2008
    9
    Awesome album. Too many instrumental tracks keep it from perfect 10 (Corona Radiata is too long).
  22. RobbieC
    Jul 16, 2008
    8
    NIN's best release since The Fragile! That was almost 10 years ago. I am a very happy nailhead.
  23. MikeL.
    Feb 14, 2009
    9
    Awesome album. It's classic NIN!
  24. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    7
    It has it's highs and lows, volume and quality wise. None of the songs hit rock bottom, they kind of hover above mediocrity. Echoplex is one of the best songs Trent Reznor has written, but other than that the rest kind of blends into just another solid album.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Instead of a symbolic death, The Slip feels much more like a possible rebirth.
  2. While the music may look backward, the way it has been released looks forward, to a far greater extent than Ghosts I-IV ever could have hoped.
  3. For listeners who like their music loud and fierce and pissed off at just about everything, there aren't too many better options than The Slip. Plus, the price is right.