• Record Label: Artemis
  • Release Date: Aug 26, 2003
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnH
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Extraordinary work from an exceptional talent. Maybe normally a 9......but given the circumstances a 10 seems cheap.
  2. KevinB
    Aug 18, 2006
    8
    Great final testament of a dying legend.
  3. ScottY
    Jul 9, 2005
    5
    I think that the ratings are over-inflated, perhaps due to his recent death. There are some real gems on here, but it doesn't comepare to some of his other efforts such as Life'll Kill Ya.
  4. LapdoodlingCrickets
    May 5, 2005
    10
    WZ ,you are in our hearts
  5. NathanS.
    Feb 16, 2005
    6
    Quite honestly, this album is overrated. Yes, I know that Zevon was pretty much on his deathbed during the recording of this album. Yes, I understand that this is part "last hurrah" project. part tribute album. But it's hardly the masterpiece it's hailed as. Zevon's deterioration at the hands of his illness clearly shows through on many of the tracks, most notably "Disorder Quite honestly, this album is overrated. Yes, I know that Zevon was pretty much on his deathbed during the recording of this album. Yes, I understand that this is part "last hurrah" project. part tribute album. But it's hardly the masterpiece it's hailed as. Zevon's deterioration at the hands of his illness clearly shows through on many of the tracks, most notably "Disorder in the House". This isn't a bad album, and by almost anyone else I would've rated it higher. But this is Warren Zevon, arguably one of the greatest songwriters of all time, and after comparing "The Wind" to the rest of his work, it's hardly the last memory I want of him. Expand
  6. DanC
    May 23, 2004
    10
    Wonderful, wonderful, album!
  7. KatieF
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    As a first-time listener of Zevon, I am thouroughly impressed with the CD and can't wait to buy the past ones. He will be missed.
  8. AndreaM.
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    This has become my favorite CD. The more I listen to it, the more I appreciate the genius that was Warren Zevon. Thank you Mr. Z for all of the great music, RIP.
  9. ML
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    A truly beautiful album, and generous gift to everyone smart enough to listen ....
  10. CoeS
    Sep 10, 2003
    9
    It's a sad thing i just recently discovered Warren. This album is just great. The way he sings of he own upcoming death gives me goose skin allover http://fileunder.blogspot.com
  11. KevinK
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    Thank you Warren. We'll keep you in our hearts for more than just awhile.
  12. cesarn
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    a genius album... rest in peace, mr zevon
  13. seang
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    Good Bye. We'll miss you.
  14. LeonardS
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    Thanks ffor a great album!
  15. HansF
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    great !!!
  16. JackW
    Aug 26, 2003
    10
    This is a beautiful album, made all the more haunting under the circumstances in which the songs were written and recorded. If you listen to the last song and aren't moved to tears, listen again and remember the situation this great artist finds himself in.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 100
    Under the direst circumstances, he has painted his masterpiece. [Album of the Month, Sep 2003, p.96]
  2. If the lyrics generally lack the literary precision of Zevon’s best work, the songs take on greater weight given the circumstance under which they were recorded.
  3. Everyone who says this isn't a sentimental record is right. But it admits sentiment, hold the hygiene, and suggests that he knows more about love dying than he did when he was immortal.