• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 125

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Raventhird
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    This is the most amazing CD i heard in 2003, although i'm listening to at least 5 to 10 new records in a week for my job. A dark and powerful Prog-Rock classic.
  2. sarahw
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    a different stroke for good ole' Maynard, but definatly one thats gonna make people spooge... if not, than youve got some impatency problems.
  3. GaborA
    Jun 20, 2005
    8
    Struggles to be 50 minutes long. What is actually here though is very solid. Infinitly better than mer de noms.
  4. Raventhird
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    This is the most amazing CD i heard in 2003, although i'm listening to at least 5 to 10 new records in a week for my job. A dark and powerful Prog-Rock classic.
  5. PaulM
    Oct 2, 2003
    8
    not as immediate as mer de noms, then again, i'd be dissapointed if it was. A very textual and moody album that really needs a few listens to let it grow...
  6. TrickyGotMeIn
    Dec 5, 2003
    9
    Just Ignore The Smoke And Smile
  7. InakiSA
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    BEST ALBUM I've heard for years
  8. killsexy
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    the girl in Weak and Powerless video is so sexy. What is her name???
  9. KartikP
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    Flawless.....they have created another master piece.
  10. WickedRapunzel
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    WOW!!! Maynard does it again... His lyrics and soul shine through yet again... His talent and musical genious is so obvious in eveything from APC and TOOL..
  11. AshLeeS
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    I think this is by far the most political album Maynard has put out. He always has a lot of soul in his songs but the Thirteenth step just hits right to my heart with all the problems and fears we are all facing today. He is a voice for our generation.
  12. NikkiV
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    First off, I'ld just like to say Maynard is GoD.(but you knew that!) Now I'll move onto this Cd. After the Second Time I listened to it, I was Hooked. When I first got it in my player, I was a little shocked by the quiet tones and a little standoffish about whether i truely LOVED this cd, as I have with past Maynard Albums... I have listened to this cd for the past 48 hours First off, I'ld just like to say Maynard is GoD.(but you knew that!) Now I'll move onto this Cd. After the Second Time I listened to it, I was Hooked. When I first got it in my player, I was a little shocked by the quiet tones and a little standoffish about whether i truely LOVED this cd, as I have with past Maynard Albums... I have listened to this cd for the past 48 hours non-stop, and have not been able to shut it off. When I'm not listening to the cd, I'm watching the Weak and Powerless video, trying to pull out everything I can from the Video, and the thoughts beyond all the lyrics. What comes forth from APC is a GIFT to all, and I just hope those that buy this, take the time to ENJOY it, and hear the lyrics as The Heavenly Voice of Maynard plays upon their senses!!! - another satisfied listener!!!! Expand
  13. kimv
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    they've done it again.....touched my soul with beautiful, meaningful melodic, painful emotion. i can't get enough of this disc.
  14. talsin
    May 6, 2004
    10
    I took awhile to grasp the meaning... but once I found it. I couldn't stop.
  15. zachc
    May 18, 2006
    10
    When I hear people talk about how similar Tool and A Perfect Circle are, it angers me. though they are cut from similar threads, A Perfect Circle has gone far and away from what Tool has become. Thirteenth step flows, like poetry or romantic language, it's melodies are etheral and serenly dark. Tool is mathematical, they are calculated and deliver either upon a hammer's stroke When I hear people talk about how similar Tool and A Perfect Circle are, it angers me. though they are cut from similar threads, A Perfect Circle has gone far and away from what Tool has become. Thirteenth step flows, like poetry or romantic language, it's melodies are etheral and serenly dark. Tool is mathematical, they are calculated and deliver either upon a hammer's stroke or a delicate segue. Thirteenth Step is one of the most amazing albums I've ever heard, lyrically brilliant, musically mastered and deep in spiritual reflection. Maynard proves that this is not a side project, nor just an offshoot of Tool, APC on this album defines themselves as something else entirely. Where Mer De Noms was a beautiful precursor to something upcoming, This album proved to be a progressive and emotional masterpiece. Just as Tool may have reached their musical zenith with Lateralus, I doubt whether A Perfect Circle can eclipse what they produced with Thirteenth Step. All in all, it's a damn brilliant effort by one of the best rock bands today. Expand
  16. johns
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    one of my top 10 albums of all time. giving stiff competition 2 my other beloved albums from the likes of tori,jeff buckley and depeche m. what a voice! what a bunch of extraordinary good and honest songs! what a gem! a must.
  17. JesJ
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    Awesome record!
  18. BrandyH.
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    I love this album because that song the noose reminds me of one of my good friends that had to move away ,he had me to listen to this song man do I miss him! I want that song on my myspace profile but I can't figure i out.
