The Woods

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: May 24, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 175

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    I think 11 years on I can say its a classic record. S-K progressed with each album until they reached perfection with this and No Cities To Love. Are they capable of making a less than perfect album anymore?
  2. MikeL
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing. Still an absolutely amazing record.
  3. MichaelE
    Jun 2, 2005
    3
    Why everybody's going so crazy of this I just can't understand. It seemed to me what S-K had going for them was the clever interaction between the two voices, which is all but gone on this middling effort. Never liked them that much to begin with, mind you.
  4. Apr 25, 2012
    4
    There are some really great moments here. Sleater-Kinney show great cohesion and some really tight guitar work here at the end of their run. Still, I find the album too slow and too abrasive at points to truly enjoy. Download "Jumpers", "Entertain", and "Steep Air" but do not purchase the entire album.
  5. D
    May 29, 2005
    10
    Outstanding, the record they've always had in them but were just too timid to make. Too bad the negative reviews buy into the sexism that keeps bands like Sleater-Kinney off the Billboard charts.
  6. TimW
    May 25, 2005
    10
    this album ROCKS so much! some of the best, loudest drums ever! put this cd on and turn your stereo up to full volume. SK again seems to get better with each album.
  7. Daved
    May 28, 2005
    10
    Sleater-Kinney's crowning achievement. Multiple listens reveal every track to be a towering aural delight, though "Jumpers" deserves to be the track that breaks them into the mainstream. Just keep a slightly open mind of what S-K should be and it won't disappoint. Simply do not miss this record.
  8. davec
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Rocks Hard! Ignore the 0s, get The Woods!
  9. chemicalscum
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    A great album, but not quite a as good as One Beat which is still the best album of the century. So it gets 9 instead of 10
  10. RobT
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    This is a new sound for them, and it is challenging at times, and it certainly isn't the Sleater-Kinney that you listened to in the nineties, but it's changing it up like this that keeps bands fertile, and keeps them from becoming has-beens. The sound they had before was great, but thank god this isn't another band that does nothing but churn out mediocre re-makes of their This is a new sound for them, and it is challenging at times, and it certainly isn't the Sleater-Kinney that you listened to in the nineties, but it's changing it up like this that keeps bands fertile, and keeps them from becoming has-beens. The sound they had before was great, but thank god this isn't another band that does nothing but churn out mediocre re-makes of their first few albums. The greatest rock band in America has made one of the greatest rock albums of the new century. Expand
  11. MonteD
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    stunning album
  12. KeithR
    Sep 4, 2005
    0
    I can not believe that a worse album could get better reviews. Totally unlistenable!! Grating screehing for vocals. Horrible, unintelligent lyrics. Distortion used to cover up talentless noodling. It becomes laughable quite quickly. For the life of me, I can't understand how anyone could enjoy this crap.
  13. Ellen
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    Surely, Sleater-Kinney are not a band that can be digested easily. Most of the negative reviews you will read on this page will probably come from two groups of people: those who have never heard an S-K album and just happened to pick up The Woods, listened to it once or twice, and thought it was horrendous, and then old-school S-K fans who favor the complex in-and-out weaving guitar Surely, Sleater-Kinney are not a band that can be digested easily. Most of the negative reviews you will read on this page will probably come from two groups of people: those who have never heard an S-K album and just happened to pick up The Woods, listened to it once or twice, and thought it was horrendous, and then old-school S-K fans who favor the complex in-and-out weaving guitar riffs and off kilter melodies of their older albums. The point is, don't listen to either. There is so much to fathom in The Woods that it is bound to turn off first time listeners or those who are too stuck in their perception of what the band should sound like. I would not recommend this CD to anyone who had never heard S-K, because for this CD to be your first introduction to them would be too much to handle. With all that said though, what an incredible album it is! The instrumentals are unmatched by most current bands in rock, and the songwriting only further displays the band's talent. It's been ten years running and the women of S-K have NEVER sounded better. And as to all the complaints about the production, it flows perfectly, 100% with each song. The distortion perfectly lends to the overall tone of the music. Expand
  14. JonB
    May 24, 2005
    10
    One word: BRILLIANT! It's sleater-kinneys best album yet, and ultimately the best rock-album so far this decade!
  15. jessica
    May 25, 2005
    10
    this isnt an album sleater kinney has ever attempted. which only proves how much these ladies have grown in these past years. sleater kinney still stays true with there battling guitars, flawless beat, and intense vocals. by far one of the best rock and roll albums i've ever listened to. a masterpiece! for the first time the band has captured the live concert energy that they have this isnt an album sleater kinney has ever attempted. which only proves how much these ladies have grown in these past years. sleater kinney still stays true with there battling guitars, flawless beat, and intense vocals. by far one of the best rock and roll albums i've ever listened to. a masterpiece! for the first time the band has captured the live concert energy that they have been very well knowned for. Expand
  16. ToddinPDX
    May 30, 2005
    10
    Wow. After their last excellent release, I really thought these chicks were done (where else could they take their sound?). Instead, they come back w/ an absolute rock masterpiece. This is a record that not only turns the most jaded music cynic young again, but shows you just how mediocre the rest of the "indie" rock releases are.
