User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 72
  2. Negative: 3 out of 72

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    great debut album from this group. every song was good. it was original and creative. their sound is new and refreshing. looking forward to downloading their new release.
  2. Bam
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Huddle Formation's awesome.
  3. gavinj
    Dec 23, 2006
    9
    This CD is amazing. The mere catchyness that the songs have will bring the listener back and back for more Great music. If you want some great pop melodies look no further than this album. TRUST ME (John D- TV tunes??? i hear music with melody.)
  4. joris
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Sorry but this is way better than the Avalanches... Just lisen to Ladyflash or Pantherdash! Recalls the sixties in glorous stereo, a magnificent colelction of songs and one of the better debutes to come out this decennium. Word.
  5. NickB
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This albums full of catchy, less standard tunes where the vocals aren't as apparent as they usually are, and there is a heavy focus on the instrumentation. Also, Joe D is full of crap because I saw them live too and they were amazing and full of energy. It was also cool that they would switch instruments between songs.
  6. mr.hankey
    Jun 3, 2006
    8
    A standout album of 2005 because of it's inventive ideas and catchy riffs. The album is not music but is an overall show in your bedroom. You listen and enjoy but still it has some pros and cons. The pros standout the most but the cons always come in there. For example sometimes the album will sound as if no one is trying at all as if it is a mess that doesn't work and is not A standout album of 2005 because of it's inventive ideas and catchy riffs. The album is not music but is an overall show in your bedroom. You listen and enjoy but still it has some pros and cons. The pros standout the most but the cons always come in there. For example sometimes the album will sound as if no one is trying at all as if it is a mess that doesn't work and is not beautiful but ugly. A pro would be the unusual cheerleading anthems that are placed in this hell of a good album. I hope their sophomore effort is as interesting as their first. Expand
  7. JonathanD
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Uplifting, crazy, dance-a-thonic... I love every second of it!
  8. KidA
    May 7, 2006
    10
    12" of pure energy
  9. JoeD
    Mar 12, 2006
    3
    Its sounds like a bunch of 70's tv tunes all mixed into one. I've saw them live as well, that was even more disappointing
  10. kent
    Feb 6, 2006
    8
    the sonic equivalent of a box of crayons in a blender, without the blender noise. And the blender's going over a waterfall. And the crayons were stolen.
  11. Rickw
    Feb 3, 2006
    4
    I thought i was in for a treat when i bought this. All the rave reviews from the critics and people on this website. Very disappointing. One of those albumson first listen that you keep waiting for a good track to kick in....... This album needs some BASS. I thought there was something up with my stereo, but no, just lacks some bass. to be compared with The Avalanches was a cruel way of I thought i was in for a treat when i bought this. All the rave reviews from the critics and people on this website. Very disappointing. One of those albumson first listen that you keep waiting for a good track to kick in....... This album needs some BASS. I thought there was something up with my stereo, but no, just lacks some bass. to be compared with The Avalanches was a cruel way of getting me to part with my money. Not in the same league. They get 4 for being 'happy' unlike me. Expand
  12. DanilioL
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    Instantly loveable! This album is bouncy, flamboyant and sometimes mad. More bands need to be as individual and fun as The Go! team.
  13. joshua
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    i think the Go Team are awesome, and this album is nifty
  14. DylanP
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    Great energy and tons of attitude. One of the best new bands around.
  15. NickT.
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    A sound revolution. The people who rated this album poorly obviously did not take time to actually listen to it. They probably played it in the background while doing homework or making dinner. This album DESERVES to be avidly paid attention to. Every song is inspiring, and complexly layered. It's amazing, the fact that so many genres and instruments were combined but the album was A sound revolution. The people who rated this album poorly obviously did not take time to actually listen to it. They probably played it in the background while doing homework or making dinner. This album DESERVES to be avidly paid attention to. Every song is inspiring, and complexly layered. It's amazing, the fact that so many genres and instruments were combined but the album was never demeaned to some jumble of noise. The songs sound like they were recorded by elaborate pop/indie/hip-hop/dance beat orchestras. While this may not be the best album of '05, it is most definitely ONE of the best. Expand
  16. romanm
    Jan 8, 2006
    7
    Pretty solid. Panther Dash is Sonic Youthish. Ladyflash is probably the best tune. Feelgood by Numbers is like Charlie Brown Christmas with a shitload of snare. We Just Can't Be Defeated is the cheerleader-overkill song. Junior Kickstart is really 70's cop showish. Friendship Update is a great song. This is a download-half-ditch-the-rest kind of album.
  17. FletcherB
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Their joy goes to eleven.
  18. MeekongPie
    Dec 18, 2005
    1
    Horrible, loud, stupid, insipid, low-fi garbage... and that's being kind. This is the kind of crap pretentious know-it-all (meaning "know nothing") rock reviewers without talent or ears put on their best lists to be thankfully forgotten by the following year and shortly thereafter found en mass in a used bin for $2 and no takers.
  19. Ladyflash
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Think of the excellent "Avalanches" but turn the fun factor up to 111. This should have you bopping non-stop - blazing across the sky like a fabulous supersonic phoenix. Best album release of the past 3 years - Great live performers too!
  20. SeanT
    Dec 11, 2005
    6
    gets real old real quick but the energy thats there is pretty impressive.
  21. PeterB.
    Dec 10, 2005
    6
    Reasonably inventive with a refreshingly retro edge. Choatic and busy. Some great tunes but as an album this is ultimately a bit samey, and one gets a nagging sense of "style-over-substance". Still one of the more interesting bands around at the moment, and worth a listen.
  22. RBland
    Dec 8, 2005
    6
    like cheerleaders with a back-up band, playing to a high school gymnasium filled with sugar-shivered teens. Which is fine, if you like that kind of thing. More overhyped than the Shins.
  23. madsl
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    This sounds like a strange, compelling mix of my bloody valentine and junior senior...I actually prefer the instrumental tracks like the fifth track which is awesome! Anyone into contemporary indie stuff will be delighted with this album!
  24. Intonator
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This is the music that superheroes listen too, inspired with the unabashed the sheer size of the music. Nothing can compete with the Go! Team for sheer energy and joy.
  25. TBone
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    This totally took me by surprise. Wow this is revoluntionary.
  26. AnnabellaM
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    Wow.
  27. SteveM
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Innovative, remarkable. You can't sit without your feet tapping, leg bobbing, or head nodding to the music. One of the best expressions of noise I've heard in some time, and it makes you happy.
  28. slawekk
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    the beautiful theory of chaos. like the music from the old police series...
  29. DrewF
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    A must have album, the best of 2005
  30. bees
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    Unlike most anything I've heard. The ability to vocally synth the way they do makes this an musically and technically advanced album.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Though they certainly do their fair share of sampling, they tend to use fragments as a means of fleshing out the battling, overdriven guitars, triumphant trumpet lines, and drum assaults that seem to break through walls with the barreling force of a thousand Kool-Aid men.
  2. Although by the record's second half the brassy, treble-kicked sound wears a little thin, there are enough gems to keep the release fresh through the end of its 35 minutes.
  3. "Thunder, Lightning, Strike" is an immensely derivative album, but one which cuts and pastes its influences in a strikingly original way. Chiefly, by piling them all on at once.