Together We're Heavy

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobbyA
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    What a truly incredible album. It really is an adventure in listening, and an adventure that can be continuously be repeated, with new marvels being found each time in the marvellous instrumentation, glorious harmonies, breathtaking climaxes and awe-inspiring lyrics. A classic.
  2. PaulH
    Jul 3, 2005
    7
    It's no revelation but I really enjoyed it, better then their first "overrated" album.
  3. ChrisA
    Dec 17, 2004
    10
    I believe this album to be a symphonic chior like collection of positivity. I am surprised at how much attention this album is recieving in a time of such negativity and war. DeLaughter is a genius, and always has been. But I also get confused in the lyrics, such as " with your crusifix, yeah, your shaking it." and "hail to the sky, hail to the sky". And i think thats what i like most I believe this album to be a symphonic chior like collection of positivity. I am surprised at how much attention this album is recieving in a time of such negativity and war. DeLaughter is a genius, and always has been. But I also get confused in the lyrics, such as " with your crusifix, yeah, your shaking it." and "hail to the sky, hail to the sky". And i think thats what i like most about it. Everysong, with some what of a releigious aspect, but noone is sure what it all means. Collapse
  4. BrendanD
    Nov 29, 2004
    9
    I am blown away that the same critics that give "Brian Wilson Presents Smile" 100% scores give "Together We're Heavy" sub-50s. If you ask me, the Spree inadvertently stumbled upon exactly what Wilson was trying to do in the mid-60s with the original incarnation of "Smile"--take tiny little tracks and put them together to form one cohesive song. And where Wilson failed at his first I am blown away that the same critics that give "Brian Wilson Presents Smile" 100% scores give "Together We're Heavy" sub-50s. If you ask me, the Spree inadvertently stumbled upon exactly what Wilson was trying to do in the mid-60s with the original incarnation of "Smile"--take tiny little tracks and put them together to form one cohesive song. And where Wilson failed at his first (and second, and third) attempt (s)--long before he finally succeeded with the 2004 edition, which still pales in comparison with some of the original recordings but has a strange and sheer brilliance all its own--the Polyphonic Spree were able to absolutely create a near-perfect pop symphony. The lyrics are indeed simplistic, as has been noted by many a reviewer. In some places, this makes for some cringing moments (I'm still mad at Tim DeLaughter for the horrendous lyric "Take them all together and shove 'em off!"). But in others, the bad lyrics are sung with such unbridled enthusiasm that one cannot help but explode with joy (see "Suitcase Calling" and "When the Fool Becomes a King"). And that's not to mention the Spree's new crowning achievement: "Together We're Heavy," six minutes that sound like a collaboration between Brian Eno and Brian Wilson, a true amalagram of symphonic pop brilliance that is nothing short of the ultimate hippie anthem--and with one lyric, "Love," they become the spokespeople for the neophyte Generation X.5, the kids stuck between Gens X and Y who are trying to paint the world as a caring, loving place filled with enthusiasm and hope. Expand
  5. clockout
    Aug 29, 2004
    6
    Anyone who gave this album a 10 should listen to Flaming Lip's 'The Soft Bulletin' first and realize that, for this kind of music, it's already been done - better. This album is the equivalent of watching soft core porn.
  6. GeorgeBush
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    This album is one of the most unique albums i've ever heard. it is a production that was made not with the intentions of being a top 40 best seller, but made to celebrate both music and life.
  7. AirynL
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    awesome.
  8. BillA.
    Aug 1, 2004
    9
    This album is infectiously singable, bursting with enthusiasm and a reminder of what a joy it is to see this band live. Don't judge the sentimentality of this as saccharine until you feel it coming from the stage in front of you, live. The energy they push out and get back is beyond words. Dance about architecture if you must. And if you find yourself singing along, even when you had This album is infectiously singable, bursting with enthusiasm and a reminder of what a joy it is to see this band live. Don't judge the sentimentality of this as saccharine until you feel it coming from the stage in front of you, live. The energy they push out and get back is beyond words. Dance about architecture if you must. And if you find yourself singing along, even when you had never heard them, you just might do a little happy jig with a big stupid grin on your face too. Hallelujah. Expand
  9. xela
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    all i can say is WOW!!!
  10. JonW
    Jul 27, 2004
    4
    yeah it's good shtick - good sonics on the album but the whole damn thing get's cloying after a while - high school musical-like inspirational music is not revolutionary! and something that rips all the big symphonic britpop stuff too at that - how many songs about the sun and sky can one take? it does get too saccharine...one trick pony
  11. JesusChrist
    Jul 17, 2004
    0
    Yes, a zero.
  12. JayD.
    Jul 15, 2004
    3
    It's the aural equivalent of a sticky-sweet triple fudge sundae with lots of pretty, multicolored sprinkles on top: good for the first bite or two, but it'll leave you feeling sickly after a few more swallows. Stick to the Hidden Cameras if you want to listen to pop church music with a lot more bite.
  13. Jeremy
    Jul 15, 2004
    9
    Together We're Heavy is a beautiful album and a nice follow up to The Beginning Stages Of... This is a band that enjoys making ORIGINAL music. While somewhat awkward at times you quickly snap to attention when 24 voices harmonioulsy belt into one of their joyous hymns. True music fans will love this album.
  14. KevinA
    Jul 14, 2004
    7
    Although the debut was tighter (and ultimately better), this one has many more tricks and sounds better through the headphones. Just when you think it's beginning to drag, it perks your ears up with some amazing pop harmony.
  15. Kevin
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    I know that many "10" ratings are exageratted, but I sincerly find the songs of "Together We're Heavy" to be some of the most beautiful, exciting, and uplifting ever written or performed. To be perfectly honest, I was very suprised to find less than excellent reviews. Many people criticize the Polyphonic Spree because of their optimistic attitude and seemingly simple lyrics. This I know that many "10" ratings are exageratted, but I sincerly find the songs of "Together We're Heavy" to be some of the most beautiful, exciting, and uplifting ever written or performed. To be perfectly honest, I was very suprised to find less than excellent reviews. Many people criticize the Polyphonic Spree because of their optimistic attitude and seemingly simple lyrics. This band is very good at showing how music can bring out the best emotions people have to offer the world. This album is better than "The Beginning Stages Of..." by leaps and bounds. Give this one a listen. Expand
  16. MattW
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    This cd is AMAZING, don't belive the critics. This cd pumps me up like no other. It is so well produced, specially compared with their last album. I guess this music isn't for everyone, but if you liked the first cd, you'll love this one. There just simply isn't a dull moment on it. 10 out of 10
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. The problem with rapture is that it's exhausting, so Together is best enjoyed a few tracks at a time.
  2. Q Magazine
    80
    Together We're Heavy's transcendent qualities grow as it flows onward, and the sheer musical ambition of the Spree's pet sound finally, really defies cynicism. [Aug 2004, p.116]
  3. Thankfully, the music overpowers DeLaughter’s weak voice.