  17. BaronL
    May 30, 2005
    9
    Furious and layered.
  18. Matt
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    It is not a boring album at all - it is ferocious!
  19. johnws
    Jun 14, 2005
    0
    I can't believe this album is getting such great reviews when U2's masterpeice is getting slammed by readers. This is garbage. Stay out of the woods.
  20. NoahE
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    Sleater-Kinney have sure undertaken a bold metamorphosis with their sound, which stems from its eclectic early punk-rock roots, which labeling them as a punk rock band just doesn't do the band justice, with Carrie Brownstein's wide range of musical personality that ranges from feminine Roger Daltrey to hardcore Go-Go's. Now they've taken their sound to a whole new Sleater-Kinney have sure undertaken a bold metamorphosis with their sound, which stems from its eclectic early punk-rock roots, which labeling them as a punk rock band just doesn't do the band justice, with Carrie Brownstein's wide range of musical personality that ranges from feminine Roger Daltrey to hardcore Go-Go's. Now they've taken their sound to a whole new level. It's louder than ever, rawer, and their most adventurous and audacious vibe yet. While their roots can be recognized on some tracks, it is overshadowed by a dense blend of hardcore rock that sounds of The Who, Ramones and Hendrix. Carrie Brownstein and Co. sound better than ever. Though they've always sounded confident as a trio, they've never sounded both confident and adventurous, with the 11-minute "Let's Call It Love" one of the best things they've ever recorded. "Entertain" and "The Fox" both showcase that arena-ready ruckus, while "Rollercoaster" exhibits more of a monster rock Go-Go's attitude, with that Hendrix distortion fusing each and every one of the tracks that'll frizzle your hair out immediately. Sleater-Kinney have topped themselves. Expand
  21. FredM
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    I'm under the impression that many of these 0 reviews are coming from one frustrated fan who's making up aliases and fake names who has a bias against the band. Self-parody? It's the direct opposite of that. How was U2's masterpiece slammed? Last time I checked it was borderline-Universal Acclaim score. And who doesn't borrow from other artists nowadays? All I I'm under the impression that many of these 0 reviews are coming from one frustrated fan who's making up aliases and fake names who has a bias against the band. Self-parody? It's the direct opposite of that. How was U2's masterpiece slammed? Last time I checked it was borderline-Universal Acclaim score. And who doesn't borrow from other artists nowadays? All I know is these chicks know how to rock it up better than just about any other group out there. Expand
  22. retrobabe
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    an underground classic!!!!!!!!!!
  23. TBoneM
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    Theres some catchy stuff in there. It's definitely an album that grows on you. The fifth time you hear it you'll love it. I have to respect some the chances they take. All those zeros in a row are a conspiracy...
  24. GregA
    Jun 2, 2005
    5
    Why does this band automatically get great reviews everytime they put out another complicated sounding, yet completely boring album? i can have my computer put out random noises and it will sound complex but that doesnt mean its great music. just listen to the first track, that gives you pretty much the idea of what they are going for. honestly I dont think this band has had a hit since Why does this band automatically get great reviews everytime they put out another complicated sounding, yet completely boring album? i can have my computer put out random noises and it will sound complex but that doesnt mean its great music. just listen to the first track, that gives you pretty much the idea of what they are going for. honestly I dont think this band has had a hit since The Hot Rock, so if you really want to hear some good music spend your money on that. but then again most of the people who review/buy/download this sub-par release are scenesters who just need the latest music so they can namedrop to their scenester clones. oh well. Expand
  25. adam
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    about to take over the world
  26. sethw
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    bad ass
  27. korina
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    Awesome, awesome, awesome is the best way to describe it!!
  28. KurtCobain
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    This is an S-K album with a more hard, heavy rock sound injected into their music. And anytime a rock band makes a record with 11-minute improvised jams, big riffs, and lots of guitar solos, people are going to start comparing them to hard rock acts of the past. like led zeppelin. and jimi hendrix. that doesn't mean S-K is just another Jet on their new album, taking their sound This is an S-K album with a more hard, heavy rock sound injected into their music. And anytime a rock band makes a record with 11-minute improvised jams, big riffs, and lots of guitar solos, people are going to start comparing them to hard rock acts of the past. like led zeppelin. and jimi hendrix. that doesn't mean S-K is just another Jet on their new album, taking their sound directly from these artists. This is a S-K album. It sounds like S-K, not like Zeppelin. But one thing it does have in common with Zeppelin: it will fucking rock your socks off!!!! Expand
  29. SusieK.
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    Different and I like it. It is loud and beautiful at the same time. The only drag is the song "Modern Girl" which I could do without. I haven't been this excited about a Sleater-Kinney album since Dig Me Out.
