• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Apr 28, 2009
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 65
  2. Negative: 3 out of 65

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ingoq
    Apr 30, 2009
    10
    A really amazing album. great tunes, interesting lyrics, not as simple as it seems at first listening. better than modern times (at least for me). it's good that dylan doesn't repeat what he did before. again dylan surprised me.
  2. kr
    May 1, 2009
    10
    Gets even better after repeat listens. A mark of a truly great record.
  3. DavidH
    Apr 30, 2009
    10
    The vocals and the new musical arrangements really make this album something new. Has a nice unified sound that works to make the album as a whole greater than the sum of its parts. The vocals are almost menacing at points. A warning: don't expect to fully appreciate this one the first time through. Bob's albums all definitely take some time. I think that's something the The vocals and the new musical arrangements really make this album something new. Has a nice unified sound that works to make the album as a whole greater than the sum of its parts. The vocals are almost menacing at points. A warning: don't expect to fully appreciate this one the first time through. Bob's albums all definitely take some time. I think that's something the reviewers missed. Expand
  4. AndrejS
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Music on the album Together through life is very appropriate for the Zeitgeist, for the strange times we are living in. I love the relaxed and mellow groove of the music and both ironic and stingingly observant lyrics. I have even come to terms with Dylan's voice: what the hack, I always loved Tom Waits as well. Great album!
  5. LeeO.
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    This sounds like what the Band wished they sounded like 40 years ago, and Dylan doesn't sound like a spoiled pissed off 20 something but an old guy who still knows how to rock. I think this is one of his very best.
  6. kevinj
    Apr 29, 2009
    10
    I've been listening to this since yesterday, and it gets better and better. Some really great singing from Dylan - straight from the heart. About half of the tracks are standouts, and the rest are strong also. There may even be a couple of future Dylan classics here. Highly recommended.
  7. MIKEH
    May 1, 2009
    10
    Tremendous sounding album.
  8. SeanR
    May 2, 2009
    10
    This album has all the elements that critics have lavished praise on from Dylan's last two albums. Suddenly, these same elements are "stale" or "nostalgic." They may be, but if they are, they have been for the last few decades and didn't become so between the release of Modern Times and Together Through LIfe.
  9. VincentS
    May 29, 2009
    10
    This album catches you from the start and brings you floating through a dream like view of life and the world we live in today. Both musically and lyrically it is full of interesting twists and variations. Like the 3 albums that preceded this, Together Through Life stands as a minor masterpiece, independent of Dylan's legacy.
  10. guidoa
    May 25, 2009
    10
    Like someone just said before: it´s very sad (for the newcomers) that an old man put out the best rock album of 2009. he never sings so bluesy. the album sounds like tom waits meets johnny cash at dylan´s kitchen.
  11. JimM
    Apr 28, 2009
    9
    Maybe it's not as polished as his last three albums, but Together Through Life is a nice trip along the Texas border, with a combination of blues, rockabilly and mexicana bar music. It has the feel of a Western movie. The songs, especially the lyrics, are pretty simple (like Nashville Skyline and New Morning), it's a welcome break from the depths of the Time Out of Mind-Love & Maybe it's not as polished as his last three albums, but Together Through Life is a nice trip along the Texas border, with a combination of blues, rockabilly and mexicana bar music. It has the feel of a Western movie. The songs, especially the lyrics, are pretty simple (like Nashville Skyline and New Morning), it's a welcome break from the depths of the Time Out of Mind-Love & Theft-Modern Times triology. Dylan stretches his worn-out voice to its limits on My Wife's Home Town, mixing humor and romance. It's not an album for dissecting the meaning of lyrics, but for kicking back and enjoying the moment. This Bob is horny and ornery. Expand
  12. JPC
    Apr 29, 2009
    9
    Better than MODERN TIMES. Close to TOOM and LOVE AND THEFT.
  13. MarkS
    May 2, 2009
    9
    The beatnik bard delivers another magnum opus.
  14. NeiloM
    May 4, 2009
    9
    This one just stays rolling around in your head. 9 of the 10 songs are great. As good as anything Bob's recently done. I love the accordion mingled throughout the album. This is a "state of mind" album, a lot like "Modern Times", but a very different in production. A little short lyrically, but I really don't mind...I'm lost in the tunes.
  15. SL
    Apr 29, 2009
    9
    Another very good record by the master.
  16. ThomasF
    Apr 30, 2009
    9
    Bob Dylan really hits the mood of Americana with this release.
  17. tonyg
    May 14, 2009
    9
    The new album is thrillingly alive, comical, sullen, heart breaking, and just straight up rocking all at the same time. This is one of Dylan's very best and comes very close to being as good as Modern Times, Love and Theft, and Time Out Of Mind. A few more songs like its all good and forgetful heart would have made it a true classic.
  18. FrankD
    May 19, 2009
    9
    Another superb CD by Dylan. With Dylan, you need to listen to a CD at least 5 times before forming an opinion. His voice is ravaged, but it has always been somewhat ravaged. Some classic songs on this CD--I Feel A Change Coming On, Beyond Here Lies Nothing, and It's All Good. The band is great. A strong effort.
  19. TT
    Apr 28, 2009
    9
    In a world of plastic soul this release from Dylan is a welcomed tresure. The album gives the feeling of listening to the band live, and that is a good thing. Dylan fits these songs amazing well, nothing seems forced but all natural and right. May the pen continue to write and the music continue to flow from the master golden radio.
