The Year of Hibernation

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Youth Lagoon will never reproduce anything like The Year of Hibernation. I think in 2011, this is called The Bon Iver Effect. The result of fame is that Powers will never be in this place again. But maybe that's best.
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    80
    A quietly remarkable debut, The Year of Hibernation is equally suited to hiding underneath the covers and throwing them off to face the day.
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    It is both a captivating listen and a terrifying one: Powers was 22 this year, but his voice carries all the experience of a man thrice his age.
  4. While The Year of Hibernation doesn't rocket into the stratosphere so much, it's still an exemplary debut.
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    70
    His voice is something of an acquired taste but, this minor caveat aside, The Year Of Hibernation is a genuinely unique debut.
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    80
    With only eight tracks and a run-time just over half an hour, this debut is a light one but hits like a featherweight champ.
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    67
    Powers definitely has the compositional wherewithal to make something special--he just has to put more of himself into it.
  8. 70
    The Year of Hibernation serves as a whimsical introduction to the magic of Youth Lagoon.
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    The Year Of Hibernation is a powerful bit of emotional alchemy, arresting and enchanting in its naked simplicity, and Powers has accomplished a tour de force far beyond his bedroom walls or his 22 years.
  10. Oct 7, 2011
    70
    Perhaps the album hits its heights a bit late, but when Youth Lagoon's full confidence is on display, it's hard to turn away.
  11. Sep 29, 2011
    84
    The record mixes feelings of protection and safety with the tug of adventure and wraps it in compulsively listenable music that explodes at just the right moments.
  12. Sep 27, 2011
    80
    Delivered in a frail squawk recalling Seattle singer-songwriter Perfume Genius, his coming-of-age songs carve intuitive, 
idiosyncratic paths (spidery guitar, buzzing electronics) to mountaintop indie-rock catharsis.
  13. Sep 27, 2011
    80
    Youth Lagoon's debut consistently delivers on the suggestion of its appellation: youth.
  14. Sep 27, 2011
    83
    There are only eight songs on Hibernation, but each track goes from murky depths to total transcendence as Powers, the wizard behind the curtain, attempts to dream himself out of the bedroom.
  15. Oct 14, 2011
    80
    The Year of Hibernation occupies many spaces at once, a seeming contradiction that makes better use of its incongruous pieces than most records do of its complimentary pieces. The result is both mournful and joyful, but totally enjoyable.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I moved halfway across the US when this album came out. I had just graduated college and was making a big change in my life. Every step ofI moved halfway across the US when this album came out. I had just graduated college and was making a big change in my life. Every step of that transition (especially the 13 hour drive down), this album was with me, just as God was with me (and the music, for me, reminded me of this). A few months later, my friend and I had the privilege of seeing Trevor play in my new resident city. The show was sold out, but after hanging outside and making friends with the staff, we were allowed in. The feeling I had perfectly matched the music he played. We spent the next three hours after the show hanging out with him, just the three of us. He was such a happy kid, but with a lot of thoughts swirling around in his head--again, this translates onto the album. This album is incredible, perfectly capturing the feeling you have when the world is wide open to you, and you must decide what to do with it (which is both exciting and nerve-wracking). I told him my favorite song was The Hunt, the last track, and he said "Me too. I cried while I was recording the keys for that." You can hear the passion--not even necessarily in the vocals. If you're familiar with this album, you'd have believed him too. Full Review »
  2. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    It is a story and concept that seems to be the trend nowadays in indie music. Kid creates lo-fi music in his bedroom on his own, and thenIt is a story and concept that seems to be the trend nowadays in indie music. Kid creates lo-fi music in his bedroom on his own, and then somehow becomes a surprise success. At first glance, it seems Youth Lagoonâ Full Review »
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    I really appreciate when someone can take a genre and established style of music and put their own unique twist into it, and with The Year ofI really appreciate when someone can take a genre and established style of music and put their own unique twist into it, and with The Year of Hibernation, Youth Lagoon surely does this. Another great thing about this music, is that although the vocals are hazy, the emotion conveyed in the timbre of the instruments are vocals is enough to satisfy. All in all it's a solid chill album, and a gem, not in the upper echelons, but worthy of high praise none-the-less. Full Review »