  30. C.H.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Sleater-Kinney does it again and rocks hard.
  31. Mike
    Jul 11, 2005
    8
    Pretty damn good. Not all of it works for me (Wilderness, Modern Girl, heck they coulda picked a better single too) but some parts of it are just so awesome... Rollercoaster, Let's Call It Love, What's Mine Is Yours, heck it's mostly really really good. I do miss the cute hooks and the, well, indie-collegeness of The Hot Rock and All Hands on the Bad One (and how they Pretty damn good. Not all of it works for me (Wilderness, Modern Girl, heck they coulda picked a better single too) but some parts of it are just so awesome... Rollercoaster, Let's Call It Love, What's Mine Is Yours, heck it's mostly really really good. I do miss the cute hooks and the, well, indie-collegeness of The Hot Rock and All Hands on the Bad One (and how they didn't play a song from EITHER album when I saw'em), but hey this album is a progression and it's really solid. Acquired taste, yes, but if you crave bland music maybe indie rock isn't for you. Expand
  32. beyondtool
    Jul 16, 2005
    7
    Love it or hate it seems to be the primary response to this album. Well let's face it Nivarna and Jimi Hendrix are old news. This album may seek to reference some great rock formulas, but it never really rises above the forumula. The sad thing is that this album only really strikes one as memorable comparing it to the the sea of pitiful rock since the turn of the century. Love it or hate it seems to be the primary response to this album. Well let's face it Nivarna and Jimi Hendrix are old news. This album may seek to reference some great rock formulas, but it never really rises above the forumula. The sad thing is that this album only really strikes one as memorable comparing it to the the sea of pitiful rock since the turn of the century. Unfortunately this album is not revolutionary, unconventianal or independant, but it is a brave step away from the mediocrity of Modern Rock music. Mis 90's it would have been an average album from an average band. The fact that it is critically acclaimed in 2005 highlights the poor state or today's rock scene. Expand
  33. Adam
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    The best and most intense album of 2005!! I can't get enough of this one. Splendid.
  34. kylea
    Jul 5, 2005
    0
    First off i not only hate the cd and band but i hate anyone who likes the cd and or band. I think i can play the break downs and i had my deaf friend teach me guitar.I also hate them cos i had to do a comma test on them.This is the band my english teacher likes, go back to china darrow (shes not chinese).This album sounds as tho someone ate a fairy tail, puked it up, ate that again and First off i not only hate the cd and band but i hate anyone who likes the cd and or band. I think i can play the break downs and i had my deaf friend teach me guitar.I also hate them cos i had to do a comma test on them.This is the band my english teacher likes, go back to china darrow (shes not chinese).This album sounds as tho someone ate a fairy tail, puked it up, ate that again and then sh*t it up, thats how bad it is.Infact i herd that they use this as chinese torcher and thus the reason darrow got kicked out of there, because she liked it.In closing i hate you s-k dont make another cd for all of our sake (drop mic walk off stage) Expand
  35. VinceH.
    Aug 2, 2005
    10
    I am in no way/shape/form a Sleater-Kinney fan by any means. I tried listening to "One Beat" a few years ago and didn't get into it at all. So anyways I bought "The Woods" after reading the reviews in my 2 fav music sites, Pitchfork and cokemachineglow, and was totally blown away. Dave Friedmann has already produced one of my other favorite albums of 2005 (Low - The Great Destroyer), I am in no way/shape/form a Sleater-Kinney fan by any means. I tried listening to "One Beat" a few years ago and didn't get into it at all. So anyways I bought "The Woods" after reading the reviews in my 2 fav music sites, Pitchfork and cokemachineglow, and was totally blown away. Dave Friedmann has already produced one of my other favorite albums of 2005 (Low - The Great Destroyer), but he completely outdoes himself here. The production is absolutely amazing, the melodies and vocals astonishing, and the musical interplay between the 3 musicians is nothing less than perfect. Defintely my choice so far for album of the year. Expand
  36. JoshH
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    The Woods is already one of the top albums of 2005. I feel the same way about it as I did about the Flaming Lips' Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots -- it doesn't sound like anything I've ever heard before. This album is something special.
  37. SteveB
    Aug 9, 2005
    4
    As a Sleater-Kinney fan, I can't help but be disappointed by this album. I wanted to like it, especially after reading a few reviews. But the songs just don't stick in my head like they do on previous albums. They got louder, which is fine, but they left the melody at home, which they didn't have to do. I do give them credit for trying something new. Unfortunately, all the As a Sleater-Kinney fan, I can't help but be disappointed by this album. I wanted to like it, especially after reading a few reviews. But the songs just don't stick in my head like they do on previous albums. They got louder, which is fine, but they left the melody at home, which they didn't have to do. I do give them credit for trying something new. Unfortunately, all the good press might cause them to continue to follow down this path. There is nothing wrong with melody, ladies! You three know how to make melodic hard rock without pandering. Please continue to do that! Expand
  38. BrianB
    Sep 3, 2005
    1
    Perhaps this album could have been good, but the production is so horrible that you can barely listen to it. There is a term in mastering music called brickwalling, when the volume dynamic (the amount of volume variation) is reduced to nearly nothing. This is not the same as putting the guitar amps at 11. It's like they took the sound and squished all the soul out of it. Don't Perhaps this album could have been good, but the production is so horrible that you can barely listen to it. There is a term in mastering music called brickwalling, when the volume dynamic (the amount of volume variation) is reduced to nearly nothing. This is not the same as putting the guitar amps at 11. It's like they took the sound and squished all the soul out of it. Don't get me wrong: I like abrasive music. But this is literally the opposite of the Steve Albini/PJ Harvey Rid of Me sound, because all the life has been sucked out of the music in order to get it "loud." It's just bad mastering, plain and simple, and it made my stereo sound broken -- and not broken in a good way. I only listened to it once, and I may try to listen to it again... but I was so so so disappointed by this album. The singing was great, and the playing was tight, but I couldn't grasp any melodic feel to it. The first song is the best example: it starts out using lots of bended strings in different fret positions, and the result is that the "riff" never feels like it settles down in any key. Then, with the vocals on top of this riff made up of entirely bended strings, it feels melodically disorganized. Maybe it gets better with repeated listens, and maybe over time I will appreciate all these weird melodies. This is the worst mastering I've ever heard on an album. Are all these critics just praising the naked emperor, or am I just less able to instantly hear greatness? I generally agree with most critics, but this time, I have to disagree. I'm so disappointed. I was planning on loving this album and driving around with it blaring. *sigh* Expand
  39. NickT
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Sleater-Kinney, after 7 amazing albums, is still one of the most genuine bands working today. With "The Woods" they instill a sense of growth within long-time listeners. Corin's vocals alone are worth mountains of praise, but the amount of depth in this album and the growth from "One Beat" is inspiring. The girls just make their job look so easy.