  20. sameerV
    Apr 29, 2009
    9
    I dig the album. the songs arent as memorable as the ones on modern times or time out of mind but they're still damn good. i don't understand a lot of the reviews. the albums works great as a whole. songwriting's great. probably the best album I've heard this year so far.
  21. SteveS
    May 12, 2009
    9
    Great fun, unique in its own right but of a piece with his last three albums. A 68 year-old man may have just released the best rock album of 2009... unless, of course, he puts out another one.
  22. RandallJ
    Apr 30, 2009
    8
    Good time music for bad times. This "new" band has finally come into its own. The mix of Chess blues and Mexicali sounds make this a more enjoyable album than the studied and austere Modern Times. Dylan's voice may have deteriorated but he's making the most of its limitations. There's more nuance and personality than ever. Sonically, it may be Bob's best Good time music for bad times. This "new" band has finally come into its own. The mix of Chess blues and Mexicali sounds make this a more enjoyable album than the studied and austere Modern Times. Dylan's voice may have deteriorated but he's making the most of its limitations. There's more nuance and personality than ever. Sonically, it may be Bob's best self-production to date. Some listeners may not enjoy the accordian as much as I do. Expand
  23. BenJ
    May 2, 2009
    8
    It's a lovely little album. Mellow, cool, well played - great vibe. Slots in well with his recent records nicely. I really enjoy it.
  24. BradB
    May 2, 2009
    8
    I'm enjoying it so far...initially more than my first few listens to Modern Times. I'm not sure if it will have staying power, but for now, it's new Dylan. That's all that matters.
  25. JeffJ
    Apr 28, 2009
    8
    A group of songs about the pitfalls of life and love. It's straightforward and elegant. Dylan continues to preserve his legend.
  26. ThomasD
    Apr 29, 2009
    8
    It's slow and steady. Allow yourself to close your eyes and take this long car ride across his version of America, and you will laugh with Dylan as he pokes fun humanity and feel his strong calls for human contact as he musters up the energy to sing. His lyrics are precise yet naive, letting loose his vast wisdom from a full life lived, yet never pretending to know enough to avoid It's slow and steady. Allow yourself to close your eyes and take this long car ride across his version of America, and you will laugh with Dylan as he pokes fun humanity and feel his strong calls for human contact as he musters up the energy to sing. His lyrics are precise yet naive, letting loose his vast wisdom from a full life lived, yet never pretending to know enough to avoid his heartbreak. This album, though not a surprise, has surely continued farther down a road of pre-rock and roll American music, that Dylan has been exploring for over a decade now. Expand
  27. JoeC
    Apr 28, 2009
    8
    It's a fine album. Music is pure and straightforward rock and roll. The accordian on many tune is nice. The album has a good sense of humor. For the most part Dylan sticks to the blues form. The guitar tones are stellar and should please any guitar geek. Vocal delivery is spirited. There are even a few nice leads.
  28. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    certainly not as great an effort as Dylan's amazing comeback trilogy... however Together Through Life is a very fun album and is sure to please Bobby's many many fans.
  29. DanM
    Apr 28, 2009
    7
    Not quite as good as his last three releases, but a great addition to his amazing catalog.
  30. FabioL
    Jun 7, 2009
    5
    All I can say is this is mediocre. This album has two good songs and the others are forgettable... but worse! NOT THAT GOOD!! Not just by Bob Dylan standards... but by any really. I'm seeing him in concert in two months and I PRAY he excludes this entire disc from his song line-up. Doubt that will happen though.
  31. ArthurM.
    Aug 4, 2009
    5
    I like Dylan and I don't begrudge him turning out a casual set of formulaic songs like this -- i just wish it were a better set than this, and not so meretricious. I also wish reviewers could accept that Dylan is as inconsistent and at times as mediocre since his peak in the 1960's as others of his generation are. Witness the equally inconsistent and at times the equally I like Dylan and I don't begrudge him turning out a casual set of formulaic songs like this -- i just wish it were a better set than this, and not so meretricious. I also wish reviewers could accept that Dylan is as inconsistent and at times as mediocre since his peak in the 1960's as others of his generation are. Witness the equally inconsistent and at times the equally mediocre Paul McCartney -- who, nonetheless, has put out a better string of records the past dozen years or so than Dylan has, albeit, to much less acclaim. Expand
  32. JoeW.
    Jun 19, 2009
    5
    Nothing special from Dylan, the album doesn't have the same charm that his last 3 great albums had. Some good tunes though, especially Beyond Here Lies Nothin' and the accordion is an interesting touch (though overused).
  33. EoinO
    May 20, 2009
    3
    Dylan is has sold has been living off his reputation and brainwashed fans for years now. How anyone can listen to this elevator music and rate it is beyond me. You people are no different from the commercial sheep who love whatever is at No1. Bob Dylan could release a techno/house album and you guys would buy it, and love it. Try to take a step back and listen to how poor his music has become.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    Ever since he figured out how to write tough-buzzard songs, on his 1997 comeback Time Out of Mind, he’s been knocking them out of the park. This one leans hard on ready-made blues in the citified-country-ways style of Chess Records.
  2. There is a grim magnetism coursing through these 10 new songs--and most of it is in Dylan's vividly battered singing.
  3. 60
    Having long since traded abstraction for irascibility and wistfulness, Dylan still offers flashes of black humor (“Hell is my wife’s hometown”) over the ten songs, but the fatalism that’s marked much of his recent work is in short supply.