  19. nealm
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    gorgeous
  20. wackyman
    Oct 17, 2003
    8
    A perfect cirlce's second attempt sounds more like the cure's disintegration, than it does to Tool. still, great album
  21. mariop
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    it is the best album sence mer de noms
  22. missdistress
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    more than most expected
  23. mmmhmmm
    Dec 6, 2003
    10
    yummi
  24. MahaliaR
    Dec 8, 2003
    9
    My boyfriend and my sister are always all, "Ah, you've got to listen to Maynard, he's sooo good..." blah blah blah. For the last couple years I just resisted because it all seemed to mainstream to be any sort of alternative I'd like, and I'm more of a ska person. But... yes but... when I did finally start giving it a chance, first liking Mer de Noms, then a bit of My boyfriend and my sister are always all, "Ah, you've got to listen to Maynard, he's sooo good..." blah blah blah. For the last couple years I just resisted because it all seemed to mainstream to be any sort of alternative I'd like, and I'm more of a ska person. But... yes but... when I did finally start giving it a chance, first liking Mer de Noms, then a bit of Tool, Thirteenth Step hit me pretty hard. Maynards soft voice combined with disturbing lyrics just sticks in your brain and kind of twists you into a pretzel from the inside out, in a pleasant way if you can imagine such a thing. (?) Anyway, I think this album was a breakthrough in music itself, and I think it was a lovely expression far beyond what Maynard becomes for Tool. The only reason it's not a 10 is there's no brass LOL j/k Collapse
  25. JackieP
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    neverless
  26. jeffr
    Oct 3, 2003
    7
    not as lyrically complex as maynard's other albums, with much more repetition of verse, and honestly this is rather disappointing. still a very enjoyable album, and the high points are incredibly high ("Pet" is probably the most likely to stand out in one's mind, along with the single "weak and powerless" and the very tongue in cheek "the nurse who loved me") but not the same not as lyrically complex as maynard's other albums, with much more repetition of verse, and honestly this is rather disappointing. still a very enjoyable album, and the high points are incredibly high ("Pet" is probably the most likely to stand out in one's mind, along with the single "weak and powerless" and the very tongue in cheek "the nurse who loved me") but not the same calibur as the previous CD, nor the more recent TOOL albums. i hate to say it, but there are three tracks that i just skip over every time i play the CD. vanishing, crimes, and lullaby are largely without lyrics, and are not in my opinion instrumentally impressive. on the first listen they're cool, but afterwards they just break the flow and turn an already short 12-song CD into a 9 song one, feeling mostly like filler. its a good cd, but its not great, and that is unfortunately very disappointing. Expand
  27. EricY
    Sep 23, 2003
    9
    Another fantastic album. The more I listen to it, the more I love it. How can you not? Maynard rules and so does this album.
  28. scofft
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    one of the greatest things i have ever heard. a must buy for any music fan.
  29. (::)
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    I admit that the music of tool and a perfect circle is an aquired sound but for those who like it, this CD is awesome and a must buy.
  30. AmandaF.
    Sep 28, 2003
    9
    Freakin awesome! The band has definitely evolved in a good way from their first album. I am psyched that James Iha has joined the band, too.
  31. grug
    Sep 28, 2003
    9
    Takes a few listens to get into but it is easily a better album than Mer de Noms, albeit less accessible. The Outsider, The Noose, and Pet being highlights.
  32. Hannah
    Oct 16, 2004
    8
    APC's sound has progressed on from 'Mer de Noms'. On Thirteenth Step they have raised the notch on the intensity and somewhat 'atmospheric' vibe. Although there is something almost 'magical' about the first album I think this album showcases the bands music and song writing abilities better. Key tracks; Blue and The Noose
  33. Lissa
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    I repeat... absolutley mindblowingly awesome!
  34. theo
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    cd is sick. A Perfect Circle is an ill band.
  35. breed.
    May 19, 2004
    9
    its not mer de noms-but its still amazing and just as gorgerous, even if it is about drug-abuse!!
  36. StevieJ
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    Beautiful i love Pet I love APC
  37. YuriK
    Jun 25, 2004
    8
    Good Music, Deep Lyrics. However it can't be compared to the 'Mer de Noms' quality. Almoust a Masterpiece!
  38. AndruC
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    each of these talented musicians have brought a new perspective to the meaning of emotion for me personally. Such a small price to pay for such a deep atmospheric masterpiece, and for the last time...APC is NOT Maynards SIDE PROJECT, it is a creation which can be credited just as much as prior projects, discluding Tapeworm.
  39. jao
    Apr 12, 2005
    7
    pretty solid. i'd rather listen to mer de noms.