  40. SeamusS
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    . An album that
  41. leons
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    A couple of years on and I still cant stop listerning
  42. M.Mignatti.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Incredible.
  43. IanC
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    I had heard of Sleater-Kinney but never actually "heard" them before seeing how highly regarded this album was on metacritic. I picked up this album, and all I have to say is that it is a crime against humanity that they are not more well known. Just attended their concert in Omaha last Wednesday and there were all of maybe 300 people there to see what I now consider to be the best rock I had heard of Sleater-Kinney but never actually "heard" them before seeing how highly regarded this album was on metacritic. I picked up this album, and all I have to say is that it is a crime against humanity that they are not more well known. Just attended their concert in Omaha last Wednesday and there were all of maybe 300 people there to see what I now consider to be the best rock band in the world. If you like hard, uncompromising music, pick up this album. Expand
  44. StevenL
    Nov 9, 2005
    1
    "Leeeeetttttt It gooooooooooooo." Someone please put Corin out of her misery and mine.
  45. JohnD.
    Oct 26, 2005
    1
    To those who say you must have a sophistocated ear to 'get' all that's going on in this music, I say give me a break. Sufjan Stevens, John Coltrane, Brian Wilson, Thelonious Monk, Wilco, Radiohead, Sigur Ros, etc. are all bands and muscians that are greatly appreciated by those with a deeper understanding of musical content and are willing to hear daring and inovative To those who say you must have a sophistocated ear to 'get' all that's going on in this music, I say give me a break. Sufjan Stevens, John Coltrane, Brian Wilson, Thelonious Monk, Wilco, Radiohead, Sigur Ros, etc. are all bands and muscians that are greatly appreciated by those with a deeper understanding of musical content and are willing to hear daring and inovative artists at work. One must also enter passion into the equation with any music to truly 'get it.' Passion for what's being said both lyrically and musically. To my ear, Sleater-Kinney is neither daring nor innovative on this deeply disappointing album. It is true that they are passionate about what they have created here (as are their numerous fans and the reviewers who have given this record positive reviews) but passion doesn't always make good music. Here are just a few things that bother me about this album: a lead singer who often tries to sing with a Bristish accent and is full of snarl and vigor but offers little in the way of true vocal talent; pointless, often childlike lyrics that say nothing new or orignal; feedback for the sake of feedback with no real purpose other than to say "this is our down and dirty album and screw you if you don't like it; Guitar solos that end up nowhere; a horribly mixed album where everything is thrown together and tossed and the result is what it is. It's true that in the world of rock and roll (alternative, punk, heavy metal, hard rock, indie) attitude counts for a lot and helps greatly to get your message accross, but what happens when that message is incoherent or at best muddled? The result is The Woods Expand
  46. JamesM
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    Just ace
  47. ChrisP
    May 23, 2005
    10
    The time is right for Sleater-Kinney to release this album. Just when another great rock 'n' roll movement -- the garage revival -- is in danger of being coopted by a bunch of talentless pretenders -- Killers, Hot Hot Heat, Strokes, I'm talking to you -- these girls release an album packed with noise, fury, and righteous anger, that will stomp all those girly-men poseurs The time is right for Sleater-Kinney to release this album. Just when another great rock 'n' roll movement -- the garage revival -- is in danger of being coopted by a bunch of talentless pretenders -- Killers, Hot Hot Heat, Strokes, I'm talking to you -- these girls release an album packed with noise, fury, and righteous anger, that will stomp all those girly-men poseurs into the ground. God, I hope this is the album finally makes these girls huge. They've been the America's best live band for a decade, now they've got an album that showcases them in all their glory, and it's about time they got their due. Expand
  48. AdamK
    May 23, 2005
    10
    The most surprising and innovative band in America today. They only get better.
  49. GaryA
    May 24, 2005
    10
    I thought one beat was one hell of an act to follow-up...but they managed to not only one-up that record...they've ten-upped it... one of the truest quotes ever: "Fans may have to have The Woods surgically removed from their players. It's just that powerful, demanding to be heard."
