This Loud Morning - David Cook
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I have been listening to This Loud Morning since it started streaming on AOL last week. I love the textured layers of the production. David Cook's voice is even richer, and soars over the music. The songs flow linked by themes and musical reflections of each other. The best way to enjoy the album is to listen through all the way through, in sequence. David Cook's voice is even richer, and soars over the music better than on his first post Idol record. This is a pretty serious and unique album from a young artist who has grasped what he was reaching for in stretching his own boundaries. There are anthemic choruses, and there's so much more. This Loud Morning is both versatile and cohesive. I'd encourage both new listeners and reviewers alike to set aside their Idol or Grunge Rocker filters when they play This Loud Morning. You'll be in for more than a few surprises and an exciting listening experience. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This Loud Morning is an excellent sophomore effort from David Cook. From the opening track "Circadian" Mr. Cook brings us on a musical journey. The songs are loosely connected and represent the ups and downs of relationships. They range from the hopeful "We Believe" to the wistful "The Last Goodbye". Mr. Cook's vocals are better than ever and this album has shown his growth as a songwriter. I believe the album plays best when listened to from start to finish in order but all the songs stand alone. My favorites on the album are the closing track REM, Time Marches On and Goodbye to the Girl. I am impressed with this album and recommend it. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    MayDay!!! Somebody save me now. This album was worth the wait. What a lush, brilliant album from beginning to end. Congratulations to Matt Serletic for bringing out the best in David Cook and his band. Highlights include the opening and closing tracks, "Circadian" and "Rapid Eye Movement" which bookend this thematic venture in the world behind dreams, shut off from the ordinary world. Both "Goodbye to the Girl", co-written by two of Cook's bandmates, and "Right Here, With You", stand out as potential singles. Kudos. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    m2msucks...your review loses all credibility since David Cook co-wrote every single song on the album. So go troll some other artist. This album is a deeply personal effort from the AI7 winner and platinum artist, that strongly reflects the experiences he's gone through in the past few years, from the highs of his "discovery" on AI, to the lows of losing his brother to brain cancer. Just like his performance of "The Music of the Night" on AI...this is a deeply artistic album, that highlights Cook's dramatic tenor, and his ability to find emotion in music. However also like his performance of MOTN...as Simon pointed out...it's "too rounded off"...not enough grit, or edge, that is just as much a part of Cook, as is beautiful, sensitive album. There are soaring choruses, soft moments, and upbeat tempos, ..but even though the production is interesting, my opinion is Matt Selertic overproduced this album to the point of editing out David's rough edges. 8/10 because the best is yet to come from David Cook. This is a great album with real music..and a definite journey of the heart. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An intensely personal, loosely structured concept album, David Cook's newest record is a vast improvement on his already respectable debut. Cook is credited on having co-written every song, and it does not take much research into the events in his life over the last three years, good and bad, to know that these are not vanity credits -- his sorrows and joys are intimately painted over a rich, dynamic, sonic landscape. Although one might argue that the stylistic elements of his flavor of rock are too static from one song to the next, I believe this works to its benefit, as while that may be the case at first, the swing back and forth from quiet balladry to full-out guitar-driven, anthemic choruses becomes more extreme as the songs in the album progress, echoing the tension present in the lyrical themes. Said lyrical themes also flow from one song to the next. Cook's concept is based on a lyric in the last song, Rapid Eye Movement: "Give me one more quiet night before this loud morning gets it right and does me in." His concept of sleep as a reprieve from the chaos of the day begins in the first song, Circadian, a whimsical, haunting track in which Cook pleads for salvation in slumber. The songs progress through an imagined, dreamt-of relationship, although it does not take much to remove the veneer of romance he instills upon most of the songs to reveal the reflection of his waking life. This album is not meant to be a disparate collection of radio singles. While many of the songs do contain addictive hooks, the songs in this album work best in conjunction with one another, echoing each other thematically, lyrically, and musically. This Loud Morning rewards the listener with unexpected metaphors and unusual instrumentation if one only pays attention and savors its elements. In many ways, it is most stylistically similar to Cook's indie album Analog Heart, which he issued shortly before his tenure on American Idol. And it is to Cook's credit that his status of winner of that singing competition is but a footnote to his overall musicianship. This Loud Morning is an endeavor that would do any artist proud; to have this effort emerge from the machine of a reality show is virtually unheard of, and should place Cook firmly in the Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood camp of winners who have transcended their title. I intend to watch his career with much interest, as for a sophomore effort, it bodes extremely well for his potential for true greatness in the future. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    In a musical world of auto-tuned anybody can be a singer (whether they can actually sing or not) David Cook's "This Loud Morning" is a breath of fresh air. Not only can Mr. Cook write songs, but his amazing tenor voice is outstanding. His record weaves a story unlike most of the one or two decent songs with the rest filler albums on the market today. If you have not listened to "This Loud Morning" on a good set of headphones or decent speakers, you are missing the nuances that make this a compelling and wonderfully told saga of a relationship that has lasted too long. This is not a dance, hands in the air, beat driven album, put a beautiful storyteller taking the listener on a journey. Well done, Mr. Cook. Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This is an awesome, rockin' album! It's easy to listen to and has a soaring, cinematic vibe with the right balance of dark and uplifting melodies. I love the brilliant arrangements, the mid-tempo to uptempo rock songs with their unadulterated, heartfelt, and relatable lyrics. It's relevant to selfish me.