  40. nicr
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    OMG!!! Maynard captures soft but painfully melodic sounds in songs like weak and powerless. His voice has the amazing ability to go from soft to heavy in a hearbeat which is what really makes this album the best yet. Songs like vanishing, crimes and lullaby which were lacking lyrics gave off the emotinal side of the song. Much better than Mer De Noms which was also awesome... It took me a OMG!!! Maynard captures soft but painfully melodic sounds in songs like weak and powerless. His voice has the amazing ability to go from soft to heavy in a hearbeat which is what really makes this album the best yet. Songs like vanishing, crimes and lullaby which were lacking lyrics gave off the emotinal side of the song. Much better than Mer De Noms which was also awesome... It took me a few listens to really get into it but i cannot stop listening now.... APC's dvd AMOTION has maynard explaining wat sum1 of the songs meanings are.. once i heard this i listened to the songs in a whole new way.. it just blew my mind.... I know this is a long review but i cannot express enough how perfect this album is.. 5 star Expand
  41. SpacemanS.
    Dec 8, 2008
    8
    Excellent album, ambiant and at the same time, full of power and energy.
  42. JM.
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    No album has a line-up of "perfect" songs, and this album does not achieve that. However, between brilliant vocals, lyrics, musicianship, mood-setting, and poignancy, this is most definitively my vote for the best album in the last twenty years, bar none.
  43. ChrisG
    Nov 12, 2003
    9
    This album is just stunning! MJK has once again out done himself. If it weren't for the tracks Vanishing, Crimes, and Lullaby, I would have given it a 10. This is definately one of my all time favorite albums. Every time I listen to it I am in awe at the fact that Maynard can fill songs such as The Noose and The Outsider with such emotion without having to scream. Thankyou Maynard, I This album is just stunning! MJK has once again out done himself. If it weren't for the tracks Vanishing, Crimes, and Lullaby, I would have given it a 10. This is definately one of my all time favorite albums. Every time I listen to it I am in awe at the fact that Maynard can fill songs such as The Noose and The Outsider with such emotion without having to scream. Thankyou Maynard, I am forever in your debt. Expand
  44. RyanB
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    This CD definitely diserves a 10. Maynard is so in depth with his songs. He manages to put out great albums every time. All i can say is keep it up I will always be a fan.
  45. Dave
    Nov 29, 2003
    10
    Perfection...both this CD and Mer De Noms never cease to satisfy...the only problem is trying to figure out which one is better.
  46. JayW
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    Another cd to add to the rare collection that the skip track button is uneeded.
  47. matth
    Nov 4, 2003
    9
    i think this album is definatley a step in the right direction. people may have trouble listening to it because the rhythms at the beginning of each song aren't superior pleasant. however they setup the pre-climactical journey of each song individually. in a since i think the whole album is some what of a tease, especially to those fans who enjoy apc's heavier songs. i look at i think this album is definatley a step in the right direction. people may have trouble listening to it because the rhythms at the beginning of each song aren't superior pleasant. however they setup the pre-climactical journey of each song individually. in a since i think the whole album is some what of a tease, especially to those fans who enjoy apc's heavier songs. i look at this cd as foreplay and not a tease. it's got everything i need. Expand
  48. MichaelC
    Oct 16, 2003
    7
    I've never been a huge Tool or A Perfect Circle fan. Aenima was the only Tool album that ever stuck out to me, and I avoided APC altogether, as I was very unimpressed with their live show (opening for NIN in 2000). Ultimately, I did end up listening through the first one and finding it slightly more entertaining than the live performance. So, is this album an improvement over the I've never been a huge Tool or A Perfect Circle fan. Aenima was the only Tool album that ever stuck out to me, and I avoided APC altogether, as I was very unimpressed with their live show (opening for NIN in 2000). Ultimately, I did end up listening through the first one and finding it slightly more entertaining than the live performance. So, is this album an improvement over the first? Yes and no. In my opinion it is much more enjoyable as a whole, but it lacks the kind of powerful songs that pushed the first album ("3 Libras", "Judith", etc.). I recommend it to Tool/APC fans (and there are a ton of you guys) as well as rock listeners looking for a little variety. Personally, I passed. Expand
  49. Ricardo
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    This is a masterpiece as good as Mer de Noms, Aenima and Lateralus....
  50. JasonO
    Dec 5, 2003
    9
    This is certainly a CD that requires multiple listens. if you're expecting another Mer De Noms, be ready for disappointment. a great concept album, with a pretty harrowing description of what drug use, and eventual rehab and recovery, is like. ratings for CD's like these are really subjective anyway. there's no arguement that the production value is amazing, or that these This is certainly a CD that requires multiple listens. if you're expecting another Mer De Noms, be ready for disappointment. a great concept album, with a pretty harrowing description of what drug use, and eventual rehab and recovery, is like. ratings for CD's like these are really subjective anyway. there's no arguement that the production value is amazing, or that these guys are all incredibly talented. it becomes a matter of some people getting it, and some not. So listen to it for yourself, and make your own judgement. Expand
  51. aggelosg
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    beautifully haunting and atmospheric. more radiohead than tool.keenan is the man.