  50. ramiror
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Our former riot grrls are all grown up. They've matured as musians and songwriters and rock harder than ever.
  51. GregM.
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Not quite "Janis Meets Jimi", nor really "Raw Daydream Nation Power", nor even "Never Mind the Nevermind." More like all of them at the same time. Oh, and also "My Favorite Things At Leeds." I only wish Lester Bangs had lived to hear it. This is what he was talking about all those years ago.
  52. frankd
    May 27, 2005
    10
    i swear, you can see jesus playing air guitar to the best album of recent memory. this is a classic-rock masterpiece!!!!
  53. WillR
    May 28, 2005
    10
    If I had a stereo loud enough, this album would destroy the earth, shatter it into a million pieces. S-K has always been one band to make you feel in your heart the transformative power of rock-n-roll, and this album truly astounds.
  54. john
    May 29, 2005
    9
    i want to marry all three sleater-kinney girls now
  55. jeff--
    May 31, 2005
    5
    I'm a huge sk fan, so i'm really disappointed in what has to be one of the most boring records ever recorded by a great band.. The only salvation for me is the middle section from jumpers to rollercoaster which actually allows us to hear corin, carrie and janet apart and together - the in the red production is a joke that apparently attempts to make up for the lack of energy and I'm a huge sk fan, so i'm really disappointed in what has to be one of the most boring records ever recorded by a great band.. The only salvation for me is the middle section from jumpers to rollercoaster which actually allows us to hear corin, carrie and janet apart and together - the in the red production is a joke that apparently attempts to make up for the lack of energy and urgency and most of all fun lacking in the material here. just so boring. Expand
  56. JoeyB
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Veering uncontrollably through the ten tracks that populate this, their seventh proper LP, Sleater-Kinney harness a sound that is both brutally uncompromising and terrifically beautiful. Light years from their early riot grrl sound, "The Woods" scatters its leaves across a snarling, fertile landscape of sound, replacing the angular chords and yelps of yore with solid musicianship. Truly Veering uncontrollably through the ten tracks that populate this, their seventh proper LP, Sleater-Kinney harness a sound that is both brutally uncompromising and terrifically beautiful. Light years from their early riot grrl sound, "The Woods" scatters its leaves across a snarling, fertile landscape of sound, replacing the angular chords and yelps of yore with solid musicianship. Truly their most ferocious and thrilling album. A must for any record collection. Expand
  57. EleanorB
    Jun 13, 2005
    0
    What a bomb. What are they doing? Where are they going? What's up with all the posing and posturing and snarling lyrics that seem to imply they are better than other bands? Sonically, it's hard to take. You listen to it a couple times and have to set on the shelf and take a break because it becomes grating. "Entertain" is annoying. The message: Nostalgia is for losers, and so is What a bomb. What are they doing? Where are they going? What's up with all the posing and posturing and snarling lyrics that seem to imply they are better than other bands? Sonically, it's hard to take. You listen to it a couple times and have to set on the shelf and take a break because it becomes grating. "Entertain" is annoying. The message: Nostalgia is for losers, and so is listening to music for entertainment. Yet, the whole album is an attempt to rehash the past, with clear rip-offs of Hendrix and PJ Harvey and Nirvana. Talk about getting lost in the woods. Expand
  58. S-Kfan
    Jun 13, 2005
    0
    Extremely disappointed. S-K has emerged as the new Spinal Tap. Self-righteous, pointless, laughable. Bordering on self-parody. Don't waste you're money.
  59. ElliottM
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    I agree: omfg. I have been listening to this CD so much lately, it has got to be some sort of crime. Sleater-Kinney are probably (scratch: replace with definitely) the most important flat-out rock band around. Hell yeah!
  60. PDXR
    Jun 13, 2005
    0
    Barely accessible and disappointing. Worth a couple listens, but too scalding, abrasive and chaotic for repeat visits. Carrie B. is the ultimate poser, raging against nostalgia in "Entertain," when, in fact, her entire sound on "The Woods" is a direct rip off of the guitar rock of the late 60s and early 70s. Irony? I think not. Just a lot of posing. Maybe this should be the end of S-K..
  61. yeano
    Jun 14, 2005
    0
    self-important, grating junk.
  62. punkgirl
    Jun 14, 2005
    0
    what happened to sleater-kinney? why this album getting such great reviews? I haven't been able to get through it once.
  63. ValeriaS
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    What's with all these 0 reviews? Come on, there's no possible way it's that bad. Sleater-Kinney sound a whole lot more talented and professional than any band on the Top 40. Go Sleater-Kinney, woooooo!
  64. sweetcherry
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    yay! chicks rule!
  65. mindyhoneybee
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    sleater-kinney are #1! best album ever!
  66. punkbombshell
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    the second to last track proves alone just how talented they are and how much superior they are to any other current band.
  67. ArielS
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    yanno, i admit i've always liked their punk stuff, but you have to cheer them on for trying something much different. and they sound hot doing it. i hope they do more punk soon, but i love this!