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    This Loud Morning is a mediocre record from David Cook. Sounds like a typical mainstream radio rock album. There is nothing that distinguishes David Cook's music from all of the other mainstream rock bands. The whole album lacks originality. Sounds like Chris Cornell meets Nickelback. What's worse is David Cook didn't even write a single song. I guess that makes a manufactured pop star just like all the other American Idol Winners. Expand
  9. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    What else can I say other than words like AMAZING and AWESOME.
    He has totally outdone himself in this album. From the opening track, Circadian that leaves the listener in a dream like state to the final song 'Rapid Eye Movement', this is without a doubt one of the best albums I have ever heard.
  10. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    Not his best effort yet but definitely a stark improvement from his debut. There are many songs that I like from this album but only two or three songs got stuck in my head namely: "Circadian," "Right Here With You" and finally "Take Me As I Am."

    I've to admit the lyrics are much better in this sophomore effort but the theme never changed from the first album it's all about love or being
    in a relationship you can definitely relate if you're in those situation otherwise it's mostly just decent songs to hear every once in a while, overall I'm not disappointed w/ the album but David could strive to do better hopefully in his 3rd album. Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    I preordered this cd because as a native of Kansas City, I wanted to support the local talent. But besides that reason, I loved Davids artistic flair on American Idol and if I had seen him perform in KC before Idol (I moved away back in 87) I would have liked him just as much. I love the quality and deep huskiness of his voice. Most of the music I like has that flavor to it. Anyway, I have fallen in love with this cd. My favorite nw song is FADE INTO ME. What a beautiful song lyric wise and the quality of his voice is really shown in this song. No doubt about it this guy can sing and sing well. There wasnt a song on this that I did not like just like his first cd. I only hope he will have another one produced in a year instead of three. It was very well put together and I only hope more people give it a chance and get out there and buy it and fall in love with it like i did. Expand
  12. May 17, 2012
    6
    This Loud Morning was (for me) a 50/50 kind of album. As hit and miss as it is, each song is very well produced and well performed but highly cliche at times. Also Cook co-wrote every song on the album, contrary to what was said by "m2msucks".

    The Last Goodbye, Time Marches On, Paper Heart and Goodbye to the Girl are the songs that really make this album. Even though it has a couple
    skip-able tracks, This Loud Morning is another decent offering from Cook and his band, his incredible voice combined with the production skills of Matt Serletic make for an entertaining listen. See for yourself. 6/10. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. 60
    This Loud Morning offers an irresistible balance of pop and rock to satisfy existing fans and entice new ones to Cook's musical camp, especially those oblivious to Cook's season seven Idol win.
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    60
    This Loud Morning winds up as an album that's primarily textural mood music for the morning, and one that's not all that loud either.
  3. 67
    Cook must think the greatest era of rock history was between 1995 and 1999, when bands like Better Than Ezra and Our Lady Peace pumped alt radio full of post-grunge jangle. Both of those bands' frontmen have co-writing credits on the former Idol victor's second album, This Loud Morning.