  52. heatherm
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    i dont care what any of you critics say, this CD is the bomb, it's so beautiful and really good wake up/go to sleep music. maynard has yet to steer me wrong
  53. Grey
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    Great Album. Had More of a Tool sound than the first.
  54. RyanM
    Mar 24, 2004
    10
    awesome
  55. BrianJ
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    The best album of the year!
  56. BrianJ
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    The best album of the year!
  57. lk
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Great Album! Love it.
  58. RafaelA
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    this album is by far one of james best work and even though i still prefer tool a perfect circle take #2 on my list of favorites
  59. brandonh
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    this album is incredably amazing. Maynard is a genius, his lyrics are amazing. Mer de noms was amzing and so is this one!!!
  60. brankl
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Very good album. Almost ties Mer De Noms but still not as good.
  61. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    It's hard to objectively review an album that launched several of my favorite songs of all time and pretty much defined my years as a young adolescent, but it's still just as good as it was seven years ago. Haunting lyrics combined with bittersweet melodies results in a sound that isn't just "Tool Lite" but carves its own trail.
  62. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    usually when i first listen to keenans work, it takes a few listens before it leaves a lasting impression. not w/ 13th step, it immediately reeled me in. this album trudges through thick and thin addiction, suicide, and everything around and in between. but it also leaves you with a positive message of hope and satisfication, w/ the last song on the record titled, "gravity" a song aboutusually when i first listen to keenans work, it takes a few listens before it leaves a lasting impression. not w/ 13th step, it immediately reeled me in. this album trudges through thick and thin addiction, suicide, and everything around and in between. but it also leaves you with a positive message of hope and satisfication, w/ the last song on the record titled, "gravity" a song about humbleness and healing from your mistakes & diseases. "i choose to live" - mjk. Expand
  63. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    A very good album with a dark atmosphere and rock tunes that'll kick your teeth in. They definitely built off their awesome debut Mer de Noms with great tracks like 'Weak and Powerless', 'The Outsider', and 'The Nurse Who Loved Me'.
  64. Dec 2, 2011
    7
    Such an amazing album, with tracks such as Blue, The Noose and Pet the ones which really stood out for me in this album, It's certainly an alternative to Tool, but you'd never know they were related to each other if you heard any of them for the first time.
  65. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    One of the best albums I've ever listened to. A Perfect Circle is my favorite band, and this is arguably their best album. Only Mer de Noms could be considered better. It's a great mix of soft rock (The Noose) and all out metal (Pet). The album also has underlying tones that can be perceived in different ways. The songs almost tell a story when listened to in order, one after the other. MyOne of the best albums I've ever listened to. A Perfect Circle is my favorite band, and this is arguably their best album. Only Mer de Noms could be considered better. It's a great mix of soft rock (The Noose) and all out metal (Pet). The album also has underlying tones that can be perceived in different ways. The songs almost tell a story when listened to in order, one after the other. My only problems with it are that The Package drags on too long and The Nurse Who Loved Me is just terrible and it doesn't fit with the rest of the album (besides story wise). I don't think Maynard was ready to make a love song yet. Expand
  66. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    If any album ever should get the attention of anyone who has ever had a problem, this is the one. The whole album is about the overcoming of struggle of drug abuse. Drug abuse can be interpreted into many different things in life. This album has helped me so much though out the years, and still does. I feel this is APC's best work. I am very grateful for this album. I made an account justIf any album ever should get the attention of anyone who has ever had a problem, this is the one. The whole album is about the overcoming of struggle of drug abuse. Drug abuse can be interpreted into many different things in life. This album has helped me so much though out the years, and still does. I feel this is APC's best work. I am very grateful for this album. I made an account just to express this. Thank you! Take a listen, close your eyes, and fix yourself :) Expand
  67. Jun 21, 2014
    7
    A semi solid prog metal album but nothing in comparison with the likes of Tool. Nevertheless, Pet is a fantastic song and shows the skill that this band has.
  68. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    This album is amazing. Every song has so much meaning and depth to it and they all sound and feel amazing. A Perfect Circle's best album completely...
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. By muting Tool's over-the-top attack, Keenan has more time to devote to deepening the textures throughout.
  2. Sounds more like the dusky thrum of Disintegration-era Cure than it does any of the members' previous bands.
  3. 50
    It's more cerebral than aggressive.... A derivative effort that makes Keenan sound less talented than he actually is. [Oct 2003, p.105]