  68. ReginaR
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    C'mon, give them some credit, will ya? How often do you ever see groups ever jam like that in today's music scene? How often do you see groups make an effort to move well beyond their comfort zone? In effort alone they deserve an A+, and besides that, they rock more than ever with this new sound! Keep it up, you chicks!
  69. MisterPleasant
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    The most stunning, crunchy,hardest hitting rock album in the last twenty years. Under a new producer the band opens up and spews out fireballs of passion and anger. Highly recommended!
  70. Ryan
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    wow...i think the point completely went over your heads. They're not "raging against nostalgia". They're pointing out that pop culture, the alternative music scene....yes, THE SCENE...is eating itself away with it's irony laden 80's fashion and posturing. I think they're trying to point out that we can't continue raping the corpse of former musical movements. wow...i think the point completely went over your heads. They're not "raging against nostalgia". They're pointing out that pop culture, the alternative music scene....yes, THE SCENE...is eating itself away with it's irony laden 80's fashion and posturing. I think they're trying to point out that we can't continue raping the corpse of former musical movements. We have to make our own.Self Righteous? If you call this self righteous then what punk rock wasn't ever self righteous? I don't see any difference in what they're saying than Wire, Nirvana, The Minutemen, or The Clash were saying. This is probably the most important punk rock record thats come out in the last few years. Expand
  71. MelE
    Jun 17, 2005
    9
    one of the best hard rock albums i've heard in a while. this is one of those albums that reminds me why i love this sort of music: passionate vocals, terrific drumming, aggressive guitars. it's easily sk's best album. not their most accessible, but their best.
  72. BrandiM
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    Passionate. Incredible. Hard. Their best yet!
  73. StephanieB
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    The intensity of a first album with the maturity of a veteran album.
  74. Caitlin
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Amazing album. I would have gladly spent twice as much money to buy it.
  75. aa
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    brilliant. that's it. they are the best band ever.
  76. IanE
    Jun 21, 2005
    5
    It took me four tries to get all the way through this album. I really wanted to like this album, and I kept looking for something to enjoy about it, but I can't stand it. First off, it's loud. It's not hard to imagine producer Dave Fridmann's work in producing The Woods: just turn every knob as high as it will go. Even with the volume turned low, The Woods sounds It took me four tries to get all the way through this album. I really wanted to like this album, and I kept looking for something to enjoy about it, but I can't stand it. First off, it's loud. It's not hard to imagine producer Dave Fridmann's work in producing The Woods: just turn every knob as high as it will go. Even with the volume turned low, The Woods sounds distorted. This may have been an attempt to make the songs sound more visceral and energetic, but it Expand
  77. katep
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    i really love this album. so much that i listened to it over and over again on a 7 hour road trip.
  78. David
    Jun 23, 2005
    10
    Album of the year, perhaps the decade. Fierce beyond belief.
  79. MaxB
    Jun 24, 2005
    8
    For an extremely long-time Sleater-Kinney fan, this album is a challenge. Many have compared the sound to classic rock a la Zeppelin, but any album whose first song sounds like it is literally breaking your speakers has nothing to do with Zeppelin. In fact, this album is the most challenging and least accesible S-K album to date. The production, frankly, was a mistake. Sometimes it works, For an extremely long-time Sleater-Kinney fan, this album is a challenge. Many have compared the sound to classic rock a la Zeppelin, but any album whose first song sounds like it is literally breaking your speakers has nothing to do with Zeppelin. In fact, this album is the most challenging and least accesible S-K album to date. The production, frankly, was a mistake. Sometimes it works, but oftentimes its just completely obnoxious. Having seen every song on this album performed live twice, it is the songs that keep me coming back. I think "Jumpers" representes the full use of all of Sleater-Kinney's powers unleashed. One of the most devastating rock songs of all time, and the "Lets Call It Love"/"Nitelite" one-two closer is phenomenal. Next time, however, the clean and classic production of earlier efforts like the tremendous Dig Me Out and criminally underrated The Hot Rock would be a better move. Expand
  80. PaulP
    Jun 28, 2005
    1
    This record is a crack attempt at music. After first listen, I instantly knew that this was something I couldn't even recommend to my deaf friend. It was annoying, self-absorbed, whiney, and in general sounded like root-canal in Audio form. The "break downs" sound as though you are listening to that annoying kid in your math class that got a guitar a month ago, wears all black and is This record is a crack attempt at music. After first listen, I instantly knew that this was something I couldn't even recommend to my deaf friend. It was annoying, self-absorbed, whiney, and in general sounded like root-canal in Audio form. The "break downs" sound as though you are listening to that annoying kid in your math class that got a guitar a month ago, wears all black and is always really stoned. I literally think this is one of the worst albums I have ever heard, along with Kenny G. Kudos Sleater-Kinney, for giving a bad name to all girl bands to come after you. Expand
  81. cherylg
    Jun 3, 2005
    2
    I've been a S-K fan since the beginning, but this album really blows, just like they said on Splendidezine.com (the most spot-on review of the new album I've seen so far). I've been increasingly disappointed in each S-K release after Call the Doctor, and this one is the worst by far. Total sludge production and half-baked melodies and ideas. This band is on a downslide, as I've been a S-K fan since the beginning, but this album really blows, just like they said on Splendidezine.com (the most spot-on review of the new album I've seen so far). I've been increasingly disappointed in each S-K release after Call the Doctor, and this one is the worst by far. Total sludge production and half-baked melodies and ideas. This band is on a downslide, as much as I hate to say it. On their way to joining the likes of has-beens like Dave Pirner and Courtney Love. On this album, they sing self-rightously about how other bands suck and are nothing but "entertainers", but what are they really doing that is any different? Rock music IS entertainment, it's not activism and it's not going to save the world, get over it. The self-importance combined with the crappy songwriting on this album makes me want to hurl. and I am sad to say that. :( Expand
  82. Aaron
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    S-K's The Woods is simply stunning. Probably the best album that they have ever made. Ferocious is right!
  83. willw
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    if you don't like this album then you don't like true gritty rock n roll, period. which is fine, but anyone who does shouldn't be deterred by cynics.
  84. LarryL
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    stunning. unbelieveable. difficult at first: yes. on subsequent listens, omfg. if you don't like this album, then you don't like depth, perception, complexity, reflection... things that were less apparant in their earlier work. Now, on the verge of Tucker leaving for good, they have created something marvelous.
  85. DaveMcQ
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    A Watershed Album. Don't know were History will ultimately put this one, but after three listens I can definitely see this having a Velvet Underground and Nico, Are You Experienced, OK Computer, London Calling, Joshua Tree level impact on the music world, if not pop culture. And London Calling is the perfect reference point to understand this album, because like London Calling, A Watershed Album. Don't know were History will ultimately put this one, but after three listens I can definitely see this having a Velvet Underground and Nico, Are You Experienced, OK Computer, London Calling, Joshua Tree level impact on the music world, if not pop culture. And London Calling is the perfect reference point to understand this album, because like London Calling, it's the sound of punks realizing they have exhausted punks very restrictive limitations and instead have embraced something more traditional with a converts zeal, but instead of moving towards reggae and Flanged bridge workouts, SK adopts the anything goes, free-for-all heavy of late 60s/early 70s pyschadelic rock. It's as if PJ Harvey traveled back in time to the Montery Pop Festival, Convinced Big Brother and the Holding Company, The Jimi Hendrix Experience, and the Who to join her onstage for an extended jam encore, then had Led Zepplin, Ten Years After, The Velvets, Love, Black Sabbath, Cream and Iron Butterfly all flown in to join them out of free the sound wouldn't be heavy enough. Sure, 8 out of 10 listeners are going to hate this album, it's noisy as all hell, some of the songs are intentionally blown beyond red on the dials, and there's virtually no commitment to song structure...But anyone who's ever gotten a charge from psychadelic Feedback in any variety...be it Hendrix's "National Anthem" or "I don't Live today", The Velvets second album "White Light, White Heat." or Sabbath's "Iron Man", anyone who loves search for the nuggets of brilliance in Captain Beefhearts craziest efforts will find this one of the best albums they've ever heard. Sure, parts of it sound awful, but there all just setup for the next fifteen second moment of sheer power crunch brilliance just up ahead. I have no question History will judge this as one of the very best and most important albums of the Decade, let alone this year. One of a kind just like the albums I compared it to up above. Expand
  86. bobd
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    incredible album
  87. sc
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    A great album.
  88. JohnM
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Absolutely staggering. Without question the best rock album this year and a very strong contender for album of the year. Eddie Vedder claimed to to have blown his speakers out listening to this album and I believe it - The Woods completely kicks your ass. And in response to Kyle A, I guess I would have to hate anyone who DISlikes this album or band. Sleater-Kinney have again shown us - Absolutely staggering. Without question the best rock album this year and a very strong contender for album of the year. Eddie Vedder claimed to to have blown his speakers out listening to this album and I believe it - The Woods completely kicks your ass. And in response to Kyle A, I guess I would have to hate anyone who DISlikes this album or band. Sleater-Kinney have again shown us - and more here on this album than ever - why they are one of the greatest and most significant rock bands of this era. The Woods really deserves the big ol' 10/10. Expand
  89. SayedS
    Jul 18, 2005
    2
    I can't really sit through this album. The screaming/yoddling really hurts my ears. I don't think I am crazy. I let my friends listen to it and they agree that her voice is to eratic and disturbing to listen too.
  90. ScottD
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    This album is very different S-K. It's a cliche, but they truly did turn everything - I mean EVERYTHING, guitars, amps, pedals, energy - to 11 for The Woods. Imagine an overdriven One Beat with tons of guitar solos. The Woods is also their most challenging - I would NOT recommend it as a starting point for a newbie, which makes their decision to sign with Sub Pop (and it's wider This album is very different S-K. It's a cliche, but they truly did turn everything - I mean EVERYTHING, guitars, amps, pedals, energy - to 11 for The Woods. Imagine an overdriven One Beat with tons of guitar solos. The Woods is also their most challenging - I would NOT recommend it as a starting point for a newbie, which makes their decision to sign with Sub Pop (and it's wider market push than KRS) an interesting sidenote to me. But who ever expects the usual from these ladies? As for favorites, well it took me about 4 listens to process all the bombast and really "get" it. I'd rank Tracks 1-7 as a top-drawer S-K album, a total knockout and would contend for their best work. However Tracks 8-10 go somewhat awry and don't have the same power or persuasion, so that brings my rating down a half peg. Overall, another great addition to their catalogue and conspicuously - and NOISILY - different from anything else they've done. Expand
  91. Gus
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Amazing.
  92. AlexD.
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    Album of the year!
  93. Sams
    Sep 26, 2005
    1
    Horribly Overrated.
  94. hannahb
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    incredible album from the greatest girl group ever. a move away from punk, but still outrageous and as intense as always. i saw them live (thank god, as they've since disbanded) and they were unbelieveable.
  95. AndyP
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    Great from beginning to end, even if the poor mastering gets annoying once in a while. Really captures the intensity of their live show. Sad to see them go, and glad I caught them at Lollapalooza first.
  96. time
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    What a fond farewell to the greatest band of the decade.
  97. Gus
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing.
  98. mikem
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    best rock band in america, hands down. lyrically not some of their best work, but the heaving raw guitars and power define what rock music should be. this is not an album for everyone, so for those who prefer slickly produced and filtered music, highly refined and synthetic sounds, cerebral melodies and gentle measured beats, this album may not be for you. for any fan of real visceral best rock band in america, hands down. lyrically not some of their best work, but the heaving raw guitars and power define what rock music should be. this is not an album for everyone, so for those who prefer slickly produced and filtered music, highly refined and synthetic sounds, cerebral melodies and gentle measured beats, this album may not be for you. for any fan of real visceral american rock music, our nation's sole remaining export in these post-industrial times, SK's The Woods is the real thing. Expand
  99. RStJ
    Nov 15, 2005
    5
    Ok, first of, you people giving this mess a "10" need to wake up. This album has major problems, not least of hich is the almost unlistenable mi/mastering. I'm t a total loss to explain this as nything other than some catostrophe occurring in the studio which had to be covered by superheating the mix to the point where you focus on the distortion rather than the frequently inept song Ok, first of, you people giving this mess a "10" need to wake up. This album has major problems, not least of hich is the almost unlistenable mi/mastering. I'm t a total loss to explain this as nything other than some catostrophe occurring in the studio which had to be covered by superheating the mix to the point where you focus on the distortion rather than the frequently inept song takes. Next, you people giving this a "0" need to snap out of it too, since very few bands will ever be able to record a song as terrifyingly good as Jumpers. I'm pretty sure this is what the entire album was supposed to sound like as Jumpers is tight, well-rehearsed, and clearly a finished product unlike over half of the other songs. It also sounds much like SK's best work in the past, just updated a bit with a strong sense of rock c. 1991. Sadly, the vibe reminds me very much of late period Nirvana and we all know how that ended up. The cancellation of the November tour dates is an ominous sign. I hope Brownstein is OK. If she's the first person "I" of Jumpers then she might not be. The song really should have been called "Jumper" (singular) since there is only one person in the song and it is not a meditation on why people jump in general, but why one person in particular jumps--a profound and hopeless sense of loneliness. On the strength of this one song, I give the record a "5." I hope it's not the end for the band, but I think it probably will be. Expand
  100. Gazcomsat
    Nov 22, 2005
    4
    As a fan of Sleater Kinney, I have to say I just don't get this album nor for that matter the majority of the reviews on this site. The songs are certainly heavier than previous offerings but mainly because they are so incredibly distorted. Take "Modern Girl" as an example. Everything starts out fine, melodic, nice vocals then you hit 2 minutes into the song and all hell breaks As a fan of Sleater Kinney, I have to say I just don't get this album nor for that matter the majority of the reviews on this site. The songs are certainly heavier than previous offerings but mainly because they are so incredibly distorted. Take "Modern Girl" as an example. Everything starts out fine, melodic, nice vocals then you hit 2 minutes into the song and all hell breaks loose. Nothing actually changes much as far as the band themselves are concerned but someone in their infinite wisdom thought it might add something to the track by pushing the distortion levels to the max rendering it virtually unlistenable. Why? What was the point? Nothing good was added to the song but it certainly makes for uncomfortable listening. Sleater Kinney aren't Led Zepelin nor do I want them to be. Corrin Tuckers voice is unusual enough to keep Sleater Kinney one step ahead of the pack without having to resort to this type of "experimentation". I don't see how the band could have actually listened to the album prior to it actually being pressed and think that it was ok. For me, this isn't going to be "a grower" because frankly, it's just plain bad. Unbelievably disappointing. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Previous albums have never quite captured those onstage moments when the power they generate seems to catch them unawares, but on The Woods you can hear not only the deliberation in Weiss's eyes as she ponders the exact placement of beat and crash, or Brownstein's bedroom-mirror rock-star poses, but also the stunned grin Tucker can never contain after emitting her most gravity-defiant shrieks.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    [They] clearly sound alive with the possibility of redefining punk song structure by writing 11-minute flamboyant guitar dirges that have as much in common with My Bloody Valentine as they do with '70s arena rock. [May 2005, p.170]
  3. A smoldering rock and roll record that rivals John Lennon’s Plastic Ono Band and Nirvana’s In Utero in terms of unexpectedness.